Wexford 1-23
Kilkenny 0-23
Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park
WEXFORD HAVE ENDED a 15-year wait for provincial glory, seeing off Kilkenny to land the Bob O’Keeffe Cup for the 22nd time in their history.
Brian Cody came into this game in search of his 16th Leinster title but it was Davy Fitzgerald who won his first trophy as manager of Wexford.
There were rapturous scenes at the full-time whistle as Wexford celebrated the provincial title, achieved in Fitzgerald’s third year in charge. His sweeper system is often the subject of criticism inside and outside the county. After this win though, Fitzgerald’s methods should be questioned no more.
Late in this thrilling encounter, where there was never more than a couple of points between the sides, Rory O’Connor won a penalty for Wexford that Mark Fanning dispatched it into the bottom corner.
Liam Og McGovern followed it up with a huge point and Chin slotted over a free to deliver the victory in front of a sizeable 51,842 crowd.
They were beaten by Galway in the 2017 decider but huge performances from Lee Chin, Rory O’Connor and Conor McDonald secured a famous victory. That trio hit 0-17 of Wexford’s 1-23 total and their fingerprints were all over this win.
Kilkenny were right in the game until the finish although a wide tally of 12 compared to Wexford’s three told its own story.
Davy Fitzgerald never enjoyed a victory against Brian Cody’s Kilkenny during his playing days. As Wexford manager, the Clare native has now beaten Kilkenny six times across Walsh Cup, league and championship.
It’s Kilkenny’s longest drought in Leinster since they went four years without a title in the mid-90s.
After going scoreless from play in their drawn game two weeks ago, it took TJ Reid all of two minutes to raise a white flag from open play here. He was the winner of his match-up with Matthew O’Hanlon on this occasion, finishing the game with 0-12, including four from play.
Yet it was Wexford who started the brighter and showed the higher energy levels early on. Rory O’Connor buzzed about the forward line and slotted over fine four first-half scores.
With the wind at their backs, Wexford used Mark Fanning’s puck-outs as a launch pad, where they targeted the middle of the Kilkenny defence. Reid’s frees kept the Cats in touch and eventually, they started to win clean ball on the half-forward line.
Chin burned Alan Murphy down the flank and fed Simon Donohoe for a fine score from distance after 20 minutes. Then Kilkenny won a 21m free after Model sweeper Kevin Foley hauled down Murphy in front of goals.
As Reid stood over it, he picked out the run of Colin Fennelly to his right, but a free out was awarded as the ball didn’t travel the required distance. Within seconds, Chin was slotting over a placed ball at the far end for a two-point swing.
Five of Kilkenny’s front six had a score from play during the opening 35 minutes, as they went in ahead by 15-14.
Fennelly almost rattled the back of the net in the 41st minute after he robbed Kevin Foley, but Fanning bravely stopped the strike with his helmet. O’Keeffe grabbed a second trademark score from midfield while at the far end the Cats fired three straight wides.
Adrian Mullen was Kilkenny’s biggest scoring threat from play, although his influence wilted in the final quarter.
Chin lifted the roof off the stadium with a booming pointed free from the halfway line, moving his side two clear. Kilkenny went on a run of three scores but then Wexford’s dominance of the midfield exchanges became more pronounced and they started to pick off points from distance.
They were deadlocked at 0-21 apiece entering the final ten minutes when Reid took out the defence with a diagonal run and popped over. Drama ensued after Rory O’Connor showed a serious turn of pace before he was hauled down by Enda Morrissey. Goalkeeper Fanning buried the penalty low past Eoin Murphy.
From the next play, Liam Og McGovern put Wexford three ahead with five minutes left. Reid pointed a free and Kilkenny chased a late goal that never arrived.
Scorers for Wexford: Lee Chin 0-9 (0-7f, 0-1 65), Conor McDonald and Rory O’Connor 0-4 each, Mark Fanning 1-0 (1-0 pen), Diarmuid O’Keeffe 0-2, Simon Donohoe, Paul Morris, Liam Og McGovern and Jack O’Connor 0-1 each.
Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-12 (0-5f, 0-3 65), Adrian Mullen 0-3, Walter Walsh and Colin Fennelly 0-2 each, Alan Murphy, James Maher, Eoin Murphy (0-1f) and Ger Aylward 0-1.
Wexford
1. Mark Fanning (Glynn Barntown)
7. Shaun Murphy (Oulart The Ballagh)
3. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
4. Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
8. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
6. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James’)
5. Paudie Foley (Crossabeg Ballymurn)
17. Shane Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien)
10. Liam Óg McGovern (St Anne’s)
9. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St Anne’s)
22. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s)
11. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers)
14. Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s)
12. Conor McDonald (Naomh Éanna)
15. Paul Morris (Ferns St Aidan’s)
Subs
18. Conor Firman (St Martin’s) for Murphy (blood sub, 14 – 16)
18. Firman for Reck (49)
13. Cathal Dunbar (Naomh Éanna) for Morris (59)
20. David Dunne (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy) for McGovern (65)
24. Harry Kehoe (Cloughbown) for McDonald (72)
Kilkenny
1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)
2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels)
6. Pádraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
7. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
5. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)
4. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
25. James Maher (St Lachtain’s)
9. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)
10. Richie Leahy (The Rower Inistioge)
11. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
31. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
20. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
Subs
23. Ger Aylward (Glenmore) for Mullen (blood sub, 39 – 41)
23. Aylward for Murphy (42)
13. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan) for Walter Walsh (56)
Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow)
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!
There won’t be a strawberry picked in Wexford tomorrow anyway
@Scott Mcsauce bby:
I was working for a farmer in Wexford a week after the all Ireland final in 1996 drawing bales of straw with a tractor and trailer. Going through the village of Cranford 4 or 5 guys stud accross the road and stoped me and gave me £50 (they were worth about £15) for 2 bales of straw for the bonfire.
They were still celebrating
@Patrick Nolan: it’s little stories like this that brighten up the comments section…
@Patrick Nolan: brilliant Patrick! Their neighbours in waterford would probably be the same if they ever get their hands on the Liam McCarthy again.. unfortunately it doesn’t look like that will happen any time soon.. delighted for all the wexford supporters their a good bunch.. 1 win away from an all ireland final.. I’ll be shouting for ye anyway.
Say what you want about Davy Fitz, he gets results and silverware. He’s not the most endearing fella in the GAA, but he knows what it takes to win titles. Fair play to Wexford, great to see them sitting at the top of the table again.
@Stephen Duggan: Davy is a legend
@Stephen Duggan: Davy is as mad as a brush but he’s great
@Stephen Duggan: Davy is fantastic ; superb coach and well able to instill passion and fire into fellas. I’d love to see him managing Cork.
@Micheál Dennehy: I wonder will that be his next port of call? He’s very nomadic, can’t see him going beyond this year or next with Wexford. Cork could indeed be his next call of duty?
@Stephen Duggan: Top of what table ? They won a Leinster final and deserved it, but I can’t see them going all the way. Lee Chin carried them over the line today. He was brilliant. As a KK man, I can only take my hat off to Davy. He did his homework and outfoxed KK.
@Barry Teehan: There’s only three real trophies of note in hurling (Excluding the league) Today, Wexford won one of them today. Yes, they’re back at the top table of hurling, even if they go no further.
From a Limerick man today is a great day for Wexford. They were just super. Well done lads. It’s great for hurling. Savour it lads
What a day for Wexford! First Minor since 85 first senior since 04. Was a very enjoyable game! Kilkenny went for goal way too early and could have racked up a few points! But well done Wexford! Let the crowd on croker!
Strange decision by Kilkenny to go for goal 4 mins too early but how and ever thoroughly deserved win for Wexford
Yes! Delighted for them.. Gwan the yellow bellies :)
We were dancing at the crossroads..
Congrats to Wexford!
This may be an unpopular opinion but I think the ball travels too far in hurling
@Brian Burke: more ignorant than unpopular I think.
@Joey Navinski: A few people who have played the game have the same opinion, is theirs ignorant too?
@Brian Burke: it’s very roundly as well. A hexagonal ball would create an exciting element of unpredictability.
@Sean: Good idea! We should tie one hand behind the player’s back too for the craic
@Sean: and they could set it alight for real excitement
@mary o’keeffe: Now we’re talking, Mary! How do we get it to Congress?
And therein lies the offaly conundrum, belief and the correct choice of coach followed by everyone rowing in behind together….. success will breed success… my faithful county take note?
Was at the match. Didn’t think the standard of Hurling was the best but it was a great match. Couldn’t understand why Kilkenny were going for goal even before injury time had started. Great for Wexford?
Tipp are in the final. The real winners of the day.
@Fergus O’Connor: I agree. That Wexford team won’t hold those tipp forwards. As a Kilkenny man we can have no complaints. Just not good enough. Great win and congrats to Wexford though I think the best team in Leinster was sitting at home today
@James Fox: Sitting at home in Connacht you mean?
@James Fox: yes James those tipp forwards were flying today. Showed today what ye really are ,past it . On the yella bellies
@James Fox: Sitting at home in Connacht?
@Fergus O’Connor: With that arrogance, Wexford are in the final already. Anyone who underestimates these fellas will get their derriere kicked, tipp included.
@Fergus O’Connor: Yer not giving wexford much credit, they havent lost a championship game this season. Tipp are after getting hammered in a munster final
@Fergus O’Connor: Yea they looked like all Ireland finalists today alright. The usual Tipp hype that comes to nothing when expectations are at their highest.
@Fergus O’Connor: Tipp at nothing without Bonner and Cathal Barrett
@Fergus O’Connor: I disagree, Wexford beat Kilkenny today, and in my eyes there are only 2 types of Kilkenny teams, great ones and good ones. Wexford beat a good team today and will give any Munster team a serious test. From a Galway man.
@Aaron Hynes: I disagree Aaron. That’s a poor Kilkenny team by their standards and as good as you say Wexford were they could have beaten them. Can’t see kk troubling cork and tipp will have too much scoring power for Wexford to handle. All going to plan the all Ireland will be a re run of the Munster final today and the same outcome.
Well done to Wexford, but brain dead hurling by kk, how does Walter Walsh gey a game for kk.
Cody could never handle the sweeper system, but thats the elephant in the room, change required fast.
Wexford deserved that but the referee was awful
@Aidan Holden: the standard of reffing in senior GAA is a disgrace. The ref in both the provincial finals today were pure muck.
@Darius Guppy: not to mention the football finals last week.
@Aidan Holden: totally agree Aidan
He missed numerous frees for Wexford.
And Barging from Kk forwards
Hate to break it to ye lads. The ref done Kilkenny again.
@Marius Wojlinski: go back to sleep you absolute donkey!
Twas exciting last 10 min…
Had me reminiscing of what a player
Henry Shefflin was…just sayin..
Purple and gold
It’s my heart and my soul
It’s a beauty to behold when you see that purple and gold
As a Tipp person, I could very happily live with Wexford winning an All Ireland this year.
“Davy Fitzgerald never enjoyed a victory over Cody’s Kilkenny during his playing days”.
Clare beat Kilkenny in 1997 All Ireland semi-final with Fitzgerald in goals. Cody became manager in 1998.
Taken literally your statement is correct but you could equally say Fitzgerald never enjoyed a victory over Sheedy’s Tipperary in his playing days even though Clare beat Tipperary twice in 1997 but Sheedy was not manager until ten years later!