DAVY FITZGERALD HAS stepped down as Wexford senior hurling coach.
The Clare man had five years in charge of the county, leading the Yellowbellies to their first provincial title in a decade in a half in 2019.
“I have informed the County Board that I will not be in a position to continue in my role as Bainisteoir of the Wexford Senior Hurling team,” Fitzgerald said in a statement this morning.
“The main reason for this is down to the six-hour round trip from my home in Sixmilebridge, which I have done for the last five years.
“I have never felt closer or happier with any team in all my years coaching and I thoroughly enjoyed every second of my five years in Wexford. It has been an absolute privilege and an honour to have worked with every one of the players during my time in Wexford. There were ups and downs, highs and lows, as is the nature of sport, all of which was experienced with a sense of collective pride and enjoyment.
“To the players, county board, clubs and people of Wexford, I wish to thank each and every one of you for playing no small part in every enjoyable second of the journey. From the first meeting in Gorey in October 2016 to last Saturday week in Thurles you have all made me feel so welcome, supported and proud to be involved with Wexford.
“On behalf of myself and my backroom team I wish to thank everyone associated with Wexford GAA for everything over the last five years and I wish you all the very best for the future. Le Croí agus Lámh, Davy.”
More to follow
Brought a fairly average team on a lot, owes them nothing, fair play to him!
@Ronan: yeah they had a great record under him in fairness.
@Ronan: Not really, in his 5 years in charge he had 2 significant wins, both v Kilkenny, lost to Galway 3 times, lost to Tipp and most significantly
his native Clare knocked them out of the championship in 3 of his 5 years!
@Ger Keane: You can’t polish it Ger
@Ronan: they were not that average. They had beaten Cork, Waterford and Clare in the previous couple of years. They beat none of those teams under Davy.
@Ronan: he inherited a good bunch of young players that had won the 2 previous leinster u21s so 1 leinster title from that panel is not a great return. Now galway were dominant for a few of the early years but last 2 years was underwhelming.
I just hope they have not burnt out that squad like the clare squad from 2013/4
As a wexford fan, thanks Davy
@Ronny Phelan: ‘thanks’ for making the decision to retire or ‘thanks’ for the last 5 years ?
@James Beattie: both
Great hurling man. Probably better off taking a year or two out at this stage though.
Great guy
Think he brought Wexford on a lot , he wouldnt suit every team . I’d say Wexford fans were delighted with some big victories over Kilkenny and the 2019 Leinster was something special for all of Wexford
@Finnster: Wexford fans want trophies not emotional wins over kilkenny.
@Barry Dowling: did they not get both when they beat KK in the 2019 Leinster Final. I would say most Wexford fans love to beat KK on any given day
@Finnster: One trophy in 5 yrs. Maybe thats a Galway expectation talking. Dont think it cuts the mustard in Wexford tho.
@Barry Dowling: ye are t doing so good yourselves lately . Glasshouses and stones and all of that ; )
@Finnster: last 2 leinsters
@Kevin Shortall: did you reply for Barry or have you forgotten you have two accounts and replied in the wrong name ?
Paul galvin to replace him
I think he is the man to replace Cody. Bring Kilkenny back from the deep.
@James Cunningham: That’s hilarious
@James Cunningham: your stirring now . Love it
Well done davy you have done your best for Wexford over the years and now you can relax and enjoy family life .
Next stop galway
@Brendan Grace: no thanks
@Brendan Grace: he’s the man Galway needs
@Mark Jones: same as Loughnane was.
@Brendan Grace: although I don’t have much time for his antics I think Galway would be ideal. I think Davy works best with young lads as his training etc requires so much commitment and buy in. I think that it is alot easier to get that from younger lads than more established senior players .
Before people say Galway squad is old, they have some really good players that are just about to step into senior ranks having been very successful underage for the last number of years so I think he is the ideal person to come in and make the necessary changes.
@Hang 10 Shaka Brah: running them around Ballybrit at 6am,poisioning the love of the game out of them,no thanks….next please.
@Brendan Grace: or Dublin.
@Brendan Grace: Nooooooooooooo
Might seem like a very unpopular opinion but I’d take him for Cork in a heart beat. He’s a proven winner and will at least shake things up. This Cork team has been the same mould for the last how many years and has lead us to constant failure. Yes Davy is a madman, but at least you know how passionate he is about the team, unlike current/previous managers. Too many politics involving players who clearly are there on reputation, Davy could lead our revolution by coming in with an open mind.
@Stanley: Cork or Galway wouldn’t take him in a fit. Are you mad.
@Stanley: you’re right.
That would seem like a very unpopular opinion.
@Darren Mullins: Cork wouldn’t but Galway would
@Stanley: what are you on about. Kingston had a huge purge of the squad for this season.
Cork are developing a lot of players that are coming into the team in the next few years and the last thing we need is that clown to ruin all that work. The next Cork manager should be Pat Ryan
@Stanley: you’re as delusional as Davy. I wouldn’t want him near Cork in a million years.
@Killian Bushell: oh because Killian doesn’t rate a winner, the County shouldn’t get the manager we deserve?
@John Buckley: Kingston had his chance and failed, now has another chance and we are fighting through qualifiers. Time to go
@Stanley: no, I’ve a workmate who manages teams in Clare and I’ve heard tales would turn your hair white. He shouldn’t be allowed near any team in my opinion. Not to mention the cost of him in expenses and whatnot. We deserve a lot better than Davy.
@Killian Bushell: cost of expenses is a reason for not wanting a top manager… enough dodgy business going on upstairs to worry about petrol.
@Stanley: that would be the least concern when it comes to Davy.
@Caddyshack: Galway won’t . Not a chance
@Stanley: you can have your opinion but unfortunately for you it means nothing. The vast majority of cork hurling people would never want Davy near the county.
@Stanley: I don’t get this idea that Davy is more passionate then other managers, the likes of Kiely, Sheedy, Lohan, Cody to name but a few are just as passionate about hurling as him, but they don’t go round shouting and roaring abuse the whole time, like him, so if that’s your idea of passionate fair bit it. But I think at times his passion gets overstated especially it seems to get him out of spots, if he starts abuse refs or players it’s because his passion, or maybe it is actually because he is a bully.
@Finnster: Galway went outside the county before
Writing was on the wall after his rant after the loss last week. Obsessed with Clare and not a fig about his plans for Wexford.
At least it was only a small step….
Thanks Davy. Great memories over last 5 years. Will never forget the atmosphere in Croke Park on Leinster Final day 2019.
I find him as a great coach. Regardless what people think he has done great for any team he coached.
Going for a swim with the small fishes for a period it seems
How much did you make Davy. On to the next gravy train.
Not a shock.
Made savage money out of it for 5 years through all means he could
@Jimmy Jones: don’t they all?
Good man Davy , ignore the usual begrudges
Threw away a very probable All-Ireland in 19 in the last 20 mins, a man up Vs Tipp. One that definitely got away
Maybe he’ll STFU now – seriously doubt it though.
Sixmilebridge to Athenry wouldn’t be a six hour return trip.
Sure he just a little fish
Did the journey get longer?
As a proud yella belly well done Davy, you will always be welcome in the sunny South east