Skip to content
Associated Press

Ex-Man United favourite nets superb Bundesliga hat-trick including injury-time winner

Javier Hernandez has been excellent for Bayer Leverkusen since joining the club last year.

JAVIER HERNANDEZ COULD normally be relied upon to conjure something special during his time with Manchester United.

He didn’t feature as first-choice as much as he liked but he remained incredibly consistent regardless.

Since his move to Germany, he’s retained the solid numbers.

In his first season with Bayer Leverkusen, he managed 17 league goals in 28 appearances and although he started this campaign a little bit slowly, that changed this afternoon.

The 28-year-old Mexican conjured a hat-trick away to Mainz as his side came from behind to secure a 3-2 win.

Fox Deportes / YouTube

What made it even sweeter was the fact that Chicharito popped up with the game-winner in the 92nd minute.

The victory was only Leverkusen’s second of the season and moves them to ninth in the table.

Carlo Ancelotti’s Bayern lead the way and remain unbeaten. They needed an 89th-minute winner from Joshua Kimmich to get the better of Hamburg.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

No Messi, no problem as rampant Barcelona thrash Sporting Gijon

Goal machine Aguero at the double as Guardiola maintains perfect start

Close
16 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute smithers
    Favourite smithers
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:00 PM

Fair play to him always liked him

Mute Kyle Nolan
    Favourite Kyle Nolan
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:01 PM

Great player liked him at United

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:27 PM

Swap deal for Rooney?

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:30 PM

The harm is done to Rooney you couldn’t give him away now.done deal or MLS is the only option for him now

Mute ryan o sullivan
    Favourite ryan o sullivan
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:37 PM

Mls is his only option really , he’s finished . When he came on he was just getting in the way of things , nobody will want him with the wages he’s on . China or mls

See 8 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:49 PM

All the greats of the game had the natural raw talent Rooney possessed but that’s not enough to keep you going into the twilight years of your career.you need to make sacrifices and work hard but the only thing Rooney was interested in was his bank balance.he doesn’t deserve the break charltons record

Mute The Bloody Nine
    Favourite The Bloody Nine
    Sep 24th 2016, 10:18 PM

Talking out your ass as usual, Neenee. There’s one thing Rooney could never be criticised for and that’s his commitment and dedication. There’s a huge difference between not being good enough anymore and not caring. As for his wages, it was the club’s decision to pay him what he earns. They could have sold him or let his contract run out if they wanted to. And you only break records like Charlton’s if you’re good enough, and I really hope he does break it.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Sep 24th 2016, 10:42 PM

Ye cos smoking and being overweight is a real sign of dedication.(why do you think he wears those spanks under his jersey)?

Mute ryan o sullivan
    Favourite ryan o sullivan
    Sep 24th 2016, 10:45 PM

To be fair he did put the club under the bus and said they had no ambition and couldn’t attract top players anymore so he demanded his wages were doubled ha , smart agent to be fair . He could take a leaf out a giggs book and do yoga and bang his bros missus or just go mls and everyone’s happy

Mute I'mthatguy
    Favourite I'mthatguy
    Sep 24th 2016, 10:54 PM

You are without doubt the biggest jackass ever to comment here

Mute The Bloody Nine
    Favourite The Bloody Nine
    Sep 24th 2016, 11:02 PM

Neenee, please inform us all of his current weight and bmi. And while you’re at it, how many cigarettes a day does he smoke? Didi Hamaan and Jurgen Klinsmann also smoked.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Sep 24th 2016, 11:08 PM

Aw @Imtheonlyg_y did I insult your crush?

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Sep 25th 2016, 1:57 AM

An article about Javier Hernandez is hijacked by Liverpool “fans” to slagging off Wayne Rooney. Another clown refers to Ryan Giggs “banging his brother’s wife”. Obsessed or what? You couldn’t make this stuff up :-)

Mute Declan Kearns
    Favourite Declan Kearns
    Sep 25th 2016, 3:53 AM

One of van gaal biggest mistakes leting the little man go. Always good for goals.

Mute Fergal Murray
    Favourite Fergal Murray
    Sep 25th 2016, 2:58 AM

He was never a Man Utd favourite. Never got the chance to prove himself

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Sep 25th 2016, 12:46 PM

He was a fans favourite Fergal. Fergie used him well but never got much chance under Moyes and even less so under LVG. I always liked him and was very disappointed to see him go.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.