ALISSON BECKER IS set to sit out at least seven more games for Liverpool, with Jurgen Klopp not expecting to have him back until after the next international break.
The Brazil international goalkeeper has been sidelined since picking up an unfortunate calf injury on the opening day of the season.
Initial fears of a serious problem up were eased, but Alisson is no closer to making a return to action.
He has already missed three Premier League games and the Uefa Super Cup, with summer signing Adrian taking his place in the Reds side.
Klopp admits that he is likely to require cover between the sticks for several more weeks, with Liverpool eager to avoid rushing Alissonโs recovery.
With a cautious approach being favoured, the 26-year-old will remain out of contention until mid-October.
Asked to provide a fitness update at his latest press conference, Klopp told reporters of Alisson: โFunnily enough, we had lunch together again so he looks good.
โHeโs improving, but we cannot put any pressure on it. It was a really serious injury with the calf and it is now much better, good for us and good for him.
โWe donโt know exactly. The target was always that after the next international break he could be ready, but we donโt know.
โThereโs no pressure and hopefully everything will be fine for the rest of the season.โ
With Alisson being out of contention for the foreseeable future, former West Ham goalkeeper will likely cover Premier League games with Newcastle, Chelsea, Sheffield United and Leicester along with Champions League games with Napoli and Salzburg.
The Carabao Cup tie with MK Dons, meanwhile, may offer Irish U21 goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher a first senior appearance for Liverpool.
While Klopp will not be seeing Alisson on the field any time soon, he is expecting to soon welcome Naby Keita back into the fold.
The Guinean midfielder suffered a recurrence of a hip problem prior to the Super Cup win over Chelsea.
Klopp said of the 24-year-old: โNaby is close, much closer than Ali obviously.
โI think he could be in training when we come back from Napoli next week.โ
With the warm-up games out of the way, Murray, Bernard and Gavan discuss the renewed cause for optimism, impressive individual player form, and a potential quarter-final versus either South Africa or New Zealand.
The42 Rugby Weekly / SoundCloud
He will join Real in the summer Iโd say fair play to utd not letting Real Madrid bully them into a sale and having it on there terms. What a horrible club Real Madrid really are
Barca are no different either.
How are they horrible?
no excuses for you here neenee
Ah, all bigger clubs are like that; Barca, Real, United. Itโs just in this case itโs the 2nd biggest rubbing it into the 3rd biggest. Thatโs the way it works. United have done the exact same hundreds of times
Haha 3rd biggest club what about Bayern Munich?United may have been the 3rd biggest club but that was years ago when Fergie was in charge.just like Liverpool were in the 80s
Sure United have done what Madrid did with De Gea loads if time. They even ended up paying more for Berbatov so Spurs wouldnโt report them to the league for tapping a player up.
Quoting the Sun is like quoting the local drunk in the pub or a kid in the schoolyard.
Or you P
Neenee that was awful
It was a joke
hilarious neeneee.
So are you neeneee !
either this isnโt a United article or De Gea didnโt signed a new contract. Neenee would never go back on his word
No offence Dave but your like a broken record reminding neeneee about that every time
to be fair Iโm only pointing out facts.
also, itโs only been two days. heโll do something else soon and Iโll change the record
Iโd say two days is a long time when youโre obviously doing nothing
Also a lot of comments in a few days! Three in the one article is a bit excessive evenโฆ
you just made three comments on my comments
I think Dave has a thing for me
neenee, the very fact that youโre here after giving your word that you wouldnโt be shows that youโre the one with the issue. Youโre actually addicted to United
Yeah three completely different comments though but as I said, youโre like a broken record!
Luke your not far behind, Iโd nearly go as far as saying your the third in the group of neenee Alan B and then yourself. Total ABU, Hope you enjoyed yesterday.
if anything this thread is making me believe they are all one
Dave ye are all in denial if you think the reason De Gea has signed a new contract is to bolt down his future at Manchester all he sees is the โฌโฌโฌโฌโฌโฌs
Iโm seriously thinking about setting up a helpline for United supporters who are living in the past and in denial
Ah yes, Luke, Ron, Alan B and now Neeneeโฆ all ploughing out the same line.
What sad muppet would have 4 accounts on the go at the one timeโฆ. ah yes that would be Luke Eire who made promises last year but hasnโt appeared here since.
neenee, I have no doubt in my mind that if Real pay heโll go. But Real have to pay. Thatโs why United fans are happy. A lot of us were willing to let him go for nothing next year just to have him for another year. Now we are guaranteed that that will not happen.
How the hell do the Sun on โSundayโknow how much the clause is if thereโs one !
Up yours, Real Madrid
Madrid will get the last laugh next season when heโs playing for them. Money is no obstacle for them, especially when buying a world class player. Madrid literally donโt care about the fee attached to any player
ยฃ29 million will buy us another keeper. Real Madrid were all set to get him either half price or free. So we get the last laugh :D
why didnโt they just offer the 40 million during the summer and not wait until the last few hours and then not bother submitting the paperwork before the deadline. 80% of Real Madrid fans polled on deadline day said they did not want DeGea at the club. this may have changed The Reals Boards minds and DeGeas mind. it was only last week most were saying he would never sign a new contract with United but here we are. nobody knows what goes on behind the scenes at these clubs.
United fans were deluding themselves if they thought he was signing a new contract to stay long term. It was only to specify the exact fee he would be allowed leave for. Similar to Ronaldo and Suarez. Heโll be gone next summer.
did he tell you this himself so is it just wishful thinking on your behalf. a year is a long time in football and none of us know what will happen.
Ah P I love your optimism
I donโt think there is many utd fans who think De Dea is staying after summer.
well considering so many football geniuses on here insisted he would never sign a new contract and hold out for the massive sign on fee in January. Iโm not saying he is going to stay for the 4 years on his contract but a lot changes in football in one year. what if Navas has the season of his life? Will Madrid want to piss of the fans by buying a new keeper, what if DeGeas form dips or has a poor Euro 2016. Chelsea had the best defence in the league 6 months ago and are getting ripped apart at the moment and have the worst defensive record in the league. as I said a lot changes in football in a few months.
ya sure didnโt neenee promise heโd never comment on a United article again if De Gea signed a new contract? De Gea did his part.
He did but he thought he was logged in as Ron and got caught again the fool
ยฃ29m for one of the best keepers in the world is still a bargain.
Itโs nothing for a club like Real
I donโt know about that, there is talk that Madrid didnโt pay the money because they didnโt have it. Over the past few years they have tended to have to sell players to fund buying players.
new King not bailing them out?
Madrid have an election next year. itโs going to be a crazy year over there
So we now have scousers loving what the Sun reportโฆ yet refuse to buy it.
That rag reports any sh*!UTe, everyone knows that.