IT HAS TAKEN until the age of 26 for Joey Carbery to get his first Six Nations start for Ireland and now it comes in the most thrilling of circumstances.
A confident France side at home in Paris, Ireland bouncing on the back of their own good form, the two leading Guinness Six Nations contenders going head-to-head early in this championship, and stepping in for Irelandโs captain and talisman, Johnny Sexton.
This is the kind of occasion that kept Carbery working hard through those long, boring, tough days of rehab during 13 months out of the game with an ankle injury. He would have despaired at times during that spell but now comes the pay-off.
He has had some big days with Ireland in the past, coming off the bench during their three wins over New Zealand, as well as making four appearances as a replacement in their 2018 Grand Slam campaign.
Capped 28 times, he has only started eight Tests for Ireland at out-half, including one against Australia and another versus Argentina, but this is by some distance the biggest of them so far.
It was sprung on him late in the week after Sexton pulled up with his hamstring injury during training on Wednesday, but this is the kind of chance that Carbery will have been craving. He would surely prefer to have more recent game time in his legs and lungs but has fully recovered from his fractured elbow and played 16 minutes off the bench last weekend against Wales.
These are not perfect circumstances. Yet Carbery has been waiting for this Six Nations shot and Ireland boss Andy Farrell said yesterday that he is keen for the Munster man to play his own game at Stade de France.
โIโm excited to see Joey just being himself,โ said Farrell. โHeโs a man of many talents and heโs one hell of a player. I just want to see him be himself, be super confident that heโs got to bring his own game to the party. Heโs in a great place.
โHe has been involved in some big games for us over the years and heโs had some downs with the injuries, but he has had a solid two-and-a-half weeks training with us. He knows exactly how we want to play as a team and weโre expecting him to deliver that like everyone else.
โI think his experiences [with injury] make him more hungry to get back on this type of stage and perform and be the player that he knows he is and wants to be.
โPeople obviously take the rough with the smooth as far as injury is concerned and they take their opportunity by preparing well. When the opportunity comes, they take it with both hands and thatโs what the best of them do. This is an opportunity for Joey.โ
Sexton travelled to Paris with Ireland yesterday and will have some input this weekend off the pitch, but James Ryan has taken over as captain for the France game.
Ireland centre Bundee Aki says the team have full confidence in Carberyโs ability to slot into the number 10 shirt and deliver.
โNothingโs changed,โ said Aki. โObviously Johnnyโs a big leader in our group and having him in there, travelling with us, it will be good for us to have him around.
โJoey has evolved, he knows what heโs doing. Iโm confident we will play well together.โ
Connachtโs Jack Carty comes into an Ireland matchday squad for the first time since the 2019 World Cup and will hope for a chance to impact off the bench in Paris.
โIโve been just as impressed with Jack,โ said Ireland boss Farrell of Carty.
โWhen a player comes in and heโs trying to learn new systems, it maybe takes him five or six days or even longer, but certainly Jackโs had that now and heโll be ready to come off the bench.โ
The42 Rugby Weekly / SoundCloud
Gavan Casey and Murray Kinsella hit record for the second time in one day after news of Johnny Sextonโs injury, with Illtud Dafydd joining the lads on the line from Paris to give great insight into all things les Bleus.
Baloucoune for me is one of the most underrated young talents in the country, if he played for Leinster thereโd probably be a lot more hype about him but every time Iโve watched him heโs been exceptional ( apart from when he should have been red carded v munster). Heโs physically very well able and has decent speed but probably the most impressive thing about him is his ability to do the little things right all of the time. You rarely see him make mistakes. Sorry to see him injured, it could have been a good 12 months for him with Ireland but heโll be back, Iโve no doubt about that. Hope he mends quickly.
@Jim Demps: right, now that Jim has his jab at Leinster out of the way, why donโt we all just not respond to him lest ANOTHER 42 thread becomes a mudsling-fest (the very kind Jim SWEARS he hates)?
@omgraham: agreed, 3 articles, none about Leinster, Jim fits in a dig about Leinster on each, on form today! โฆ Baloucoune was called into the 6 nations squad , Is that enough recognition for you Jim?
@Dennis Reynolds: itโs his own Dennis system:
D: Demonstrate value with knowledge of the game
E: Engage with every article written about rugby
N: Nurture the idea that he is unbiased by sometimes complimenting Leinster players (I have witnessed this phenomenon)
N: Neglect reasoning to take a pop at Leinster at every given opportunity, thus bringing out the worst of the 42
I: Inspire hope by announcing youโre leaving the hell hole youโve created to discuss rugby like an adult in a WhatsApp group
S: Seperate from said group to make a dramatic comeback, as sour and transparent as ever
@Dennis Reynolds: A bit like the Leinster fans who continuously cut Munster on the Munster articles and mention how great Leinster are. Iโve not seen you criticise them or is that different?
Really disappointing for Robert. Hope he come back stronger. Lucky we have good depth out wide.
Similar to Paul OโConnell it seems, in how it happened. Hopefully nothing near as bad
@Gareth Ward: Hope itโs not. Because of his age chances are he might make a full recovery and hopefully he does
Shame for him and Ulster as he is a big time player who has already established himself as someone with that match winning X factor quality.
Ulster donโt have the strength in depth and can ill afford to be missing players of his ability.
At least he has age on his side and that hopefully will lead to a full and speedy recovery
The 42 should stop with the injuries stories today.
@Chris Mc: Pretty bad news day all round isnt it