THE UFC HAS suspended its biggest star, Jon โBonesโ Jones, and stripped him of his light-heavyweight title following his arrest on hit-and-run charges.
Jones was suspended indefinitely, the organisation said, following a meeting with UFC President Dana White, CEO Lorenzo Fertitta and COO Lawrence Epstein on Tuesday.
The 27-year-old was due to defend his title against Anthony Johnson at UFC 187 in Las Vegas next month. Johnson will now fight Daniel Cormier for the vacant title in the main event on 23 May.
โGot a lot of soul searching to do,โ Jones tweeted. โSorry to everyone Iโve let down.โ
Jones was arrested on Monday night following alleged involvement in a hit-and-run collision in which a pregnant woman suffered a fractured arm.
He appeared in a New Mexico court on Tuesday for his first appearance on a felony charge of leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury, and was released on bail.
โUFC announced that it has suspended Jon Jones indefinitely and stripped him of the light heavyweight title as a result of violations of the organisationโs Athlete Code of Conduct Policy,โ a statement read.
โJones was recently arrested in Albuquerque, [New Mexico] on a felony charge of leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury.
โAs a result of the charge and other violations of the Athlete Code of Conduct Policy, the organisation believes it is best to allow Jones time to focus on his pending legal matters.
โUFC feels strongly that its athletes must uphold certain standards both in and out of the Octagon. While there is disappointment in the recent charges, the organisation remains supportive of Jones as he works through the legal process.โ
Cormier, who lost to Jones by unanimous decision at UFC 182 in January, said: โMake no mistake about it, this is a sad day for our sport.
โOne of the best fighters of all time has found himself in trouble again. It sucks.
โDespite our differences, I truly wish the best for Jon and his family, and I know he can get through this,โ he continued in a statement provided to MMAFighting.com.
But in life, opportunity knocks, and itโs up to you to answer the door. So as Iโve done time and again, Iโm answering that door.
โI will be in Vegas on May 23 โ you can count on me โ I will win the belt, and then when Jon is ready to return, I will be happy to give him a shot at my belt.โ
Johnson tweeted: โBest of luck with everything bro. Regardless of everything you are still the greatest light heavyweight champion of all time!โ
Looking forward to Coutinho in this fixture in 2018. Happy Holidays everyone!
@Whatshisname: Canโt wait to see Ozil and Sanchez facing off in the Manchester derby next year. A pity Arsenal wonโt get any money for them.
@Whatshisname: The fact you say happy holidays shows the kind of tool you are.
@Let free speech live: lads not even an arsenal fan man. Just a troll. Better off just muting him
@Let free speech live: Back in the schoolyard I see. Youโre a joke
@Whatshisname: Iโm fond of Arsenal football club myself but you sir are an embarrassment, every time I come on here you are spouting some drivel. Happy xmas anyway, hoping the new year has me reading less of you.
In an โordinaryโ club, Zidaneโs job should not be under threat when you consider all they have won since heโs been in charge but this is Real Madrid where past achievements are soon forgotten so anything can happen.
@Sloop John G: itโs no ordinary club thatโs for sure , the Real Madrid managers head is on the block almost every game . Zidane has credit in the bank but if say Madrid got whipped on Saturday the atmosphere will change . Ancelotti was fire because of a heavy loss to Atletico Madrid at home that he didnโt manage to redress . Under him Real do perform on the crunch days ( especially in finals) and tend to have a much better second half of the season . A win for Real will kick off the resurgence !
Ah jeez Gavan Casey and Ryan Bailey, seriously whoโd ye think ye are? The serious heads on ye with the pouts, the fancy hair doโs and the indoor scarf wearing, and the live link up to some nobody in Madrid. Itโs like yeโre playing yeโr favourite game; โmedia goys r usโ Scarlet for ye in all fairness.