Advertisement
Leinster's Jamie Osborne celebrates. James Crombie/INPHO

'You have to win ugly sometimes... it felt like a knock-out game'

Caelan Doris and Leo Cullen were proud of Leinster’s defensive effort in La Rochelle.

LEO CULLEN IS usually a picture of calm but even the Leinster boss must have been on the edge of his seat as a thrilling endgame played out at Stade Marcel Deflandre.

Roared on by an impressive contingent of travelling Leinster support, Cullen’s men had to hold out with the clock in the red.

Antoine Hastoy had just missed a long-range penalty attempt when Josh van der Flier came up with an excellent blockdown of his drop goal effort. 20 more phases of defence followed in a passage that lasted well over two minutes, but Leinster’s defence held firm. Hastoy’s forward pass drew the final whistle.

At the heart of Leinster’s defensive grandstand was captain Caelan Doris, who ended up with 26 tackles overall in another brilliant performance that also included several crucial turnovers, as well as 17 carries.

“Tough going, they have a lot of powerful runners coming at us pretty hard,” said Doris of those closing minutes of Leinster’s 16-14 win.

“I think it was pretty pleasing throughout, our defence stood up well and kept them tryless in the first half, kept going hitting them in twos. Some very good D sets, we got the ball back off quite a few and it was nice to keep them out at the end.

“It’s a hard place to come. We were on the right side of the result last year but we’ve obviously had a few where we haven’t been.

“As was said in the dressing room there, you have to win ugly sometimes. It was far from perfect but I think the intent throughout was the most pleasing thing and the defence especially.”

Leinster head coach, Cullen, had similar feelings after watching his and Jacques Nienaber’s team edge an enthralling game of rugby in La Rochelle.

robbie-henshaw-and-garry-ringrose-celebrate-winning-the-match Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Leinster had several outstanding passages of defence but they had to react to lots of promising La Rochelle play too, with their ability to stay in the fight  and scramble impressing once again.

“Listen, there’s plenty in the game for us to learn and get better from,” said Cullen.

“Four points, it was a proper, tough… not a knock-out game, but it had that feeling. Since the pools were drawn, it had that sense.”

Leinster’s first-half try through lock Joe McCarthy was a crucial moment, coming as it did after La Rochelle had piled pressure onto the visitors to little avail.

Ryan Baird’s sharp inside pass on second phase of the lineout strike allowed Jamie Osborne to break through Uini Atonio’s tackle attempt before he sent McCarthy over for a score that surely delighted attack coach Tyler Bleyendaal.

“It was a nicely worked try, Tyler’s creation,” said Cullen. “It was very good and that’s what you want.

“We had some other chances in that period. We weathered a lot of pressure in the first 20 minutes and you looked at the scoreboard and it was hard to believe, we were stuck at 3-3 there and the lads dug in well.

“To hit back and score a nicely-worked try in the shortside, well-executed, but we had some other chances after that. We had a lineout five metres out, didn’t quite get it right in terms of that transfer when we come down.

rg-snyman-and-robbie-henshaw-celebrate-winning-the-match RG Snyman at the final whistle. James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

“We know La Rochelle are very aggressive at the ball in terms of contact area and they came up with a few different turnovers at different stages or spoiled possession and the ball was slipping out. We just didn’t… that was some of that accuracy part we didn’t quite nail on. But it was never going to be perfect today and overall we’re pleased.”

Next up is the visit of Bath to the Aviva Stadium on Saturday as Leinster go after a bonus-point win that would almost certainly confirm their status as one of the top two seeds, meaning home advantage for the knock-out stages.

“Win, lose or draw, we’d be saying the same thing – the pool’s not done,” said Cullen.

“When you have a big win like this you can sort of over-indulge yourself potentially.

“So, we’ll enjoy tonight, travel back and try and recover well and get ready for a game in six days’ time because it is a pool, not a knock-out, and the last thing we want to do is undo the great work of today’s performance and put in a proper performance in front of our own fans.”

Close
41 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Oran Burns
    Favourite Oran Burns
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:41 PM

Great win!
    Matt Carley tried to shaft us in the end but didn’t get away with it.
    Why take Baird and SP off?
    Why put RB on? Shouldn’t be anywhere near the squad.

Mute Michael Corkery
    Favourite Michael Corkery
    Jan 12th 2025, 8:00 PM

@Oran Burns: that was a bizarre TMO call alright. What was going on there?

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Jan 12th 2025, 9:02 PM

@Michael Corkery: Since his World Cup shannigans against Fiji I don’t trust the man. Scandalous call and a weaker referee might have reacted. I won’t venture into other thoughts.

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute Warren Conlon Grant
    Favourite Warren Conlon Grant
    Jan 12th 2025, 10:00 PM

@Oran Burns: wtf?

Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Favourite Carmine Lorenzo
    Jan 12th 2025, 11:00 PM

@Oran Burns: Yeah Carley is a real arrogant piece of work. Don’t like to round on referees but he’s got history now of trying to mess around Leinster. It’s so obvious.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Jan 13th 2025, 6:23 AM

@Oran Burns: I missed that. What call did he try to make? I thought the TMOs intervention on the Doris head contact was ridiculous as it was never ever in the realm of card territory. Nika gave him a very subtle but sharp rebuke. It impacted Hastoy’s preparation and even if it had been a penalty, it wouldn’t have improved the kick placement.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Jan 13th 2025, 6:38 AM

@Carmine Lorenzo: Even more so as he wasn’t even officiating!!!

Mute Liam23
    Favourite Liam23
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:13 PM

Great win by Leinster, some defence in fairness to hold out at the end. Got the
    Run of the Green from the ref at times today.

Mute graham crosby
    Favourite graham crosby
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:29 PM

@Liam23: no, I thought the ref was very fair to both sides. There were a few contentious decisions, but both teams can claim that. Overall a very good win against a team that turns up at home. I honestly think we deserved it overall, just about, and sets next week up nicely. So far, so good.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:35 PM

@graham crosby: Ref took no guff from anyone, without belittling them, unlike some other refs – best reffing display I’ve seen in a long time, especially when laying down the law re argy-bargy.

See 6 more replies ▾
    Mute Robert O'Connor
    Favourite Robert O'Connor
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:40 PM

@Liam23: Wouldn’t call La Rochelle offside and gave them a lot more benefit of the doubt than they should’ve gotten. Dodgy scrum calls, sealing off and plenty of side entries to boot and while Leinster got some calls their way as well I would fervently deny that they got the rub of the green

Mute Michael Halpenny
    Favourite Michael Halpenny
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:58 PM

@Liam23: For my money Amashukeli has been in the top tier of referees for a few years now. His not getting knock out games at the last world cup was an absolute disgrace.

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Jan 12th 2025, 8:58 PM

@Robert O’Connor: Nika Amashukeli is the best ref since Nigel Owens such is his quality. He played fair and he played a good game. That’s all you can ask. Humans make errors but nothing impacted the game, he was fair to both sides. It was a proper test rugby.

Mute Robert O'Connor
    Jan 13th 2025, 12:23 AM

@Con Cussed: Just pointing out why I disagree with the statement that Leinster got the rub of the green, I think he’s given Ireland plenty in big games so I’m not saying he’s biased as that would be dumb. There were plenty of times where La Rochelle defenders were stood offside never retreated and advanced and were never pinged, I think its fair to point this out to someone saying Leinster got all the calls.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Jan 13th 2025, 6:45 AM

@Liam23: Love this. You could have even typed this comment before kick off and you would have believed it just the same. Nika is an excellent referee (the best to come out of the Irish system), very fair and consistent. The quality of the game was helped by his ability to manage the players. The “schemozzles” (thanks Murray) ended with his firm handling of the situation. Virtually no foul play for the entire game. Even the Hastoy no try was handled perfectly even if it caused momentary anxiety. Many refs would have blown the whistle immediately even if they were only 90% sure. Nika knew it wasn’t a try, but decided to allow it to play out just in case.

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Jan 13th 2025, 10:59 AM

@Robert O’Connor: sorry Robert. I meant to reply to the first comment, not yours.

Mute Eoin H
    Favourite Eoin H
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:24 PM

Even if your ten is not having his best day, if he his kickig all his goals, you do no take him off. That game should have been done at 19-14. I’m also not just critical of Byrne, Frawley has to take Leyds out for the try, it might be deemed illegal and he might take a yellow, but given how strong Leinsters goal line defense is they probably would have held out. I thought Joe was outstanding for 45 mins, Snyman is world class but his defensive collision is actually a bit soft. Doris is the best player in the country by an absolute mile, the French media really are singing his praises after that game

Mute Cian Halley
    Favourite Cian Halley
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:33 PM

@Eoin H: that best player in the country mantle I’m afraid goes to vdf and beirne atm, the 2 1st names on the lions team sheet

Mute Eoin H
    Favourite Eoin H
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:49 PM

@Cian Halley: I mean everyone in the rugby world apart from you know’s it is Doris, but you’ve dedicated your past time to slating him on here, so fair enough.

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute JJB
    Favourite JJB
    Jan 12th 2025, 8:14 PM

@Cian Halley: he has a point. Doris is playing phenomenal stuff atm. The other 2 are marvellous players also. If pushed, I would give the accolade to Doris also notwithstanding being a Munster supporter. His energy and relentless efficiency is a thing of beauty and drives Leinster.

Mute Graham Ahern
    Favourite Graham Ahern
    Jan 12th 2025, 10:15 PM

@Eoin H: Overhyped. Good player yes. Great no. Average world cup yes

Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Jan 12th 2025, 11:04 PM

@Eoin H: Yeah totally agree that Doris was unreal. Really stood out head and shoulders. Dominated vs Aldritt. I’ve noticed that about Snyman aswell too, there was one or two today that he seemed to fall off a bit. Doesn’t seem to melt lads in the tackle like James Ryan for example. Wonder what that is?

Mute Aidan Farrell
    Favourite Aidan Farrell
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:44 PM

Bravo Leinster, bravo.

Mute Eoin H
    Favourite Eoin H
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:28 PM

Henshaw was pretty average and has been pretty average for Leinster this year. Got absolute sat down by Boudehent in the first half. I think Barrett and Osborne or both better options at 12, Henshaw runs hard lines but he is not creative at all in attack.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:33 PM

@Eoin H: Frawley takes Leyds out and its a penalty try. Thought Sam played well apart from his blocked kicks – the drop in quality when Byrne came on was obvious. Byrne’s game is shot since Frawley and now Sam have passed him out for Ireland – he needs to be let go.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:37 PM

@Eoin H: Henshaw was an animal in the tackle today – not creativity admittedly, but that seems to have gone out the window the way Leinster play these days.

See 8 more replies ▾
    Mute Eoin H
    Favourite Eoin H
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:48 PM

@James: Based on what? He actually could have a case hes committed to the tackle if he follows through and Ringrose is there to cover, he was literally mm away from getting there before Leyds. Don’t comment on something until you’ve understood it fully

Mute chris mcdonnell
    Favourite chris mcdonnell
    Jan 12th 2025, 8:07 PM

@Eoin H: frawley was in the bin and a penalty try if he followed through and we would have lost the game. That kick just as easily could have bounced into touch or towards ringrose and we would have lost the game if frawley had touched him.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jan 12th 2025, 8:18 PM

@Eoin H: Having played and coached the game, I fully understand what I have commented on.
    Also, have some manners when replying to someone you know nothing about. People may come to the wrong conclusions about you, otherwise.

Mute scott casey
    Favourite scott casey
    Jan 12th 2025, 8:54 PM

@Eoin H: la rochelle used a very aggressive rush defence so henshaw had limited space or time. Also henshaw is clearly playing closer to gainline rather then sitting deeper so as to create a clear passing lane for the player in the pull back position.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Jan 13th 2025, 6:49 AM

@chris mcdonnell: Am I missing something? I don’t see anyone suggesting that Frawley should have taken Leyds out. That would be pretty daft.

Mute chris mcdonnell
    Favourite chris mcdonnell
    Jan 13th 2025, 7:24 AM

@Paul Ennis: eoin H said frawley should have taken Leyds out to stop the try. He thinks he might have got a yellow but there was cover in ringrose. Personally if frawley touches him it was a penalty try and a yellow.

Mute KIldareman
    Favourite KIldareman
    Jan 13th 2025, 7:57 AM

@James: 100%. Play the game, not the player (on the pitch & in comments)

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Jan 13th 2025, 11:19 AM

@chris mcdonnell: Ah… different thread… I tend not to read most of his and skip to the replies ;)

Mute Richard Parker
    Favourite Richard Parker
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:37 PM

Still the 3rd best team in Ireland

Mute Robert O'Connor
    Jan 12th 2025, 7:44 PM

@Richard Parker: Cry more

Mute Graham Ahern
    Favourite Graham Ahern
    Jan 12th 2025, 10:19 PM

Toulouse will put manners on ye

Mute Carmine Lorenzo
    Jan 12th 2025, 11:00 PM

@Graham Ahern: You*

Mute Graham Ahern
    Favourite Graham Ahern
    Jan 12th 2025, 11:09 PM

@Carmine Lorenzo: what’s wrong with you.do you think playing SA style rugby with that pack going to cut the mustard v Toulouse?

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Jan 13th 2025, 6:51 AM

@Graham Ahern: “Toulouse will put manners on ye, I really really hope” – There fixed it for you!

Mute Gary D
    Favourite Gary D
    Jan 13th 2025, 11:14 AM

@Graham Ahern: have never hoped an Irish team would lose a game that Leinster weren’t involved in. It’s such a miserable way to be

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel