Kerry 0-24
Cork 0-12
KERRY HAVE WON their 76th Munster Senior Football Championship after an emphatic 12-point win over Cork in the final football decider to be held at Páirc Uí Chaoimh before the famous stadium is re-developed.
Kerry’s first half dominance – Cork failed to score between the 7th minute and 37th minute – was not fully reflected on the scoreboard; Éamonn Fitzmaurice’s men going into the break with a 0-13 to 0-5 lead when it could have been much more.
The Kingdom picked up where they left off in the second half – James O’Donoghue (0-10) serving as tormentor in chief – as the home fans streamed from Páirc Uí Chaoimh in their thousands well before the final whistle.
It was a hugely impressive display from Kerry with O’Donoghue and Paul Geaney starring in the inside attacking positions while Declan O’Sullivan orchestrated the play around the middle.
At one juncture Kerry were in front by 0-13 to 0-3 during the opening period but Cork hit back with a couple of points before the interval and then the free taking of Brian Hurley and Daniel Goulding saw them cut the deficit to 0-13 to 0-8 early in the second-half.
However that was as good as it got for Cork with Kerry taking over as O’Donoghue, Bryan Sheehan and Johnny Buckley put the game to bed with a series of excellent scores.
Cork’s woes were compounded late on when substitute John Hayes was shown a red card and they now head towards the qualifiers in an effort to turn their season around.
Scorers for Kerry: James O’Donoghue 0-10 (0-2f), Johnny Buckley, Bryan Sheehan (0-2f, 0-1 ’45) 0-4 each, Paul Geaney 0-3, Donnchadh Walsh, Stephen O’Brien, Declan O’Sullivan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Cork: Daniel Goulding 0-6 (0-3f), Brian Hurley 0-4 (0-3f), Fintan Goold, Aidan Walsh 0-1 each.
KERRY
1. Brian Kelly – Killarney Legion
5. Paul Murphy – Rathmore
4. Shane Enright – Tarbert
2. Marc Ó Sé – An Ghaeltacht
3. Aidan O’Mahony – Rathmore
6. Killian Young – Renard
7. Fionn Fitzgerald – Dr Crokes (C)
8. Anthony Maher – Duagh
11. Bryan Sheehan – St Mary’s
12. Donnchadh Walsh – Cromane
14. Declan O’Sullivan – Dromid Pearses
9. Johnny Buckley – Dr Crokes
15. James O’Donoghue – Killarney Legion
13. Paul Geaney – Dingle
10. Stephen O’Brien – Kenmare
Subs
17. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers) for O’Mahony (49)
18. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar) for O’Brien (52)
19. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Sheehan (56)
24. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Geaney (60)
23. Kieran O’Leary (Dr Crokes) for Walsh (60)
22. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks) for Buckley (64)
CORK
1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)
2. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
5. James Loughrey (Mallow)
6. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
7. Damien Cahalane (Castlehaven)
8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
9. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
15. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
10. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig)
12. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
13. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
Subs
22. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) for O’Rourke (half-time)
24. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough) for Kelly (half-time)
23. Mark Collins (Castlehaven) for Barry O’Driscoll (45)
17. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown) for Clancy (50)
25. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers) for Walsh (57)
18. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy) for Galvin (60)
Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath)
Don’t know how good Kerry are yet, but they where a joy to watch today. Superior quality to a very disappointing Cork.
Kerry completely dominated the middle third of the field and shooting by forwards off both feet was exceptional!!
Kerry forwards top class today. I’ve always felt cork have an ignorant style if football, and they won that all Ireland in 2010 in spite of their gameplan, not because of it. Don’t get me wrong, they have quality players, and have had for a few years, BUT, they just solo solo solo, and then try thread short handpasses through gaps that are not there. In contrast Kerry kick long and early to isolated attackers in space. Hurley and Colm o Neill are 2 of the top forwards in Ireland if they get quality ball one-on-one with defenders in space. Didn’t happen today.
Another guy I feel is hugely overrated is Paul Kerrigan, just puts his head down and runs up blind alleys. Trying to solo past everyone with your head down is just junior football. Brian cuthbert appears to have a similar philosophy to Conor counihan.
Kerry looked class today but I still suspect they have a soft centre defensively that other teams would expose. We shall see.
Gaaaah is a game for muck savages, try a real mans game like golf or cricket..
Delighted with the Kerry performance,really didn’t expect them to win.James O’Donoghue was majestic,Declan O’Sullivan linked he play outfield perfectly,midfield were dominant.
Cork were embarrassing though,out thought ,out fought and outplayed.
Kerry have announced their arrival on the the championship stage. Thanks lads!!
Cork should be ashamed of them selves,their not footballers their a bunch of wasters, their showed no interest in the game and their after shaming the county today, they should not get the jersey to wear again
Spineless team
‘they’re’ not ‘their’ you showed no interest in the language and should not get to use it in public again
Any news on the poor Deane injury? He was in agony, hope it isn’t too serious.
What was worse was the amount of time it took him to be attended too. Took ages for stretcher bearers to arrive .
Deane was clearly in agony but no oxygen was given or was it available?
Awesome display by Kerry against a team that whipped them in Killarney in the league. Been many a result this championship that makes the league look like a farce. Maybe a reward of seeding in the championship is needed to improve the league.
Kerry joint favourites now?
As a cork fan it was a long 70mins, Fermanagh 2004 defeat was of similar stature. For Cork the climb back to respectability is of Everest proportions.
Kerry were superior in every department including the sideline.
As for linking the league and championship. Sean Kelly had a proposal last year that received little coverage.
Keep the provincial championship. With the finalists going forward to the all Ireland series along with the top 8 ranked teams in the league not already qualified. Those 16 play a straight knockout all Ireland series with provincial winners at home in first round .
The remaining 16 play in a B competition with the two finalists guaranteed a place in following years all Ireland series at the expense if 7/8 placed teams in the league.
Worth a try I think
Just back from the match and embarrassed by the display today. We were abysmal from one to fifteen but a few things really stood out. Shields, Cadogan and Cahalane were way too slow for a lightning fast Kerry forward line. Colm O’ Driscoll looked like a headless chicken and at one stage he ran into Aidan Walsh who had made a good catch, knocking the ball out of his hands. Kerrigan is another headless chicken and Hurley flatters to deceive but everyone was poor today. But the really worrying thing was how off the pace they were, constantly falling and getting cramp. If Cuthbert thinks that Cork can ignore the Munster final in a bid to peak later then he really doesn’t understand Cork football at all. In fact it would be best if he went now and let someone clean up the mess. Kerry deserved the win but it’s hard to see where they are as Cork were so bad.
Another guy without full stops or commas ..
That was the worst performance I have ever seen from a Cork team. Battered all over the park for 70 min. No leaders no structure and no fight !! The game in general is awful to watch.
Cork show that old habits die hard counihan drove the handpassing into the current players and today shows that they can’t change and it really hasn’t changed either at underage same philosophy at most age levels cork football needs a dramatic overhaul
Great win by the lads and I fully admit to having criticising them this year.I think an awful lot of Kerry people have to be honest.They fairly rammed it down the critics throats today with a masterful display from one to fifteen.James Donoghoe gave an exhibition the Gooch woulda been proud of and is there a better place kicker than Brian Sheehan in the country at the moment (yes that includes you too Clucton).Cork though were absolutely atrocious and when you see a cork player go down with cramp after just 49minutes on, what was not a hot day like we have had recently, it makes you wonder what the Cork players do in training.This win should stand to Kerry and it will take a brave man to bet against them now.Paddy powers have done their homework already.No more 10/1 to win the All Ireland now.When all is said and done though I still don’t think there is a team to beat what is a fantastic well oiled Dublin machine.Ciarrai Abu
Pathetic display by cork today people were giving out about counihans tactics I don’t see any change negative play today no drive no tactics cadogan and shields pathetic supposed to be leaders of this team none of our boys were worthy of that precious jersey today they didn’t even try they gave up what was cuthbert doing starting barry o Driscoll he ain’t county standard and he proved that today it has to be the most pathetic performance I’ve ever see twas embarrassing I’d say kerry are shocked/delighted in how they played today fair play to them brilliant performance from them some great scores they played to the end cork have some work to do we were supposed to be all ireland contenders I think we can cross that one out anyway congrats to kerry
Full stops and commas are underrated
Don’t you mean over rated? :)
Kerry havent gone away y’know
I’m impressed peter you’ve said something positive about Kerry,FairPlay!the league you can Neva judge it’s championship you want build & peak at right stage of season,excellent from Kerry today but,cork wer poor also! We’ll see what we can do in quarters now!
Kerry for the GAA, World Cup!
Great. He’s back.
Pathetic turn out by Kerry supporters, a thousand maybe if they were lucky. Of course they will all turn up for Croke park on final day.
I don’t get your point joe who cares about how many came up from kerry their football team turned up and there was thirty plus too many for the beating they gave us I think ur comment is only clogging up space on this forum #pointless
Appalling display by Cork. Now well down the pecking order and they’ll look back in the future on one all Ireland in recent years as a major underachievement. Could be a bad 7 days for the Rebels – Limerick hugely motivated to win back to back Munster titles next Sunday ..
Kerry very very good but ably assisted by Cork who gave a display for lack of a better word can only be described as spineless.
Looking at this and the game in Killarney last year Kerry learned all the lessons and cork learned none.
Telegraphed what style Kerry would play today and Cork neither seemed to have a plan to counter it or even expect it.
Would like to point the jeering of Aidan Walsh been taken off by his own supporters is nothing sort of pathetic this being a man who has dedicated more than even the single code player to cork. He had a bad game but by no means should he have been singled out by the supporters as all players in red let themselves down.
Not fair to highlight the poor attendance being Kerry’s fault the lack of a cork crowd with the game on there own door step is poor also.
Around me it was the Kerry supporters jeering him.
I have no doubt some Kerry supporters jeered him as much as Galvin/Cooper and co would / have been jeered by cork supporters but most definitely it was a good portion of cork people near me. These are most definitely the same people who would be giving out if he threw his lot in with the hurlers full time.
It was his own “fans”
And hopefully ruari Deanes injury not too serious very unfortunate one for the future we shall be back
Caherboshina abu!
Bad display by Cork. But write us off at your peril. Rebel fans get behind your team. Hope we meet Kerry in the Final. We will rise again.Up the rebel county every time. By the way Kerry re like Clare in hurling, bad winners.
I have generally found them to be okay to take a win or a loss to be fair to them, but the sizeable minority who ironically cheered when Aidan Walsh was taken off were classless. As a teen I made a comment or two when Bomber Liston was taken off in or around 1990 and the Cork people around me gave out to me. It’s a good lesson to learn.
Shows what you know Sean, Kerry and Cork can’t meet In the final, cork if they get far enough will meet Connacht winner and then semi Munster winner (if still in).
I’ll put your lack of knowledge up there with your ability to judge good/bad winners.
It was cork supporters doing the cheering when Aidan Walsh went off all around me
Barry you’re a numbskull, Kerry bad winners, ye could write a book on it, get over your whinging boy.