MARCUS RASHFORD EMPHATICALLY marked his return to Manchester United’s starting XI with a double in a huge 2-1 Premier League victory over rivals Liverpool at Old Trafford on Saturday.
In the line-up for the first time since Boxing Day as Jose Mourinho made three changes with Paul Pogba ruled out through injury, Rashford scored a first-half brace to boost United’s hopes of finishing second to runaway leaders Manchester City.
The England international ended a run of 10 Premier League matches without a goal to send United five points clear of third-placed Liverpool in the 200th competitive meeting between the sides, though Tottenham could close to within four by beating Bournemouth on Sunday.
Jurgen Klopp made five alterations to the side that secured progression to the Champions League quarter-finals against Porto on Tuesday, with Virgil van Dijk, Andy Robertson and Trent Alexander-Arnold reinforcing the defence, while Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Mohamed Salah returned further up the pitch.
But that backline was bullied by Romelu Lukaku, who proved a magnet for the long balls from which he helped create Rashford’s goals – the first of which came after a delightful change of direction in the 14th minute.
An own goal from Eric Bailly on his first start since November having been sidelined with a knee injury gave Liverpool hope during an improved second-half display, but the Red Devils held on for a potentially crucial victory.
Klopp on Friday said the clash was not “an attacking team against a defending team” but that was exactly how the opening stages played out, with United sitting back and Liverpool controlling possession.
It was the hosts who took the lead, though. David de Gea’s goal-kick was flicked on to Rashford by Lukaku, and he brilliantly chopped inside of Alexander-Arnold and fired inside the far post.
Van Dijk wasted a glorious chance to equalise in the 23rd minute, his shoulder rather than head connecting with a corner from James Milner – wearing the captain’s armband as Jordan Henderson sat out with a dead leg – as he missed the target from inside the six-yard box.
United made the most of that reprieve by doubling their advantage just 62 seconds later, again from a long pass from deep.
Van Dijk’s challenge on Juan Mata after brilliant work from Lukaku inadvertently sent the ball to Rashford, who guided it beyond an out-of-position Loris Karius with the help of a nick off Alexander-Arnold.
It should have been three when Alexis Sanchez picked out the unmarked Mata in the middle of the area before half-time, but the Spain international sent his overhead kick wide.
Liverpool stepped up a gear after the restart and saw penalty claims for Ashley Young’s foul on Salah and a handball by Antonio Valencia turned down by referee Craig Pawson.
They were rewarded in the 66th minute when Sadio Mane beat Scott McTominay for pace down the left and sent in a cross that Bailly approached with the wrong foot and sent into the back of his own net.
There were boos when Mourinho replaced Rashford with Marouane Fellaini to add an extra body in midfield with 20 minutes remaining, and the Belgium international was fortunate not to concede a penalty when he sent Mane to ground.
Klopp sent on Georginio Wijnaldum and Dominic Solanke as Liverpool fought to restore parity, but Salah sliced a wild volley over in the sixth minute of stoppage time as United held on for a third successive league win.
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!
3 quality finishes. In all seriousness though, other than the own goal Bailly was quality. First game in 4 months and was solid as a rock.
@Dan Bigioi: Bailly and Young are the reason United won today, also McTominay was again very composed in midfield. Excellent result.
@Stephen Lyons: salah couldn’t do a stitch against young today. Pity. But Liverpool were pretty awful. School boy errors leading to the 2 goals.
@Yorkie1892: It’s amazing looking back at Valencia and Young’s stints at United in how they have developed into full-backs as opposed to wingers, and Young showed today just how competent he is at left-back despite his critics, especially when he can keep an apparent future Ballon D’or winner at bay.
@Stephen Lyons: yeah true. Valencia prob one better right backs in the world. Young making himself number one choice lb for England. Makes it all worse I had salah captain in fpl
And LiverPoo meant to be having a great season. Salah in Young’s pocket
@Hightower: what age are you seriously?
@Yorkie1892: 47
@John Dad: shut up you ya baldy b***ox
@Hightower: Troll alert
@Shane Murtagh: Ah I found that funny myself now
Rashford do do do do do do.
Salah just seen climbing out of Ashley Young’s pocket!
Excellent result. Bailly being back is huge for United. Despite his own goal. Not as defensive as I thought Jose would be
@Johnno Byrne: I think he knew if he parked the bus Liverpool would eventually score, the combination of a tight defense with effective counter-attacking saw the game through for them today.
@Johnno Byrne: eh? They sat back the whole game and played long to Lukaku for the goals. How defensive did you think they would be?
@Stephen Lyons: what game were you watching? In the 2nd half in particular the bus was parked. Not that there is anything wrong with that though at 2 up. They defended deep and they defended well.
@Gareth Kennan: I said they had a tight defense, I’m just saying he didn’t defend as moronically as usual, neglecting to produce any decent attacking play. When they countered they were quick, effective and clinical in the early period of the game when markers need to be laid down. United scored two early goals and who wouldn’t have tried to defend that lead in such a big game. I’m just happy that it wasn’t the 90-minute borefest that usually ensues, and I’m delighted Pogba wasn’t anywhere near the pitch.
Easy Easy Easy
Where’s Alan b, Marcus, England’s envy? No where to be seen, talking Shite all year and missing today, as I said before loserpool have done F all since 1990
@Paul Friday Shannon: He’s just walking out of Old Trafford. Coverage should be coming back now so he can give his post match analysis…
@Paul Friday Shannon: loserpool? Grow up!
@Paul Friday Shannon: where’s Marcus and Martin Ryan do do do doo do dooo
@Paul Friday Shannon: that European cup in 2005 was pretty special. Is that your dad in the picture with you Paul?
@Jason Brosnahan: next stop Bittersville … on root to Haven’ta hope crossroads
@Jason Brosnahan: your scraping the bottom of the barrel now by getting personal.
@Paul Friday Shannon: Loserpool is something I’d expect from a 5 year old, not a grown man, hence why I asked.
Great performance. Bailly is a rock. Mourinho got it right too. Tactical masterclass. Great subs too.
Liverpool shocking. Only because Mourinho got his tactics 10 from 10. Well done United. Prks !
@England’s Envy: didn’t think I’d see you on here today but fair play. Sure it’s only banter and nobody got hurt.
@England’s Envy: Ah Marcus, you were doing so well at being magnanimous until your last word. Don’t think England are envious of Liverpool this evening :-)
@Sloop John G: Ah stop Power Fix I’m all about the laugh. Try it sometime.
@England’s Envy: I think I’m the one who’s laughing today Marcus. Still, very brave of you to show up. No toxic comments about Mourinho then?
@England’s Envy: my ears were burning did you miss me ???? But but but Liverpool’s attack is the envy of Europe…
@powerfix: it is though
Playing against 12, Mo should have had a pen but also realistically can’t remember DdG making too many saves. It’s all about top 4 and keeping her lit
@Scott Crossfield: wouldn’t blame the ref. Yeah prob should have had one or two penalties, only shots on goal were straight at de gea. Was a shockingly poor performance from Liverpool
@Yorkie1892: Wasn’t that bad. Utd played well.
Not a fan of either team but Liverpool just pulled a Liverpool. Mourinho identified their weaknesses and exploited them well, Liverpool as usual going down to individual mistakes. Could have seen the game ending as a draw but United brilliant at seeing those games out. Other than that, Craig Pawson had a mare and what’s with both sets of fans acting like complete children in the comment section
@Craig O’Dwyer: obviously new here comments on football articles involving Liverpool or United are populated with what appears to be a bunch of pre pubescent fools.
@TonySuperSaints: and yet here you are Tony. Super stuff altogether.
Klopp has no plan B
Somehow won that but United are horrendous to watch under Maureen.
It must ire looking across the city at the standard of football being played
@Mikarlachenko: Would you like more salt with that lemon??
@Mikarlachenko: the standard of football that loses to Wigan ???? Ahh here have some salt with your chips
What a start to the day. Now come on Ireland.
Jose is the master.
Not a fan of either but Liverpool really pulled a Liverpool there. Mourinho identified the weaknesses and completely exploited them, and used cynical tactics cleverly. Liverpool probably the better team in a purely footballing sense but that doesn’t win games. Pawson had a mare. Other than that, what’s the story with both sets of fans acting like total handicaps in this comment section
@Craig O’Dwyer: that’s normal on here some load of babies really
Oh dear, the phone hopping, the slagging is unrelenting, time to head down for a few and meet it head on, that said Utd got a lot right Liverpool didn’t, so well done to Jose for that..
@Dae Monicus: well said. No sour grapes. Good for you. Enjoy the few gargles.
United deserved their win. They defended well. Liverpool didn’t do near enough with all the ball they had. Rashford took his first goal very well. How simple were the goals though Lukaku dominated Lovren in the air. How could Liverpool not be aware that uniteds main weapon would be winning flick ons off him.
@Gareth Kennan: well said, who knows they might meet again in the champions league quarter finals when it really matters if united get through, no trophies handed out for second place.
Masterclass by Mourinho. Got ahead and defended brilliantly. His subs were spot on also. Ashley young was superb. As was bailly. And 2 sweet sweet goals by rashers!
Rashford is quality, hasnt been getting a solid run in the team and took his goals so well. Sanchez put in a great shift aswell.
Liverpool need to learn how to grind out draws imho. They are great going forward.
@hallelujah: yeah, if they get ahead they are near unstoppable. Different story when chasing it. If they had a plan B, they would be lethal.
Liverpool were Big Sammed by Mourinho. It was exactly the same as all those awful mid-2000′s nights at the Reebok, conceding to two long balls and knock downs; except this version of Bolton is better, as it perhaps should be for the guts of a billion on wages and transfers
…quality finishes by Rashford mind you.
Liverpool just didn’t have the nous or composure to make utter dominance count, and it became one of those days where, ironically perhaps, LFC might have benefited from a Lukaku/Kevin Davies of their own.
Jose did it again, in fairness.
@James Doyle: long balls out from DeGea after two sh!te corners from pool
It was like playing Bolton at the Reebok under Big Sam, except this Bolton cost the guts of a billion quid in wages and transfers. Two long balls, knock ons, and two quality finishes, in fairness. Liverpool just hadn’t the composure to turn utter dominance into clear chances, and probably needed a plan b in the guise of a big Lukaku type we could just throw on and knock long balls up to. We were Mourinhoed, in fairness.
@James Doyle: so good, you said it twice :-)
Bad performance. If VVD was on Lukaku first goal wouldn’t have happened. Really disappointed but Mane played class. Rashford and Young standout performers. Still parked the bus ffs
@Ollie Watson: if, if, if. If my aunt had balls she’d be my uncle. IF Mata’s bicycle kick was on target in the first half United would have scored 3. You might call it “parking the bus” but teams who take the lead often go defensive at the back and try to play on the counter attack. Looked what Juventus did to Spurs on Wednesday night, they were lauded for it.
@Sloop John G: I’m not complaining with you. Im complaining with who ever idiot decided for Lovren to man mark Lukaku instead of VVD