Advertisement

Barry John Keane upset an awful lot of people with his time-wasting antics

Kerry sub kicked two points — but also kicked the ball off Paul Durcan’s tee to waste precious seconds.

James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

KERRY SUB BARRY John Keane kicked two points in this afternoon’s All-Ireland final win, but it was another kick that drew the ire of GAA fans around the country.

Keane infuriated Donegal when he knocked the ball off Paul Durcan’s tee as the keeper rushed to take a kick-out in the dying moments.
http://vine.co/v/O7K5tn1bleu

Here’s a flavour of the reaction to Keane’s “gamesmanship”:

‘Well Joe Brolly, what do you think of that?!’ Kieran Donaghy lets out a post-match roar

Fitzmaurice: It is tougher managing in an All-Ireland final than playing in it

Close
35 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Ian O'Reilly
    Favourite Ian O'Reilly
    Sep 21st 2014, 7:00 PM

Didnt hear any donegal people complaining when one of there minors ran away with the kicking tee in the last minute of the semi against Dublin

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Sep 22nd 2014, 12:28 AM

what was the foul count in the Seniors today. It was 10 fouls committed by Kerry and 1 by Donegal. How did it finish?

Mute Darragh Brennan
    Favourite Darragh Brennan
    Sep 21st 2014, 7:56 PM

It really annoys me to see people defending this type of play ” if it was me I’d have done the same thing” that’s a pile of BS. Our game is being ruined by cynical play.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:42 PM

Once again, what are the umpires at? Or even the linesman. A joke. It looked beyond childish. To be fair he does like a bit of a thug.

Mute Andrew Cosgrave
    Favourite Andrew Cosgrave
    Sep 21st 2014, 7:38 PM

As a neutral I roared on Kerry for 71 mins, then I saw these antics and I prayed for a Donegal goal for karma(and it very nearly happened) Not for the rest of the Kerry lads who were fantastic just for that unsporting little runt. He deserved to be a loser tonight not the rest of them

Mute Jj Sullivan
    Favourite Jj Sullivan
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:13 PM

Did exact same

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Sep 21st 2014, 7:08 PM

I think Donegal are pretty street smart and cynical themselves, once they get within 45ysrds of the goal they go looking for frees but what BJK did was just plain stupid and disrespectful. I don’t think Donegal can really complain but unfortunately this side of the game is becoming more prevalent

Mute Peter Dunne
    Favourite Peter Dunne
    Sep 21st 2014, 7:14 PM

What’s happened to Football it used to be a game played by men games would be though but fair and if things needed sorting a few slaps would be thrown fellas would shake hands and get on with it. But now the cynicism,crap football and down right cheating is taking the soul out of what was a great game and on rare occasion still is.

Mute S
    Favourite S
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:05 PM

Great comment Peter.

Mute Mick O'Neill
    Favourite Mick O'Neill
    Sep 21st 2014, 6:58 PM

Not the sort of man you would have tea and biscuits with

Mute Jj Sullivan
    Favourite Jj Sullivan
    Sep 21st 2014, 7:22 PM

Made my sick to my stomach as a neutral and u can make all these excuses for him but does that mean that is what the game has come to? Next we will see simulation, he should get a game ban. As I said watched as a neutral but was disappointed when he won.

Mute harvey kinkel
    Favourite harvey kinkel

Showed his true class should leave those antics to soccer players.

Mute frank mullen
    Favourite frank mullen

Muppet

Mute Paul O'Donohoe
    Favourite Paul O'Donohoe
    Sep 21st 2014, 7:08 PM

I’m sure the all-ireland medal will help him get over the criticism he’s receiving

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:00 PM

Should get no medal , but a lengthy ban.

Mute Brian O' Brien
    Favourite Brian O' Brien
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:09 PM

That must make it right then, like the 5 year olds around me are saying.

Mute Stephen jackson
    Favourite Stephen jackson
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:20 PM

Seen his happen in a club championship QF game a few years ago. Full forward kicked ball off the goalkeepers tee in dying seconds. Ref booked him and added on 1 min extra time. Keeper then took his kick out, his team won it and went up the pitch and won a penalty. They were 2 points down, scored the penalty, game over, and won by a point. If the full forward had not kicked ball of the tee they would have won the match. Instant karma!

Mute Ríana Lynch
    Favourite Ríana Lynch
    Sep 23rd 2014, 7:15 PM

To Stephen Jackson above, I completely agree with the ref that you witnessed.

I’m not one for being concise.. bare with me.

I hate all the messing around in Soccer. Due to pure patriotism I seem to be able to block out the ugly bits of GAA. However the above offence is one huge step too far.
    If the GAA will allow this level of disrespect; I will no longer be giving them money. I say this as a very proud Irish woman; A Donegal woman with over 280 euro worth of tickets in my hand -since July!!! (I’ve been supporting Kilkenny also)

I am so proud of all things Irish. I can speak gaelic, I can tell you about our amazing ancient art, I can play you a tune on the fiddle and I can certainly cook you a good hearty Irish stew.
    However, it is our friendly personality that seems to put us on the map.

Is there any point in being friendly if we cannot even treat each other with respect?

Is competition a good enough excuse to void this morality?

The kick displayed above is a rarity, sure. So in this instance, in a game so vital, I can understand how difficult a decision it was for the referee. This is why the GAA must take action before the 2015 championship begins. Rules must be made for our poor referee’s to apply.

Watching Kerry wasting time was painful for me in Croke Park on Sunday, but as long as its clean; I’m keen.

But we cannot condone bad behaviour. Once you break the line of sportsmanship, of respect; action must be taken.
    I never want to see the above action again, but if I do, whoever the team, I hope there is 2 minutes added to the game.

To the rest of the Kerry team, and all of its supporters, congratulations on your win.

To fellow Donegalians; next time x

Mute Chris Long
    Favourite Chris Long
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:33 PM

“But that’s what the other team would do” is the saddest, most pathetic excuse for acting petulant and unsporting. Whatever happened to class and dignity.

Mute damien
    Favourite damien
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:45 PM

Sums up the shite game it was

Mute padraig forde
    Favourite padraig forde
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:17 PM

And he probaly wonders why he’s a sub?

Mute Lorcan Quinlan
    Favourite Lorcan Quinlan
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:39 PM

Maybe the Ref added on time when he saw what Bjk had done ! I know I would have ! So maybe his stupidity could have caused his team the title ! And great effort from Donegal to engineer the chance right at the end

Mute David o'neill
    Favourite David o'neill
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:30 PM

Walk home from Dublin !!! 1 game ban are ye having a laugh ???? Lot worse things going on in football !!!

Mute Brian O' Brien
    Favourite Brian O' Brien
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:12 PM

I taught it was a streaker coming in it was that pat ethic

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:36 PM

It looked fair childish alright

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:37 PM

Reminded me of fr dougal Maguire kicking a random lad on the ground at the priests games

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:09 PM

Sure it’s cute kerry hoorism don’t ya know! I’m surprise no one has done it before especially the way the cynicism has been going on the last few years and by the few lads who suggested they would have done the same. To be fair I wouldn’t care how mayo won an all Ireland as long as they won!

Mute Ríana Lynch
    Favourite Ríana Lynch
    Sep 23rd 2014, 7:26 PM

Dear lord Spoddgy!

The whole country wants Mayo to finally have their day but come on now..

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:11 PM

A Donegal minor took the kicking tee away in the semi final,when the Dublin keeper was about to take a kick out,is cynical fouls not a black card ? Or just a clever tactic !

Mute Damien Byrne
    Favourite Damien Byrne
    Sep 22nd 2014, 3:45 AM

He’s let himself down there big style. There’s a way to win a game and that’s not it.

Mute Gerard Fitzgerald
    Favourite Gerard Fitzgerald
    Sep 22nd 2014, 7:06 AM

Only a ignorant cheat would kick the tee waay,and only in GAA would he get away with it,the game with no class or rules!,sporstmanship in GAA is non existant,its just a redneck battle,thats why it can be entertaining,its not for class or skill

Mute Justin Morahan
    Favourite Justin Morahan
    Sep 22nd 2014, 12:56 PM

This was a really unsporting act and Barry John Keane should be remembered for it. Why was there no red card shown?
    I suggest that if this happens in any game again the following penalties should apply:

1. A penalty at the other end
    2. Offending Player red carded
    3. Offending Player barred from playing for five years
    4. Offending Player’s club fined €10,000

Mute David o'neill
    Favourite David o'neill
    Sep 22nd 2014, 1:57 PM

A touch harsh !!!!

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Sep 22nd 2014, 11:18 AM

If the black card isn’t for this type of thing, what is it for? The ref did add on a bit of time though and Donegal could have snatched a draw with a bit of luck.

Mute Donal Ring
    Favourite Donal Ring
    Sep 22nd 2014, 7:59 PM

A yellow/black card in the last min of a game is clearly no deterrent. In fact it only wastes further time and frustrates the opposition even more. Durkan should have sent BJK crashing into next week and maybe then the GAA would do something about cynical play. A penalty kick is the only suitable punishment that will prevent this type of thing happening over and over again at the end of big matches. We’ve seen really cynical fouling in recent years by teams protecting a small lead- by Mayo in 2012 semi v Dublin, by Dublin in final 2013 v Mayo, Down 2010 semi v Kildare, Kerry 2014 semi v Mayo, etc. How can the ridiculous black card prevent this? of course it won’t ,then we have the farcical sight of players being allowed to stand about 8m away to block a 13m free as in the semi replay in Limerick. The only suitable sanction is a penalty kick which will result in a goal probably 8 times out of 10.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.