JURGEN KLOPP HAS revealed that he turned down a โhistorical English clubโ before joining Liverpool because the job โdidnโt feel rightโ.
Having enhanced his reputation during a productive spell at Borussia Dortmund, the German coach was a man in demand back in 2015.
Around that time, Manchester United were stagnating under Louis van Gaal while Chelsea were preparing to part with Jose Mourinho.
Both clubs would have been expected to express an interest in Klopp, having seen him walk away from his role in Dortmund, but neither got a deal done as Liverpool swept in to make a high-profile appointment as successor to Brendan Rodgers.
โWhy Liverpool? I had an offer of another historical English club two years ago, but I never felt comfortable with how they understood football,โ Klopp told guests at a charity event in Cape Town, according to Soccer Laduma.
โIt didnโt feel right. When Liverpool called, I canโt explain it. It was right.โ
If he did turn down United, then that decision will have come as a surprise to many, with Kloppโs predecessor at Mainz, Eckhard Krautzun, having revealed that Old Trafford had always been his favoured destination in England.
He told The Set Pieces on Klopp: โWhen it comes to his favourite club, however, Liverpool werenโt always number one.
It would be his dream to go to England one day and his favourite club would be [Manchester] United. Thatโs what he said.โ
Having opted to head for Merseyside over Manchester or London, Klopp is now charged with the task of returning former glories to Liverpool.
He has experienced mixed fortunes after taking on that challenge, with the Reds still waiting on a first piece of silverware since 2012.
Klopp is, however, convinced that he will deliver success, with his sights still set on the Premier League title.
He added while in South Africa: โWe have to improve, 100%. But we will.
We are fine and the owners are happy. Liverpool is a fantastic club, and my aim is to win the Premier League with it.โ
Liverpool sit fifth in the English top-flight at present, 12 points adrift of leaders Manchester City.
Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:
Lucky escape for who ever. His record in finals is awful.
@Irishoverseas: agreed, heโs a one trick pony when teams stifle what is a very good attack thereโs no plan b.
I sense a monumental school yard Dick measuring contest coming.
@Nollaig Elliot: Nollaig Iโm not a troll but Iโll give it right back to him,Iโve no problem with it. He comments on enough articles on here and Iโve a right to state my views.
โNever felt comfortable about how they understood footballโ Canโt imagine anyone involved in the game would make a comment like that about Man Utd!
Jurgen Flopp.
Itโs grand but thanks anyway Klippityโฆ
Knocked United back. So Klopp and Guardiola. Mourinho off to PSG. Ancellotti to Everton. Moyes must be delighted. KARMA !
@Is mise muc grรกnna: No I doubt he turned utd more likely Chelsea when it had to do with football history.
@Is mise muc grรกnna: Yeah Moyes must be delighted having relegated Sunderland and now managing West Ham for 6 Months.
@Let free speech live: Only he really knows i suppose.
@An Observer: Yes he relegated them. The playerโs he spent 500 million on pulled up trees every week for him. A class act. And will prove it at The Hammers. If given time and money. Stop being so defensive with everthing anybody says about United. You have enough to say about Liverpool. Itโs opinions. Respect them or ignore them. Simples.
@Is mise muc grรกnna: I respect opinions. Not trolls just trying to sh*t stir.
Lads thatโs a real lame story to get the posters in
It canโt be Chelsea considering everyone involved with Liverpool says they have no history
@Chris Mansfield: No thats everybody.
Likeable guy but donโt think OT is for him. In saying that, the absolute fraud that is currently there shouldnโt be either. And Iโm a United fan before I get slated.
Whichever club it was, they dodged a bullet. Rate klopp less n less as time wears on
Any old BS now to try and save his job and give himself some credit
@Rons: no, any old BS from the 42 to try and get Liverpool and United supporters viewing and arguing.
@Joseph Bloggs: No a bull s~~t premier league story to fill the international break.
If itโs true, then all I can say is thanks be to fcuk!