WHAT MOST OF us have known for a long time is now official: Serena Williams is the greatest tennis player of the Open era.
With a straight-sets win against sister Venus in the Australian Open final, Williams won her 23rd Grand Slam singles title on Saturday and eclipsed Steffi Graf.
The only piece of history now left to fall is Margaret Court’s record 24 Grand Slams, won between 1960 and 1973. It is well within reach for the superstar who has dominated the women’s game for almost 20 years and is showing no signs of slowing down at the age of 35.
It took Serena just one hour and 21 minutes to wrap up a 6-4 6-4 win in the latest chapter of this phenomenal sibling rivalry, collecting her seventh Australian Open crown and securing her return to world number one.
This was the ninth Grand Slam final between the sisters, and the first since Wimbledon 2009, as the Australian Open served up a fitting epilogue to a golden age of tennis featuring four of the game’s all-time greats.
On Sunday, Roger Federer and Rafal Nadal pen another chapter in the men’s final, but this day belonged to the Williams sisters.
The first four games all went against the serve as 36-year-old Venus, chasing her eighth singles title, proved that this would be no foregone conclusion.
But after that edgy opening, Serena secured a decisive break to take a 4-3 lead and served out to take the first set.
Venus was forced to save three break points at 1-1 in the second as her little sister ratcheted up the pressure, and while she weathered that storm, Serena’s breakthrough — and that historic record — didn’t take long to follow.
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!
Cambridge to win!!!!
In the boat race Ben yea ?
Jaysus, if Cambridge did win, would he still call it a twitchy ass?
No train tunnel !
Did Cambridge back off to get the payday?
Ha ha
Cambridge, a town known for its University and Academics,more than its Football. Locals out in force supporting their local team, even though there is a massive gulf in class and they would be regarded as minnows my many.Now imagine if this game was in Dublin, a town that claims to be sports mad. The locals would be supporting the team in Red. We’ve a lot to learn here, as to what supporting a team is really all about.
A town that claims to be sports mad, but in truth is drink mad, and the premier league is on every weekend down the pub. Maybe the fans in Cambridge need a lesson in what latent alcoholism is all about.
Aye but no one turns out for a regular game, that’s not what support is about!
The fact United were the first team to play at the New Lansdowne road was a joke….. “Fans” were cheering goals scored by United against a league of Ireland 11, so embarrassing.
I think we support out national game quite well in Dublin, hill 16 is packed every championship game! Soccer is a foreign game, and the club/ league/ national soccer set up in this country is a complete joke! The GAA make the FAI look like amateurs
I’m assuming u were at the Aviva last season Luke for Rovers v Liverpool. You’re a Liverpool supporter so maybe you ll point out the difference….
I think they average 4-5000 a game so fairly decent. Still chose to get behind their team tonight instead of the ‘big club’. People support their local side in the UK, like people here do their County in GAA. To do anything else would be perceived as odd over there.
Yeah sure Ger. That’s why there are so many Man United fans in London !!!
That’s just not true. Having met countless English people in hostels whilst traveling I can tell you that unless they come from a place with a big club eg Manchester, most do not support there local club. It’s very strange because they don’t even support there nearest biggest club. The amount of people I met from south England who support Man U even though they have no connection to Manchester is staggering and as far as I could see it wasn’t considered strange by other English people.
I wasn’t at that game Gerry because I was on holidays but to be honest if I did Go I wouldn’t have been cheering Liverpool goals any loader than I would have cheered the local teams goals, i am Irish after all.
That Liverpool game was different because it wasn’t the grand opening for our new national stadium. A bunch of sad gits cheering United while their own country men got hockeyed wasn’t the best way to open something we all paid for.
Not as many as in Dublin and people go watch their local teams in London too. Look at attendances across the UK. Even the Conference averages higher attendances than the LOI. Why? Because there is a culture of attending games, regardless of how big or small your team is.
Chadwick has really grown into his face
So far jones final balls have been shocking poor like, Fellaini given away free after free. It’s been pretty tame the last 28 minutes.
LVG should get Ander Herrera, to teach Fellaini on how to tackle and not give away frees all the time. Herrera had more of an impact in the last 15 minutes than Fellaini.
That was just apalling. I don’t care about the conditions or any other excuse. getting stressed watching it. Ruined my Friday evening.
My God that was painful to watch. LVG can take his philosophy and shove it where the sun don’t shine.
Sloop you can’t blame LVG for players poor choice decisions in the final third, to many time player check back instead of going to the byline
I
Sorry B, don’t agree. The manager picks the team so the buck stops with him. Blind was terrible all thru the game but was only substituted near the end. I’ve heard of “blind” loyalty but that was ridiculous.
Of course you can B, That’s his philosophy. It’s brutal to watch, the attacking UTD is long gone with LVG. Very patient but very hard to watch.
Dion Dublin to come on and score the winner for Cambridge
200 million….well worth it.
Well done Cambridge, horrible conditions but they deserve there day out now at Old Trafford . A nice payday for the club aswell now . Will look forward to the replay .
This the real Bazinga?
Ahhh ffs…. You guys always chop my comment…. Journo, why does this happen?
Baz, was saying this year it seems the cups have been about the lil clubs….. Great to see!
There’s a local Malahide lad doing well with Cambridges youth team the last 2 years. It would have been nice to have seen him play tonight. A year or two early for him though!
Cork lad too playing tonight!
Jones , one of our better headerers of the ball hitting corners. Very poor corners at that. Hmmm
Jones is absolute shite. He looks so cumbersome on the ball, gives it away most of the time.
Squeaky bum time glory seekers.
Who do you support then Ben? If it’s anyone except Accrington Stanley then you can FRO
Blind is the furthest thing away from a left I have ever seen!
Any idea why he’s getting booed? It’s hilarious but baffling
V poor, Cambridge were superb. Conditions were poor but no excuse for lads been paid a normal persons salary a week. At least the replay will ensure Cambridge keep their heads above water. Their fans were superb.
F@#King hopeless!!!! Poor tactical formations and no heart from the utd players. Hard to watch.
Why does LVG persist with 3-5-2 ? http://wp.me/p3yGUO-IC
Except it’s 4-4-2 tonight
If that’s your own blog you’re linking you might want to give it a quick proof read for detail. Murinho, while a very good manager, tends to be successful with the traditional 11 man teams, so unless he abandoned the goalkeeping position in his initial spell as Chelsea manager I don’t think it’s accurate to say he “brought in the 4-4-3 so successfully.”
No sure Jose has played the keeper up front loads of times.
Poor Trapattoni lost his job because he insisted on playing 4-4-2 …….
4 4 2
4 4 2
4 4 2
Herrera for felliani, RVP for Wilson.
Falcao doing nothing Time to bring rvp on
They need to provide him with some proper balls
Whats wrong with ball they are using now?
Pretty sure Utd will win
Crikey neither of em !!