FORMER WORLD NUMBER one Adam Scott has decided to make himself unavailable for the upcoming Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.
In a statement, Scott – seventh in the world rankings with the top 15 to automatically qualify for Rio 2016 – confirmed he would skip the event.
He cited a busy schedule as his reason not to play at the Games as the sport returns to the Olympics for the first time since 1904.
“My decision has been taken as a result of an extremely busy playing schedule around the time of the Olympics and other commitments, both personal and professional,” he said.
“I have informed the Australian team captain [Ian Baker-Finch] and relevant authorities, who are understanding of my position and I wish the Australian Olympic team the very best of luck in Rio.”
Scott had previously hinted that he would bypass the Olympics.
In November last year, the 2013 Masters champion said: “It’s not really a priority of my scheduling next year and I’ll still base my schedule around the Majors. Looking at the schedule, some time off looks quite good actually.
That’s nothing to take away from the Olympics but I’m just not sure that they have got it quite dialled in for the format and might have missed an opportunity there to do something pretty special for golf.
Scott’s absence follows three-time Major champion Vijay Singh’s decision to opt against playing in Rio, preferring to focus on the PGA Tour instead.
The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!
Why would he play, another 4 day stroke play in another different continent.
Don’t think the Olympics will be a priority for most golfers, the majors & the Ryder cup will still hold most appeal
All the top tennis players play the Olympics I can see it being the same here, I would have thought everyone would like to win an Olympic medal representing their country, but then I’m not ridiculously goodlooking, very rich or very talented like Adam Scott so I can’t know what he way he thinks
The Olympics should be the pinnacle of any sport or event. With golf and tennis it isn’t. Majors and grand slams are the biggest trophies in those sports. Professional tennis and golf in the Olympics is more like a novelty.
No doubt, Steve williams will write a book about how he knew nothing about this.
One of the few occasions a golfer has to represent his/her country should surely be jumped at.
If the prize money was a million he would play!!!
Strange attitude from a top class ‘athlete’.
Fair play Adam! Maybe in a few years golfers might see a gold medal as a top achievement, but when you grow up and spend your life wanting to win the majors etc. It’s very hard to see something without the tradition as being a pinnacle of the sport. In fairness players would like a medal, would they take it over a major??? I think that answers it and also the schedule around then is jam packed as it is.