LIVERPOOL CAPTAIN STEVEN Gerrard will reportedly end his time with his boyhood club at the end of this season, and leave for the MLS on a free transfer.
In The Express, Paul Joyce reports that Robbie Keane’s championship winning side, LA Galaxy are among the front runners in the race to sign Gerrard, with New York Red Bulls also said to be in the running.
Gerrard’s contract at Liverpool will end after this season and so clubs from abroad have been free to bypass the Reds and propose terms of a free contract directly to Gerrard from today.
The Express adds that the 34-year-old, offered an extension with his hometown club in November, is expected to make his decision known within the next 24 hours.
-Originally published Thursday 22.20
Let me guess Man City are signing him on loan till the “MLS season starts”…….
Can’t see him doing it, I hate Liverpool but there’s no doubting that man’s loyalty
Loyalty = He was paid very well by the club and thats why he stayed. Do you honestly think he would of stayed if his wages were rubbish.
His Liverpool wages would have been made to look rubbish by Chelsea or Madrid.
Irish. He was offers a lot more money by bigger clubs in the past and turned them all down. That’s loyalty!
He did hand in a transfer request a number of years ago however!
Several transfer requests… in out in out.
I think he may have made one transfer request a few years ago when he was having trouble with the manager. His loyalty and dignity seemed to shine through though and he never made it into a Rooney type saga or moan.
Love Gerrard and idolised him growing up. How many times he rescued liverpool down the years in big games and finals. Owes the club nothing and is an LFC legend. Just gutted for him that he never won the league.
Yeah he is probably the best player never to win a major league title. He could have had 3 or 4 easy if he went to Chelsea or Madrid.
At least he has the champions league though, United fans might conveniently say that the league is the most important but they never dominated Europe like Liverpool did so they try to lessen its value.
He did let the league slip him by!
20 titles Luke. He is not the best player not to win a league. LeTisser was a much better player in a poor poor team.
Zola was probably best player never to win the league.
Thats very true Jason. A world class player who would have walked into any team and a gentleman to add to it.
2 dip sh*ts..
You and Gerard is it Ken? Will he be joining ye boys over there?
Oh and Zola won the Italian league for Napoli. Not so bright
We’re on about the PL there in this Luke, please keep up. And don’t mock yourself, have a new outlook in 2015.
Gerrards old team mate Alonso is twice the player Gerrard could even dream of being.
Have you got a 3 second memory? Try omega 3, Maybe that can be your resolution.
Omega 3 doesn’t aide your brain function or memory….. sweet divine, will someone unplug your internet.
If I were to give you a compliment would your automatic response be to disagree with me?
No I’m talking about you 2 utd tits..
I know i wish we could just switch them off at this stage, too bad there is no mute on this site. They are incapable of a reasonable dialogue about football and resort to childish insults(very quickly at that)
It’ll be like a breathe of fresh air for the club..They say no player is bigger than the club,but in his case it was more like Stevie Gerrard FC.. When Liverpool FC where good years and years ago,there was never so much focus on one player. As an Everton supporter I’ll be sad to see him go,because it’ll can only mean good things for the red half.
Unlike yourself,are your parents proud they raised an evil little troll?
That comment was for the titslip troll
Who me ?
Le Tissier!? Classy player but lazy as hell. Gerard had it all. I’m no Liverpool fan but the man was a giant.
Gerrard reminds me a bit of Jan Molby, except Stevie G didn’t have Jans pace or ability to stay on his feet.. Sorry I probably am trolling at this stage. Come on the toffees.
He mightn’t have had the goalscoring records of Lampard or the Premier League medals of Scholes and Giggs, but no other player has scored as many important goals as Gerrard. Olympiakos, West Ham and AC Milan stick out but he’s played his heart out in a team where only the likes of Torres, Alonso, Mascherano, Carragher and Suarez could come close to his ability. I’m not going to say he’s the greatest player of all time or something stupid like that, but Gerrard was a great footballer and on his day could play with the best. This day had to come eventually and it’ll be sad to see him go but he’s done everything he could for Liverpool and that’s all anyone could’ve asked of him.
Those three goals you mentioned were scored in a 18 month period, almost ten years ago.
What’s your point? He scored them, and he’s scored many other game-winning goals since, aswell as a number of spectular goals in his career. The 3 that I mentioned weren’t just important because they won us 2 trophies or because they were nice goals, 2 of them came right at the death and the Milan goal started, arguably, the greatest comeback in the history of football. Lampard broke the scoring records and Giggs and Scholes have their PL medals, but nobody can take away the fact that Gerrard has scored many important goals down the years.
He’s not the greatest player of all time … but in my time watching football … I’m 40 … he’s the best all round footballer I’ve seen … nothing he couldn’t do … athletic, strong, great passer long and short, can tackle, dribble, defend, head, shoot, tough as nails and deadly on free kicks and penalties, leader by example and full of heart.
For me Liverpools best ever player and theres been some great ones.
I’m a Liverpool fan I admit,but I struggle to think of a more complete footballer that’s played the game in England
Hail Mary passer, the amount of his passes that go astray is ridiculous. Not a patch in Scholes, Keane, vieira or fabergas.
He was a work horse, like Kilbane or Walters. Got a few goals over a few months and thats it.
Biggest thing he will be remembered for is the slip last season to lose the title.
‘Like Kilbane or Walters’
Obvious troll is obvious.
Talk shit much? Do wan mate. That is enough from you tonight. Let Gerrard have his time. Even us Pool fans have to admit Cantona, Keane etc were top class , but for longevity Gerrard has been at the top for at least 14 seasons. Can’t dent that
He scored a few goals that kept Liverpool in line for a Bridie Murphy cup spot after that period but nothing springs to mind after that.
He is jumping ship, nothing else. If he loved the club so much he would have stayed and helped the younger players like Giggs and Scholes did.
Don’t mind don’t let it slip, he’s the type of United fan people like to avoid and he’s having trouble coming to terms with how rubbish United are now.
Chin up man, I know last season was hard but you’ll get used to it.
Like Giggs and Scholes stuck around to help the younger players for England and Wales by retiring early?
You really are delusional.
Younger players like Jones, Smalling and Blackett? Haha dontletitslip, I know you’re a troll but you’re going to have to try harder than that. United’s progress this season is on the back of a chequebook; forget that class of ’92 boll*cks.
lol players hanging around to help others on international teams…. lol, like who?
When carra retired……… did he wait around, did Slippy hang around. Have you any idea what you are typing.
As for us, we’re tip top, class manager and world class players joining us, back in the CL places, won’t win the title this season, but all going well back in Europe for this season, something the dippers said we wouldn’t
Its just funny that LFC are doing even worse this season lol
That’s great but I think I’ll hold off using my life savings to invest in Manchester United football club.
I’m sure you’re right though but I prefer to wait and see
Perfectly put Derek,spot on
And what do u call what giggs scholes and neville were? They were class theyre whole careers
@ dontletitslip
Your comparison of Gerrard with Kilbane and Walters makes me question if indeed you even watch the sport. Zidane rated Gerard highly so your “workhorse” description is like the majority of your comments, complete and utter nonsense.
I for one will remember him moreso for his immensely important goals and the fightback he led against Milan in the CL final.
Adios Slippy G!
Off u pop!… Loser.
He’s won a Champions League, Carling Cup’s, UEFA Cup and an FA Cup; hardly a loser now.
Off you pop? Is that the best you can come up with?
He did not answer, he’s probably serving french fries. Loser.
Like don’t let it slip tomorrow.
When I wake up tomorrow and it’s raining and I’m back in work i can think to my self…. It could be worst, I could be don’tletitslip.
2015 rocks
So someone who serves “French fries” is a loser? …you’ve just exposed ur self as a snob. Maybe that’s why u had to get ur sorry self off to Canada. Should u not be on some ice hockey blog or off shooting moose? Or do u like watching the ‘ soccer’ on satellite tv? U fly over to Liverpool 20 times a season to see them play no doubt! Go shovel snow from ur drive and leave football talk to the natives.
I was calling you a loser, not people who work. I saw Liverpool when I could over there, seen them twice in Toronto, tried to see them in Boston. What have you done other than mistake yourself for real people who work?
Oh, yes, I do shovel snow, not give up on life over 1cm and call for help. Yes, I do have Satellite TV, so you go to every game and never watch on TV?
#At Graham Kavanagh…”He didn’t answer, he’s probably serving French fries . Loser”. No u definitely pigeon holed people who serve chips, as we call them over here, as losers. Definitely. It’s there for all to see. Even your biggest snow shovel won’t dig u out of that one. Sad that u moved 5000 kilometres away and to alleviate your loneliness u exchange opinions on football forums over here. Except it was a lot more than an opinion. It was a sneering description of anyone who does menial work. I don’t judge people on what they earn their living by. U clearly do. U need to take a good hard look at yourself. Maybe get out more over there. Let the Canadians get to see your obvious charm. Meanwhile I ll continue to air my views over here without sneering at someone who has a different opinion to me.
Graham
Don’t hurry back son
It’s night time is Canada though
They are french fries at your local McD, sorry, I assumed that was where you were Gerry, you come on this thread throwing loser around, and it comes back at you, you start crying. Yes, sometimes we do get too much snow, but I deal with it, also I do not shoot Moose, only seen them once from a distance in Newfoundland. I do enjoy ‘chips’ at the East end in Lucan whenever I am back, fine indeed. Happy new year, try some Mayo with your fries, tis good…
I get out alot, travel alot, and have fun winding up people on here, you fall for it. I apologise if that gets to you, but what can I do, regardless, anytime I am here, you bring up the whole Cananda, Moose thing, I wonder who has issues. Anyway, I have a much better life here than I ever would back there. Only thing I do miss is the pub and doing this face to face.
Oh for fcuks sake he’s awake! Or maybe he was up all night trying to think of a reply. Why not do us all a favour and get someone to tip u over the Niagara Falls in a barrel? Can’t see anyone missing u!
Yeah just woke up, but you have been waiting all this time for a reply? Jeez, get a life….. G’bye.
Jordan henderson will be the liverpool captain now for f*** sake. Gutted
Gutted? Henderson is Gerrard’s prodigy. His performances have improved ten fold since his first season at Liverpool. Why do you think he was announced as vice-captain this season when more experienced players like Lucas could have inherited it?
Weird move considering they are def gonna win it next year…
Best all round midfielder ever to play in the premier league
Lampard , keane , vieira off top of my head are better . He a very very good player but top five at best .
But he’s not a top top player
The Ultimate Premier League #one2eleven | Video | Watch TV Show | Sky Sports (via TheJournal.ie) – http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/9619597/the-ultimate-premier-league-one2eleven
Lampard was a goal-scorer, Gerrard Was box-to box could do anything on the pitch. one of the best in his prime
Fabergas is better too.
Essien box to box player, YaYa toure, Silva etc etc.
They all won titles though, slippy was the only one to actually lose one for his team!
Connor.
Keane and Vieria were much better “box to box” midfielders than Gerrard.
I get what you are saying about Lampard but I’d have him in my team before Gerrard.
Still a great player but not the best midfielder in the past 10-15 years. Would make top the top 6.
At his prime one of the best on the world I think coming 3rd in the Ballon D’Or highlights that?
P O Leary
Yeah i know what you mean it honestly comes down to person preference and what type of team you build I think like keane or Viera as a defensive midfield and Gerrard playing the box-to-Box role would compete with any midfield. But there is no right answer to any of this just that he was a excellent player
Connor
Wouldn’t agree with a Keane/Gerrard or a Vieira/Gerrard midfield but I’m just proving your point about personal preference.
Keane /scholes worked perfectly like Gerrard Alonso, always liked the box to box partnered with the forward passing midfielder.
Great player all the same. Suprised he is leaving.
Suppose he is going for a big pay cheque for a year or so and he will walk back into Anfield as an ambassador or director of football role.
Not even close, Keane, Viera, Scholes, Lampard, Fabregas all better
Lampard keane viera scholes yaya top 5 last 15 yrs
I don’t know why people feel the need to come on here and try diminish any of Gerrard’s achievements. He played at the top level of his sport for over 14 years,for his boyhood club and was a great servant who is idolised by Liverpool fans. Now is not the time to be comparing him other players or looking at what he or hasn’t won. I take my hat off to him,as a man united fan,for his service,attitude and love for his club,even though he has caused me more heartache than probably any other player I can remember. Premier League will be poorer with your absence.
Hes only there to take penos anyway………
lol bye bye slippy G. should have gone to Chelsea to win a title.
He knows the titanic is going down.
How many titles does super star Falcao have?
Can see him winning one any time soon unless he makes that dream move to Madrid.
I’m not a united fan but Falcao’s not even been at the club for a full season..
Not the brighest Luke…. what did he win with River Plate and Porto…….
chin up about Stevie G, after Suarez going he was heartbroken and Sturridge just doesn’t want to play.
It just gets funnier and funnier.
River who? Porto? If Gerard moves to MLS and wins the league there will that count?
You know nothing.
lol, you have to ask who Porto and River Plate are!!!!!!
I know plenty about football my dear, your statements above prove exactly that you don;t.
Pissing myself laughing that u have to ask!
Luke, if you have to ask who river plate and Porto are, you really are thick. Not even a worthy troll.
Eh?? Falcao has won league titles in Argentina and Portugal. He’s been in the Premierhsip for less than half a season, thus comparing him to Gerrard is non sensical and moronic!!
The amount of times u have commented on this article even tho ur supposedly a yanited fan is embarrassing. To say ur obsessed with Liverpool is an understatement but as for ur blatant obsession with Gerrard, it’s actually borderline disturbing to tell ya the truth.
Sad fella u are god love ya.
You really are that stupid that you don’t get irony? Obviously I know what the man has won, that’s why I said major league titles.
Everyone knows that you don’t like Gerard just because you are a United fan and every one thinks it’s stupid except for a few of your mates.
Now the grown ups want to have a serious discussion about football and it’s probably past your bed time.
Luke, beat and hung already Luke, the usual “school boy” “past your bedtime” ramblings.
You said he won no titles, we have shown he did. You asked who River Plate and Porto were and again people have shown your ignorance.
Adults have discussions and make valid points and can back them up, at least try to keep up.
Note the forums and social media, every club is now pissing themselves.
You boys dished it last year, now behave and take what you deserve back.
#don’tsliponthewayout
Obviously I know who Porto and river plate are i just don’t really see them as major leagues since the goal of every half decent player playing there is to get out.
Maybe Gerard can move to the Danish league to get a league title.
Argentina – world champions a couple of times. And numerous times champions of South America. The country that gave the world maradonna and messi. It’s a world power in football terms.
England – works champions 50 years ago. Never won euro championship. Gave the world gazza and gerrard.
So, where is the major league titles again?
Are you Really going to make that argument moonshine?
Porto have won as many CL’s in the last 15 years as Liverpool, so they must be a sh!*Te team them.
Argument dissected and irrelevant Luke. Your logic is non existent.
Interesting how you said 15 year there half wit….. Is that so I can’t come back and gay you forgot United as well? Well at least you can count.
Point of the discussion Luke was LFC and Porto, Porto introduced by yourself. Porto versus LFC in the ECL for the last 15 years,,,, you implied Porto weren’t a big club and their titles not relevant. Proving the point that they won the ECL.
We know you know about United, thats a given.
What I can count though is Gerards zero titles. Nuno title, nada titles etc.
please keep up.
How do you think the champions league compares to the Portuguese league? Higher or lower?
You guys are like a dog with a bone on this. It’s sad really
Except in this case there is no had because there is no strong leagues outside of Europe, that’s a fact.
Stay classy Jayo, no need to drag the thread down good chap
Ah Luke mate your gone mad, read your posts and see your arguments. How many have pulled you up on this, stop now for the sake of the internet, it will crash with your anger.
Will there be a Stevie G title DVD re-release?
and for those who don’t know what JayoMoonshine is on about, its a slur on the dead of Munich. A classy Liverpool fan isn’t he.
Lol I’m not angry at all.
I’m pretty sure your last post was an example of transference, you are angry so you accuse me of being angry to mask it. It’s pretty common.
Lol thats it Luke, given your understanding of transference then Its fair to say the discussion has eclipsed you.
Your communication skills are absolutely appalling, what does that sentence even means?
I think you need to get some rest, it’s pathetic at this stage.
“what does that sentence even means?”
Epic fail…..
Time for me to slip into bed, work tomorrow. Im sure we’ll see plenty more on kingslippy tomorrow.
Ah the old Epic fail….. the final defence of an idiot. Later loser.
How many “top” clubs like liverpool has falcao been on? Exactly the best team he played with until now was athletico
Sorry to interrupt but Dontletitslip is everything I detest about football fans with no life other than parochial style bigotry and arrogance. Such a shame they don’t put as much energy into working on their social skills.
Liverpool arnt a top club, that’s liverpools problem delusional. What qualifies Liverpool as a top club??
Might finally get that coveted Premier League medal he so yearns a la “Frank Lampard” style…
Best of luck to him. Great player. D hamlet of d premiership. Always destined to end in tragedy! Never stopped trying. Loyalty.
Hamlet? What?
So strange that somebody that referenced hamlet would spell “the” as “d”
What
Its always embarrassing to see so many Irish “die hard” united and Liverpool fans argue over 2 foreign teams and players that have no real association or affiliation with the club itself, never mind the city its from. “We”, “you”, ” scouse”, “manc”…shut up you’re from Ireland and prob never set foot in either cities. Never seen a country so obsessed with another countries league anywhere else in the world.
Been to 27 matches and I’m 14,so yes I have stepped foot in one of them.. I also go to Loi
Played his best stuff as a right winger/just behind Torres.
Had all the physical and technical attributes but lacked the guile and intelligence of the likes of Scholes. Still a fantastic servant to Liverpool.
Will never understand why people feel the need to belittle each other over who’s better than who, etc etc.
To suggest that Gerrard was anything but an outstanding footballer is childish.
Great player for liverpool and scored some great goals for them but i’ll always remember him for the slip vs chelsea and i know i won’t be alone in that. I still think that keane, scholes, lampard, vieira and fabregas are better than him though
Best of luck to him,great servant some great memories and bad ones.
Smashing player.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2477801/Zinedine-Zidane-rubbishes-Sir-Alex-Fergusons-Steven-Gerrard-criticism.html
Legend. The best midfielder of to have graced the premier league .
Steven Gerrard vs Man u: http://youtu.be/BDIQnMXp-hY
Pure class,best of luck to him.
Rumour has it he’s leaving his slipper in Liverpool ; )
If he had any bottle about himself he try win a league in Europe , the mls can wait!
His loyalty to Liverpool was incredible considering all the mediocre players he’s had to play with. Seven major trophies in a career isn’t bad but only two in the last 10 seasons is a pretty poor return, despite his superhuman efforts, for one of the best midfielders of his generation. I’m biased as a Liverpool but it’s a crying shame he never won the premier league medal his career deserved.
News has been confirmed on LFC website :(
Simply a legend, a truly great player
Long passed it.Only goin for the money like Robbie Keane
A truly great player. Yes he had flaws and bad days but he was thé mainstay of thé team for years. Who can ever forgot some of his great moments. He owes Liverpool nothing and vice a versa just lets hope it is the making of the team going forward.