THE HOLY GRAIL of hurling songs has been given a Carlow twist.
The Mountain Goats have released “Dancing in Kilcoltrim,” their take on Wexford’s classic “Dancing at the Crossroads”, in honour of Mount Leinster Rangers.
And you know what, it’s not half-bad.
The Leinster champions take on Portumna in the AIB Club Senior Hurling final on St Patrick’s Day so an All-Ireland song was obligatory really.
The Wild Swans’ original famously went to number one and toppled the Spice Girls during Wexford’s 1996 All-Ireland win.
This time around it’s MLR star freetaker Denis Murphy rather than Larry Murphy who “looked 25 feet tall.”
And instead of the immortal line “What’s the story Martin Storey?”, you can expect “What’s the feelin’ David Phelan?” to become the county’s newest catchphrase.
Hon the Rangers!
Fair play boys some song .
Gonna be a worldwide Number 1 smash!! Croker fast approaches! To borrow from another 90′s hurling anthem, “if you’re the last one out of the county, would you please turn out the lights”!! MLR Abu!!
Wexford man here and fair play to the boys with the song and hope to god the rangers pull it off be great for hurling best of luck….
I’m all for Mt.Leinster Rangers beating Portuma and I hope they do!! But making their own version of ‘dancing at the crossroads’ is just wrong!! It’s a Wexford song!
I cant believe it!!
Ah will ya stop! They did it as a bit of craic, not realising the reaction or exposure it would get……which has been 99.9% positive. But there’s always some moaning michael (Mick in your case) just gagging to put a downer on things.
Wrong, plain wrong. No imagination them Carlow lads!
Great riding song.
Portumna will do their dancing in Croker!
When that song is played in a nightclub/public house, I head for the exit.
Every pub/nightclub in the country will have it ready to go.. Just in case you might darken their door!
Great song and cmon rangers on paddys day we know u can do it up in croker
Be delighted if mlr pull it off!! But can ya not get your own song ?