PETER CREEDON HAS been ratified as the new Laois senior football manager.
The Cork native takes over from Mick Lillis who stepped down after his first season in charge ended with defeat to Clare in the qualifiers.
Creedon will be joined by Mickey McGeehin as coach, the Laois county board confirmed on Monday evening.
The pair worked together with the Tipperary senior footballers from 2012 to 2015, guiding the Premier to the last 12 of the championship on two separate occasions.
Creedon stood down as Tipp manager in the summer of 2015, citing his work commitments as a school principal in Cahir, but has been tempted back into management by the Laois job.
Under Lillis, Laois won just one game in the National Football League this spring as they were relegated to Division 3.
They regrouped and were comfortable winners against Wicklow in the opening round of the Leinster championship before an 11-point defeat to Dublin sent them searching for a route through the qualifiers.
A hard-fought win against Armagh in Round 1 was ordered to be replayed after it emerged that Laois had made seven substitutes, but they did just enough to edge a one-point victory at the second time of asking before losing to eventual quarter-finalists Clare in round two.
The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!
Sorry, it’s time to name tickets and ID needed to use the ticket. If you can’t use the ticket then it can be resold to the promoter and put back on sale to the general public. If you want to buy a present then name the person on the ticket
@Chris Mcdonnell: what about gifts?
@TonyD2469: the tour is back, you had the same issue with concerts a few months ago
@David: I sure did and I still haven’t heard a valid way of solving the gift issue, not every person under 18 has a valid ID
@TonyD2469: under 18s shouldn’t be at gigs unattended. Over 18s should have a valid id. It’s that simple.
@David: Longitude is open to 16 year old (unattended)
@Ciara Baines: I said shouldn’t be. Besides, an ID would still be required to prove they’re 16?
@Ciara Baines: in fairness, longitude has more latitude.
@David: so your solution is to ban anyone under 18 from events, that’ll work. And what if you’re 18 with no ID tough shit also I take it?
@TonyD2469: if you’re 18 you should have some form of ID. How difficult is that to get through your thick skull? Drivers License, Passport, garda id, college id… all accepted forms of identification. If you don’t have one, get one. It’s an easy fix. As for under 18s, they shouldn’t be at gigs unattended, especially where alcohol is sold.
@David: so your solution is to force a compulsory ID onto everyone, you are not obliged to have ID in Ireland. But you want someone who wants to go to an event to also spend 80 quid to get a passport. And no need for insults.
@TonyD2469: there is a need for insults when you’re being as pig headed as you. I offered 4 options as ID, you chose the most expensive option to counter it (You can get a passport card for 35).
@TonyD2469: also I’m not forcing id on anyone. If you want to go to a gig, get an id, if you don’t want an id (which is required for many things) then don’t go to the gig. It’s a choice.
@David: You still haven’t addressed the gift issue. How would that work?
@Hugh Jass: put their name on the ticket. If it’s a gift, you know who you’re buying it for.
@David: And then if they can’t go?
@David: Also did you never go to a gig before you were 18 or have you never got tickets to a gig at the last minute from someone who couldn’t make it? Another point is if 80000 people attend an all ireland final how long would it take stewards to check every persons ID? It’s not feasible.
@David: ok dick head the solution you have is to prevent anyone without ID from going to an event and also to prevent anyone under 18 from going to an event, I am sure the massive queues that will ensue trying to check the ID of 80 odd thousand people match what is printed on the ticket will be fun and I am certain that the music industry will not want events to be promoted to over 18′s, that wipes of a hell of a lot of gigs and sporting events to a hell of a lot of people.
@David: yes you are you dick head because if you don’t have an ID then you cant go to any event anywhere.
@TonyD2469: aw pet, name calling now. Sure sign of a man losing an argument. The 80,000 people thing is also an easy fix… random selection. If they checked 50% of the tickets it be a deterrent to some, would you take a 50/50 chance of being refused entry? As for people not being able to go, return the ticket to the selling agent, less the booking fee so it can be resold at cost. You seem to have no answer for me bar the “gifts” argument, which leads me to believe you’re a tout.
@David: 40k tickets and IDs checked is still way too many and would take hours resulting in massive queues and delays.
@Hugh Jass: no it wouldn’t. It takes seconds at an airport. Glastonbury manage to do it. How many gates at croke park? Tell people to get there earlier, the venue would love it, more cash.
@David:
“He’s making it up as he goes along!”
This move by the GAA is by far and away the best ive seen so far. You try to sell you’re ticket above a certain price then you lose it. If a secure way to bring it back into the fans can happen then this will be the way forward for concerts.
What about Seatwave, their ‘official ticketing partner’ selling 3 Hill tickets for €227?
@Ciara Baines: Pat hickey got locked up for it in South Africa lol
@Noel: Wasn’t that in Brazil?
@Ciara Baines: seatwave is a partner of ticketmaster. Its tickets.ie that sell gaa tickets, not ticketmaster.
@Ciara Baines: GAA have requested for them to be taken down
@Ciara Baines: they were one of the ticket touts caught selling match tickets above face value according to 4fm radio… heard it on 5pm news heading home from work
cancel the tickets and then reissue the tickets i presume. paid twice for the same seat. cute feckers! tbf, touts are a scourge.
And now the GAA can sell them again…
@Stephen Ring: not alone that, the touts that sold the tickets already have the cash, the only one who loses out are the desparate punter who didn’t know someone in the gaa. Everyone else (touts, gaa, seatwave/ticketmaster) is quids in, especially the gaa who sold them twice!
@Gulliver Foyle: That’s an expensive lesson for them to learn and they won’t do it again.
@Gulliver Foyle: if you attend the games all year there wouldn’t be a problem sourcing tickets anywhere,but if they only come out at semi stage tough shit for those peole,it’s the old “I go to all the games” shite that I hate
@Gulliver Foyle: why would you not know anyone in the GAA if you are going to a GAA game????
Everyone knows touts are robbing runts but yet they will make themselves a tidy profit as per the norm for this big game.If people ignored these scallywags they would be out of pocket.I happen to know many of the touts that operate around the environs of Croke Park on match day and i wouldn’t pay counterfeit money for anything they had.Dellboys the lot of em.Without his charm and humour in most cases with faces not even a mother could trust.
@mark kenny: Do you report them if you know them?
@Ciara Baines:
What they have been doing for years is legal.Selling tickets has never been a crime as far as i know.If both parties (buyer and seller) agree to a price,then there’s no problem.
@mark kenny: Selling the “print at home” tickets to more than 1 person is surely a crime? First person to enter on ticket gets through, anyone else that tries to use it will be refused as the barcode has already been scanned. I know of a few people that were caught out with that scam last year. Nobody should ever buy one of the ‘print at home’ tickets from a tout as it can be saved as a PDF to your PC and printed (and sold) as many times as they want.
@Ciara Baines:
I dont know much about the “print at home” tickets.I’m talking about the normal tickets you see the touts trying to sell at every match/concert.
@Ciara Baines: In fairness, anyone who hands over cash for a print-at-home piece of paper deserves the life lesson they will invariably receive.
@Fozz: Couldn’t agree more.
@Ciara Baines: sure you’ll get in, just say yer big for 14…
It’s time
@Chris Mcdonnell: Ye they’re annoyed they’re missing out on on the revenue from the ticket sales.its all about the community (poor guy)don’t you know
But only the dubs can afford these overflated price tickets. Sure they wont be spending money in croker until the return of the Big Flag…….
@Gareth Cooney: no problem getting anywhere in croker for kerry-mayo tickets. They don’t even pay decent rent in the styx and still wouldn’t bother paying a few quid to support their team.
If I buy a ticket from Ryanair I can not resell it. Simple technology. GAA can but won’t do it. Why ? Follow the money trail.
@Alex Carroll: cause this has never happened anywhere else before ??
Robbing c€uts
@The metropolitans:
Is that you in the photo.
Need a loyalty system. Everytime you go through a turnstile at club/county game you get a stamp. When it comes to big games whoever has the most from counties playing gets the tickets. Time to reward those who support their clubs.
@phil: already exists. it’s called a season ticket.
@Donncha Ó Ríordáin: Yes one that costs 99E a year, and does not include club games unless you buy an add on. Still does not tackle the glory hunters who only attend when their county is going well and couldn’t find their local club grounds.
Lucky enough as a Cavan man missing big games due to tickets has never happened to me.
Ticketmaster prices at the minute. €129 for a Hill ticket that is €30 at face value
https://www.seatwave.ie/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship-tickets/croke-park-stadium-tickets/27-august-2017/perf/1107495?affid=0764&appid=20127138&_ga=2.113819712.652251332.1502383132-749754765.1439849233
Ring up about a face value ticket and you are very quickly told that it’s most definitely not being sold at face value but that the add has to say that to circumvent any controls.
Good move by the GAA.
Well I never!
How many tickets do executives in the GAA get
What about the gaa club’s raffling off their premium level seats? Making thousands.hypocrisy comes with many hats.
@Patrick Fennell: how much is a raffle ticket? If it’s not greater than the face value of a ticket then how is that hypocrisy?
@Patrick Fennell: seriously!! I’m sure it goes back into the day to day running of the clubs that we have all been apart of,some of the f@#$ers don’t even buy the weekly lotto to help the club
This is probably the best way to tackle this problem but unwitting fans who already bought tickets would get screwed over. Announcing this beforehand would have been a much better idea.. Everyone would have been warned. If they wanted to risk it after a warning nobody could complain .