Advertisement
The United boss has earmarked Jose Mourinho as a potential successor. Nick Potts/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Fergie: Mourinho could be my successor

The United boss says the Portuguese coach “can manage anywhere”.

MANCHESTER UNITED MANAGER Sir Alex Ferguson believes Jose Mourinho would be a worthy candidate to succeed him in the Old Trafford hot seat.

The 70-year-old has been in charge at United since 1986 and has yet to reveal when he plans to retire.

But Ferguson has hailed the Real Madrid coach as a man with the qualities to manage the Red Devils in the future.

“He can manage anywhere, absolutely,” Ferguson told an ITV4 documentary on Mourinho when asked if the 49-year-old could succeed him at Old Trafford.

“I would never think a guy who hasn’t played a game could be a top coach but then you’ve got to look at his personality. He’s got a marvellous, strong personality and that bridges that gap.

“I remember his first press conference (at Chelsea) and I thought, ‘Christ, he’s a cocky b*****, him’. He was telling the players, ‘Look, I’m the special one, we don’t lose games’.

“Bloody hell, coming to England, he is only a young man and saying he is the special one. But it told all the players to have the belief they were going to win the league.”

Ferguson went on to reveal he enjoys a close friendship with the former Chelsea boss, adding: “When he comes into my office he can take a joke against himself, that is what I like about him.”

“I give him a lot of stick and he laughs it off. I don’t think it bothers Jose (having a controversial image). He knows it is results that count.”

Lampard and Cole could yet sign new Chelsea deals>

Fenlon’s Hibs prevail in Edinburgh derby>

Close
Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Michael Lyons
    Favourite Michael Lyons
    Jan 29th 2015, 1:59 PM

He’s one more win from getting his British passport back!!!

Mute Jon Walters
    Favourite Jon Walters
    Jan 29th 2015, 4:37 PM

Great comment. Well done

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:15 PM

There’s a new one!

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Jim Clarke
    Favourite Jim Clarke
    Jan 30th 2015, 11:55 AM

How hilarious. And so original. I’ve almost never heard that gag before.

But tell me this. Once the ocean of laughter has subsided and we’ve all had our sides stiched up, I’m curious to know whether there’s any actual evidence for your implication that the Brits claim Murray as their own when he wins and refer to him as Scottish when he loses. Are there any facts to back that up, or is it just another one of our bitter little fantasies?

Mute logical Thinking
    Favourite logical Thinking
    Jan 30th 2015, 3:17 PM

You sound bitter yourself. And yes commentators have been known to make him a Brit when he wins

Mute Jim Clarke
    Favourite Jim Clarke
    Feb 4th 2015, 3:48 PM

Wow, some vintage “logical thinking” there. Gotta hand it to you, you’re a latter-day Wittgenstein. But, at the risk of repeating myself, do you have any actual evidence for your suggestion that they’re more likely to refer to him as British when he wins than when he loses? Or did you just make it up?

Mute Luke's stalker
    Favourite Luke's stalker
    Jan 29th 2015, 4:48 PM

She is pure dirt and I like it.

Mute Patrick Heavey
    Favourite Patrick Heavey
    Jan 29th 2015, 4:19 PM

I love the way she spots herself on the big screen at the end of her rant and the eyes go very wide.
    She looks very naughty..

Mute Fearghal Brennan
    Favourite Fearghal Brennan
    Jan 29th 2015, 5:13 PM

Goes like “if it wasn’t for the money,I’d never go near this boring,ugly Scottish p€(&k. And his mother is suck an annoying B$£%h I hope she gets hit in the mouth with a tennis ball”

Mute Kevin O'Malley Jnr
    Favourite Kevin O'Malley Jnr
    Jan 29th 2015, 5:31 PM

Anger issues perhaps, Fearghal?

Mute Fearghal Brennan
    Jan 29th 2015, 5:37 PM

No

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Mr. Common Sense
    Favourite Mr. Common Sense
    Jan 30th 2015, 12:02 AM

Fearghal….Anger and envy…sad life for you.

Mute Fearghal Brennan
    Jan 30th 2015, 8:42 AM

Ahh yeah

Mute Willie Browne
    Favourite Willie Browne
    Jan 29th 2015, 7:00 PM

Sp@nk on me t€ts Ya durty basst€&d ??

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:06 PM

I’ll show you where to stick that fist later you f***. Pure filth indeed

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Jan 29th 2015, 7:35 PM
    Mute Fran Heavey
    Favourite Fran Heavey
    Jan 29th 2015, 4:08 PM

Im no expert but im getting “im f******g loving that s**t you something f**k”……..pottymouth indeed

Mute Ray Dempsey
    Favourite Ray Dempsey
    Jan 29th 2015, 5:45 PM

F****ng have it you czech f****ng f***

Mute Aideen Thornton
    Favourite Aideen Thornton
    Jan 29th 2015, 4:51 PM

Something along the lines of ‘f*cking have that you Chech flash f*ck’ is what it looks like to me!

Mute The_five_lamps
    Favourite The_five_lamps
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:04 PM

It’s quite clear. They’re saying “…up..town funk you up, I said uptown funk you up…”

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Jan 29th 2015, 5:39 PM

She’s saying “fcuk, what a fcukin loser – should’ve hit on the other guy”

He’s saying “fcuk with a few more wins, I could have a chick without a giant forehead – like Ester … “

Mute Mark McCarthy
    Favourite Mark McCarthy
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:55 PM

Something about putting up a shelf !

Mute Ian Bevan
    Favourite Ian Bevan
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:01 PM

Think she said: ” I’d fecking love a fish fecking supper with fecking fresh fecking fish”?

Mute Darren McDaid
    Favourite Darren McDaid
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:14 PM

You win my vote. Ha awesome!

Mute Elizabeth Gibson
    Favourite Elizabeth Gibson
    Jan 29th 2015, 5:43 PM

I think she’s saying “the journals using fluching sh!t vines again, fluichs sake.

Mute More Creative
    Favourite More Creative
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:45 PM

“Fu3k off ya shagging french fu3ker.” I am 98% certain. Filthy dirty bird. And before you ask yes I am a born professional lip reader. 35 years experience.

Mute fergal ohagan
    Favourite fergal ohagan
    Jan 29th 2015, 5:56 PM

How can we speculate on what she is saying if there is a bold word filter, for flock sake! See what I mean, we are all adults, mostly, so why can’t we say the bold words?! You can keep the ‘C’ word on the ‘bold word’ list but allow it during articles about cyclists!

Mute Denis Gardiner
    Favourite Denis Gardiner
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:58 PM

Fu@king have that shit you flash fu@ck… Nice!!

Mute Simon Gregg
    Favourite Simon Gregg
    Jan 29th 2015, 7:25 PM

Think Andys goin to get his rocks off tonight

Mute Shane Flanagan
    Favourite Shane Flanagan
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:52 PM

I got “u may be beautiful but they’re keeping my idea on file, in a filing cabinet”

If I’m right, she ought to be ashamed. Filth.

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:33 PM

Cheer up you miserable scotch cannnttt

Mute Cliff Browne
    Favourite Cliff Browne
    Jan 29th 2015, 7:26 PM

“I’m gonna f@@kin make you the best f@@kin sandwich you ever had when we get home……f@@k”

Mute Glen Patrick Daly
    Favourite Glen Patrick Daly
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:47 PM

Fu*king hell have a shower you french fcuk ! Is what she’s saying

Mute Mick Stafford
    Favourite Mick Stafford
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:07 PM

Where’s my comment?!!

Mute Michelle Ní Dhubhlaíocht
    Favourite Michelle Ní Dhubhlaíocht
    Jan 29th 2015, 7:04 PM

It actually looks like fed up of this sh-it, the french f**k

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:23 PM

It’s shite being scotttishh

Mute Tommie Brennan
    Favourite Tommie Brennan
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:00 PM

A: Fūcking c’mon
    A: yessssh
    A’s girlfriend: Fück all off, you chechen fat fūck

Mute Michael Sands
    Favourite Michael Sands
    Jan 30th 2015, 12:06 AM

Anyone lip read what Bryan Dobson said at the end of 6.1 tonight? lol.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:40 PM

Fuxk off you check Fat Fuxxer. ?

Mute Carol C.
    Favourite Carol C.
    Jan 30th 2015, 12:29 AM

F*ck I forgot to put up that shelf, F*ckity F*ck’ ????!!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jan 30th 2015, 12:09 AM

It looks to me very much like, “F*ck Berdych, the old fashioned f*ck.”!

Mute Hughes The Daddy?
    Favourite Hughes The Daddy?
    Jan 29th 2015, 7:49 PM

I’d fckin love a shower and freshin up?

Mute Ciarán Byrne
    Favourite Ciarán Byrne
    Jan 30th 2015, 3:39 AM

She is stunning and classy ❤️

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jan 30th 2015, 12:13 AM

Second attempt: “F*ck off, Berdych, you old fashioned f*ck”!

Mute Mark Leahy
    Favourite Mark Leahy
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:23 PM

“I’m a lovely shy fat fan”

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:00 PM

Andy Murray “ah f@ck, come on”

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:27 PM

“I feel like having a shite, fart after fart…” Bad lip read?

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.