BURNLEY DEFENDER KEVIN Long has revealed that his first international call-up could rule him out of his brother’s wedding celebrations.
Martin O’Neill included the Corkonian in his 38-man squad for friendlies against Mexico and Uruguay, and a World Cup qualifier against Austria next month.
Long was delighted to get the nod, just over a week after making his first start for Burnley, but the timing of the matches will mean he won’t be able to fulfil his groomsman duties for his brother Daniel if he makes O’Neill’s final travelling party.
“I think I will miss it. He won’t be too happy, but if I play a game he’ll be all right,” Long told Burnley’s website.
“I was also supposed to be going to Marbella with the family, but I’m sure they won’t mind if I get a cap.
“I spoke to my parents and all my brothers and everyone is buzzing.”
The former Cork City defender has had a cruel run with injuries and admitted he was shocked by his inclusion in O’Neill’s squad so soon after making his first start for the Clarets.
“I wasn’t expecting it. I’m shocked but really happy,” added Long.
“It was a nice surprise. I was just trying to concentrate on club football, so when I found out I was absolutely delighted.
“It’s been a tough year but it’s been a nice reward, getting a few games in towards the end of the season and I’ve really been enjoying it.
“I’m in the squad, so I want to play a game. If you’re involved, everyone is going to want to play. I will go there, train as best I can and see what happens.
“It will be good to meet up for the first time, get to know the people, see what the training is like and hopefully I can do all right.”
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!
Who’s making drunken posts at almost 4am on a Wednesday morning? April 1st was months ago. However, if this is true, IMO Everton will regret this. He’s just not the player he was, nor never will be. There are better catches out there across Europe and across the world. This is backwards thinking from Everton if true, certainly not the foresight they need to be a big club again and challenge for honors.
But back to reality, who’s the yank in the Journal office who went on the wine for July 4th and hacked the 42?
@Stephen Duggan: those wages for Everton are crazy
@Stephen Duggan: it’s more of a marketing ploy than a football decision which is fair enough. He’d bring huge revenue and attention to the club.
@John McClane: my guess would be that Man U would continue to pay part of his wages to get him out the door with minimal fuss.
@John McClane: money is no object for Everton these days. It went a bit under the radar but they now have an Iranian billionaire owner who wants them to do a Man City.
@philip murphy: A million every four weeks, it’s insane, especially for a player who is not exactly in his prime or even guaranteed to deliver the 20+ goals you would expect for that kind of money.
@philip murphy: Would be inclined to agree Philip. Would have considered Ronald Koeman a progressive manager but this looks, in football terms, a backward step. It looks like the powers that be upstairs are making this decision purely from a commercial perspective.
@Sloop John G: koeman said he wanted him back in January, and continued to do so for the rest of the season
Oh yes, trust The Sun for news.
@Barry O’Brien: especially for anything relating to Merseyside!
@Barry O’Brien: Rooney be on the bench there as well surely? Even less games also
Why is everyone do obsessed with the wages and fees Premier League clubs are paying?Its not your money lads.i couldnt be happier Everton are splashing all this cash.All i want is a strong squad to compete for a trophy.Dont care how its achieved.
@Fran Heavey: Everton fan here too, and absolutely delighted we are finally splashing some cash around but in saying that don’t wanna do a Leeds or a Portsmouth and spend all this money we don’t have and end up down in League 1. Mosh seems to know what he’s doing so hopefully all roads lead to CL and better
@Fran Heavey: agreed !.. you can be damn sure the billionaire accountant that now owns us knows what he’s doing regarding income and outgoings more than people commenting here. regarding rooney, will give us more options ? Yes,. it’s not as if he’s our main signing..another striker will come in. He can still score 15 goals a season and we need a big squad this season, his experience will be invaluable to the younger players, and he doesn’t freeze in big games, which is usually a big problem for us, especially against you know who!.. what’s not to like. its not as if he’s coming to everton to give up. u can be sure he will work his nuts off like he always has . we know we’re not signing the rooney of 5 yrs ago , but still a good player who will contribute a lot in a busy season
Rooney, Giroud strike force. Devastating.
@Nollaig Elliot: you’re forgetting sandro, could be a surprise package… works his nuts off and a strike rate of 1 in 2 in la liga last season…. Dominic calvert lewin also, had a fine under 20 world cup…. I would back those 4 to get more goals along with klassen than lukaku did last season… we relied too heavily on him last year, when he wasn’t firing, or sulking, or fighting with team mates we didn’t score
@blueman79: I have absolutely no doubt that Everton are the team to watch next season mate. I have a lot of admiration for the club. I hope Ye do well.
United don’t have any centre forwards. Why get rid of a player that always has a great attitude on the pitch? Rooney is not the player he once was but he still is the best proven forward united have.
@prop joe: his legs are gone and he gets paid a fortune
@prop joe: He’s never really been a #9 though has he? Even when he plays up top he’s more of a #10. I’d be surprised if Rooney ever gets into double league figures again, no matter where he ends up.
@Gustave H: so what do other players get paid? Seeing he is utds record goalscorer he deserves to be the highest paid at the club. When his contract is up next year he won’t be on his current money. United still don’t have a forward as good as him. They need to bring in two or three better players before they off load him. United will be playing at least 50 competitive games next. They need everyone. Including there record goalscorer
@prop joe: be sure that if he’s close to moving then someone is coming in ,
@prop joe: I’d imagine they’ll look to buy someone to replace Zlatan. Rooney is no longer all that relevant as he’s no longer up to the standard required.
The point about him being their record goalscorer is irrelevant. Denis Law scored an awful lot of goals for United. It doesn’t mean he’s can still do a job up front.
@Johnny Bravo: there was a time when you could “be sure” Johnny but not the way things have been going for United in this transfer window. Don’t know if it’s Woodward, the agents, selling clubs or the players themselves but United seem to drag the bollo(ks out of it every time. Very frustrating for fans.
@Sloop John G: they won’t let him go if they don’t have a replacement, it probably a combination of several time but mainly Madrid as they are probably dragging the bollox out of the Morata deal cause Jose and co doesn’t want to play ball over De Gea.
@Sloop John G: don’t forget he the most experienced player at the club and I think this has been on the cards for ages now, hence the reason Carrick got a new deal who will now take up that mantel with talks of a coaching role after next season too.
@prop joe: There’s a World Cup next summer and wouldn’t surprise me if Rooney was also pushing for a move he’ll want to be playing regularly!!And Utd will be sure to replace em could even see lukaku coming to Utd from Merseyside
Surely it would be cheaper to get Ross Barkley to play with a tyre around his waist than sign Rooney
@Michael O Connell: so funny that Micheal but I guarantee he’s fitter and in better shape then you are
£250 a week would be better option going to big rom and keep him as 20 goals he would defo score..rooney has only done that once in an excellent utd team..also people forgetting kissing utd badge at goodison to get at efc fans
Probably bollox, but united might as well get Lukaku while they’re at it
Ah here two duds. I thought Everton up to know have been pretty good in there purchases. Rooney is finished and Giroud hasn’t got on well at Arsenal.
neil custis and the sun… eh no thanks
Why