Updated at 22.51
WITH CHARLTON’S STEPHEN Henderson today becoming the 40th player (and the sixth goalkeeper) to be called up to the Ireland squad in recent weeks, you would be forgiven for thinking that manager Martin O’Neill has called up virtually everyone who’s anyone in Irish football at this stage.
Yet there remains a few talented players who continue to go under the radar.
The following list is not necessarily a suggestion that any of the following players deserve to be in the squad, merely a reminder that the talent pool available to O’Neill and co is not necessarily as small as some people may assume.
1. Richie Towell
Richie Towell scored 29 goals in all competitions with Dundalk this season, finishing the campaign fittingly by scoring the winner in the FAI Cup final against Cork City at the weekend. Granted, he was hardly a resounding success at Celtic, but at 24, Towell is growing in maturity. Martin O’Neill has yet to pick a League of Ireland player and no Ireland manager since Steve Staunton has capped a domestic footballer, with Jason Byrne and Joe Gamble briefly making appearances during his tenure.
2. Stephen Gleeson
The 27-year-old midfielder has impressed this season, helping guide Birmingham to sixth in the Championship and chipping in with three goals along the way. The former Cherry Orchard player has already won two caps at senior level, though both were earned way back in 2007 during the Steve Staunton era.
3. Joe Mason
A regular presence in the Cardiff team just below the Championship play-off places, Mason has been involved in all 16 of his side’s matches, with the 24-year-old ex-Ireland U21 striker scoring five times. With the likes of Simon Cox and Anthony Stokes having been included in the most recent provisional squads despite enduring less successful times at their clubs, Mason may feel optimistic of a call-up sooner rather than later if he maintains his current form.
4. Chris Forrester
St Pat’s fans will know all about Chris Forrester from his days at Richmond Park, while the 22-year-old midfielder joined Peterborough before the most recent transfer window’s closure. Forrester has made quite an impact since moving to The Posh, featuring on a regular basis and garnering comparisons to Michael Carrick. Critics have suggested he needs to bulk up a little if he aspires to become a top-level player, but Forrester undoubtedly has the talent to be a future Ireland international.
5. Jack Byrne
One of the most promising Irish youngsters to come along in quite a while, Byrne signed a new contract with Man City in the summer, before the 19-year-old went on loan to Cambuur in the Dutch League. His stint in Holland has been less than perfect — the club are currently struggling and are second from bottom in the league. However, Byrne has recovered well from an injury setback at the start of his loan spell and he has made seven appearances in total for the Dutch outfit.
6. Jonathan Douglas
Douglas made eight appearances for Ireland between 2004 and 2007, and while he has not featured since for the national team, the Monaghan native has still managed to carve out a decent career for himself. At 32, he is unlikely to feature again for the Boys in Green barring an injury crisis, despite being an ever-present in the Ipswich midfield this season, however, with a bit more luck, it could have been him instead of Paul Green or Simon Cox getting regularly called up in various squads through the years.
7. Richie Ryan
The former Sunderland, Dundee United and Shamrock Rovers footballer has enjoyed a superb season in North America, captaining Ottawa Fury to a highly successful campaign. This weekend, himself and Irish teammate Colin Falvey are set to feature as The Fury take on Real Madrid legend Raul and Euro 2008 winner Marcos Senna of New York Cosmos in the NASL final.
8. Alan Browne
Having previously been with Cork City, the 20-year-old midfielder is now on the books at Preston. Despite just being out of his teens, Browne has featured in all 16 of his side’s Championship games so far this season — an impressive achievement for a youngster in such a notoriously tough league — having signed a new contract with the club in the summer. Bigger things may consequently await him in future.
9. Shane O’Neill
The 22-year-old Cork-born defender is eligible for both Ireland and USA. He has featured for the latter at underage level, and was even called up to Jurgen Klinsmann’s senior squad recently enough (but has yet to play for the senior side). Son of former All-Ireland-winning Cork Gaelic footballer, Colm O’Neill, the youngster has indicated he would be open to switching international allegiance to Ireland. He currently plays for Royal Mouscron-Péruwelz of Belgium, having moved there on loan from Apollon Limassol of Cyprus, whom he joined from the Colorado Rapids last August.
10. Aiden O’Brien
It’s no secret that there is a shortage of top-level strikers coming through the Irish system currently. Shane Long is the only forward who plays in the Premier League, while Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane and Daryl Murphy are all over 30 and arguably past their peak. Consequently, at 22, Millwall’s Aiden O’Brien — who was named as the most recent League One Player of the Month — might just be the man to fill the inevitable void once the aforementioned names retire. Born in Islington, O’Brien has been a regular for Ireland at underage level since 2009.
There’s fear of Jonathan Douglas anyway, he’s currently courting Natalie Sawyer from Sky Sports News!
Jammy fecker! She’s a fine thing!
No bad goin Johnny boy,my redeeming memory is of him is him scoffing a great chance of putting us one up against the Czechs in a euro08 qualifier at home !
Great news at a bhoy johnny
Courting. Excellent word.
Towell is being linked to Bristol Rovers is that says enough really.. A club that was playing non league in England last year.
He’s linked with a few clubs apparently, can’t see him going to a team below the championship
It’s bleak
Mason and Byrne are the only real stand out players.Surprised Mason hasnt been hiven a lash,gets gials and still pretty young.
If Rooneys in the early squad, then Towell should be there as they’re both playing at the same level. Masons worth a go also and a couple of the others have a chance I think. MON is every bit as conservative as Trap in relation to selection. Anyway after Daryl
Murphy knocks in a hat trick on Friday, we’ll discuss the future afterwards!
I’m sorry Sean but the SPL and LOI are in no way the same level for the simple reason that one is professional with players training every day and the other is only part time.I prefer and would watch the LOI over the SPL any day but it’s not the same level.
Nick, Celtic are slightly better than LOI but the rest are not. Our European results against similar opposition to that played by the SPL are both equally poor – and I’m not talking about either of us playing decent opposition. We both lose to Latvians, Finns, Icelandic, and other relatively weak domestic leagues.
Slightly better?cmon now Sean,I’m one to hype up the LOI but Celtic have a team of internationals not to mention a recent tradition of selling on players to PL teams for big fees so there’s a major gap there already not to mention their fan base.As I said the major difference is the set up in the clubs,LOI is part time and SPL full time.
Well Dundalk are a professional club, players training daily and receiving a good wage. That is almost all of the players bar some of the young lads on the books, so you’re knowledge isn’t great! Rovers Pats and Sligo would be of a similar mound.
Shane apologies Dundalk are professional but not all the players are full time same as and Sligo and Rovers.My knowledge is actually pretty good actually Shane I’m not entirely wrong in saying that they’re not full time as not the entirety of any LOI squad is.dont get me wrong though love the league and would love to see every team go full time in the future.
Despite what some people might think, there is a huge contrast between league of Ireland and the English leagues. Scoring 27 goals in the league of Ireland is unfortunatly not warranting of a place in the national squad
Worth a game in a friendly, no harm trying, he’s good and exposure could mean a transfer abroad
Can’t do any harm. We don’t have much else. I was just referring to the Bosnia squad
He scored 24 in the league from midfield. That’s the same as Jason Byrne and Glen Crowe both strikers. Crowe got called up and capped on those figures. Why not give him a chance?
I agree that standard of LOI way below top english leagues but MON has called up nearly 40 players now and it’s a shame 2 or 3 of the most promising younger LOI players can’t be called up for each Irish squad to experience the international set-up and learn a bit from MON and RK, and even get a run out for friendlies
There is a massive gulf in class between LOI and international football. Towell would have to prove himself elsewhere first.
Like Green has?
Think its been said already but MON is picking a squad of 40+…. Why not call him up, see what he can do at that level!! Watched him a few times this year and he probably doesn’t have the workrate to be international standard, although maybe that is because he knows how much better he is that the rest and isn’t being properly challenged??
My knowledge of journey men isn’t a what it used to be I must admit. As I kid in the Charlton era Id nearly know the names of the players wives. Now they all seem to play for Derby County. Must be a combination of age and 10 plus year of soul destroying football.
A long way from the day when the likes of David O’Leary couldn’t make squads – although as the lads above say the likes of Johnny Douglas would probably prefer to stay at home these days…
Who are all these players ? No idea..
I’ve no idea who you are either
Well I knew of 8 out of 10 with my limited knowledge. Why comment so much about our international team when you’ve just admitted you know next to nothing if you have not heard of these players which includes 2 players already capped
i think that’s the point of reading an article like this….
Damien Delaney anyone?
Messes Keane & O’Neill are seasoned Managers & players at very high levels. We need to place confidence & trust in their selection & strategy activities, c’mon Ireland tomorrow night!
Damien delaney anyone????