Skip to content
Teahupoo jumps the last at Gowran Park. PA

Teahupoo set for Champion Hurdle bid after Gowran success

Elsewhere Fakir D’Oudairies became the latest Irish raider to claim big-race honours on British soil with a battling victory in the Betfair Ascot Chase.

TEAHUPOO’S CHAMPIONS HURDLE odds were slashed after he cantered home a clear-cut winner of the Red Mills Trial Hurdle at Gowran Park.

The Gordon Elliott-trained five-year-old was cut to 8-1 from 20s by Betfair for next month’s Cheltenham Festival feature after putting his six rivals to the sword in the Grade Three heat.

Teahupoo was sent off the 13-8 favourite in the hands of Robbie Power, having accounted for the reopposing Quilixios in winning both his starts so far this season, and the Masked Marvel gelding travelled supremely well throughout the two-mile contest.

Fellow Elliott inmate Felix Desjy set out to make all, with Saldier briefly taking a turn on the front, but turning for home it was clear that Power’s mount held all the aces.

He stretched clear when given the signal and merely had to be kept up to his work to see off the staying-on Darasso by 11 lengths, with Quilixios a further 11 lengths back in third.

Elliott said: “I thought he did it well. It was a good performance.

gordon-elliott Gordon Elliott was a big winner today. Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

“Robbie said he hated the ground but he picked up on a bit better ground in the straight. He probably got there plenty soon but he had to go the way the race worked out.

“We said we’d come here today and see exactly where we were. Thankfully it’s worked out and we can think about the Champion Hurdle now. We can dream for another few weeks!

“He’s a very deceiving horse as he doesn’t do much at home. He’s very laidback but I’d say he’s not a bad horse.”

Power was notching his first winner since returning from a tendon injury he sustained in October.

The rider said: “It’s been a long road back, but he’s the sort of horse that you want to come back for.

“I won on him twice as a juvenile and when Jack (Kennedy) won on him this season, he said he was a lot stronger.”

Cheltenham remains an option for Melon, who ended a lengthy losing streak in the Red Mills Chase.

Willie Mullins’ charge was sent off the 2-5 favourite to claim a first win since December 2019 and he prevailed with the minimum of fuss in the hands of Paul Townend.

Campaigned exclusively in Grade One company for the last two years, Melon made the most of a dip in class to come home six lengths clear of Sizing Pottsie, with Betfair clipping him to 12-1 for the Ryanair Chase, one of three Festival entries along with the Gold Cup and Stayers’ Hurdle.

Mullins said: “It’s great to get him back to winning ways. He did a little bit of work during the week which was fantastic and we decided to come here.

“Paul said he really enjoyed himself and we’ll see where we go from here. He’s in everything at Cheltenham. He’s run great races there but it’s hard to find a race that he can win at Cheltenham.

“There is also Aintree, so we’ll have to talk to the owners and see where we go. He’s a real favourite of Marie and Joe Donnelly.”

Townend believes the victory will give Melon’s confidence a boost.

He said: “This race looked tailor made for him. He really enjoyed himself today and it was good to get that into him as he’s had hard races and been knocking on the door in a lot of big races.

“That can only help his confidence.”

Elsewhere, Fakir D’Oudairies became the latest Irish raider to claim big-race honours on British soil with a battling victory in the Betfair Ascot Chase.

The raiding party’s dominance of last year’s Cheltenham Festival is well documented at this stage, while earlier this season A Plus Tard lifted the Betfair Chase and Tornado Flyer plundered the King George.

There has not been an Irish-trained winner of this particular Grade One contest since Sound Man struck gold for Edward O’Grady in 1996, but Fakir D’Oudairies ended the 26-year wait under Mark Walsh.

Joseph O’Brien’s charge had already carried the colours of leading owner JP McManus to two top-level victories and kicked off the current campaign with a Grade Two success in the Clonmel Oil Chase.

He had proved no match for the brilliant Allaho on his two most recent outings at Punchestown and Thurles, but was the 9-4 favourite to bounce back to winning ways in Berkshire.

With King George third Saint Calvados pulling up and a bad mistake four fences from home knocking the stuffing out of last year’s winner Dashel Drasher, it was 25-1 shot Two For Gold who led the way turning for home.

It took Fakir D’Oudairies a while to wear him down, but he eventually got on top after the final obstacle and had a length and three-quarters in hand at the line.

Close
Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Caoimhe Fitzgerald
    Favourite Caoimhe Fitzgerald
    May 11th 2013, 10:20 PM

A win is a win :)

Mute Lisa Flavin
    Favourite Lisa Flavin
    May 12th 2013, 12:00 AM

Couldn’t agree more.

Mute Gnik
    Favourite Gnik
    May 11th 2013, 10:22 PM

Another great performance from Heaslip against a very good Glasgow side. Where are all his haters now?

Mute Loud and Angry!
    Favourite Loud and Angry!
    May 11th 2013, 10:55 PM

Still here. 2 decent games doesn’t change the fact he’s been sh*t for the past 2 years.

Mute Cormac Cahill
    Favourite Cormac Cahill
    May 11th 2013, 11:10 PM

I’m a Munster man. But I disagree. You’re only as good as your last performance. So he’s doing well.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean O'Healaigh
    Favourite Sean O'Healaigh
    May 12th 2013, 12:11 AM

@Loud and Angry! Clearly don’t know much about the game man, He does a huge amount of work. Granted he’s not barreling over people like O’Brien and running in tries from the half way line like he has but he’s huge part of the team,

Last 2 years – selected for Lions, x2 Heineken Cup titles, selected as Ireland capt. (2 dodgy performances in 6 Nations though).

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 7:35 AM

Right here sees as you asked. His been a donkey since he got sent off against the ABs hasn’t even had a half decent game since then in green. How he got picked for the Lions is beyond me.

Mute Ken Stanley
    Favourite Ken Stanley
    May 12th 2013, 8:51 AM

Like most people, you probably think that unless a back row is making barrelling runs then he’s not performing. I’d say many aspects of the sport are beyond you to be fair.

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 9:00 AM

I would confidently state that I have forgotten more than you know about the duties of a no 8. Those blue tinted glasses must be a pain in the hole at times. Do yourself a favour and take the off once in a while. The real world awaits.

Mute Ken Stanley
    Favourite Ken Stanley
    May 12th 2013, 9:11 AM

Well enlighten us then, sweetheart.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    May 12th 2013, 9:12 AM

Blue tinted glasses? The rest of the world rates heaslip as a top class no8.
    Kidney rated him so highly he made him captain, joe rates him and gatland rates him highly enough to bring him on the lions tour. I guess you know more about the duties of a no8 than those 3?

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 9:18 AM

I’m glad to say not all Leinster supporters are as ignorant to the game as ye. Some can even acknowledge the fact that Heaslip has been shite. Gatland was sacked by the IRFU which shows that even our lads didn’t rate him. Kidney made him Captain and ultimately that was one of the decisions that saw him sacked. And Schmidt had no option but to play him due to the restraints of IRFU contracts and the lack of any other options.

Mute Ken Stanley
    Favourite Ken Stanley
    May 12th 2013, 9:22 AM

Tell us Martin – do you think Heaslip has been playing the traditional role of a number 8 the last season with SOB at 6′s and 7′s so to speak? With Jennings on and SOB off the field against Glasgow and Biarritz, can you explain Heaslip’s sudden “return to form”? Or do you just judge blindside backs rows on their ability for barrelling runs?

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 9:26 AM

No sweetheart I judge a no 8 on his all round game. And I have judged him to be shite. He is slow to the breakdown always off his feet his discipline has been poor and he has done Fu@k all for Irish Rugby in the last two years.

Mute Ken Stanley
    Favourite Ken Stanley
    May 12th 2013, 9:32 AM

Can’t disagree about his recent credentials in a green jersey to be fair to you. Although the same could be said for a lot of players from all provinces. But this is an article about Leinster (where Heaslip has actually been performing) vs Glasgow – so why derail it? Oh that’s right… you’re a troll.

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 9:42 AM

Well it was Leinster supporters that criticised the Munster Players for not carrying there form for province into the national squad. There are many quality club and provincial players in this and other countries. A great player is judged by there exploits in international and test matches. I.e BOD, ROG,POC,Darcy and others. Somewhere a village is missing there idiot.

Mute Phil Mc Donald
    Favourite Phil Mc Donald
    May 12th 2013, 9:52 AM

Yes, an idiot who can’t spell ‘their’.

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 9:59 AM

I find the best way to deal with a grammar Nazi all I need to say is there their they’re everything will be ok okay.

Mute gary o brine
    Favourite gary o brine
    May 12th 2013, 10:07 AM

im a munster man to and your a ejit !realy silly comments numptey

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 10:16 AM

Silly and numpty. What age are you?

Mute Sacha Mahady
    Favourite Sacha Mahady
    May 11th 2013, 10:36 PM

Really hope it gets moved to aviva. It may have been a low turn out but 5 home games in a row could drive divorce rates up if you went to them all. Good win in difficult conditions but I feel may 25 deserves a better stadium. C’mon Leinster.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian

Once the venue is picked they can’t move it I think. Need to consider other events, extra policing for a larger crowd etc.

I heard people saying tonight that a lot of people didn’t make it due to communions which were on today?

Mute Fecky Din
    Favourite Fecky Din
    May 11th 2013, 11:48 PM

Why would it be switched to the Aviva..if they cant fill the Rds for a semifinal what hope would they have of filling the Aviva which has 3 times the capacity?

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 7:40 AM

Calling for it to be moved to the Aviva. What a joke ye don’t have enough support to fill the RDS. And for anyone who gives a red thumb. How is it ye couldn’t pack a stadium for a semi final match. That’s a absolute disgrace. It wouldn’t have happened in Munster.

Mute Andy McGeady
    Favourite Andy McGeady
    May 12th 2013, 1:15 PM

At the risk of feeding a troll, I was looking back at Irish Celtic/Magners/Rabo semi final attendances this morning.

2012-13: Leinster 13,235
    2012-13: Ulster 10,700
    2011-12: Leinster 15,112
    2010-11: Leinster 14,476
    2010-11: Munster 13,147
    2009-10: Leinster (v Munster) 19,500

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 3:09 PM

Ok but the point stands. Ye couldn’t fill the RDS. Ye have a population of over 2.5 million and ye couldn’t fill the RDS for a semi final. What makes ye think ye would fill the Aviva. Are you suggesting that Leinster supporters are only big day supporters? Only interested in finals.

Mute Fecky Din
    Favourite Fecky Din
    May 11th 2013, 11:16 PM

Fair dues to the 13325 who came out to shout for their teams.Must be very disappointing for Leinster rugby that in a province with 2.6million people that a semi final wasnt a sellout.

Mute Fecky Din
    Favourite Fecky Din
    May 11th 2013, 11:36 PM

I find it funny that im getting thumbsdown condemnation for my post.Its not like i was the the one stopping an extra 5000 Leinster fans from attending a cup semi final..I will find it hilarious thou when there is a big uproar looking for the final to be switched to the Aviva to accommodate all the “fans” who want to see the match.The same fans who cant be arsed to turn up to the semi will demand tickets for the final..Its why i applaud the genuine hard core supporters who turned up tonite

Mute Riocard Ó Tiarnaigh
    Favourite Riocard Ó Tiarnaigh
    May 12th 2013, 12:42 AM

Hear! Hear!

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 7:48 AM

Hear hear. Armchair supporters is all they are.

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 11:04 AM

Blah blah blah Shite talk blah blah blah. Back under your bridge troll. Your about two hours late for this debate.

Mute Daveharmon61
    Favourite Daveharmon61

Well done Leinster, great win against a good Glasgow team. Dave Harmon Elviria Spain.

Mute martin o donoghue
    Favourite martin o donoghue
    May 11th 2013, 11:46 PM

Wheels still on the bandwagon so

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    May 11th 2013, 10:23 PM

Why don’t they move the final to Lansdowne Road?

Mute Bo11ocks_to_this
    Favourite Bo11ocks_to_this
    May 11th 2013, 10:45 PM

Is it not Ulsters choice as rhey were top seeds and technically they have picked RDS as their home ground. If they move to Aviva they’ll lose numerical supporter advantage.

Comes down to money or trophy I guess. Well see which they want more.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 11th 2013, 10:53 PM

Ticket allocation is 50/50 for the final…

See 10 more replies ▾
    Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    May 11th 2013, 10:56 PM

I can’t understand why ulster nominated the RDS…. Baffling.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 11th 2013, 11:03 PM

Ravenhill is currently not big enough and undergoing renovations. RDS was the next option within the IRFU jurisdiction.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    May 11th 2013, 11:13 PM

Why though? Surely thomond would have been a better option? Bigger and better than the RDS but without gifting Leinster a home game?

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 11th 2013, 11:27 PM

No brainer:

Belfast to Dublin: 1 hour 40 mins or so
    Belfast to Limerick: 3 hours 30 mins or so

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    May 11th 2013, 11:32 PM

Well, if it was Munster, I’d prefer to travel the distance to Belfast rather than give away home advantage…. I know a few Ulster fans who feel the same way.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 11th 2013, 11:37 PM

I know what you are saying, but it takes more than a few to fill a stadium though. More chance of getting people to go to a game the closer it is…

Mute Pat_Package
    Favourite Pat_Package
    May 12th 2013, 2:03 AM

Have to agree.

Mute Martin O Connell
    May 12th 2013, 7:43 AM

Then your an idiot. Home ground advantage at the RDS. Motivation to win the trophy in Leinster’s own patch.

Mute Ken Stanley
    Favourite Ken Stanley
    May 12th 2013, 9:00 AM

Derp.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    May 13th 2013, 1:20 PM

Firstly they decided on the RDS before the Semi’s were played. And maybe they’d rather play on the capital and make a weekend out of it for their supporters without the fear of a night out in limerick

Mute Justin Healy
    Favourite Justin Healy
    May 12th 2013, 12:07 AM

2014 suggestion:
    One massive communion RDS @ 3pm
    Semi-final @ 7.30
    All happy

Would make for better pictures than the usual scary priests looking bored outside churches.

Mute Matt Dobson
    Favourite Matt Dobson
    May 12th 2013, 12:15 AM

just find an aunt/uncle/cousin to bring the kid to the communion. They’re boring affairs anyway

Mute Gavin Byrne
    Favourite Gavin Byrne
    May 11th 2013, 11:56 PM

Anyone doubting heaslip is a fool hes a top player

Mute David Walsh
    Favourite David Walsh
    May 11th 2013, 11:03 PM

It’s ulsters choice they chose RDS

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 11:16 PM

Jeez….what happened Heaslips head?

Mute Daragh Walsh
    Favourite Daragh Walsh
    May 12th 2013, 12:08 AM

It was a disgrace how the reffing was this evening. The rucking was a free for all. It was dangerous it was reffed so poorly. Thankfully we got through and have two finals to look forward to

Mute conor curtis
    Favourite conor curtis
    May 11th 2013, 10:57 PM

Heaslip hitting form at business end thats a gash

Mute Kevin Twomey
    Favourite Kevin Twomey
    May 12th 2013, 12:55 AM

Great to see him coming back into form, but don’t know about at the business end if things. The 6 Nations and HEC are more important than the Rabo and Aviva.

And please don’t mention the Lions. If Irish players put a bit more emphasis on Irish success than on Sky Sports/ British Lions promotional 15 success we might not have such a pitiful record.

Mute maurice
    Favourite maurice
    May 11th 2013, 11:04 PM

A real shame with the empty seats – but what a match. Edge of the seat stuff throughout

Mute Norman Doyle
    Favourite Norman Doyle
    May 11th 2013, 11:51 PM

I believe the Aviva charge about a million to rent it out for the night so reckon finance comes into play.

Mute Brian Hodge
    Favourite Brian Hodge
    May 12th 2013, 12:37 AM

Leinster were not good tonight but helped big time by a very poor referee. In fairness, he should have penalised Glasgow for off-the-feet at almost every ruck in the first 15 minutes, but the yellow card was farcical. Not even a penalty.

Time and again, though, Leinster were allowed blatant offsides. Heaslip lost control of the ball, although exerted downward pressure for his try. Iffy. One thing is for sure, he is very lucky to make the Lions.

Admittedly, though at the game tonight, I only picked up on the iffy try after watching a recording. However, after both being there and watching the recording, the better team lost tonight.

Mute Lionel Hutz
    Favourite Lionel Hutz
    May 12th 2013, 8:22 AM

You might need to read the rule book again if you think his try was “iffy”.

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Brian O'Sullivan
    May 12th 2013, 9:51 AM

You don’t need control. Just a suggestion but you might want to know the laws of rugby before you start criticising their implementation.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Hodge
    Favourite Brian Hodge
    May 12th 2013, 2:55 PM

Under the laws of rugby “A player may ground the ball in one of two ways: (1) if the ball is held in the hand(s) or arm(s), merely touching the ball to the ground in-goal suffices and no downward pressure is required;” Heaslip knocked the ball on, therefore did not have control of the ball. Watch the replay, learn the game the comment.

Mute Lionel Hutz
    Favourite Lionel Hutz
    May 13th 2013, 9:41 AM

And where in your quote of the laws is the word control?

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    May 12th 2013, 8:04 AM

Rugby team plays poorly, get outscored 2 tries to 1 but digs deep and wins. Playing in Red and its boring, shows they are a team going nowhere, shite. Playing in Blue and it shows they try to play the right way just didn’t work out tonight, on the up, going places, brilliant.

Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    May 12th 2013, 8:45 AM

“”Double dream” seriously? If the Rabo and Amlin represent a dream , the bar must be very low.

Mute Ken Stanley
    Favourite Ken Stanley
    May 12th 2013, 9:08 AM

It’s better than nothing. And sure it’ll add a bit of variety to all those years of Heineken Cup wins.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    May 12th 2013, 9:28 AM

Yep, seriously.

This is Leinster’s third straight season in two finals. It’s not the dream double, but it is a double dream.

Mute Elrat
    Favourite Elrat
    May 12th 2013, 11:55 AM

What are the odds Lonster choke for the 4th time in a row ?!!!!

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 13th 2013, 11:11 AM

Well 3 of those were after Heineken Cup Final victories the previous week… I reckon that’s a good enough prize ;-)

Mute Robert Ferguson
    Favourite Robert Ferguson
    May 12th 2013, 1:59 PM

I agree RDS stupid easy fill Aviva,think the Ulster men will steamroll Leinster.

Mute Yellow Buzzinfly
    Favourite Yellow Buzzinfly
    May 12th 2013, 6:40 AM

As Ulster get an advance of a home grand final, it has been cancelled at Ravenhill due to Reconstruction and moved to the RDS. Why not Aviva ? I am bored at visiting the RDS four times in four weeks.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a comment

cancel reply