Advertisement
The 25-year-old came off the bench against England earlier this year. Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Byrne keen to kick on and put bad memories against England behind him

The Leinster out-half is eager to have another crack at Eddie Jones’ side.

HIS LAST TWO outings with Ireland in Twickenham have been days to forget, so Ross Byrne will clearly be hoping for a much happier experience this time around.

The 25-year-old out-half started last year’s World Cup warm-up hammering at the hands of England on what was a miserable day for Irish rugby as Joe Schmidt’s side were beaten on a record 42-point margin.

With Ireland struggling to get any quality possession from set-piece, it was a very tough outing for Byrne on his first Test start in searing heat in London. He ended up missing out on the World Cup squad a week later as Jack Carty got the nod ahead of him.

Earlier this year, Byrne came off the bench for the closing minutes of the Six Nations defeat to Eddie Jones’ side and managed to make a decent impression as Johnny Sexton moved into midfield and Andy Farrell’s men at least finished strongly.

Understandably, Byrne isn’t very keen to reflect on those days again as he instead underlines how different this Ireland squad is now. 

For starters, they will be without captain and out-half Johnny Sexton, perhaps opening the door for Byrne to start in the number 10 shirt.

The Leinster man feels he is better set than ever if called upon for just his second Test start.

“I think I’ve come a long way, obviously playing most weeks for Leinster makes a big difference,” says eight-times capped Byrne.

“I think the more game time you get, the more experience, certainly in the big games, makes a huge difference. So I think my all-round game has been developing nicely. I definitely feel like I’ve put myself in a good place.”

Byrne says the job of bossing a team around is something he finds comes to him naturally.

ross-byrne-and-garry-ringrose-dejected-after-the-game Byrne and Ireland had a very disappointing day on London last year. Billy Stickland / INPHO Billy Stickland / INPHO / INPHO

“It doesn’t really faze me at all, it’s something I’ve always done no matter what environment I’ve been in. Once I’m in the team and I’m playing it comes pretty naturally to me and I consider it one of my strengths, so I enjoy it.”

While they’re obviously in direct competition, Byrne says himself and Billy Burns – former U20 international opponents – have been working well together in Ireland camp along with Sexton, the three out-halves meeting regularly to discuss trends and tactics.

“II suppose it’s great having three 10s who probably view the game in slightly different ways. We can all pick little things off each other and the overall aim is to make sure Ireland is going forward in the right direction.”

One area that Ireland’s playmakers will definitely have been discussing heavily this week is the kicking battle, in which Ireland have come off much the worse on their last three outings against the English.

Jones’ side have manipulated and exploited Ireland’s backfield and they are certainly one of the global leaders in this regard.

“They’re probably the benchmark and I think they are a lot further along their journey that we are,” says Byrne.

“They have probably been doing it for the last three or four years so it’s something I’d imagine they talk about a lot during the week and they probably rep during the week.

“I suppose the players they have probably played similarly at club level as well so it’s quite natural for them to do it when they play for England. They have had success off the back of it, so when you have success doing something you are unlikely to change it.

“It’s something we’ve definitely worked hard at, particularly in the last few games and in training. It’s something we are very aware of in the game at the moment.”

Close
14 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Micheal Thomas
    Favourite Micheal Thomas
    Oct 22nd 2017, 10:00 AM

Lindelof looks way out of his depth and he cost £40 million quid? And the United fans laugh at Liverpool for spending the same on the Ox. What a deluded shower they have become.

Mute FPL Thommo
    Favourite FPL Thommo
    Oct 22nd 2017, 10:23 AM

@Micheal Thomas: he cost 31 million.

Mute Micheal Thomas
    Favourite Micheal Thomas
    Oct 22nd 2017, 10:31 AM

@FPL Thommo: Ah right it’s ok so. Not as big a flop as we thought! Just a £31 mill flop but the article above says £40 mill if you read it but that could be a step too far for ya!

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute MarkSul
    Favourite MarkSul
    Oct 22nd 2017, 10:47 AM

@Micheal Thomas: Lindelöf played every week for Benfica, had the best stats for a defender in the Portuguese league and won 3 leagues titles. On paper very impressive.
    Chamberlain was a bit part player for Arsenal and cost nearly 10mil more. Your point doesn’t really hold up.

Mute Micheal Thomas
    Favourite Micheal Thomas
    Oct 22nd 2017, 10:58 AM

@MarkSul: Haha in the mighty Portuguese league? He is been found out now. Hopefully he will start every league game from now on but don’t think Mourinho has lost it yet.

Mute MarkSul
    Favourite MarkSul
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:07 AM

@Micheal Thomas: If he’s been found out after two games your comment about the Ox makes less sense. Whatever Lge he came from it looked and still could be a sound investment, has taken plenty of players a season to adjust to the PL. The Ox has played in d PL for years and has been just about average. Which makes the fee payed for him not a good investment. It was a panic buy to try to keep the Pool fans happy and most of them will admit they’re not.

Mute FPL Thommo
    Favourite FPL Thommo
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:15 AM

@Micheal Thomas: Vidic, Evra and De Gea were a laughing stock at the start of their united careers too.
    Lidelofs played two or three prem games. He may come good, he may not.

What’s for sure is the ox is absolute shite. Arsenal raped Liverpool.

Mute FPL Thommo
    Favourite FPL Thommo
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:16 AM

@Micheal Thomas: I’m sure the article meant to say €40m, because his cost in pounds was 31m.

That’s a fact.

Mute Micheal Thomas
    Favourite Micheal Thomas
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:18 AM

@MarkSul: Give me the Ox any day of the week over this spoofer. Mourinho knows he’s not up to it. Nearly November and it’s his 1st league start. There is no chance that he won’t line out next weekend to try and stop Harry Kane. When the likes of ‘Mike’ Smalling and Jones are still starting ahead of him at this stage of the season, you know he’s a guaranteed flop.

Mute Micheal Thomas
    Favourite Micheal Thomas
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:20 AM

@FPL Thommo: Jaysus I didn’t think the exchange rate was gone as bad as that again overnight!

Mute Erich Butler
    Favourite Erich Butler
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:36 AM

@MarkSul: @MarkSul: impressive on paper…doesn’t look so good when he plays on grass though!

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Oct 22nd 2017, 12:50 PM

@FPL Thommo: Stay classy there Thommo! Juve surely ‘raped’ United with Pogba! They’re still laughing a year later at what they got for him.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Oct 22nd 2017, 1:13 PM

@FPL Thommo: then it would still be a mistake and 5m out. The £40m includes the add ons. Ox cost £35m, it was Chelsea who offered 40 but he wouldn’t sign. So get you facts right

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Oct 22nd 2017, 1:25 PM

@John Buckley: arguing over who was a worse signing….times are tough for liverpool and united fans. Although at least United have won a few things. It seems liverpool are literally only clinging onto uniteds mishaps to survive these days.

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Oct 22nd 2017, 1:34 PM

@Micheal Thomas: “There is no chance he won’t line out next week”. So you think he will start then or are you aware of what a double negative is? I’ve read your comments and it’s obvious who the real spoofer is here. A Liverpool fan with a profile picture of ex player Suarez in a Barcelona shirt. Get over it lad, the cannibal is gone for good so time to let it go :-)

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Oct 22nd 2017, 1:46 PM

@Brian: all I am doing is stating the correct facts. I am not arguing anything. You are as big an idiot as Thommo or are you the same person

Mute FPL Thommo
    Favourite FPL Thommo
    Oct 22nd 2017, 1:57 PM

@John Buckley: can you please point out where I said what ox’s price was?

Cheers

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Oct 22nd 2017, 2:13 PM

@FPL Thommo: can you please clarify how €40m = £35. Cheers

Mute FPL Thommo
    Favourite FPL Thommo
    Oct 22nd 2017, 2:16 PM

@John Buckley: again, where did I claim €40m is equal to £35?

Are you on drugs?

Mute FPL Thommo
    Favourite FPL Thommo
    Oct 22nd 2017, 2:18 PM

@John Buckley: also can you answer my first question please. You told me to get my facts right about the ox’s transfer fee. I never mentioned his fee.

Are you just going ignore your utter stupidity on that one?

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Oct 22nd 2017, 2:34 PM

@Micheal Thomas: So a player that’s fantastic in a crap league is no different to a crap player in a good league?

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Oct 22nd 2017, 2:35 PM

@FPL Thommo: the utter stupidity here is where you think £31m is the same as €40m. You should have taken the 35, you wouldn’t look quit the idiot you are

Mute FPL Thommo
    Favourite FPL Thommo
    Oct 22nd 2017, 2:57 PM

@John Buckley: so that would be a yes then. I don’t blame you really. You ridiculed me on something I didn’t even say and just ignored it then when you were called out on it to save face.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Oct 22nd 2017, 3:05 PM

@FPL Thommo: I corrected you on the price of Linderof. I never said it was you that said the price of ox, I only stated a correct fact. Stop trying to hide from the fact that you made a huge error in your conversion of currency. It’s obvious I ridiculed you on the currency conversion.

Mute Hoof Hearted
    Favourite Hoof Hearted
    Oct 22nd 2017, 3:40 PM

@Micheal Thomas: shows what you know as he didn’t start yesterday ya tool he came on for an injured jones . Also he’s not even half a season in the PL , Chamberlain has had 7/8 seasons and scored 6 goals for a midfielder that’s robbing a living. Just admitted Ox signing was a joke.

Mute Leon L.
    Favourite Leon L.
    Oct 22nd 2017, 10:54 AM

Typical of United glory hunter fans calling for him to be sold already. Chap has only arrived. De Gea was awful when he first arrived too.

Mute Now or Never
    Favourite Now or Never
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:00 AM

@Leon L.: who/where does it say they want him to be sold? Anyone with half a brain would realise he’ll be given time like any other player coming to a new club, go back to mammy dere like a good little suckler and dont be talking nonsense

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Oct 22nd 2017, 1:27 PM

@Leon L.: those statements are funny “typical fans calling for him to be sold”. Who? I don’t particularly like united but I’ve seen plenty of comments from fans and begrudgers about yesterday and not one comment said he should be sold. Liar.

Mute Tom Bolger
    Favourite Tom Bolger
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:17 AM

Hargreaves is always bitter towards United, I never listen to anything he has to say

Mute Tom Bolger
    Favourite Tom Bolger
    Oct 22nd 2017, 11:15 AM

Don’t forget that everyone was saying that David De Gea was a dud and a waste of money when he first signed for United after his first season, and he turned out to be more than ok in the end, sometime a player just needs time to adjust, let just wait and see

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Oct 22nd 2017, 1:48 PM

@Tom Bolger: Correct Tom. Haven’t seen any genuine United fans on here calling for Lindelof to be sold. Like any new player he needs a run of games to get his form and confidence going. Remember Mkhitaryan in the first half of last season? Collectively United underperformed yesterday and I wouldn’t be quick to make a scapegoat of Lindelof like Hargreaves has done.

Mute Malachy Rivers
    Favourite Malachy Rivers
    Oct 22nd 2017, 12:44 PM

Does the same apply to Mata who needlessly gave the ball away for the first goal with no pressure on him.

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Oct 22nd 2017, 2:03 PM

@Malachy Rivers: I woulda though Mata’s mistake was the critical one for the first goal also.

Mute Phil Sheppard
    Favourite Phil Sheppard
    Oct 22nd 2017, 2:19 PM

I wouldnt write off the swede just yet. I’ll judge him after a season or two. Mata was at fault for the 1st Goal. So both goals were’nt entirley lindelofs fault. United are Lacked wingers that hug the touchline & put decent crosses into the box. Utd still need a comanding left back & an out & out left winger.

Mute Tricksy
    Favourite Tricksy
    Oct 22nd 2017, 12:13 PM

Mistakes will happen when the team as a unit are not doing exactly that , playing as a unit , unfortunately lindburg was the scape goat by not dealing with his side of the bargain ? Judge him when he settles in to the league ?

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel