Skip to content
Leinster 'A' captain Bryan Byrne (file pic). Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Disappointment for Leinster 'A' in the last British & Irish Cup final

They came up short in their bid to win the competition in its final season at the expense of Ealing Trailfinders.

Ealing Trailfinders 22
Leinster ‘A’ 7

LEINSTER’S HOPES OF completing a double swoop for silverware today were dashed as they came off second-best against Ealing Trailfinders at Vallis Way in the final of the British & Irish Cup.

In the final season of the competition, Leinster — winners in 2013 and ’14 — were unable to claim the silverware at the expense of the Championship side, who finished second to Bristol this year in England’s second tier.

Luke Carter’s try shortly before half-time sent Ealing into the changing rooms with a 10-7 lead, and they pulled further ahead after the restart thanks to tries from Joe Munro and Mark Bright.

After a cagey start in greasy conditions in West London, Luke Daniels kicked Ealing into a 13th-minute lead when Leinster were penalised for not rolling away. However, the visitors responded swiftly and were ahead within a couple of minutes.

Having kicked to the corner with a penalty, a pick-and-go drive brought Leinster over the opposition’s line. Beneath a pile of bodies, it was difficult to make out who had finished the move, but many of the congratulations appeared to go in the direction of captain Bryan Byrne.

Ciaran Frawley added the extras to give Leinster a 7-3 lead. Despite moving into the ascendancy, however, they never capitalised on that momentum to increase their advantage.

At the other end, they defended well to withstand heavy Ealing pressure as the interval approached, before eventually succumbing two minutes prior to half-time when scrum-half Luke Carter peeled away from the scrum to creep over for Ealing’s first try. Daniels’ conversion left the home side 10-7 in front at the break.

Ealing, aided by the first-half introduction of Mark Tampin to their front row, gradually gained the upper hand in the scrum. The pressure Leinster were under told in the 56th minute when replacement prop Peter Dooley was sin-binned after another scrum collapsed.

Moments later, Ealing increased their lead when Joe Munro finished off a superb move involving Carter and James Cordy Redden. With Leinster’s numbers further reduced following a yellow card to Tommy O’Brien for a deliberate knock-on, the English side went 22-7 ahead in the 62nd minute when captain Mark Bright charged over after Leinster brought the maul down just shy of their line.

Leinster came from 27-8 behind to get the better of Jersey Reds in their semi-final, but a similar comeback never looked likely this afternoon.

Ealing Trailfinders scorers:
Tries: Luke Carter, Joe Munro, Mark Bright
Penalties: Luke Daniels [1 from 2]
Conversions: Luke Daniels [2 from 3]
Leinster ‘A’ scorers:
Tries: Bryan Byrne
Conversions: Ciaran Frawley [1 from 1]
Penalties: Ciaran Frawley [1 from 1]

EALING TRAILFINDERS: Luke Daniels; Seb Stegman, Piers O’Conor, Joe Munro, James Cordy Redden; Shane O’Leary, Luke Carter; Will Davis, Alun Walker, Lewis Thiede; Sam Dickinson, Harry Casson; Kieran Murphy, Rayn Smid, Mark Bright (captain).

Replacements: Rhys Lawrence, James Gibbons, Mark Tampin, Oli Curry, Dan Temm, Calum Waters, Peter Lydon.

LEINSTER: Jack Kelly; Adam Byrne, Gavin Mullin, Conor O’Brien, Tommy O’Brien; Ciaran Frawley, Charlie Rock; Ed Byrne, Bryan Byrne (captain), Vakh Abdaladze; Mick Kearney, Ian Nagle; Josh Murphy, Peadar Timmins, Max Deegan.

Replacements: Sean McNulty, Peter Dooley, Jack Aungier, Caelan Doris, Will Connors, Hugh O’Sullivan, Tom Daly.

Referee: Craig Evans (WRU)

Kiwi-born Shields ready to ‘earn respect’ after pledging allegiance to England

Cardiff pull off magnificent comeback with last-minute penalty to snatch Challenge Cup

Author
View 4 comments
Close
4 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute David A Roberts
    Favourite David A Roberts
    Aug 13th 2022, 7:52 PM

Christmas has just come way too early… rolling all over the floor laughing at this result(s). Put the club into liquidation – be done with it.

Mute Eugene McDonough
    Favourite Eugene McDonough
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:36 PM

@David A Roberts: bit like Liverpool waiting 30 years for a breakthrough

Mute Gregson from the Block
    Favourite Gregson from the Block
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:49 PM

@Eugene McDonough: Even in their worst days, Liverpool weren’t this deplorable

See 11 more replies ▾
    Mute Eugene McDonough
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:01 PM

@Gregson from the Block: they were fairly bad I mean it took them 30 years to win premiership

Mute Eugene McDonough
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:01 PM

@Gregson from the Block: they were fairly bad I mean it took them 30 years to win premiership

Mute David A Roberts
    Favourite David A Roberts
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:33 PM

@Eugene McDonough: irrelevant reply to be fair

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Aug 13th 2022, 11:23 PM

@David A Roberts: No laughing Faces,what a pity…and now they are talking about bringing back the poison that’s responsible for this muck…christ all the money and they can’t spot the absolute obvious…oh sorry forgot we’re dealing with yanks here….

Mute Derek O Connor
    Favourite Derek O Connor
    Aug 13th 2022, 11:27 PM

@Gregson from the Block: Gerard last game against Stoke. They were!!

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Aug 13th 2022, 11:36 PM

@Eugene McDonough: Yes but from 94 onwards were rarely outside top 6. Our worst period was Woy.

Mute Kieran O'Riordan
    Favourite Kieran O'Riordan
    Aug 14th 2022, 12:36 AM

@Gregson from the Block: Dunno about that, things were fairly bleak under Gillett and Hicks. Had won a Champions league a few years before tho. “Roy” was the lowest low for Liverpool but it was sorted pretty quickly when FSG came in.

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 8:30 AM

@Eugene McDonough: living in the past I see… when’s the last time ye won the premieship…hmmmmm? When’s the last time ye won anything?!

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 8:36 AM

@Eugene McDonough: again..
    The past lad…and while we’re on the past…seem to remember a 26 year period ye didn’t win the league and if I’m not mistaken ye got relegated…wasnt it Denis Law’s goal for MAN CITY that played a big part in that…Anyway I digress…
    Take a look at the table…Ye’re are BOTTOM Of the league…. Liverpool never sunk so low as your lot…remind me…last season..
    Was it 9 goals in 2 games…no goals scored for ye.5-0 at the theatre of nightmares…Yes…good times indeed .. Ye’re absolute garbage!

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 14th 2022, 9:55 AM

@Damien Leen: you prove your ignorance with every comment. Denis laws goal had no bearing on united going down.

Mute Karl Harty
    Favourite Karl Harty
    Aug 14th 2022, 2:28 PM

@Damien Leen: ah damien lad you are making a t00l of yourself. Have you forgotten 2012/13 season? “Liverpool never sunk so low as your lot”
    2 points from first 5 games of I remember rightly.
    We are 2 games into the season lad. Let that sink in.
    Yes UTD are shambolic at the moment but get your facts right instead of making yourself look like a child in a playground.

Mute Kieran O'Riordan
    Aug 13th 2022, 7:53 PM

Comment section should be locked on this article

Mute Wooden Spoon
    Favourite Wooden Spoon
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:02 PM

@Kieran O’Riordan: As a United fan this feels like a murder trial. We were slaughtered…. Again!

Mute Buzz Killington
    Favourite Buzz Killington
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:53 PM

@Kieran O’Riordan: Man U fans are probably locked after watching that match. In fairness, though, it’s kinda shit watching what was, for two decades, a world-class club now sinking to these unfathomable depths. It’s not good for the game all in all; the Premier League needs them; the other big clubs need them – and want to beat them again, but not this team, though. Such a shame, but they will come back eventually, because they’re way too big to be this small.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Kieran O'Riordan
    Aug 14th 2022, 12:37 AM

@Buzz Killington: They dominated the PL for 20 years with the greatest manager of all time. I’m sure they can take a bit more punishment

Mute James horgan
    Favourite James horgan

Oh ffs. I absolutely love this man utd team. They are hilarious. Thomas Frank totally done Ten Haag tactically aswell. Frank knew exactly how to trouble united, Ten haag was like a rabbit caught in the headlights. Hail hail the glazers, moyes, van gall, solskjear, pogba etc and all who have made huge contributions to get Manchester United to this level. From a Liverpool fan and all opposition fans we thank ye greatly.

Mute Eugene McDonough
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:04 PM

@James horgan: next game is against Liverpool we’ll see how good Liverpool are then and how smart you are on the journal then

Mute jimmy fitz
    Favourite jimmy fitz
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:29 PM

@Eugene McDonough: we don’t need to b good to beat that team

See 10 more replies ▾
    Mute Gerard Browne
    Favourite Gerard Browne
    Aug 13th 2022, 11:42 PM

@James horgan: Who knows James maybe even a LOI team could beat United on current form

Mute Alan Clarke
    Favourite Alan Clarke
    Aug 13th 2022, 11:57 PM

@James horgan: you really believe Liverpool are not hated by all the other teams fans as well? lol. typical delusional narcissistic Liverpool fan. You even think you can speak for fans of all other clubs. Hail oh mighty one!

Mute Eugene Hubbard
    Favourite Eugene Hubbard
    Aug 14th 2022, 12:47 AM

@James horgan: your correct in all you say there mate. Been a United fan for 40+ years. It’s an all time low in fairness. I suppose on the law of averages they may rebound in 4-5 years but I wouldn’t bet on it. Can’t blame new manager either. Players are the problem

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 2:54 AM

@Eugene McDonough: u have to be the du mbest MF alive…or have the biggest set of metal balls in the world…either way I salute you…brave brave words l?

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 2:57 AM

@Alan Clarke: eh what…teams are hated…rain falls from the sky and Utd are $hite! TTFN!

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 3:00 AM

@Eugene Hubbard: Board and players

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 3:03 AM

@Eugene Hubbard: sorry kid, meant to reply to Alan Clarke…you’re comment was fair and balanced

Mute Great White Hope
    Favourite Great White Hope
    Aug 14th 2022, 9:51 AM

@James horgan: waffle

Mute James horgan
    Favourite James horgan
    Aug 14th 2022, 10:33 AM

@Eugene McDonough: I’d say liverpool are shaking. They have to play this man utd team next week. They must be bricking it. Not like they walloped without of getting out of 2nd gear last season. Ffs Eugene

Mute James horgan
    Favourite James horgan
    Aug 14th 2022, 10:50 AM

@Gerard Browne: Ha ha ha ha. True that Gerard. The rebel army maybe.

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Aug 13th 2022, 7:55 PM

Relegation candidates for sure

Mute Great White Hope
    Aug 14th 2022, 9:54 AM

@Tom kenny: put money on it?

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Aug 13th 2022, 7:57 PM

425m that starting 11 cost…..wow

Mute Trevor Wallace
    Favourite Trevor Wallace
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:01 PM

@Dave Ryan: 55m on the Brentford side…but still a much better team.

Mute Kieran O'Riordan
    Aug 14th 2022, 12:38 AM

@Dave Ryan: hard to argue that the owners are not backing the managers and investing when you see that stat.

Mute Tom Cunningham
    Favourite Tom Cunningham

Consistent start anyway!

Mute Ray Taff
    Favourite Ray Taff

Easy to go in on players who are just not good enough but this is 2 games now that Ten Hag has made huge mistakes in selection. Playing Martinez as centre back today was criminal. Special mention for Sancho who is arguably bang for buck our worst ever signing.

Mute James horgan
    Favourite James horgan
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:18 PM

@Ray Taff: Harry maguire is yer worst ever signing with Paul pogba running him close. 170 for those two wasters

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:33 PM

@James horgan: €170 is too much for those wasters or the rest of the team included.

See 9 more replies ▾
    Mute Stephen Lyons
    Favourite Stephen Lyons
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:44 PM

@Ray Taff: How can Ten Hag be to blame when he has barely got enough time to learn these players surnames! Club needs gutting from top to bottom, how you could trust any of those players next week is beyond me, yet it’s Liverpool so the pressure is on regardless of whether you play or drop them. Drop as many of that team as possible in favour of a few of the young lads who impressed in pre season, who would actually care about playing for United rather than those who couldn’t even be arsed to go over to the travelling fans after the game. Give James Garner a run, Charlie Savage, Iqbal. How could it get any lower! Ten Hag can’t be fooled into thinking that these players will play for him when they couldn’t for the big name managers that have gone before. Rant over!

Mute Ray Taff
    Favourite Ray Taff
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:52 PM

@Stephen Lyons: Playing Martinez against a team like Brentford when 6ft 4 Varane is on the bench is beyond lunacy. 3rd goal was schoolboy stuff and all down to the lack of physique of Martinez. I made my mind up on him last week when on his debut at 2-0 down he took out the Brighton forward from behind who was going g nowhere. Stonewall peno. Looks like a Daley Blind with a tan.

Mute Stephen Lyons
    Favourite Stephen Lyons
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:09 PM

@Ray Taff: Yeah fair enough but you never know what’s going on in the background. For all we know Varane could have a niggle and probably can’t commit to starting when Ten Hag asks the question, but might have enough to come off the bench. Varane is not a permanent solution with his injury record anyway and hasn’t had a sustained period in the team. I do get what you’re saying but still it can’t be down to any of Ten Hag’s decisions in my mind.

Mute Gerard McConnell
    Favourite Gerard McConnell
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:42 PM

@Ray Taff: I think the players are just not good enough, they have forgotten that hard work comes first. Rashford, Fernandez were absolutely appalling today. Shaw is finished, Fred was never good enough. And to round it off the manager played Erriksen in a defensive midfield role, I mean wtf.

Mute Eugene McDonough
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:07 PM

@Stephen Lyons: do we put our same team that beat Liverpool 4-0 in pre season I say go for it

Mute Kieran O'Riordan
    Aug 14th 2022, 12:42 AM

@Stephen Lyons: Things need to get worse before they get better. Some big names have to go and the owners need to back the manager. At the moment, no Top Tier player will go to them so it will take time to build back up to that. No CL this year and almost certainly no CL next year either… it will take a few years

Mute Cathal Shannon
    Favourite Cathal Shannon
    Aug 14th 2022, 6:24 AM

@Stephen Lyons: in every sport if you’re not fit to start you’re not fit to play

Mute James horgan
    Favourite James horgan
    Aug 14th 2022, 10:37 AM

@Eugene McDonough: ha ha ha. Champions of pre season. Go for it. See what happens. Liverpool won’t play 3 different teams next week like pre season. What was it, changed all the outfield players every half hour. Only allowed make 5 subs in the Premier league so I’d say united are goosed

Mute Mark Sheehan
    Favourite Mark Sheehan
    Aug 14th 2022, 1:50 PM

@Eugene McDonough: did you get 3 points for the win because at this rate that’s as close as Utd look likely to come.

Mute Barry Evans
    Favourite Barry Evans
    Aug 13th 2022, 7:57 PM

First and last outing for the green kit..will be banished like the grey one from years ago against Southampton! They say they couldn’t see each other against the grass.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:04 PM

@Barry Evans: More like from smoking the grass by the looks of it. Rolling on my floor,laughing right now

Mute Sean Murnin
    Favourite Sean Murnin
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:13 PM

@Larry Betts: You’re on a roll this evening!

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:16 PM

@Sean Murnin: “Pass the dutchman on the left hand side,
    pass the dutchie on the left hand side”

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:13 PM

Man Utd squad £424 million Brentford squad £55 million. Such a laugh

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne

This is what happens when you are dog muck last season and let 10 players go and sign 3 with a net spend of 50 million. Well done Glazer family.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:01 PM

@Brian Dunne: They maybe glazers but they don’t understand transfer windows

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne

@Larry Betts: ha! Indeed Mr Betts!

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Trevor Wallace
    Favourite Trevor Wallace
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:02 PM

@Larry Betts: Comment of the day!

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:37 PM

@Larry Betts: beat comment yet.

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Aug 13th 2022, 11:37 PM

@Larry Betts: more like donuts.

Mute Robert O'Neill
    Favourite Robert O'Neill
    Aug 13th 2022, 7:58 PM

delighted for them.. superleeds.

Mute Gerry k
    Favourite Gerry k
    Aug 13th 2022, 7:54 PM

They really have gone to peices

Mute Simon Dwyer
    Favourite Simon Dwyer
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:04 PM

To be honest. I thought looking at the odds of Brentford. I thought they are a decent bet. No not promoting gambling. But i said to the man behind the counter i fancied Brentford because of the way they played. Man utd are a mess. Not because of the management but the owners. People who are interested in their pockets not the club. It proves a small club can be as good because of passion and dedication to the fans. So fair play Brentford. Look forward to seeing the highlights later

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:10 PM

@Simon Dwyer: Ronaldo will be looking at the highlights too. To check how his hair colouring looked on live tv.

Mute Simon Dwyer
    Favourite Simon Dwyer
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:19 PM

@Larry Betts: I bet they be put in a locked room and watch the game in whole.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:32 PM

@Simon Dwyer: Can’t see that happening. Club would be sanctioned for subjecting players to torture. Human Rights Act has that clause in it,never yet implemented but in the rulebook nonetheless

Mute Simon Dwyer
    Favourite Simon Dwyer
    Aug 14th 2022, 6:55 AM

@Larry Betts: true. What about watching the Liverpool 6-2 home defeat in the pouring rain. At least the room won’t have a locked door

Mute Daffii
    Favourite Daffii
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:24 PM

Always a good Utd match when Neville goes on one of his 10 minute rants

Mute Shane Lad
    Favourite Shane Lad
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:43 PM

United owe mourinho an apology
    Should of backed him

Mute Kieran O'Riordan
    Aug 14th 2022, 1:40 AM

@Shane Lad: could have a point there…..there was a serious job to be done and it had to get ugly first

Mute Shane Lad
    Favourite Shane Lad
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:18 PM

United fans everywhere searching the internet for new sports to get into and follow

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:43 PM

@Shane Lad: it’s shows the mentality of you so if you think that.. Iv seen the bad and the very best too. You stick by your team NO matter what!

Mute G Bot
    Favourite G Bot
    Aug 14th 2022, 12:34 AM

@Shane Lad: Nope… You wish! Supporters stick by there team even when they are abjectly sh!t like today!

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave McAuliffe
    Favourite Dave McAuliffe
    Aug 14th 2022, 1:36 AM

@Shane Lad: Nah I’ve just been enjoying the Premier League Years on Sky Sport.
    Gonna be 3 weeks before we start going downhill there.

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 3:09 AM

@Pauly Kel: feathers ruffled. Poor you!

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran

Great to see wonder boy Ronaldo left on his ass in the build up to the first goal. Utd are pathetic and it’s great to see. Fantastic by Brentford

Mute John Arsey
    Favourite John Arsey
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:11 PM

Is big sam available?(just missed out on davy fitz too).

Mute Emmet Corrigan
    Favourite Emmet Corrigan
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:42 PM

MUTD the gift that just keeps giving.

Mute Wooden Spoon
    Favourite Wooden Spoon
    Aug 13th 2022, 7:58 PM

2 disgraceful performances for us so far. Every team is strengthening and even with what we have already, we’ve been awful. If we fix that midfield then maybe we’ll see a big improvement. We also need a new #1 GK. I love DDG but he just doesn’t have the distribution.

Mute Joe Gorham
    Favourite Joe Gorham

@Wooden Spoon: all true,ten hag should try the young lads,savage and Zidane won’t be much worse that what’s there,hopefully ten hag can turn it around in next few games.

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:16 PM

@Joe Gorham: fairplay from a city fan you are one the opposition lads here that does talk sense about utd at times instead of been bias like a few I couldn’t bother mention. From a honest opinion and a supporter since 86 utd are in dire straits on and off the feild it’s sickening to see a terrible decline of such a great club. Utd are sinking and unless developments are made from above(cutting the head off the snake) things will only get worse.. Its absolutely shocking to see what’s happening to this great historical club.

See 11 more replies ▾
    Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:23 PM

@Pauly Kel: If they’re in dire straits they need to get rid of The Sulk on the Wing

Mute Wooden Spoon
    Favourite Wooden Spoon
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:25 PM

@Joe Gorham: Those lads need a bit more time to develop but like you said it can’t be much worse. I’d love to see Garnacho get some real minutes as he’s a real gem. The only consolation I can think of is the rocky starts of Klopp and Pep but the difference was that they were backed by the board. If we can finally get a proper DM, striker and a CM then it should in theory be the difference between night and day. Not looking forward to our next fixture though.

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:34 PM

@Larry Betts: yeah sure that will sort out the glazers won’t it.. Good man keep up….

Mute Terry O Sullivan
    Favourite Terry O Sullivan

@Pauly Kel: fair comment. The mismanagement of the club is obvious but the greed and hubris of making it a plc is the start of its decline. Eamonn dunphy called it years ago and how prescient he was.

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:46 PM

@Terry O Sullivan: ya know what I alway remember him predicting that and always thought it was nonsense at the time, but fairplay he was bang on..

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:13 PM

@Pauly Kel: Name of Dire Straits biggest hit?

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:54 PM

@Wooden Spoon: DDG saved the team in half the matches last year, suddenly he’s the fall guy!!!! One of the best keepers in the world!!!! Any manager at any level should know that if a team isn’t working the first place to start is to make the defence solid. None of the six or seven current backs and centre halves would hold a candle to the likes of Irwin, Ferdinand, Vidic, Nevilles, Bruce etc etc…. And as for central defence partnerships!!!!!!! Non existent since Fergie went. Bruce and Pallister were good individuals, not great, as Eamo used to say, but as a partnership…among the best. And passion????? Gary Neville or Keano on their own would have more than the entire 1st team. Sadly its going to take a long time to sort this mess.

Mute Joe Gorham
    Favourite Joe Gorham
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:18 PM

@Pauly Kel: I’m a United fan Paul,but might put the jerseys in wash with a blue loo if this form continues lol.

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 11:57 PM

@Joe Gorham: apologies Joe ha

Mute Simon Hughes
    Favourite Simon Hughes
    Aug 14th 2022, 2:06 AM

@Larry Betts: Money for nothing?? That’s been United’s biggest problem the last few seasons

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 3:11 AM

@Pauly Kel: it’s glorious how salty u are and don’t even reakise it…Bless!

Mute Eric Chubb
    Favourite Eric Chubb
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:08 PM

United are now officially toxic. It’s an act of self sabotage to join them now for both players and managers alike.

Ten Hag isn’t blameless either, only going after players he’s worked with before and tactical naivety putting a small centre back up against big physical forwards. This result may be unrecoverable for him.

Bloated, antiquated and living off their ever more distant past glories. Man United in their current iteration are not sustainable. Next fixture – Liverpool.

Mute Eric Chubb
    Favourite Eric Chubb
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:14 PM

@Eric Chubb: oops duplicate

Mute Cormac McCann
    Favourite Cormac McCann
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:53 PM

Not all bad if ye turn the league table up side down!

Mute Seamus Walsh
    Favourite Seamus Walsh

Is it only now people realise its a full-blown crisis. Club in crisis for years. Isn’t it great.

Mute John Arsey
    Favourite John Arsey
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:06 PM

Martinez at £55 million looks a snip???

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Favourite Genera L Consensus

Saying “I feel sorry for Utd fans” is so 2014

Mute Darren Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Darren Fitzpatrick
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:10 PM

Pauly, hello. Viva Ronaldo etc , you know the drill at this stage.

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:20 PM

@Darren Fitzpatrick:don’t worry I’m here lad as much as you are on utd articles… Yeah Ronaldo is the fault alright that de gea had a mare..

Mute Darren Fitzpatrick
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:28 PM

@Pauly Kel: I didn’t see it at all tbf but Ronnie obviously played out of his skin too did he? If he scores and you beat us next well I’ll delete my 42 app lol

See 12 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:31 PM

@Darren Fitzpatrick: basic rule of thumb is that when the team are 4 down at half time its not really the strikers fault. But hey Ronaldo bla bla bla.

Mute Darren Fitzpatrick
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:33 PM

@Pauly Kel: remember you told me bruno was world class lol

Mute Darren Fitzpatrick
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:39 PM

@Brian Dunne: my point is that his signing destabilised your progress at the time and they changed style to accommodate him. And that’s been proved.

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:40 PM

@Darren Fitzpatrick: I did indeed Darren and I will admit he’s gone to pot since utd renewed he’s contract. He’s stats had been absolutely world class before that.. Bruno or Ronaldo wasn’t in goals tonight but then again you said you weren’t watching.. For once…

Mute Darren Fitzpatrick
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:59 PM

@Pauly Kel: it’s better to watch football than read stats

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:59 PM

@Pauly Kel: Defence starts from the front.

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:22 PM

@Darren Fitzpatrick: I love the way you come across as a expert while your own team has won 1 lge in 32 years ffs get a grip man.

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:32 PM

@Pauly Kel: Pauly, you seem to forget that United went 26 years without a title. That 32 figure is arbitrary, it can be flipped to 7 titles in the last 40 years 1983 to 2022. Ten years Pauly, tick tock.

Mute Darren Fitzpatrick
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:57 PM

@Pauly Kel: I’m no expert mate. Just like the verbal sparring with the football. And I also very aware these things go in cycles and Liverpool will be in the Doldrums before my life is over again.. so I’m
    Getting the jabs in while I can

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:03 PM

@Denis Ryan: you must have a abacus with you.

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 3:20 AM

@Pauly Kel: when the last time ur mob win the lge eh when’s the last time ur mob won anything? Whist now, there’s a good lad!

Mute Mark Sheehan
    Favourite Mark Sheehan
    Aug 14th 2022, 1:59 PM

@Pauly Kel: yea because football only started 32 years ago, if I remember before Utd won their first premiership title there was almost as many years since they won their last title at the top level . For the majority of Utd fans football only began with the inception of the premiership. Its called history, every club has it.

Mute Willie Skelly
    Favourite Willie Skelly
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:58 PM

In my day the majority of united fans were Leeds United fans till things went bad for Leeds. I’d say they wished they stayed loyal to Leeds United.

Mute Alan Plunkett
    Favourite Alan Plunkett
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:46 PM

Giggs and utd to go down …paddy power giving good odds

Mute Shane Donnelly
    Favourite Shane Donnelly
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:56 PM

No, the problems aren’t all at the other end. They haven’t scored in either of the first two matches.

Mute Eric Chubb
    Favourite Eric Chubb
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:06 PM

United are now officially toxic. It’s an act of self sabotage to join them now for both players and managers alike. What’s amazing is that David De Gea manned up and faced the post match interview while “captain” Harry Maguire hid in the dressing room. Shows that the only character in the team is the goalkeeper.

Ten Hag isn’t blameless either, only going after players he’s worked with before and tactical naivety putting a small centre back up against big physical forwards. This result may be unrecoverable for him. He could either walk or be sacked.

Bloated, antiquated and living off their ever more distant past glories. Man United in their current iteration are not sustainable. Next fixture – Liverpool.

Mute Emmet Corrigan
    Favourite Emmet Corrigan

The Perch! Ha Ha. It’s only a distant memory now.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:56 PM

@Emmet Corrigan: not really. It was 18 7 to liverpool when fergie took over. Its 20 19 to united now.

Mute Pauly Kel
    Favourite Pauly Kel
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:01 PM

@Emmet Corrigan: do your research good man.

See 7 more replies ▾
    Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:08 PM

@Brian Dunne: 6-3 in the top competition, Bob Paisley won as many European cups in his nine years in charge than United in their whole history.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:10 PM

@Denis Ryan: still tho, 18 7 to 19 20 .

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:25 PM

@Brian Dunne: And your point being? In 1965 we both had 6 each. Based on the display today it will be years before ye win again. Who do you reckon will hit 21 first based on current form and squad. The game has moved on, fergie’s record points was 92. Now that wins you nothing.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:30 PM

@Denis Ryan: 19 20 lad.

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:36 PM

@Brian Dunne: living in the past, where did I hear that from before ;)

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:40 PM

@Denis Ryan: i grew up watching the pool win the league every year. I got almighty stick for years and years. I never ever imagined united would overtake liverpool. Not in a million years. Your bloody sure im going to milk it for however longer it lasts!

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:51 PM

@Brian Dunne: Now that I can respect, 1991 to 2020 was no picnic for me. Liverpool since 1984.

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:12 PM

A lifelong United fan and will be till the day I die but god dammit I need a break from this club, it’s an abusive relationship

Mute HarveyLemonade
    Favourite HarveyLemonade
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:07 PM

@Jake Kelly: agreed. Once someone who cares about the club takes it over, a proper rebuild can be attempted. Current owners are not fit to run the club

Mute Ricky McCabe
    Favourite Ricky McCabe
    Aug 13th 2022, 11:16 PM

Was a bit upset after Leeds threw away a 2-0 advantage, then i saw utd… Christmas came early.. MOT

Mute Mark Reville
    Favourite Mark Reville
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:47 PM

The buck stops with the manager. Always has and always will. That squad of players is still good enough to finish top four. When you see body language like that of the United players today you know there’s a serious lack of leadership and direction there. Can you imagine top class managers like Pep and Klopp ever presiding over a sh—-ow like that.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:54 PM

@Mark Reville: mark he’s had 2 games. Two. Give him at least until the end of august eh?

Mute Jonny Parkinson
    Favourite Jonny Parkinson
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:45 PM

@Mark Reville: I think your a bit deluded, United have been on the decline for years and it’s as a result of poor purchasing and what looks like very bad coaching. They are way off the pace and honestly are looking at mid table with this current squad.

They will throw a load of money at them now and if Haag can buy the right players they have a chance at top 6 but with this current side they are very mediocre and no team in the league will be afraid to play them.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Aug 14th 2022, 3:22 AM

@Brian Dunne:I second that…perhaps 5 more yearsool

Mute Philip Duffy
    Favourite Philip Duffy
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:05 PM

What was the atmosphere like among you United supporters at the game?

Mute M.J. O' Neill
    Favourite M.J. O' Neill
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:23 PM

Love it!!!!!

Mute dave Carwood
    Favourite dave Carwood
    Aug 13th 2022, 10:38 PM

The gift that keeps on giving .luv it

Mute John Arsey
    Favourite John Arsey
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:28 PM

Some good signings in fairness

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:15 PM

Sack them all with immediate effect

Mute Mark Smith
    Favourite Mark Smith
    Aug 13th 2022, 8:48 PM

Play the entire under 23 side next week and dock the wages of the main squad
    Bloody ridiculous and embarrassing

Mute Alex Kemp
    Favourite Alex Kemp

Ten Weeks.

Mute Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Aug 14th 2022, 1:16 AM

Said it before the season started and will say it again. They need to put the entire squad up for sale. Only Fernandes is the required quality of a United player, and maybe a fit Ericsson. There isn’t another player in that squad who would make any of the top 5 teams in the premiership.

Mute Stephen Mccarney
    Favourite Stephen Mccarney
    Aug 13th 2022, 9:22 PM

Who’d a thought the bingo bus driver was a clever little chap after all

Mute Ger Power
    Favourite Ger Power
    Aug 14th 2022, 1:24 AM

I’d be pretty certain that Klopp, Guardiola or Conte would not put Fernandez in any of their teams, he might be technically good but his work rate and attitude is awful

Mute Great White Hope
    Aug 14th 2022, 9:52 AM

Waffllers are out early.

Mute Great White Hope
    Aug 14th 2022, 9:50 AM

Best thing that could have happened for Utd. For fans players and management. 1 all draw would have been a disaster.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a comment

cancel reply