Advertisement
Manolo Gabbiadini scores a penalty against Newcastle. John Walton

Gabbiadini brace earns Southampton a share of the spoils at St Marys'

The Saints were en route to their third defeat in a row before a second half penalty from the Italian drew the sides level.

A BRACE FROM Manolo Gabbiadini on his first start in over a month prevented Southampton from suffering a third straight defeat in the Premier League, as the Saints earned a point with a 2-2 draw against Newcastle United on Sunday.

Saints boss Mauricio Pellegrino will hope Gabbiadiniโ€™s double prompts a return to the sort of form that saw the Italian score six goals in his first four games for Southampton last season.

Pellegrino played under Magpies boss Rafael Benitez at both Valencia and Liverpool, before later joining the Spaniardโ€™s coaching staff at Anfield.

There was nothing to separate the old friends in a hard-fought clash, with the first goal coming in the 20th minute.

Southampton v Newcastle United - Premier League - St Mary's Stadium Ireland international Rob Elliot reacts after Gabbiadini scored his second. John Walton John Walton

Christian Atsuโ€™s driven effort was blocked by Maya Yoshida, but with Fraser Forster already diving to his left, Haydenโ€™s first-time shot wrong-footed the goalkeeper.

Gabbiadini whipped the equaliser through the legs of Javier Manquillo and into the bottom corner in the 49th minute.

Perez restored the Magpiesโ€™ lead two minutes later, reacting fastest to Forster saving his initial shot by squeezing in the rebound from the angle.

With 15 minutes left, Newcastleโ€™s Florian Lejeune needlessly fouled Shane Long and Gabbiadini drilled the spot-kick past Rob Elliot to draw the scores level for a second time and earn his side a point.

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Wayne Rooney earns a point for Everton with a last-gasp penalty

Worry for Martin Oโ€™Neill as Shane Duffy limps off injured for Brighton

Author
View 3 comments
Close
3 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Rainbows In the Dark
    Favourite Rainbows In the Dark
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:49 PM

As a Leinster fan, Iโ€™m sorry people have to put up with Dave Moron, a lot of his comments make me cringe. Just know some Leinster fans want to see all the provinces do well

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:56 PM

@Rainbows In the Dark: no need to apologize for Moronโ€ฆ Just mute!

Mute Andrew Martin Farrell
    Favourite Andrew Martin Farrell
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:01 PM

@Rainbows In the Dark: Why are you apologizing? I donโ€™t see anyone apologizing for the clown@eircom

See 11 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Brenda Collins
    Favourite Brenda Collins
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:06 PM

@Rainbows In the Dark: Itโ€™s okay. Every province has at least one. Think about it this way: doesnโ€™t say much about his character (or his life) that he chooses to spend his time that way.

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:15 PM

@Rainbows In the Dark: do you remember munstermicko? he used to be on here and was obviously (i hope) just someone taking the mick (sic) and playing a role as a stereotypical munster fan with the most one eyed pro-munster kremlin style nonsense (e.g. โ€˜last weekends 70-0 loss was just lulling next weekโ€™s opponents into a false sense of securityโ€™)โ€ฆmorะพn above here though seems to be realโ€ฆthere are obviously also followers of the other provinces (coughโ€ฆmunsterโ€ฆcough) who are as badโ€ฆbut as yet havenโ€™t crawled out from under their bridge for this article

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:24 PM

@Rainbows In the Dark: Munster fans should be apologising for making me watch Craig Casey whenever we play Italy or a meaningless friendly. I also actually like to see Connacht do well.

Mute mWhSNsK2
    Favourite mWhSNsK2
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:34 PM

@Dave Moran: you should be apologising to us for subjecting us to look at your Grindr profile pic anytime you post

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:13 PM

@mWhSNsK2: How do you know what a grindr profile picture looks like tony?

Mute mWhSNsK2
    Favourite mWhSNsK2
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:17 PM

@Dave Moran: because Iโ€™ve seen your profile, duh!

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:56 PM

@mWhSNsK2: and he keeps setting himself up :)

Mute Bob Ashley
    Favourite Bob Ashley
    Feb 22nd 2024, 5:02 PM

@Rainbows In the Dark: mute buttons were invented for lads like that.

Mute Fintan O'Halloran
    Favourite Fintan O'Halloran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:25 PM

@Bob Ashley: Duly muted. Goodbye Dave Moron

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 7:08 PM

@Fintan Oโ€™Halloran: PLEASE DONT MUTE ME FINTAN. I BEG

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Feb 22nd 2024, 10:17 PM

@Rainbows In the Dark: No idea what he says as I have him muted a long time agoโ€ฆ along will Notphilyclever, Ray Ridge, John/Jim/Jack (or whatever) Doe along with a few other trolls

Mute chris mcdonnell
    Favourite chris mcdonnell
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:11 PM

Really exciting 23, fantastic to see frawley and jager in there. Some really expolsive bench, I am jot normally a fan of 6-2 split but thatโ€™s some amount of power ready to be unleashed.

Mute John Morris
    Favourite John Morris
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:49 PM

@chris mcdonnell: the inferences are: 1. Ringrose not fit, else heโ€™d be 23. 2. Welsh props are inexperienced- good game to blood Jรคger and also give Bealham family time. 3. Casey still not trusted. 4. Ireland are going to be very physical โ€“ and if theyโ€™re well in control, might wheel on 6 together. Only tweak wouldโ€™ve been to start Conan to manage Dorisโ€™ game time. Letโ€™s hope that if and when Stu comes on, that itโ€™s tactical.

Mute John Google
    Favourite John Google
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:05 PM

@chris mcdonnell:
    My little pleasure this evening Chris is I muted that clown Dave moron

See 2 more replies โ–พ
    Mute chris mcdonnell
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:08 PM

@John Google: ah well all like a little inter pro rivalry, our player is better than your play but when itโ€™s an Ireland team going for a secind grandslam surely you have to get behind all the squad.

Mute Rory Kenihan
    Favourite Rory Kenihan
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:42 PM

@John Google: Same, iโ€™m glad that I did.

Mute David Hickey
    Favourite David Hickey
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:37 PM

Bealham has, across 2022 November games, 2023 Six nations, RWC, in my opinion, had more stronger showings for Ireland than Furlong. He made Six Nations team of the tournament for a reason. I wonโ€™t presume to know the ins and outs, but I donโ€™t get the understanding there in dropping him from the squad.

Mute David Hickey
    Favourite David Hickey
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:39 PM

He was excellent against Italy too. The talk on House of Rugby and Off The Ball was almost โ€œshould he start instead of Furlongโ€ this week.

Mute James Daly
    Favourite James Daly
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:47 PM

@David Hickey: I think furlong could use a break. Ideally heโ€™d be given a 6 month break like the ABs do. I know heโ€™s had time off with injuries, but i donโ€™t think that counts as actual rest.

See 3 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Petter Sellberg
    Favourite Petter Sellberg
    Feb 22nd 2024, 5:42 PM

@David Hickey: I donโ€™t think heโ€™s dropped. Iโ€™d say heโ€™s given the week off to be with his newborn son

Mute graham crosby
    Favourite graham crosby
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:05 PM

@David Hickey: ye, I agree, heโ€™s been our best 3 for a good while. Doesnโ€™t make sense to me.

Mute graham crosby
    Favourite graham crosby
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:05 PM

@Petter Sellberg: ah, makes sense now

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:22 PM

Not surprising to see Casey dropped after his horror show last week. Keenan is a big loss but great to see another Leinster man step up in the 15 shirt. Ireland by 27

Mute chris mcdonnell
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:25 PM

@Dave Moran: thereโ€™s 23 irish rugby players in the squad.

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:26 PM

@Dave Moran: spot the munster fanโ€ฆ.oh wait (same bollix different colour)

See 9 more replies โ–พ
    Mute John Ludgate
    Favourite John Ludgate
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:32 PM

@Dave Moran: Horror show indeed! A good case of seeing what you wanted to see. Watch the actual game again sometime or look at the stats and have a little nuance in your comments maybe moving forward.

Mute mWhSNsK2
    Favourite mWhSNsK2
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:34 PM

@Dave Moran: by the logic, you must be happy to see Harry Byrne dropped to?

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:35 PM

@John Ludgate: He was quite clearly was one of our worst players. Aimless box kicking and no control over the game. Maybe give it a rewatch yourself there. If he was so impressive youโ€™d think he could make the 23 over a past it Conor Murray, no?

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:38 PM

@mWhSNsK2: What does Harry Byrne have to do with the conversation. Why should Irelandโ€™s 4th/5th choice FH make the 23?

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:45 PM

@John Ludgate: ORโ€ฆ we could stop feeding the trolls!! The mute button is there for a reason.

Mute mWhSNsK2
    Favourite mWhSNsK2
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:47 PM

@Dave Moran: why would Irelands 3rd choice scrum half?

Mute Ed Wilson
    Favourite Ed Wilson
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:50 PM

@Dave Moran: โ€œHorror show โ€œ? Surely you jest

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:48 PM

@Dave Moran: why does it have to be about provincial biasโ€ฆ. Leinster arenโ€™t playing so they are irrelevant. Itโ€™s an Irish lad getting a shot at fullback. Best of luck to him

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:23 PM

@Dave Moran: Iโ€™d say watch it again Dave but I donโ€™t think it would matter, youโ€™re not interested in how he played, youโ€™re only interested in bleeting like a sheep.

Mute mWhSNsK2
    Favourite mWhSNsK2
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:08 PM

The rise and rise of Oli Jager!

Mute Joseph O Reilly
    Favourite Joseph O Reilly
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:24 PM

They need to assert themselves At the breakdown, refell is one of the best in the business.

Mute Tom Reilly
    Favourite Tom Reilly
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:29 PM

@Joseph O Reilly: We have four, Beirne, POM, Doris and VDF. You make a good point though.

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:30 PM

@Joseph O Reilly: there were a few times against italy where nobody showed up at the breakdownโ€ฆeveryone heading to the next positionโ€ฆ and refell can win it even when they do show upโ€ฆso youโ€™re right โ€“ but with VDF, POM and berine there should be a big improvementโ€ฆ

See 3 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Ciaran Kennedy
    Favourite Ciaran Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:14 PM

@Patrick Kennedy: Beirne is unmatched on opposition break down but Ryan can handle protecting our own alright!

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:29 PM

@Ciaran Kennedy: yep and thats really one of the main things that ryan offersโ€ฆbut mccarthy is explosive and beirne is like a cheat code heโ€™s that good so you can see why they are startingโ€ฆbaird/conan/ryan is a nice little group to have in reserve too

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 22nd 2024, 7:59 PM

@Tom Reilly: A 7 with that kinda of jackal ability is more dangerous imo. Faster to the breakdowns, particularly from set piece where Byrne and PoM are either to involved to get away or on the wrong side. Deffo why AF has gone with JVDF. Goos tester, heโ€™s been v quiet for a while now.

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:39 PM

Still on for the never achieved before, Super Slam.

Mute Rugbyanbeer
    Favourite Rugbyanbeer
    Feb 22nd 2024, 10:31 PM

@Kingshu: Ssshhh,do you not remember the WC????,jaysus donโ€™t jinx us

Mute Eoin H
    Favourite Eoin H
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:08 PM

Absolutely formidable bench, effectively a 7-1 as Mccloksey is basically another back rower. Jager was always going to overtake Bealham, as size matter for a tight head in international rugby and Jager is far bigger than Bealham.

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:20 PM

@Eoin H: Spot the Munster fan!! The fact you think Jager has overtaken Bealham is absolutely ridiculous. Weโ€™re playing Wales and heโ€™s just had a child. Bealham will be back against England

Mute Leeeeroy Jenkins
    Favourite Leeeeroy Jenkins
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:21 PM

@Eoin H: Bealham has done absolutely nothing wrong to be dropped and I thought Jager would still have a bit to prove. Farrell knows what heโ€™s doing but it feels a bit harsh on Bealham there were talks of him starting ahead of furlong after the last match

See 15 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Marcus
    Favourite Marcus

@Leeeeroy Jenkins: I donโ€™t think he was โ€˜droppedโ€™ per se. Rather, family man Farrell is using this opportunity to let him spend time with his new baby and at the same time giving Jรคger a chance to showcase what he can do. Good management yet again from Farrell. My only gripe would be that heโ€™s not rested Dorris โ€“ weโ€™ll need him at 100% vs England and Conan could do with another go at no 8.

Mute Eoin H
    Favourite Eoin H

@Dave Moran: I am a Leinster fan. If you watched Connacht enough this season, then you will know Aungier has actually been better than Bealham and will soon overtake him. Bealham was taken off at half time against Bordeaux he was so ineffective in the game. Jager is 28, should be Furlongs backup now and have a third young tighthead in the squad like Aungier, O Toole or Salanoa

Mute Noel Howard
    Favourite Noel Howard

@Dave Moran: Bealham is v close to furlong never mind being overtaken by jager

Mute Leeeeroy Jenkins
    Favourite Leeeeroy Jenkins
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:31 PM

@Marcus: that makes a lot more sense thanks

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:33 PM

@Eoin H: Aungier and Bealham have been close this year but internationals are completely different. Using your argument, Cathal Forde has been better for Connacht than Bundee, so he should be on the bench ahead of Mccloskey. Terrible point

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:42 PM

@Eoin H: Bealham has been outstanding this 6N. Its a bit harsh on him. More likely that Farrell wants to get Jager his cap and see how he goes with alongside Kelleher and Porter / Healy. Jager has definitely proven his worth in the scrum but we have yet to see what he offers in the loose. Nothing the URC has to offer can compare to international rugby and his CC outings havenโ€™t gone great in that regard.

Mute John Fitz
    Favourite John Fitz
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:44 PM

@Eoin H: thatโ€™s premature based on Bealhams performances in green.

Glad Farrell is looking at Jager, but he is still unproven at this level. Itโ€™s early days to be calling for him to replace Bealham

Mute David Hickey
    Favourite David Hickey
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:47 PM

@Eoin H: That old chestnut. I think it was Gavin Duffy or John Muldoon who said they felt Connacht players good days are underplayed and bad days focused on. Youโ€™ve ignored his great showing this past month in the Six Nations and Heineken Cup, and focused on a game 12 weeks ago.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:48 PM

@Paul Ennis: Yes, giving Jager some minutes in the 6 nations is very good coaching, I wouldnโ€™t view it as a slight on Bealham at all.

Mute CJK McG
    Favourite CJK McG
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:03 PM

@Eoin H: Finlay should be starting!

Mute TL55
    Favourite TL55
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:07 PM

@Noel Howard: Only because Furlong is not as good as he was. Bealham is a very competent replacement but neither he or Furlong are young so imo we will need a younger TH come next World Cup. The hope is that Jaeger at 20+ stone can fill that position.

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:52 PM

@Noel Howard: itโ€™s a great problem to have , Bealham is international class and we have Jager and Aungier pushing up too โ€“ we canโ€™t have enough good THs -

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Feb 22nd 2024, 5:23 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: itโ€™s about building depth in a much needed position. Look at what age bealham and Furlong will be at next world cup. We wonโ€™t even get out customary quarter final knock out with a TH that age.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:25 PM

@Dave Moran: Lol! Wrong again Daveโ€ฆ in fairness you never tire of it.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Feb 22nd 2024, 10:23 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Saltyโ€ฆ he will eventually get bored if everyone mutes him or at least stops replying to whatever nonsense he is spouting next

Mute PatN
    Favourite PatN

Is the Jager call tactical or is Bealham injured? He has been really good for Ireland over the past year or two โ€“ hard to believe that he would be dropped. We do need some depth at prop โ€“ but Healy has been preferred over Loughman โ€“ so I suspect Belham is carrying a knock.
    The team picked shows a lot of respect for the Welsh and Gatland. It is good to see McCloskey getting picked. Presumably, if Crowley is injured or replaced, Frawley goes to outhalf and Henshaw to fullback.

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran

@PatN: I would understand picking Mccloskey at 23 if ringrose was starting 13, but if a winger gets injured it will be henshaw on the wing with Bundee and Mccloskey in the centre (terrible against Italy last year).

Mute PatN
    Favourite PatN

@Dave Moran: I donโ€™t disagree. Picking, for example, Byrne would have freed up Frawley to cover the entire backline and, based on the last match โ€“ having a higher percentage kicker on the field at the end may be desirable. Perhaps there is concern aboit Bundeeโ€™s fitness?

See 4 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:50 PM

@Dave Moran: agreed, if a back 3 player gets injured who moves out there , Iโ€™m guessing Henshaw as he has some FB experience ( letโ€™s not think back to England 2019 tho )

Mute Marcus
    Favourite Marcus
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:15 PM

@PatN: I suspect heโ€™s holding a baby

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:34 PM

@Dave Moran: Your โ€˜memory placaeโ€™ has misplaced JGP playing there eh? Thatโ€™s the pitfall of making things up David, it replaces things that actually happen.

Mute Ollie Campbell
    Favourite Ollie Campbell
    Feb 22nd 2024, 10:29 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: JGP is quick enough and good enoughโ€ฆ..and they bring on Murray.

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:23 PM

wowโ€ฆbealham should consider himself a little unlucky โ€“ i thought he has been excellentโ€ฆslightly surprised to see dorris in if there was any doubt about him since conan is so ableโ€ฆno complaints though โ€“ a very very good teamโ€ฆand a very very good benchโ€ฆbig chance for frawley

Mute conor carroll
    Favourite conor carroll
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:52 PM

Jager has done nothing since arriving at Munster to justify international honours.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:27 PM

@conor carroll: Heโ€™s been hot and cold, had some moments, has looked solid tho, but you dont care eh Conor? just spewing it out lol

Mute Phil O' Meara
    Favourite Phil O' Meara
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:36 PM

As my pal commented to me over a pint just now โ€“ โ€œIs Oli part of the Jagerbomb squadโ€?

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:59 PM

@Phil Oโ€™ Meara: i hope that was his last pint as he was about to get his coatโ€ฆ

Mute Tom Reilly
    Favourite Tom Reilly

Is there a stronger bench of forwards in world rugby. I donโ€™t think there is.

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:33 PM

@Tom Reilly: Tom, someone is flashing red and green lights trying to attract your attention ;)

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray

@Patrick Kennedy: Mayo?

See 2 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:55 PM

@Dave Murray: nahโ€ฆtheyโ€™d be pointing them in the wrong direction and wondering โ€˜what do we have to dooo to get their attentionโ€™โ€ฆ

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:27 PM

@Patrick Kennedy: lol, excellent

Mute Andrew Slazenger
    Favourite Andrew Slazenger
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:01 PM

Very happy with that 23! Bit harsh on Bealham, whoโ€™s been excellent, but does mean some gametime for Jagar who needs to be tested at this level.

Mute Andrew Slazenger
    Favourite Andrew Slazenger
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:09 PM

@Andrew Slazenger: Just seen heโ€™s a had a baby and is getting the week off

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:26 PM

@Andrew Slazenger: makes senseโ€ฆit just wasnโ€™t mentioned during the week that he missed training (all the attention on dorris sitting it out and keenan obviously too)

Mute Cathal O'Brien
    Favourite Cathal O'Brien
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:28 PM

I wonder what the conversation with Bealham was like. I thought his room was good.

Mute Cathal O'Brien
    Favourite Cathal O'Brien
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:24 PM

@Cathal Oโ€™Brien: form

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:43 PM

Super 23. Hoping nothing happens to Henshaw as Iโ€™m not a fan of the McK/Aki partnership. A lot of power to come in off the bench, and it will ultimately be the nail in the coffin for the Welsh boys. Perhaps Iโ€™ve missed it, but was there any update on Ringrose, or did he simply miss out on the squad?

Mute Martin Dooley
    Favourite Martin Dooley
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:20 PM

I wonder,how does Tom oโ€™Toole feel?

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 5:00 PM

@Martin Dooley: i think heโ€™s quite squishy in parts, but firm in othersโ€ฆ

Mute Tom Reilly
    Favourite Tom Reilly
    Feb 22nd 2024, 5:00 PM

@Martin Dooley: pretty bad I would imagine but Jager has a higher ceiling imo. Farrell and POC know their players best. I would say at scrum practice Jager is makimg such an impact that they canโ€™t ignore him.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:36 PM

Brilliant how a little bit of information left out can generate more traffic, nicely played journalists

Mute Tim Murphy
    Favourite Tim Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:15 PM

Jรคger in unproven even for Munster- very lucky imo

Mute Derek Casserly
    Favourite Derek Casserly
    Feb 22nd 2024, 3:28 PM

What has jager done to oust bealham
    Absolute joke

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Feb 22nd 2024, 5:26 PM

@Derek Casserly: itโ€™s called building depth. Look at the age profile of bealham and furlong come next world cup, and also take into account furlongs injury profile, then it will make sense.

Mute Anton phelan
    Favourite Anton phelan
    Feb 22nd 2024, 2:48 PM

Our depth at loosehead is not great

Mute Eoin G
    Favourite Eoin G
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:18 PM

That must be Irelandโ€™s heaviest ever bench? Massive potential impact, will McCloskey cover wing?

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 4:59 PM

@Eoin G: even heavier with all those big lads sitting on it ;)

Mute Justin Robinson
    Favourite Justin Robinson
    Feb 22nd 2024, 6:24 PM

@Eoin G: Iโ€™m presuming JGP is covering wing.

See 2 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Paul Burke
    Favourite Paul Burke
    Feb 22nd 2024, 7:23 PM

@Patrick Kennedy: throw in Zebo and it carries real weight

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2024, 7:46 PM

@Paul Burke: him on one end โ€“ with casey on the otherโ€ฆeveryone else stands up, casey goes into orbit

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel