Advertisement
Billy Stickland/INPHO

'It's a nice label to get,' says Schmidt as Ireland summit World Rugby rankings

The head coach was eager to downplay the significance of the feat and placed the favourites’ tag squarely on New Zealand.

IRELAND CREATED ANOTHER bit of history today as they reached the top of the World Rugby rankings, pulling ahead of New Zealand thanks to a 19-10 in over Wales.

Joe Schmidt’s team will now go to the Rugby World Cup as the game’s top side, in theory, but the Kiwi was quick to underplay the importance of their new-found status.

“I didn’t even realise that we were until I did an interview after the game,” Schmidt said in his post-match press conference.

“It’s a nice label to get. And it’s a nice… first time that we’ve been in that position. So we have been lucky enough to tick a few firsts off with this team in the last six years, but that label is not going to be relevant to anyone.”

At the tail end of last year, as the All Blacks lost in Dublin before Schmidt and Jonny Sexton claimed individual honours at the World Rugby awards, Ireland quickly became many people’s hot tip for success in Japan.

Though that outside confidence dissipated throughout 2019, Schmidt was happy to make doubly sure that the favourites tag – placed on Ireland by Steve Hansen last year – does not stick to his side.

“We all know who the favourites are for the Rugby World Cup, and it’s not us,” said the head coach.

Knowing Steve and Ian Foster… for them, it’s far from their minds. They’re very process focused and for them it’s about getting up, making the ball work and working hard for each other. And, I don’t know if you noticed, they do a pretty good job of it.”

Whatever the coaches say, New Zealand are favourites with bookmakers to retain the Webb Ellis trophy, followed by England, South Africa and then the world’s number one team.

Close
54 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Dave Barry
    Favourite Dave Barry
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:42 PM

Just another accolade for the worlds best coach. People will try and play it down, but it’s there on paper, number 1 and no one can take it away no matter how much salt they throw at it. It’s funny how much people take for granted when you have a team and coaching staff as talented as this one. I’m not taking it for granted I can assure you of that, see you in the pub.

Mute Limón Madrugada
    Favourite Limón Madrugada
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:48 PM

@Dave Barry: it’s a recognition of Ireland’s improvement under JS . Not to be taken as anything but a momentary snapshot but it’s never happened before . So let’s hope there will be more weeks on top . Let’s hope Ireland has November internationals this year !! Congratulations to Josef Schmidt , a winner , who knows how to lose too . Thanks for making Irish rugby a little bit better !!!

Mute Mark walsh
    Favourite Mark walsh
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:14 PM

@Dave Barry: u pissssed

See 5 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:26 PM

@Limón Madrugada:

Well said Limon :: excpt for the word “little” I have been doing this since the 60s and man the word is “huge lot better”

Mute Dave Barry
    Favourite Dave Barry
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:30 PM

@Mark walsh: Had a few. Nowhere near pissed though pal.

Mute Mike Rugby Nuts
    Favourite Mike Rugby Nuts
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:43 PM

@Dave Barry: with you Dave

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:22 PM

@Dave Barry: not for long

Mute Tony O'Sullivan
    Favourite Tony O'Sullivan
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:40 PM

@Dave Barry: well said Dave.

When Schmidt came in we were struggling to break into world top 4, excited to secure second ranking in a world cup group. All that with O’Driscoll, O’Connell and O’Gara in the team.

4 years ago we lost a quarterfinal because we had so many injuries, Schmidt vowed to build a squad to avoid that happening next time. Now we are here, with that squad – double depth in nearly every position, and top seeds in our group.

This is the best chance we’ve had, maybe we will ever have. Nay sayers, critics and trolls it’s time to shut up and get behind the team 100%. Clear.

Mute Brian Brian
    Favourite Brian Brian
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:38 PM

Number one? Go prove it boys.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher

@Brian Brian: Well said

Mute RabidHorizon
    Favourite RabidHorizon
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:15 PM

Only 5 teams have been ranked no.1 since rankings introduction in 2003. Apart from ourselves New Zealand, South Africa, England and Wales. No trophies for it, still a great achievement and for those spouting we’ve no form, can be no.1 without it. The level of expectation in Irish rugby is currently insane.

Mute JoyMonkey
    Favourite JoyMonkey
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:49 PM

Ireland No 1. They should cancel the world cup and just give us the feckin trophy.

Mute Jim Demps.
    Favourite Jim Demps.
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:33 PM

I thing it’s time I come out and say Leinster Till I Die.
    This would be my team for the world cup:
    Healy
    Cronan
    Furlong
    Ryan
    Bring Tonr back in
    Van Deflier
    Conan
    Ruddock
    McGrath
    Sexton
    Henshaw
    Ringrose
    Kearney
    Larmour
    Porter
    Hell yeh. BOOM!

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:45 PM

@Jim Demps.:

HA HA HA Ha HA great one there :::

Mute Kohn Jeenan
    Favourite Kohn Jeenan
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:05 PM

@Jim Demps.: henshaw? stealing Noel Reid’s place tbh

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute Limón Madrugada
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:06 PM

@Kohn Jeenan: it’s not Jim ..

Mute Kohn Jeenan
    Favourite Kohn Jeenan
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:35 PM

@Limón Madrugada: and it’s not Noel Reid’s place…

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:47 PM

@Jim Demps.: you created a fake account troll someone you have probably never met. You need to take a look at yourself chap

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:26 PM

@Jim Demps.: na Jim that side won’t win a World Cup, it would win the European champions cup though. Tell you what thought with a little help from a few ulster lads and few conaught lads throw in the odd munster man and or South African and I think it might just win the big one.

Mute Limón Madrugada
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:05 PM

Funny how 2 weeks ago the team and the coaches were to blame , they needed a shake up etc etc ad infinitum . It’s preseason lads ! A very good preseason too 3 out of 4 wins . Beating the then world too ranked team ( Wales) . But it will mean nothing if QFs aren’t passed . Just as calm now as 2 weeks ago .Ireland is on the way back

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:35 PM

@Limón Madrugada: Exactly! Where are all the lads that were jumping to conclusions after the England game.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:29 PM

@Paddy Kavanagh: the only game on this site that matters is the last one. Win the last game and we are World beaters, lose and we should sack the whole squad ( well apart from the players for the provincial side the poster comes from )

Mute Stanley Baggins
    Favourite Stanley Baggins
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:00 PM

Last world Cup an injury crisis destroyed us. Hopefully better luck with injuries in Japan.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:40 PM

World number 1. Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. Next step now is to back it up and I genuinely think we will. We needed the win today to build a bit of confidence.

This would be my 23 for Scotland assuming everyone is fit

Kilcoyne
    Best
    Furlong
    Henderson
    Ryan
    Ruddock
    O mahony
    Stander

Murray
    Sexton
    Stockdale
    Aki
    Ringrose
    Earls
    Kearney

Healy
    Cronin
    Ryan
    Kleyn
    Beirne
    McGrath
    Carbery
    Larmour

Backrow is a bit of a change but I think we’ll need that physicality further on in the tournament. Same story with the two locks on the bench.

Mute Tim Magner
    Favourite Tim Magner
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:47 PM

@Jim Demps: I’d go with henshaw at 13, thought he looked unreal today. Ringrose is a class act though so I wouldn’t be all that bothered. Aki has probably, and rightly, nailed down 12, he’s in brilliant form. We needed today after the 6ns, we mightnt be world beaters but at least some of our big names looked more like their old selves. Kilcoyne looks a man possessed, has always been a good carrier but it’s his tackling is the real eye-opener, he’s like a samoan

Mute Ruckin' Hell
    Favourite Ruckin' Hell

@Jim Demps: VDF’s mobility is tailor made to combat Scotland so he has to play in that game. The above back row while good on paper just lacks that bit of mobility.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:49 PM

@Jim Demps: No Henshaw after today’s performance?

Mute JoeO
    Favourite JoeO
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:50 PM

@Jim Demps: VdF will probably play against Scotland. Need a proper 7 against such a mobile back row.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:51 PM

@Tim Magner: nah, ringrose is still the best 13 we have. Henshaw went very well today but he’s no rolls Royce.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:52 PM

@Jim Demps: Henshaw has to come into the mix for me. He was great today and his partnership with Aki looked good. Killer is in great form but I like his role of impact sub in last 20 minutes. But would have no qualms with him starting. CJ looks better as a 6 but then you go with Conan who,despite a decent outing today, hasn’t fully fired yet at this level. I like Ruddock at 6 though.

Mute PScald
    Favourite PScald
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:53 PM

@Jim Demps: swap Healy and kilcoyne.
    Henshaw to 12. Ringrose to 14 or else bench depending on Earls
    Beirne and Ruddock on the bench instead of klyne
    CJ Conan and pom in the backrow

Mute EK
    Favourite EK
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:54 PM

@Jim Demps: I thought the backrow did quite well today. Stander looked comfortable at 6, Van der Flier had his best game in a long time for Ireland and Conan, while not spectacular, did a solid job. Ruddock was made some very good tackles when he came on too.

Against a smaller pack like Scotland’s, I’d still go with O’Mahony, Van Der Flier and Stander to start personally but everyone seems to be coming into decent form at the right time.

Mute Tim Magner
    Favourite Tim Magner
    Sep 7th 2019, 5:59 PM

@Jim Demps: I dunno Jim, if you asked me who was the test lion 13 on the field today I’d say it was henshaw. I think ringrose is a class act and he’s a classier playmaker but defensively, for the hard hits, and as a carrier henshaw wins for me. It’s different if Murray ain’t playing, I thought he gave an exhibition in outside tackling today, if he doesn’t play we’ll probably need ringrose for his better reading in defence

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:11 PM

@PScald: Ringrose is not our 3rd best winger.

Mute John John
    Favourite John John
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:17 PM

@Tim Magner: think it will be Henshaw and Aki in the big games . We don’t have many big ball carriers and that’s what’s badly needed . Two big strong middle men who can crash into contact . Ringrose was call today when he came on today and he would be a brilliant impact off the bench

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:34 PM

@Tim Magner:

Henshaw was awesome today :: his hits were out of this world :: but Ringrose is a better brain to create things so I don’t care let Joe Decide

Mute Tim Magner
    Favourite Tim Magner
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:40 PM

@Martin Quinn: I’m with you Martin, two damn good players. It’s Wales who will be worried, Jon Davis looked brutal today

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:49 PM

@Tim Magner:
    and did you see how fit they looked so it might be commimh good ?

What is with the team that Jim has put out ??
    GOOD TEAM ::: but Toner is gone so let’s pick from our Squad ::to many leinster men on it:: we have better players in our Squad :: it is about the Irish SQUAD :: so why is this team being brought into it :: for Fun then that is ok :: it does show how many good players are from the East but there are some great players left on the squad :) :) :) :)<

Mute Tim Magner
    Favourite Tim Magner
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:04 PM

@Martin Quinn: I think Jim throws the odd dig in against leinster but it’s usually for the craic. As contributers here he’s one of the best, always gets a reaction so the42 are in his debt. I like the comments section here for the likes of Jim, pscald etc for Munster, Andrew Hurley, Chris mc etc for leinster, Joe vlogs, dino for connacht & Ian frizell and Mark for Ulster, all good craic from people who like rugby

Mute rufustfirefly
    Favourite rufustfirefly
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:20 PM

@Jim Demps: stay off the sauce Jim lad!!

Mute Joe Vlogs
    Favourite Joe Vlogs
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:37 PM

@Tim Magner: I feel honoured to be included in the same list as Jim Demps. I shall die a happy man.

Mute Tim Magner
    Favourite Tim Magner
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:42 PM

@Joe Vlogs: you’ll fight your corner for your boys, I respect that

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Sep 7th 2019, 7:52 PM

@Joe Vlogs: I’m getting all the love today

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:32 PM

@Jim Demps: fairly spot on

Mute Ronan Fitzgerald
    Favourite Ronan Fitzgerald
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:51 PM

@Jim Demps: absolute rubbish – Henshaw is world class.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:41 PM

@Tim Magner: I know everyone if praising Aki for his current form and his ability to break the line and off load. ( try keep this an Ireland debate and leave club loyalties out of it for a minute) but I don’t think he passes the ball before contact and say Farrell two weeks ago didn’t really get the chance to run onto good ball with a bit of space and when you add that on the wingers don’t get quick ball passed along the line. So is his great work up the middle hampering the ability of Earls, larmour, Stockdale ringrose and Farrell who all want the ball in space rather than getting an off load in traffic.

Mute Jim Demps.
    Favourite Jim Demps.
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:27 PM

Mute Hugh Moran
    Favourite Hugh Moran
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:20 PM

Still miles off where we need to be to have any chance in the quarters!

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:36 PM

@Hugh Moran: How do you figure that?

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:43 PM

@Hugh Moran: we just beat the grand slam champions home and away and they really wanted this on Saturday. What do we have to do?

Mute Mike Rugby Nuts
    Favourite Mike Rugby Nuts
    Sep 7th 2019, 6:56 PM

Hi 42, Comments threading is all over the gaff! Web 101 stuff lads.

Mute Mark Smith
    Favourite Mark Smith
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:40 PM

Henshaw is a pretty remarkable athlete to be able to hit the ground running in the manner he did today. All plus marks for him today in the 13 shirt but for me Ringrose should start against Scotland .

Few tight calls for that game but I go with Healy, POM, CJ and VDF

All the other places are nailed on for the usual suspects

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:48 PM

Fingers crossed, he is our best winger and has been for years now. He certainly deserves this World Cup and he’s capable of becoming one of its stars.

Mute Hugh Moran
    Favourite Hugh Moran
    Sep 7th 2019, 8:21 PM

I

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel