Advertisement
The Ireland XI that lost last week's Euro 2025 play-off final to Wales. Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Six candidates the FAI should talk to for Ireland WNT job

The search is underway for Eileen Gleeson’s successor.

THE SEARCH IS underway for the next Ireland WNT head coach following Eileen Gleeson’s departure.

The FAI announced that Gleeson’s contract would not be renewed on Wednesday night, and that the process to recruit her successor would begin immediately.

It’s exactly 10 weeks until Ireland begin their 2025 Nations League campaign against Turkey on 21 February. The Irish Examiner is reporting that U19 manager Dave Connell could take interim charge, while other names like Hope Powell and Colin Healy are already being linked.

Many of the same runners and riders from after Vera Pauw’s exit in August 2023 will re-enter the frame, as a crucial appointment awaits.

Ireland will be in direct competition with Scotland following Pedro Martínez Losa’s exit this morning. 

Here, The 42 takes a look at some candidates the FAI should at least talk to.

It’s more of an alternative list: not necessarily the top names being linked, but coaches who might be available, willing, and have the CV and experience to succeed. The FAI’s financial constraints will obviously play a part in the process, so we have tried to keep that in mind also.

There are many more, but here’s six for a start:

1. Carla Ward

aston-villa-manager-carla-ward-ahead-of-the-barclays-womens-super-league-match-at-kingsmeadow-london-picture-date-wednesday-april-17-2024 Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

The former Aston Villa boss has been out of football since May, when she stepped down from the helm of the WSL outfit to prioritise her family life.

Ward recently told BBC Sport she was ready to return to management, and that international football would suit her as a mother to five-year-old Harvey. “In the last month or so, I’ve started to get an itch and that burning passion hasn’t gone away,” she said. 

Ward, 40, spent three years at the Villa helm; steering them to their best-ever league finish of fifth in 2022/23, along with the FA Cup semi-final. The former Sheffield United captain also managed the Blades and Birmingham City before taking charge of Villa, where she was a popular figure and recruited well. That job reopened this week, while she likely has other options elsewhere.

2. Mark Parsons

zeist-netherlands-june-9-coach-mark-parsons-of-the-netherlands-during-a-training-session-of-the-netherlands-women-at-knvb-campus-on-june-9-2022-in-zeist-netherlands-photo-by-joris-verwijstora Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Parsons was most recently head coach of Portland Thorns in the NWSL for the second time. The 38-year-old Englishman started his career at Chelsea’s Boys Academy before steering the Blues’ Women’s Reserves to a treble in his first season in charge.

He then held various roles in America before taking over Washington Spirit in 2013. He oversaw a turnaround there, and later, at Portland, where he won one NWSL Championship, two Shields and made the playoffs in each of his five seasons.

Parsons also has international experience with the Netherlands, where he succeeded Sarina Wiegman at the helm but departed after a short spell when the defending champions exited Euro 2022 at the quarter-final stage.

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg is another available name from the international circuit, but the former Germany boss is a more obvious candidate.

3. Melissa Phillips 

crawley-uk-19th-nov-2023-melissa-phillips-manager-of-brighton-and-hove-albion-during-the-the-fa-womens-super-league-match-at-broadfield-stadium-crawley-picture-credit-should-read-paul-terrys Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Phillips is currently Head of Analysis at Arsenal Women, but the American coach might fancy a return to management. 

Having cut her teeth Stateside, Phillips made her impact felt at English Championship outfit London City Lionesses. She began as Lisa Fallon’s assistant in 2020, but took over when the Dubliner departed.

With several Irish players in the team, Phillips guided them to sixth and second-place finishes respectively, but surprisingly resigned in January 2023. London City were top of the table at that juncture, but Phillips returned to the US to become Angel City assistant coach. The 37-year-old later managed Brighton & Hove Albion to safety in the WSL relegation battle. 

4. Alan Mahon

alan-mahon-assistant-coach-of-manchester-city-women-speaks-with-fellow-coach-shaun-goater-during-manchester-city-women-training-session-at-etihad-campus-manchester-united-kingdom-19th-march-2024 Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Mahon left Manchester City Women after almost a decade during the summer.

“As sad as I am to leave City, I am also excited and inspired for the future,” the former Ireland international said as he departed. “I am looking forward to what lies ahead for me and sharing my experience and passion in pastures new.”

Mahon was heavily linked with the Ireland job before Gleeson’s appointment, and undoubtedly will be again. The Dubliner has garnered huge experience through roles at underage and senior level at City, including assistant coach and interim manager in 2020.

5. Becki Tweed 

los-angeles-california-usa-19th-june-2024-angel-city-fc-head-coach-becki-tweed-looks-on-from-the-technical-area-before-a-nwsl-game-between-angel-city-fc-and-racing-louisville-fc-at-the-bmo-stadiu Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Tweed is another exciting young coach and is available, having just exited Angel City in the NWSL.

The former England underage international has spent her entire coaching career in America, having started as assistant at Monmouth Hawks and Sky Blue FC, now NJ/NY Gotham. Tweed enjoyed success as co-head coach of the Gotham Reserves, before her Angel City journey began in 2023. There, she went from assistant to interim to permanent, reached the NWSL playoffs and was nominated for Coach of the Year.

While a more left-field candidate, Tweed also has underage international experience, having acted as assistant coach of the USA Women U20s.

Rita Guarino could be another from the club scene, having recently managed Inter Milan and Juventus, and previously, Italy U17s. 

6. Casey Stoney

orlando-florida-usa-august-25-2023-san-diego-wave-head-coach-casey-jean-stoney-is-escorted-out-after-receiving-a-red-card-at-exploria-stadium-photo-by-marty-jean-louissipa-usa-credit-sipa-us Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Admittedly, Stoney would be more of an outside shot. Her profile and stature in the game would likely mean she’s out of reach for the cash-strapped FAI, and put simply, this would be an incredible coup.

Stoney has been widely suggested for the Arsenal Women’s post since Jonas Eidevall’s departure, but interim manager Renée Slegers has been doing a fine job since taking the reins. She has been linked with other roles, including Tony Gustavsson’s successor in Australia.

Former England international Stoney made her managerial name at Manchester United, where she impressively steered their newly-formed women’s team through the ranks. She stepped down in 2021 and went on to establish San Diego Wave in the NWSL. She departed in June, and has been out of work since.

Close
Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute sequoia
    Favourite sequoia
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:07 AM

Subscription for information that’s free elsewhere?

Closure of daily edge, then a subscription model for sports… makes me think that ad revenue is dropping and the business model isn’t as successful as it once was.

Wonder how long it’ll take for this to be deleted???

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:10 AM

@sequoia: maybe you didn’t read the article

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:13 AM

@Stephen Watson: There’s no maybe about it. Sequoia couldn’t wait to have a whinge about something. Trivial matters like facts and statements would only get in the way.

See 6 more replies ▾
    Mute sequoia
    Favourite sequoia
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:34 AM

This is how you lose users. Or drive up costs

Very few users will pay a subscription to a service where:
    A) the information is available free elsewhere
    B) a paywall is suddenly introduced

Just look at traditional media for examples

All that’s happening here is costs are being driven up by putting in value add features with no indication of how successful they’re going to be.

Even if they’d contacted all users and asked them would they be willing to pay for the service, if 100% said yes, the likely return would be less than 40%.

Mute Caoimhín O'Cheallacháin
    Favourite Caoimhín O'Cheallacháin
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:42 AM

@sequoia: I agree. Best thing about the 42 is the comments section. No offence but the level of journalism on here is average at best. Some good stories every now and again but majority of the time it’s just click bait with misleading headlines. And that’s fine. I like it. Get my sports hit. But to pay for it?!! I can sympathize with the pressure of putting up constant content. That must be difficult.

Mute JarvisOFlaherterahry
    Favourite JarvisOFlaherterahry
    Jul 29th 2019, 11:25 AM

@Caoimhín O’Cheallacháin: Did you read the article? You’ll still get the articles and comments section for free, the subscription is for extra stuff.

And I disagree, there is some great sportswriting on here – much better than other free sports sites. Some click bait headlines, yeah, but that’s one of the ways they make money. If you don’t want click bait headlines then pay for your journalism

Jul 29th 2019, 11:30 AM

@JarvisOFlaherterahry: oh I’ve read it! Seeing… “Only for subscription members” is going to drive a wedge between its current audience. Reading down through the articles and not being able to access everything! It will lose readers in my opinion.

Mute JarvisOFlaherterahry
    Favourite JarvisOFlaherterahry
    Jul 29th 2019, 11:45 AM

@Caoimhín O’Cheallacháin: are you sure you’ve read it? Because it clearly says that nothing will change on the 42 site

Jul 29th 2019, 11:53 AM

@JarvisOFlaherterahry: I think you are a little nieve to think that. Things will be introduced bit by bit as to not shock the audience too much all at one time. But things will change

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:17 AM

“this is not a paywall or subscription service “….. and guess what.. it’s a subscription service….

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:33 AM

@windbag: if you want it to be

Mute Stephen Keane
    Favourite Stephen Keane
    Aug 1st 2019, 7:19 PM

Pity ye changed from the Score to The 42. Ye would have had to charge just the €20 then ;)

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Aug 1st 2019, 7:35 PM

@Stephen Keane: Quality. Hopefully members will vote emphatically in favour of the return of ‘Comment of the Week’.

Mute Seán Butler
    Favourite Seán Butler
    Aug 1st 2019, 10:23 PM

@Gavan Casey: Bring back red thumbs!

Mute JoeO
    Favourite JoeO
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:21 AM

Best of luck with the new plans. I’ll probably sign up anyway just to see what it’s all about. You’ll get the usual idiots saying that they won’t pay for information that is free elsewhere. If everyone had that attitude you’d have no professional journalists and no quality reporting, just echo chambers and click bait.

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:31 AM

@JoeO:

€42 a year is feck all. I’ll pay that no dramas. I enjoy the site and can afford it.

Jul 29th 2019, 10:24 AM

Sport won’t be what it once was for much longer. Greed and money killing what’s good about sport. This is just another example. More wants more. Bubble will burst.

Mute Eoin Murphy
    Favourite Eoin Murphy
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:48 AM

@Caoimhín O’Cheallacháin: €42 a year isn’t too much

Jul 29th 2019, 10:56 AM

@Eoin Murphy: it isn’t… But you can live without sports content. I’d prefer to give it to my child to pay for something useful then to pay for headlines!!

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute James McLoughlin
    Favourite James McLoughlin
    Jul 29th 2019, 1:09 PM

@Caoimhín O’Cheallacháin: Cool story, Caoimhín. Off you go with your kid to McDonalds and let people who want to pay for extra content do so without judgement.

Jul 29th 2019, 1:40 PM

@James McLoughlin: what are u on about? Not judging anyone! Do as you please. Giving my opinion. That’s it. Don’t get personal.

Mute The Debater
    Favourite The Debater
    Jul 29th 2019, 1:57 PM

Oh I do wonder where this is headed…

Mute kjholt
    Favourite kjholt
    Jul 29th 2019, 10:07 AM

Be great to put a face to a few names…

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 29th 2019, 4:37 PM

Ill buy if you stop censoring any comment that isnt leftist

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jul 29th 2019, 6:21 PM

@sean: yea ‘rightist’… sorry I’ll get my coat.

Mute Declan Bowe
    Favourite Declan Bowe
    Jul 29th 2019, 5:06 PM

I thought twas free, 5 euros a month getaway out of it…

Mute Sean Mac Giolla Phádraig
    Favourite Sean Mac Giolla Phádraig
    Aug 2nd 2019, 12:23 AM

The podcast is going to be journalists interviewing other journalists?

So, like the late late show, but it costs extra….pass!

Mute Alena
    Favourite Alena
    Jul 29th 2019, 3:58 PM

definitely better to sign up….

Mute Faixa Roxa
    Favourite Faixa Roxa
    Jul 29th 2019, 12:54 PM

Da fuk is the 42

Mute davcar
    Favourite davcar
    Jul 29th 2019, 1:16 PM

@Faixa Roxa: There is a hidden clue in the headline if your clever enough to find it.

Mute Yeera Yeahboy
    Favourite Yeera Yeahboy
    Jul 29th 2019, 2:21 PM

@davcar: a long shot I’d say, give him a hand with his shoelaces will you

Mute Turners X Villian
    Favourite Turners X Villian
    Aug 2nd 2019, 1:18 AM

Not about the cost but the principle, so The 42 I will not be signing up as all content is available on other social nedia sources, its not like you provide inside scoop stories.
    That said all the best with the venture but please don’t start shoving adverts down our throat and then pull the bullshit of the premier version being ads free or something…

Mute Stew Ie
    Favourite Stew Ie
    Jul 29th 2019, 4:42 PM

@Caoimhín O’Cheallacháin: couple of points here. Firstly the writing from the 42 is easily the highest quality of all such online media. Secondly the 42 will remain the same for non paying users, the sub service is clearly for the many extras including podcasts, interviews and competitions and not for info freely available elsewhere. Clearly you feel entitled to receive such a service for free but ya know that’s not how the world works and maybe you don’t know this but it’s your choice whether you subscribe or not.
    Personally a fiver a month is very affordable for people who enjoy such content but there will always be whingers who want everything free.

Mute Stew Ie
    Favourite Stew Ie
    Jul 29th 2019, 4:36 PM

Firstly the quality of writing is far higher than the other similar online sites. Secondly the usual output remains free and people choose to pay for extra which is not information free elsewhere but includes podcasts, interviews, competitions etc and is your choice whether to subscribe or not. Media changing rapidily and clearly the 42 are moving with it. A fiver a month is excellent value imo but there are always whinge bags ready to knock ideas. Just don’t sign up if you don’t want to, it’s pretty simple.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel