Advertisement
James Crombie/INPHO

What can be done to tackle the gambling crisis in the GAA?

Is the Association fighting a losing battle?

REVELATIONS FROM GALWAY this week that two clubs in the county bet on themselves this year has brought the issue of gambling and the GAA bubbling to the surface once again.

There are plans from the GAA’s Health and Wellbeing Committee to bring a motion to Annual Congress next year, whereby measures aimed at stopping players from betting on games and competitions they are involved in would be introduced.

Such measures would prove almost impossible to police, however, as former Galway hurler and addiction counsellor Justin Campbell has acknowledged.

“The player will walk into Paddy Power’s and put on the bet himself – who’s to stop it?

“Suppose you’re knocked out in the championship in an All-Ireland quarter-final, you can’t have a bet either because it’s still the competition you were involved in.

“I don’t know what the right way is but something needs to be done – an open debate needs to take place.

“You can make all the policies you like but if players don’t adhere to them, you’re in serious bother.”

During the summer, leading bookmakers Paddy Power and Boylesports moved to stop betting on underage GAA games.

But one former inter-county star has indicated to The42 that players at various levels involved in gambling on various sports is now a “massive crisis.”

“It’s the topic of conversation in many dressing rooms,” he said. “Lads reaching for phones after matches and training, to check if a team/horse/dog is after coming up trumps for them. Sad but true.”

But what’s the solution, if any?

Take our poll and have your say in the comments section below…

Poll Results:

There's not much that can be done - if somebody wants to get on a bet, they'll do so. (932)
Make a start by introducing measures to prohibit gambling on games and competitions players are directly involved in. (575)
Other suggestion (specify below). (82)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Watch: Compelling speech from ex-inter-county star on how hurling helped in tough times

Meath manager claims Dublin league trophy in last game with All-Ireland club champs

Close
11 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Derek Finnegan
    Favourite Derek Finnegan
    Dec 14th 2016, 7:39 PM

Stop advertising gambling that’s the main cause even when I came on this page it came with an ad for bet fair :-/ don’t ask stupid questions when yous are supporting these kind of ads

Mute Lone Wolf
    Favourite Lone Wolf
    Dec 14th 2016, 7:43 PM

100% agree. Those orange betfair ads are such an eye sore since the arrived on this site.

Mute Interupting Sheep
    Favourite Interupting Sheep
    Dec 14th 2016, 7:49 PM

Completely agree on the over advertisement of the industry. However not quite accurate to blame the site for the adverts you see. They’re targeted marketing meaning you’re seeing them because you fit a certain profile based on your cookies, browsing history. Has next to nothing to do with the people running the sites.

See 5 more replies ▾
    Mute Conal Lane Hade
    Favourite Conal Lane Hade
    Dec 14th 2016, 8:40 PM

Agreed. A bit ridiculous that tobacco sponsorship is eradicated and alcohol sponsorship heavily monitored yet gambling firms have pretty much free rein. How many premier league clubs display online gambling companies as their title sponsor? Almost half I would reckon

Mute Irishoversea
    Favourite Irishoversea
    Dec 14th 2016, 11:59 PM

If gambling adverts stop you can kiss good bye to live horse racing on normal tv..

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Dec 15th 2016, 12:25 AM

Agreed I throw down the odd accumulator in the shop itself.. never create an online account cause your gonna have serious interrogation when getting a mortgage. Never seen a betting ad on these sites..

Mute Biscuits Patinkin
    Favourite Biscuits Patinkin
    Dec 15th 2016, 8:03 PM

My God how amazing would that be!

Mute Biscuits Patinkin
    Favourite Biscuits Patinkin
    Dec 15th 2016, 8:04 PM

No horse racing on tv that is!

Mute darren
    Favourite darren
    Dec 14th 2016, 7:20 PM

I’ll bet you a tenner nothing will happen.

Mute Talleyrand Frye
    Favourite Talleyrand Frye
    Dec 14th 2016, 7:23 PM

Two separate issues are being conflated here.

There is the question of whether players should be allowed bet on games they are playing in, and the question of what to do about the gambling crisis that involves many people who play GAA.

I have zero problem with players betting on themselves to win a game or a championship. It isn’t a secret that teams have been doing this for a while – Jim McGuinness mentioned that the Donegal panel backed themselves to win the All Ireland. If it provides extra motivation and lads can get a few euro for their efforts, then that is fine by me.

But betting on your team to lose is obviously different. If a player is found to have done that, they should get a serious ban, maybe even for life.

People might say allowing them to bet on themselves leaves the temptation of betting against themselves. Perhaps, but I think the idea that we should ban a positive thing to possibly prevent a negative thing is not a good basis to make a rule.

And, even if we ban players from betting on their own games, that will literally do nothing to resolve the issue of gambling, since players will still be free to bet on thousands of different sporting events every week.

Mute Lone Wolf
    Favourite Lone Wolf
    Dec 14th 2016, 7:46 PM

If a player wants to bet for or against themselves I can’t see how they will be caught. It can be done so easily online or through a friends account. No point bringing in a rule that can’t in all credibility be inforced.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.