SHAMROCK ROVERS HAVE today announced the latest addition to their squad for next season, while one former Rovers player has also found a new club.
Ethan Boyle has left relegated Finn Harps to join the Hoops, with Dave Webster signing for Waterford after his departure from Tallaght was confirmed earlier this month.
A versatile 20-year-old who can play in midfield and defence, Boyle spent two seasons with Harps and has also featured in the Republic of Ireland U21 squad in their ongoing qualifying campaign for the 2019 European Championships.
Shamrock Rovers manager Stephen Bradley thinks highly of the Wexford native, who may end up replacing right-back Simon Madden, whose unexpected exit from the club was announced last week.
โIโve liked Ethan for a long time,โ Bradley said. โI think he brings a lot of qualities to us. Heโs very athletic, powerful and he can use the ball. Heโs very comfortable on the ball because heโs played midfield as well. He has a lot of really good attributes.
โHeโs a good age, heโs an Irish U21 international so I think heโs a great fit for us. I believe we can help take Ethanโs game to the next level, make him into a top right-back, centre-back and midfielder. He can play in three or four positions. Iโve known him for a number of years and heโs impressed me every time Iโve seen him, whether itโs right-back or central midfield.
โWe had him on trial a couple of years ago [under Pat Fenlon]. Back then I think we had too many players in those positions. Ethan has obviously gone off and played a lot of games in the league since then. When I spoke to him he just wanted to come and sign for us and get playing. He knows that he can be a big player for the club in the coming years. Heโs really looking forward to it.โ
Boyle said: โIt didnโt take much persuasion. Itโs a big club and the thought of playing for Shamrock Rovers is quite a big thing so I was more than happy to join. Iโm very excited, I canโt wait to get to pre-season and hopefully get myself a starting position and hold it down.
โStephen Bradley hasnโt specifically spoken to me about right-back but heโs said that a position in the back four may be more suited. Iโve no problem staying in a position for a year and completely honing in on that position and becoming the best player I can.
โI think Iโm versatile, I can do a job in a lot of places. Iโve always said I like playing in midfield but I know thereโs a lot of competition here. If they want me to play in midfield, right-back or centre-back I donโt mind.โ
As for Webster, the 28-year-old central defender โ who joined Shamrock Rovers ahead of the 2015 season โ has signed a one-year deal with newly-promoted Waterford, who are back in the top flight for 2018 after winning the First Division title.
The Dubliner becomes Waterfordโs third new signing for next season, following the news that striker Izzy Akinade and midfielder Bastien Hery are also bound for the RSC after being snapped up from Bohemians and Limerick respectively.
โPeople I have talked to over the last few weeks have spoken highly of the club, the fans and the set-up, so it is an excellent opportunity for me to be part of it all next season,โ said Webster.
โAfter having a couple of chats with Pat Fenlon, it was clear the club has high ambitions, so Iโm excited to be a part of those. The club had a very successful year last season and Iโm hoping I can add and contribute to that success on the pitch and in the dressing room.โ
โif he doesnโt take his hand off my leg Iโm going to have to say somethingโ
Jasus, I could kill for some milk now. Milk, milk, milk, milk.
Did I turn off the emersion?
Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens, Brown paper packages tied up with strings, These are a few of my favorite thingsโฆ
Are ya there Bod? Itโs me, Paulie. :)
When Chuck Norris dies Iโll be king!!
โI bet ya I could touch the celing..โ
GOD. Can You put your fear into them again please !
I watched these boys training this morning @ Carton House, bet heโs thinking who was yer one there in the black & grey coat!!!
โHow do they put the fig in the figroll?โ
โPlease God let the decision to put Earls at centre be a good oneโฆโ
Heโs wondering how heaslip managed to tape cian healy to the ceiling in retaliation for cling-filming his car to a lamp post.
โJeeeeeeesus, Declan Kidney talks a lot of shiteโฆ..โ
Canโt believe he didnโt pick ROGโฆ
Eddie was from youghal. Decco is from cork. I dont really miss Brian. Could murder a few sausages.
E=mc2โฆ.omg I get it now, itโs such an elegant solution!!
They should fix that leak.
I tired now Boss!!!!
Please God donโt let Deccie put Paddy Wallace in the team
Itโs like the time I signed up for that adโฆ.I thought the ad was for M I L Fโฆ.turned out it was for M I L Kโฆ..Ah wellโฆ.
โIf that pretty-boy Bowe joins Munster, I might have to start the sunbeds meselfโฆ.โ
Donโt make me come up to ya God, we better win at the weekendโฆโฆโฆ.RIGHT!!!
Holy shit thereโs a puma jumping over my head!
Note to self: iron the feckin shirt for the next press conference.
Thereโs that fecker superman again after my pyjamas
Declan told me โlook them straight in the eyeโ. But the little bastards were flying all over the place.
Are we still in australia Declan
Emily
Look normal . . its a pretty nasty silent milk fart but nobody can say it was mine. I some love milk.
Just what I was thinking
โI wonder what s***e gatland will come out with this yearโ
Did I plug out the iron?
I wonder will Coolderry beat Gort in the hurling.
Johnny Sexton! Was Deco watching the world cup
Beam me up BOD
Im soooo tired!!
Shite, did I turn the immersion offโฆ
Whoโs gonna milk the cows on sunday
Praise god for the milk we are about to receive
โIโm just a poor boy, nobody loves me. Heโs just a poor boy from a poor family. Spare him his life from this monstrosity!
Easy come, easy go, will you let me go. Bismilah! No, we will not let you goโโฆetc :-)
Please make them go awayโฆ
Hope itโs not a smelly
*inevitable Bertie comment*
Mother a jaysus will this gobshite ever shut up
St. Jude please let me win the 6 nations before I retire and then make me manager and give yerman beside me the big heave-HO you know I deserve it
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7SD3gbDVCU&feature=related
Is this really happening ,what do I do now
I really should have ironed my t-shirt!
Wonder what tan Gavin Henson uses? Really must ask himโฆ..
I wish Anne Doyle was interviewing us!
ooh silent but deadly, nice one :)
Paulie: โIm not normally a religios man but, if youre up there, BoD please help us!!โ
oops *religious*
Sick of the journal losing comments, getting tedious guys
Paul: โChose milk with the dairy council sign..โ
Producer: and..
Paul: โwe do?
Producer: no u dumb cauliflower head I DO not we do not u do not they fโn do, say it with me paul, I DOโฆ
Paul: โgot u now horse,
Choose milk with the Ndc sign, you do?โ
Producer: screw this could we get that monkey we auditioned yesterday back for another casting
Is that the jacks upstairs leaking?
Wow their really tall
Thatโs class wallpaper!
Jesus H. Will Deccie ever shut up!!
The second best priest
Whereโs my cape???? ROG needs to be on the team!!!!!