Advertisement
Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Watch: Peter O'Mahony picks up early red card against Wales

The back row was sent off with just 13 minutes on the clock in Ireland’s Six Nations campaign.

PETER O’MAHONY’S OPENING Six Nations weekend lasted only 13 minutes as referee Wayne Barnes belatedly showed him a red card.

O’Mahony was sent off for a dangerous clear-out on Welsh prop Tomas Francis.

Barnes initially waved away appeals from the home side saying ‘there was nothing he (O’Mahony) could have done’. However, when reviewing the replay the clear contact made with the opponent’s face left the official with little option.

The red was O’Mahony’s first in Test rugby and the Corkman has been sin-binned just twice in his 73 previous appearances for Ireland.

Follow the match as it happens here>>>

Close
48 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Chris Mc Dermott
    Favourite Chris Mc Dermott
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:15 PM

BBC Grand Prix, Fleetwood Macs The Chain, howdja miss that one?

Mute Eimear Smith
    Favourite Eimear Smith
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:02 PM

I was just wondering that- Tuuuune! I don’t think all of the above really count as nostalgic though. Going through them I’d go for roughly half…

Mute Dermot Fennelly
    Favourite Dermot Fennelly
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:14 AM

Bang on Chris

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:17 PM

Ski Sunday?

Mute Tom Lynch
    Favourite Tom Lynch
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:11 PM

World in union?!

Mute Neil Synnott
    Favourite Neil Synnott
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:18 PM

Final countdown – Sports Stadium – Rte

Mute brunomurphy
    Favourite brunomurphy
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:59 AM

When the journal first came online I was genuinely interested in a new media, something other than the usual Irish independent ,Irish times point of view . However I am afraid that 80% of articles are now basically you tube searches , bullshit nostalgia and frankly I could do the same myself with a half an hour on you tube. It’s an awful shame because with the recession etc there was a genuine opening for a new point of view on a range of topics. The journal is blowing that opportunity with all these lazy articles . Red thumb Away but proper professionals should be open to constructive criticism !

Mute Paul Huston
    Favourite Paul Huston
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:30 AM

I agree 100% but I still find myself reading them

Mute George Tobin
    Favourite George Tobin
    Apr 7th 2013, 12:52 PM

Really? Delete the app then! Simple

Mute Martin Malone
    Favourite Martin Malone
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:08 PM

Where is the final countdown tune? #disappointed

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:19 PM

Yeah bad form I agree to omit this one. Sports Stadium every Saturday for a decade with Brendan O’Reilly..

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:07 PM

Number 26:’ you’re the best’ from the karate kid.

Mute Jamie McCormack
    Favourite Jamie McCormack
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:41 PM

The theme tune for the cricket that they used to have was deadly, kinda sounded Caribbean or something

Mute Joseph C. Halpin
    Favourite Joseph C. Halpin
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:45 PM

I dont like cricket oh no i love it

Mute Jimmy Raleigh
    Favourite Jimmy Raleigh
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:51 PM

The Cricket theme is my favourite. Soul Limbo. Should introduce it for the Hurling. Just to take the edge off!

Mute Carmel E Carroll
    Favourite Carmel E Carroll
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:01 PM

World Cup 2002, RTE montage, “All By My Self…” Feeder I believe… Now that makes me emotional :-)

Mute Eric Cosgrove
    Favourite Eric Cosgrove
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:20 PM

No mention for Sole limbo by Booker T & the MGs from the cricket?

Mute Aidan O'Donovan
    Favourite Aidan O'Donovan
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:19 PM

Football Italia with James Richardson, classic. Even rte used show Italian football highlights back on the day as far as I can remember.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:00 PM

Did it before C4, I think to build up to the 1990 world cup. Still though could’nt beat some of the live games on Channel 4 during the first few seasons.

Mute Noel O'Gorman
    Favourite Noel O'Gorman
    Apr 7th 2013, 12:42 AM

What british website had this been copied and pasted from? No sports stadium? No sports quiz with Jimmy Magee? (The name wont come to me right now). No American football highlights. Its time to change the name to journall.co.uk I think!

Mute Anne-marie O Gorman
    Favourite Anne-marie O Gorman
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:52 AM

Well said noelo !!!

Mute Paul Geaney
    Favourite Paul Geaney
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:18 PM

The US masters theme tune

Mute Fin Tastic
    Favourite Fin Tastic
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:13 AM

Oooooh Johhhhnnnnn….

Mute Conor Waters
    Favourite Conor Waters
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:29 AM

If you were gonna pick a wrestling theme song, surely Hulk Hogan’s ‘Real American’ would be the choice!

Mute Declan McCabe
    Favourite Declan McCabe
    Apr 7th 2013, 10:54 AM

Shout. But HBK’s theme is awesome. And in the Modern day, CM Punk’s Cult of Personality

Mute Big Pat
    Favourite Big Pat
    Apr 7th 2013, 10:54 AM

Amen!

Mute Jonathan O'Keeffe
    Favourite Jonathan O'Keeffe
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:54 PM

Alive and kicking – Simple minds

Mute Mark Wallace
    Favourite Mark Wallace
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:08 AM

First season of football on Sky. Can’t believe they left it out!

Mute Kieran Patton
    Favourite Kieran Patton
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:36 PM

The Time is Now by Moloko – not only a great tune in its own right but always makes me think of Super Sunday for Sky Sports

Mute Trevor Fleming
    Favourite Trevor Fleming
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:37 PM

Ski Sunday.

Mute RedmosquitoIE
    Favourite RedmosquitoIE
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:46 PM

Ski Sunday is a classic

Mute kevin osullivan
    Favourite kevin osullivan
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:33 PM

Listening to The Sunday Game reminds me of thinking the weekends over. School in the morning.

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:45 PM

Ya, I hate that music.

Mute Paul Radford
    Favourite Paul Radford
    Apr 7th 2013, 12:31 AM

How can ye leave out BBC F1 theme. ( fleet wood Mac’s the Chain ). Yet put in the theme to gladiators

Mute Fergal O Gara
    Favourite Fergal O Gara
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:50 AM

The theme tune for goal of the month on match of the day lightening seeds I think?

Mute Procrastination King
    Favourite Procrastination King
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:25 PM

Waka waka by far the best!

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:56 PM

Did you spot the Irish jersey in Shakira’s video?

Mute Jackie Curley
    Favourite Jackie Curley
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:19 AM
    Mute John Loughran
    Favourite John Loughran
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:15 PM

Bolero. Torvill & Dean!

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:03 PM

Golf on the BBC
    http://youtu.be/a-bd5j18N0s

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:16 AM

Used to have the MOTD ringtone on my Nokia 3310. It was quite amusing to watch mens’ face when they saw who was answering to it.

Mute Pat Farren
    Favourite Pat Farren
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:12 PM

Why bother posting .videos if you cannot play them .? Strange

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Apr 7th 2013, 12:00 AM

Guessing you are on the iphone. If so open the journal through safari. Videos will play then.

Mute Joseph C. Halpin
    Favourite Joseph C. Halpin
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:46 PM

The title song for dream team is catchy

Mute Luca Costa
    Favourite Luca Costa
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:57 PM

Oh oh oh oh oh

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 7th 2013, 9:32 AM

The song when rocky raced apollo creed up the beach.

Mute RossMcEntegart
    Favourite RossMcEntegart
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:24 PM

Some great BBC ones you missed:
    1: Snooker
    http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=7GkgoeKHsXI

Mute RossMcEntegart
    Favourite RossMcEntegart
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:27 PM

2: Showjumping (The Horse of the Year Show)
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ebtpjnI81JU

Mute RossMcEntegart
    Favourite RossMcEntegart
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:30 PM

3: Ski Sunday (Already mentioned, but here’s the clip)
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=jOEO_fgG3-I

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute RossMcEntegart
    Favourite RossMcEntegart
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:35 PM

4: Grand Prix – Fleetwood Mac’s The Chain (already mentioned)
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Zs9y8xfjQwE

Mute RossMcEntegart
    Favourite RossMcEntegart
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:41 PM

5: Another great one that I’d forgotten too until it was mentioned above: Cricket
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fvsCjJtz4fs

Mute RossMcEntegart
    Favourite RossMcEntegart
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:52 PM

Apologies, I didn’t spot the snooker on my first read through; I see you had it all along.

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:30 AM

Thank you for posting the link bit of nostalgia here at the minute, happy days:)

Mute Darren Burke
    Favourite Darren Burke
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:14 AM

World Cup 2010 – Waving Flag by K’naan. Tune!

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:01 PM

Rugby Special from the BBC
    http://youtu.be/X3lOD44Oexw

Mute Jamie McCormack
    Favourite Jamie McCormack
    Apr 7th 2013, 12:09 AM

Nice one Gerry that rugby tune is one of the best!

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:26 AM

Maybe I am asleep and missed something how could you miss the cricket theme? I used to listen to this and them turn over .

Mute Bo bo
    Favourite Bo bo
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:32 PM

Escape to Victory…

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Apr 6th 2013, 10:05 PM

What’s the story with number 22 then

Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:57 PM

It’s a theme tune…of sorts… http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fKJDAVvs_JA . Even if he wasn’t as cool as The Ultimate Warrior!

Mute Kevin Maughan
    Favourite Kevin Maughan
    Apr 7th 2013, 12:07 AM

The original Super Sunday theme. “Here we go this is it”

Mute Peter Connolly
    Favourite Peter Connolly
    Apr 7th 2013, 10:08 AM

I loved that . The only other one was the cricket the on bbc , a classic !!!!!

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:43 PM

Sports Saturday. Where’s that?

Mute Eimear Walshe
    Favourite Eimear Walshe
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:54 AM

BBC’s closing credits of the Beijing Olympics. Very emotional.

Mute EuroCompanyFormation
    Favourite EuroCompanyFormation
    Apr 7th 2013, 9:57 AM

Snooker one is the nuts. Used to love the sportsnight one as well – worth staying up for! Can’t believe sports stadium and f1 tune missed

Mute Màirtín Magee
    Favourite Màirtín Magee
    Apr 7th 2013, 10:41 AM

How could you not have included ITV’s “World of Sport” lads? Major faux pas!

http://youtu.be/CmqU0I1LzQA

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:09 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E84G72QYF5E&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Carl Davis’s theme to the film Champions which was used as the BBC main theme to their Grand National coverage. Stirring stuff.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:24 PM

Anyone know the theme tune that Rte used for Euro 88 ?

Mute kevin osullivan
    Favourite kevin osullivan
    Apr 6th 2013, 11:34 PM

Dancing in the dark. Bruce Springsteen.

Mute Liam Higgins
    Favourite Liam Higgins
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:43 AM

The chieftains done something for a BBC rally programme in the eighties. Not really a rally fan but I remember the theme music.

Mute RedmosquitoIE
    Favourite RedmosquitoIE
    Apr 6th 2013, 9:49 PM

…and Jupiter from a more recent rugby world cup

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel