Skip to content
Noel McGrath (left) in action against Limerick. James Crombie/INPHO

Tipperary remain positive - 'We'll stay fighting, I'm proud to be part of the group'

A third loss in Munster for Tipperary today but their experienced star remains defiant.

NOEL MCGRATH HAILED the Tipperary squad and expressed his pride in his team-mates after their battling display against the reigning Munster and All-Ireland champions Limerick today.

A third successive defeat in the Munster round-robin series places Tipperary on the brink of championship elimination, but a defiant McGrath vowed that they will continue to keep fighting.

“I’m proud of every player and delighted to be part of it with the management team.

“There’s an honesty there among the players and the management that maybe we weren’t given credit for over the last couple of weeks and we’ll stay fighting. I’m proud to be part of the group. We’ll give this another rattle over the next two weeks again. I think lads today poured everything they had out there.

“There was probably character questioned of the Tipperary group between management and players over the last couple of weeks. That would probably hurt because there are lads there that are as honest as I have ever come across in a Tipperary jersey.

cathal-barrett-dejected A dejected Cathal Barrett after the game. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

“The results aren’t going our way but it’s not from the lack of effort, the lack of want, the lack of drive to succeed in training. Today showed that there is something there and hopefully the Tipp public will get behind us over the next few weeks and support us.

“You go out on the field and you have nothing only the lads beside you and I’m never as proud to be part of a Tipperary group and I will be over the next few weeks and as long as we’re still going for this year.”

McGrath shot 0-13 for a Tipperary team that were ahead throughout the second half until Limerick pegged them back in the last ten minutes to run out seven-point victors.

“it’s incredibly disappointing, we gave ourselves a shout coming down here today. We know against Clare wasn’t good enough, we knew we needed to bring something. To be in the position that we were, it’s encouraging in one way but it’s seriously disappointing that we didn’t finish it out.

“We had chances there to go three, four, five ahead at times. We know last year they hit us right after half time in the Munster final but we held our own for a long part of that second half today and kept ticking on scores.

“Unfortunately, near the end we just got caught with a couple of scores. They’re All-Ireland champions and they put you away when they get the chances. In sport it’s a cruel game when you don’t take your chances.”

Despite a series of players losses due to retirement and injury, McGrath insisted that Tipperary have the depth to compete.

dillon-quirke-and-declan-hannon Tipperary's Dillon Quirke and Limerick's Declan Hannon. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

“That’s why you have a panel of players there. There’s a lot of lads with minor All-Irelands, U-20 All-Irelands, U-21 All-Irelands, senior all-Irelands. It’s not as if we’re short of players in Tipp or short of quality or honesty of players.

“When you see lads that stepped in today for some of their first starts, Ger Browne and Conor Stakelum had brilliant games. I think we need to keep that going over the next few weeks, it’s still Munster championship, who knows what’s going to happen next weekend?

“This thing isn’t fully finished yet for Tipp so we’ll get back on the training field this week, we’ll get the bodies right and we’ll go again. Whatever happens, we’ll show up against Cork and we’ll put our body and soul into it.”

Close
13 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Ian Cunningham
    Favourite Ian Cunningham
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:20 PM

What a last 100 metres. Brilliant stuff.

Mute WqM9AAv3
    Favourite WqM9AAv3
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:19 PM

@Ian Cunningham: brilliant for sure, I remember many moons ago thinking the same about another Irish swimmer M S de Brún, only hope that this isn’t history repeating itself.

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:22 PM

@WqM9AAv3: Do one

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute colin coady
    Favourite colin coady
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:37 PM

@WqM9AAv3: educate yourself a bit about the guy typical response from someone who probably only watches the sport every 4 years

Mute Kevin Bury
    Favourite Kevin Bury
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:45 PM

@WqM9AAv3: give over….Daniel did not come from no where like michelle in Atlanta, he was one of the favouties, world camp going in

Mute Kevin Bury
    Favourite Kevin Bury
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:46 PM

@Kevin Bury: champ!!

Mute WqM9AAv3
    Favourite WqM9AAv3
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:01 PM

@colin coady: so it’s a 100 % clean sport? No one ever takes anything they not supposed to, in order to enhance their performance? Educate myself. Russian swimmers, Chinese swimmers, American swimmers, Australian swimmers, Irish swimmers, British swimmers, loads of them all positive throughout the years and banned, medals taken away from them, countries banned from the sport etc etc. that’s just a very short synopsis of widespread use in the sport. There’s tonnes of articles online about it. Perhaps you meant to ask yourself to be the one educated

Mute WqM9AAv3
    Favourite WqM9AAv3
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:01 PM

@orb7eckn: do a performance enhancing one? What one will I do Joe?

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:06 PM

@WqM9AAv3: WTF, can you not just enjoy one of our own winning a gold? Seriously like…

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:10 PM

@WqM9AAv3: one for your brain and another for your personality, both need a boost

Mute WqM9AAv3
    Favourite WqM9AAv3
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:20 PM

@orb7eckn: as you see another you see yourself – Yeshua Christos

Mute WqM9AAv3
    Favourite WqM9AAv3
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:21 PM

@Kevin Dillon: sorry I didn’t know he was a family member Kevin

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:42 PM

@WqM9AAv3: Maybe you should follow your own advice and leave the remarks about a win being tainted.

Mute WqM9AAv3
    Favourite WqM9AAv3
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:51 PM

@orb7eckn: I must be a doubting Thomas so

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jul 30th 2024, 11:54 PM

@WqM9AAv3: nah, just someone looking for attention

Mute WqM9AAv3
    Favourite WqM9AAv3
    Jul 31st 2024, 12:03 AM

@orb7eckn: one who speaks his mind is an attention seeker. Wow

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Jul 31st 2024, 2:05 AM

@WqM9AAv3: Very different swimmers. Dan is in his prime and has another Olympics at least in him. As far as I am concerned the 2 swimming medals this year are Irelands first olympic swimming medals. Michelle Smith married Erik de Bruin, a discus thrower and banned doping cheat, in the same year as her 4 medals (1996). He had been “coaching” her for 3 years leading up to the Olympics. She was at the end of her career and was not expected to medal but out of nowhere produced those 4 performances. Although she was never proven to have cheated in Atlanta she was banned 2 years later for tampering with a sample!!

Mute Andrew Donohoe
    Favourite Andrew Donohoe
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:21 PM

Go on boy! Some last 100m to pass them out

Mute Michael Kennedy
    Favourite Michael Kennedy
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:23 PM

Olympic Gold!!! You’re the man Daniel.

Mute Brian Burke
    Favourite Brian Burke
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:41 PM

A phenomenal swim from Daniel. A worthy Olympic Champion.

I love being from a small nation during the Olympics. Most of the US medals get lost in their coverage. Here, moments like last night and tonight are rare and rightly celebrated to their fullest.

An rud is annamh is iontach.

Mute Denis O Sullivan
    Favourite Denis O Sullivan
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:26 PM

What a week for Armagh
    Hail.Hail

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:21 PM

PROUD

Mute Stuart
    Favourite Stuart
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:20 PM

What a race, outstanding …

Mute Aidan Ryan
    Favourite Aidan Ryan
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:30 PM

We have just witnessed something so very special…we have a super star among us

Mute Mark Symmons
    Favourite Mark Symmons
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:24 PM

Absolutely unreal. Incredible. So so proud for him

Mute Warren Conlon Grant
    Favourite Warren Conlon Grant
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:25 PM

That was incredible!!!!

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon

Amazing
    Bravo sir.

Mute Fiona ryan
    Favourite Fiona ryan

Wow, so fantastic.

Mute Niamh McNamara
    Favourite Niamh McNamara

Great stuff.

Mute Lian McGuire
    Favourite Lian McGuire
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:26 PM

Awesome. What a competitor. Utter class.

Mute Square
    Favourite Square

Wow unreal what a moment for irish sport

Mute Hugh Casey
    Favourite Hugh Casey

Mighty

Mute Michael Carroll
    Favourite Michael Carroll
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:32 PM

Supreme Magnificent. Well done Daniel. Plus an olympic record.

Mute Brendan Griffin
    Favourite Brendan Griffin
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:49 PM

Massive, excellent, very well done. And himself and the brother are still only 23

Mute Peter Montellier
    Favourite Peter Montellier
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:41 PM

What a swim, what a champion. Fabulous.

Mute Daithi Mc Ghiollamhairtin
    Favourite Daithi Mc Ghiollamhairtin
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:43 PM

Some former pros saying he will take the 1500 as well

Mute colin coady
    Favourite colin coady
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:38 PM

@Daithi Mc Ghiollamhairtin: he will

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:58 PM

BBC sport already claiming him as a northern Irish athlete and how great it is to see a British athlete win gold.

Mute John arse
    Favourite John arse
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:16 PM

@Aaron Tynan: yeah I see that he’s from northern Ireland – no mention of him being Irish though!

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Jul 31st 2024, 2:12 AM

@Aaron Tynan: He is from Northern Ireland… what is wrong with them being lroud of him too? I think its time we lose the chip on our shoulder. RTE claiming Siobhan Haughey as one of ours even though she lives and trains and swims under the flag of Hong Kong!! We love to claim former American Presidents or soccer players born and bred in England with very tenuous 3rd generation links!!

Mute Michael Carroll
    Favourite Michael Carroll
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:13 PM

Listening to his interview this man is not done yet . You can feel the confidence he has in himself. More medals to come.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jul 30th 2024, 8:59 PM

A massive congratulations Daniel !

Mute JJB
    Favourite JJB
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:26 PM

A very underwhelming commentary I thought. Sometimes the commentary defines the moment. Some last 100 meters – deserved more of a crescendo in the coverage. Guy is so confident which is what winners are.

Mute Pat Coady
    Favourite Pat Coady
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:55 PM

@JJB: The commentary was excellent.

Mute JJB
    Favourite JJB
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:28 PM

@Pat Coady: your opinion – I thought it was poor. Leave it there ….

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Ian Cairns
    Favourite Ian Cairns
    Jul 31st 2024, 7:46 AM

@JJB: I thought the commentary was very good. Not at levels of the track relay but it wasn’t poor.

Mute irene culloty
    Favourite irene culloty
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:51 PM

Congrats Daniel- what a wonderfully controlled swim
    So proud of you.

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:02 PM

He’s class , should get gold in the 1500 too

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael

Holy f**k what a swim! Unreal

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:08 PM

Unreal athlete but not great in interviews, comes across way too arrogant…

Mute Reggordon
    Favourite Reggordon
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:20 PM

@Tom: does he not have a right to be?
    If I was the best in the world I’d be a cocky fecker as well

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:29 PM

@Reggordon: did you ever hear tiger woods speak like that who is a far far superior athlete???

I don’t think so!!!

It’s doesn’t come across well!!

It’s a great athlete and I hope he gets gold again tbh….

See 8 more replies ▾
    Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:35 PM

@Tom: Tiger may be humble now, but he was one of the most arrogant when he was at his peak. It was part of his weaponry.

Mute David Staed
    Favourite David Staed
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:37 PM

@Tom: It’s called confidence Tom. Muhammad Ali ! Was he confident or arrogant?

Mute Michael Corkery
    Favourite Michael Corkery
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:03 PM

@Tom: top top sports people like this have no doubts that they are the best. It’s not the only reason they win but it’s one of the reasons. Any self doubt in that race, he’d have lost. Paul O’Donovan is the same

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:04 PM

@Tom: honestly better than McSharry who was grateful to finish third even though she easily could have won based on her semi final experience. We need more athletes confident in their ability and not willing to settle for a silver or bronze

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:13 PM

@Tom: Give over, small margins in elite level sport and you need to have confidence in your ability in situations where you for example could be sitting 3rd or 4th and have the confidence to sit with your plan and grind it out. I didn’t hear arrogance at all, just a confident athlete. Why do we as a nation always try to tear our heroes down. I was delighted he implied there is more to come from him.

Mute munsterman
    Favourite munsterman
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:14 PM

@Tom: that man has a fantastic attitude. He didn’t bad mouth his opponents, he didn’t whoop it up but he’s obviously got serious belief in his ability, as you would if you were a double world champion & so far an Olympic champion in one discipline. I don’t see too many other champs going “aw shucks, shur I’m only thankful to be here”

Mute Kevin Bury
    Favourite Kevin Bury
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:49 PM

@Tom: i like it… walks the walk….confident does not mean cocky or arrogant…. no shame in saying im the best…and u pull a gold medal out of the bag.
    ..easier thing is to say ive no chance. etc

Mute munsterman
    Favourite munsterman
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:57 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: you’re being exceptionally harsh on mcsharry there. She’s been in a lot of finals & finished 4th or 5th. She swam a pb at the Olympics and medalled, that’s an unbelievable achievement. Going by the earlier heats the saffer always had her measure & it was nip and tuck between her and the Chinese swimmer

Mute Colm Dardis
    Favourite Colm Dardis
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:15 PM

Fantastic

Mute Derek Mulkeen
    Favourite Derek Mulkeen
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:15 PM

he is wold class

Mute John O Grady
    Favourite John O Grady
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:29 PM

So proud to be an Irish family on foreign soil thank you Danial .. thank you Ireland ..

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:42 PM

Daniel ‘The last 50′ Wiffen.

Mute Ben F
    Favourite Ben F
    Jul 30th 2024, 9:34 PM

Reminds me of Michelle Smith.

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:07 PM

@Ben F: scurrilous comment

Mute munsterman
    Favourite munsterman
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:10 PM

@Ben F: wiffen winning was no surprise to anyone

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:14 PM

@munsterman: Exactly, if anyone was following the guy they would know, but just people here treat this as an echo chamber as a pick me up for their own low self esteem

Mute colin coady
    Favourite colin coady
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:38 PM

@Ben F: what a stupid comment

Mute Kevin Bury
    Favourite Kevin Bury
    Jul 30th 2024, 10:46 PM

@Ben F: nothing like it….world champ going in

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu
    Jul 31st 2024, 1:03 AM

Fantastic achievement and still only at start of career. See another Irishman won gold as well in the swimming today, though was competing for team GB, but it should be mentioned.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a comment

cancel reply