Advertisement
McNamara speaks to his players after the loss to Australia. Pablo Gasparini/INPHO

Ireland U20s patched up and pushing for semi-final place

A big bonus point win over Italy would keep semi-final hopes alive, but the Azzurrini will not be easily swatted aside.

NOTHING ABOUT A an U20 World Cup schedule ever suggests it’s going to be handy going. But even accounting for how tough it is to squeeze five matches into a 19-day stretch, the injury toll for Grand Slam champions Ireland feels particularly punitive.

True enough, they lost a fair chunk of that talent core before a ball was kicked in Argentina. But as they head into this afternoon’s pool closer against Italy (kick-off 14.30 Irish time, eir Sport) the list of wounded absentees stands at 11. Far bigger nations than this would shudder at those two slim figures.

Of that number, only back row Ronan Watters still holds out hope of featuring in the playoff stages of the World Rugby U20 Championship next week. The rest are safe at home and eyeing the road to recovery as a means of helping their province.

The loss of John Hodnett to knee injury means the back row that started the Six Nations has completely fallen away. So has the 10-12 axis, the replacement 12 Sean French, wing Conor McPhillips and replacement second row Brian Deeny. Ulster backs Iwan Hughes and Stewart Moore did not feature in the spring Championship, but started in Santa Fe before being forced to take an early holiday.

Still, this level is all about the introduction of fresh faces, right? And injury brings four new names, as yet uncapped at U20 level, into Ireland’s replacements today – James Ryan’s younger brother David and his fellow Leinster flyer Aaron O’Sullivan among them.

With well-earned rests (at least from starting roles) given to captain Charlie Ryan, Craig Casey and Dylan Tierney-Martin it falls to centre Liam Turner, one of the last men standing from the famous February win over England, to captain the team against a tough Italian outfit.

Liam Turner Liam Turner will lead Ireland today. Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Ireland won’t need to dig as far back as their hard-fought, though clinically executed, Six Nations win over the Azzurrini to find cause for caution. On Saturday, Italy went close to an all-time shock before England clawed out a nervy 24-23 win. Josh Hodge’s late penalty was enough to avoid defeat, but Italy’s effort was enough to keep England out of the semi-final stage for just a second time in 12 years.

Head coach Fabio Roselli has made six changes to his starting XV after their exertions.
Most eye-catching is the change of half-backs with Paolo Garbisi returning in place of Giacomo de Re at out-half and Lorenzo Citton makes way for Allessandro Fusco to take over the 9 shirt.

Centre Damiano Mazza and Jacopo Trulla also come into the back-line with Giulio Bertaccini and Michael Mba making way.

There are two changes in the pack with Lorenzo Michelini coming in at loosehead to scrummage against Michael Milne. Blindside Angelo Aurizzi replaces Andrea Chianucci.

Having watched England go hunting for a bonus point and fall short, phrases like ‘five-point haul’ won’t easily pass the lips of Ireland players pre-match today.

However, that is the result they need to stay in with a shout of making the semi-finals.

If they can run up a sizable score against Italy and pull onto 10 points in Pool B (unreachable by England as they begin the day on four point) then Noel McNamara must wait and see whether his charges are overtaken as the best pool runner-up after France meet hosts Argentina and New Zealand take on South Africa. They meet in the climax to pool A and C at 17.00 and 19.30 respectively.

At this stage, it’s hard to escape the feeling that any hope should be channeled towards keeping these young men fit and well. 

Ireland U20

15. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
14. Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster) Captain
12. Cormac Foley (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
11. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
10. Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
9. Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)

1. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
2. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
3. Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
4. Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)
5. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
6. David McCann (Banbridge/Ulster)
7. Ciaran Booth (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)
8. Azur Allison (Ballymena/Ulster)

Replacements:

16. Declan Adamson (Clontarf/Leinster)
17. Tom Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
18. Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)
19. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht 
20. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 
21. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
22. Luke Clohessy (Shannon/Munster) *
24. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)
25. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
26. David Ryan (UCD/Leinster) *
27. Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/Leinster) *
28. Max O’Reilly (Dublin University/Leinster) *

Italy U20

15 Ange Capuozza (Grenoble Espoirs)
14 Jacopo Trulla (Valsugana Rugby Padova)                                      
13 Federico Mori (Etruscan Rugby)
12 Damiano Mazza (Kawasaki Calvisano Robot)              
11 Cristian Lai (7 Fradis Rugby)
10 Paolo Garbisi (Mogliano Rugby 1969)                 
9 Alessandro Fusco (Rugby Napoli Afragola)        

1 Lorenzo Michelini (Edinol Biella Rugby)   
2 Niccolò Taddia (FEMI-CZ Rovigo)
3 Matteo Nocera (Fiamme Oro Rugby)
4 Nicolare Stoian (Rugby Anzio)
5 Thomas Parolo (FEMI-CZ Rovigo)
6 Angelo Maurizi  (Ione Rugby L’Aquila)       

7 Davide Ruggeri (Rugby Como) – Captain
8 Antoine Koffi (Kawasaki Calvisano Robot)

Replacements

16 Andrej Marinello (Ruggers Tarvisium)
17 Matteo Drudi (Frascati Rugby 2015) 
18 Luca Francheschetto (Rangers Vicenza)
19 Filippo Alongi (The Titans) 
20 Andrea Zambonin (Rangers Rugby Vicenza)
21 Andrea Chianucci (Tuscany Airports The Medicean)
22 Mirko Finotto (Mogliano Rugby 1969)
23 Lorenzo Citton (Valsugana Rugby Padova)
24 Giacomo Da Re (Mogliano Rugby 1969)
25 Giulio Bertaccini (Rugby Parma Amateur)
26 Matteo Moscardi  (FEMI-CZ Rovigo)
27 Edoardo Mastandrea (Valsugana Rugby Padova)
28 Micheal Mba (Rugby Casale)
Close
4 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:41 PM

Superb result. The bookies had England as 10 point favourites in this. Thought Casey was immense. He’s the real heartbeat of that side and a real gunslinger of a 9. There’s some senior professional scrumhalves in Ireland that could learn something from his passing. McCann, Ryan and Hodnett in the pack had massive games. Hodnett looks like a natural 7 despite not having really played there before. The Irish back row blew the English side away. Thought Ireland had a bit better shape with Healy at 10 and Flannery at 15 but that was later in the game tbf. Barbeary should see a long ban for that red. Whether malicious or not it was stupid and incredibly dangerous. No place in the game for it.

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:44 PM

@Jim Demps: Great result & Match.

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:46 PM

@Jim Demps: I don’t agree about Casey. He thought at times he was much too eager and at times it cost us possession. I do agree that he is an excellent player but going forward I’d like to see a bit more composure from him in certain situations. Savage win for Ireland. Considering all they had injured as well

See 32 more replies ▾
    Mute David O'Brien
    Favourite David O'Brien

@Jim Demps: hodnett was a menace at every breakdown. Add in his carrying ability and we have a hell of player on our hands. McCann was also outstanding. Still only 18. I thought the front row was brilliant also. Really dynamic and rock solid in the scrums. Casey is a little diamond. So aggressive and busy. Like the look of Moore in midfield, did very well for his try

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui

@Jim Demps: Yeah you called the Flannery/Healy thing pre game. Ireland looked so much better once they went back to that. Hodnett’s probably going to be a 7 going forward so it was great to see him deliver so emphatically in that position.

Mute Johnny Ryan
    Favourite Johnny Ryan
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:47 PM

@Jim Demps: rugby obsessed. Jesus

Mute Tim Magner
    Favourite Tim Magner

@Jim Demps: hodnett is a serious prospect. Himself and penny at leinster going to have some battles in the future. I thought ben Healy was class, a brilliant runner and kicker, has a bit of size too. The front row all excellent

Mute James Dara Brady
    Favourite James Dara Brady

@Jim Demps: I thought the pack owned the game again as they did in the 6 nation’s. And they seem like a lighter pack. To be honest I wasn’t impressed with Casey. I thought his pass was a little slow to be honest. He seemed to always need to take a step first before his pass. I think his decision making wasn’t great – is he more comfortable passing left? He had a poor kick to touch at the start of the 2nd half. And I wasn’t sure if he threw an intercept or two? I was really hoping to see something special & I didn’t. Maybe he’ll be better on Saturday. Great win for Ireland though

Mute Johnjoe
    Favourite Johnjoe
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:50 PM

@Tim Magner: i do believe hodnett is from Munster

Mute Johnjoe
    Favourite Johnjoe
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:51 PM

@Johnny Ryan: get off this website if all your looking to do is call out other readers that express their opinions

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps

@Johnny Ryan: did u watch the game?

Mute Tim Magner
    Favourite Tim Magner
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:52 PM

@Johnjoe: yeah but penny, who’s injured & from leinster, looked great at 7 in the 6ns, both super propects hence will do battle in the future

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:52 PM

@Anthony: you could pick faults with any of the players out there, a bit of over eagerness is no harm. He will learn all the time and he more than makes up for it with his overall play.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:54 PM

@James Dara Brady: not sure what you were watching, his passing is brilliant, both in tempo and the range of passes he has. Played a lot of flat ones that picked off the 2nd and even 3rd receiver. When you’re playing that close to the line one or two will get picked off, none proved fatal.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:55 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: yeah I just think that Healy is a better 10 than Flannery and that Flannery is a better 15 than Hughes. Healy is a lovely balanced player.

Mute Prof. William Joyce
    Favourite Prof. William Joyce
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:56 PM

@Anthony: agree Casey was poor. But overall great performance and result…!

Mute James Dara Brady
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:00 PM

@Jim Demps: I was watching the same match as you, but I have a different opinion. I’m pretty sure that’s ok? You don’t have to be condescending and ask what match I was watching. I feel he didn’t have a great game considering his potential. He certainly was not a stand out performer. I’d imagine the stats would probably prove that.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:01 PM

@Jim Demps: Yeah people are so quick to pick faults in young lads but they are still developing as players. Very few at this age are the finished article and most are at most in year 1 of their provinces Academy. Never understand why people can just enjoy the spectacle, admire the talent but instead feel the need to start having a cut off them.

I hadn’t seen enough of Hughes to pass judgement but you made the right call. Flannery is a cracking player but needs a little bit more time and space than Healy. Ireland looked so much more composed with him at 10.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:05 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: I think Flannerys future is probably at 15 for munster and Healy at 10. I’ve been watching both of them since schools rugby and Healy is the one I’d back to be the future munster 10. I know there are guys criticising caseys pass above but for me I thought it was magnificent. His energy throughout the game was unreal. You could see the whole team looked to him at times in the game.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:08 PM

@James Dara Brady: I’d disagree with you. Thought he was brilliant. There were no perfect performances out there but Casey was stuck in everything and drove the tempo for the Irish side. I’d prefer to see a 9 throw one or two intercepts and keep the defence guessing with his passing rather than have a lad who just throws it one out all game like the English 9 fox.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:15 PM

@Jim Demps: He made mistakes but who didn’t!! And this level isn’t about winning so much as it is about developing players for the future. Spot on about his energy bringing a lot to the team. Sort of player you love playing with and hate playing against.

As for the 10′s I love a second playmaker in the backline so I’d love to see the two of them develop together in those roles. That’d be very exciting for Munster and Ireland.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:18 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: oh I’d say he’s a nightmare to play against. We’ve all played against a 9 like that, someone who drives you daft but you can’t lay a finger on him.
    Must mention the good job McNamara has done with this side. I was very critical of him 12 months ago. Thought last years side looked poorly coached but he’s definitely learnt from previous and he’s got a team out there that doesn’t give up. They were up against it today in terms of size and quality and they just stuck to the game plan and fought and fought and fought. That’s all down to the coach.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:22 PM

@Jim Demps: Yeah he’s done a great job and you can tell that from all the interviews players give. He’s got serious buy in from them all. I was a big defender of his last year given all the success he’d had previously. It takes time to adjust to a new level so I’d confidence in his ability to do so. I think he’s got a big future in the game.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:25 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: on the performances this year I’m quite happy that he’s being linked with the vacant munster roles. Attack coach maybe?

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:30 PM

@Jim Demps: I’m not sure he’s got the skill set for that job just yet. I think Munster need a proven guy rather than another project but who knows down the line. He is a Munster man after all.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:33 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: well I think if he was put alongside an experienced head like howley then it would work. One of the problems for Felix was that he was the only back in the whole set up. Flah and Van Graan were no use to him.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:34 PM

@Jim Demps: Good point

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:37 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: I think Feirrera was a back but from what I’ve heard he’s purely defence and also takes an interest in the analysis side of things with George Murray.

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:52 PM

@Johnjoe:

He also had a great 6 Nations:: he will be a great addition to the munster group:: If he keeps going Munster will be geting a great forward

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:05 PM

@Jim Demps:
    “I thought it was magnificent”

As Eddie said we all have opinions ::he is going to a fine player even great but we will see ::I think his game is very good but still a lot to do ( not magnificent ) young and will have to calm down but he has plenty of time::IMO
    Would prefer that the S/H would not through any intercepts::You already said what you think of him and his game just leave it and let’s call it your OPINION ………….

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:24 PM

@Martin Quinn: Why do you think he passed the ball so flat on the gain line and at such a high tempo? For me it was a clever tactic by the Irish coaching team to make up for the fact we were playing a bigger, heavier team. We constantly had 2 or 3 forwards running onto the ball at pace and getting it right on the gain line. That meant they constantly got on the front foot and gave Ireland quick ball which they exploiting by going again quickly before the English line was set which again gave us go forward ball. It allowed us to play at a tempo that the English team struggled with and gave us a constant flow of quick, go forward ball.

But sure it’s easy for people to pick up an error or two and have a cut off a young lad than look at the wider picture and see how effective a tactic it was. Also a hint of tall poppy syndrome to it with lads picking holes in a lad who’s been built up by the press in recent months. They’re kids who are learning on the job and he’s a magnificent scrum half at his current level.

Mute Trevor Beacom
    Favourite Trevor Beacom
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:47 PM

@Jim Demps: with Casey coming tru is it time to leave Murray off to France?

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:54 AM

@Trevor Beacom: Are you drunk? Casey is u20.

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Jun 5th 2019, 6:26 PM

@Eddie Hekenui:

Was surprised at you post ::Are you saying that I was having a cut off a young lad , if so you got me very wrong:: It was my opinion that he could get better and if you look I was also parsing him (wish he was Leinster )
    But some posters felt that he was not as good as “magnificent “ and that is fair enough::
    They all did Ireland proud and let’s hope they do well against Australia and continue to play as one :: They got over a big one but a lot more to come::

COYBIG

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:53 PM

@Martin Quinn: What’s worse is you didn’t even watch the game

Mute Pearse Fitzgerald
    Favourite Pearse Fitzgerald

Shocking coverage by the 42.

Mute RabidHorizon
    Favourite RabidHorizon
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:46 PM

@Pearse Fitzgerald: where had better? Maybe find out where and stay there.

Mute Jamie Bent
    Favourite Jamie Bent

My god Hodnett looks like he’s going to be World Class.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui

What a game of rugby. So much for that Irish team to proud up. Showed that the collective is always better than the individual in rugby as that England team is loaded with talent. The Irish side looked calmer, smarter and better coached. The decision to put Flannery at 15 and Healy at 10 totally changed the game on it’s head. He was fantastic in every aspect of his game when he game on. Nerves of steel to nail some massive conversions and a couple of booming clearances. The forward pack put in a massive shift with Hodnett, Baird, McCann and Tierney-Martin really standing out but all had their moments. Craig Casey’s pass is a thing of beauty and gives the receiver so much time on the ball. On to the next one now as Australia look a serious side too so Ireland will have it all to do.

Mute EK
    Favourite EK
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:13 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: I’d agree with all of that. Flannery is a real danger when carrying the ball to the line at 10 but I thought he forced the pass a bit too often this evening in the tighter spaces. I prefer the look of him at 15 were he gets more time to make his footwork and offloading count. Healy was perfect for that second half with a strong breeze behind him and did a great job of pinning England back with his kicking.

Australia beat New Zealand 20′s this year already so they will be a huge test for Ireland. Looking at the highlights of their win over Italy today, they looked stacked with great broken field runners in the backrow and backline.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:19 PM

@EK: Yeah spot on as regards Flannery. Looks like he needs a little bit more space and time on the ball than Healy and at 15 he gets the chance to show his full toolkit. But it’s good for Ireland to have given it a shot and not suffered as a result. Losing their 10/12 combo was always going to be tough but it looks like they’ve found the right system now.

Yeah Australia look a serious side. They’ve a very strong pack and play a very similar style to Ireland. Their 15 Lucas is an exceptional talent as is their openside who seemed to get a steal every 2nd or 3rd ruck today. Ireland’s rucking will need to spot on as Australia look lethal off steals.

See 7 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:20 PM

@Eddie Hekenui:

Only yesterday we both said that we were up against a mighty team of mighty players but we also said we had a mighty group that were a mighty TEAM:: and we got that right::
    I though England were going to power through but I said the same thing in the 6 Nations and that great TEAM sprit came through again::

So proud of them !! IMO

Mute James Dara Brady
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:21 AM

@Eddie Hekenui: jeez Eddie, I didn’t think you agreed with any critisim of players at this level yet you feel EK is “spot on” with his comments about Flannery….

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:41 AM

@James Dara Brady: If you can’t see the difference between your comment and ek’s then I don’t know what to say. But sure your comment “is he more comfortable passing left” kind of shows me how little I should be paying attention to what you post

Mute James Dara Brady
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:45 AM

@Eddie Hekenui: nah, I just think you don’t like anyone disagreeing with your opinion. And that says all there needs to be said about you

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 5th 2019, 1:22 AM

@James Dara Brady: No issue with anyone disagreeing with me when they make a valid point and seem to know what they’re talking about but in this instance…..

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Jun 5th 2019, 10:09 PM

@Eddie Hekenui:
    (@James Dara Brady post)

A bit harsh Eddie it was his opinion about Casey as we all have about different players . It was a Rugby opinion so we should be happy with that , the more the better. COYBIG

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 5th 2019, 10:22 PM

@Martin Quinn: I wonder what it could be that has you supporting all these posters criticising Casey? I mean you didn’t even watch the game so it must be something else about him that has stocked your flame

Mute Shougeki
    Favourite Shougeki
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:48 PM

Wait. There is ANOTHER Vunipola? Ah jasus!

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan

@Shougeki: he is cousin to the other two! Family full of talent!

Mute RabidHorizon
    Favourite RabidHorizon
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:56 PM

@Shougeki: imagine how good Tonga could be

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Shaun Lawn Dryman
    Favourite Shaun Lawn Dryman
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:21 PM

@Shougeki: yeah but at least he kicks rather than bashes

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:40 PM

@Shaun Lawn Dryman: did you not see the game?

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:42 PM

Fantastic win for Ireland!! Fair play to them!!

Only criticism I’d give, is Casey the scrum half can be way to quick off the mark especially when a penalty is given.

Think a few times his errors resulted in English tries

Mute Jamie Bent
    Favourite Jamie Bent

@Aaron Tynan: no way. Casey is sensational.

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:54 PM

@Jamie Bent: I agree he is unreal! But he kicked in to touch a few times by accident, on one occasion it led to English try. He also whipped the ball out a few times too quick resulting in knock Ons/ intercepts.

But in general I agree he is unreal!! Just needs to slow it down it at times.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:03 PM

@Aaron Tynan: His quick passing also led to Ireland making serious ground on more occasion than it lead to turnovers. And his quick tap and go’s off penalties have helped us score tries in the past. They’re kids who are still developing. You take the good with the bad and it’s better at that age for a player to back himself and take chances than having a guy who isn’t. You learn from your mistakes

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:08 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: all true! Best platform to learn is at this age. I’m sure when he gets to senior men’s, he will be a awesome player.

Mute judy burke
    Favourite judy burke
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:45 PM

Brilliant victory !!!! Well done Ireland

Mute Sean Dalton
    Favourite Sean Dalton
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:15 PM

An absolutely brilliant game of rugby. Great result and performance from Ireland.
    Thought the ref deserves some credit too let the game flow and he wasnt afraid to make big calls in the game.

Mute 5Uv1VbEh
    Favourite 5Uv1VbEh
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:43 PM

Liam Turner’s magic strikes again

Mute john fleming
    Favourite john fleming
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:58 PM

great win well done

Mute Philip O Dwyer
    Favourite Philip O Dwyer
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:58 PM

This group of lads believe. Don’t stop believing!

Mute Charles McDuck
    Favourite Charles McDuck

What was the attendance?

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:55 PM

@Charles McDuck: Double digits I’d say, most Irish rugby fans are glory-hunters, show up at finals etc. It’s only the fifth most popular sport behind football, hurling, Gaelic football and swimming.

Mute Vic Vinegar
    Favourite Vic Vinegar
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:59 PM

@Orla Smith: Quieten down woman

See 10 more replies ▾
    Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:00 PM

@Orla Smith: yawn.

Mute Vic Vinegar
    Favourite Vic Vinegar
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:02 PM

@Jim Demps: I bet she’s single Jimbo

Mute The Grand Nagus
    Favourite The Grand Nagus
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:10 PM

@Vic Vinegar:
    Did you not know Orla is a bloke!

Mute Tony Talbot
    Favourite Tony Talbot
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:11 PM

@Orla Smith: Why the need to write that .

Mute Disco Pants
    Favourite Disco Pants
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:17 PM

@Tony Talbot: Liam is trying out new bi polar meds at the moment.

Mute Martin Quinn
    Favourite Martin Quinn
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:29 PM

@Vic Vinegar:

What the hell does that have to do with it ::Are you for real !!

Mute Vic Vinegar
    Favourite Vic Vinegar
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:33 PM

@Martin Quinn: I fancy her I want to ask her out

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:45 PM

@Vic Vinegar: I’m married to a surgeon, but if I wasn’t, word on the street is you’re too micro and soft ;)

Mute Leo Erah
    Favourite Leo Erah
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:50 PM

@Orla Smith: a personality surgeon I reckon.

Mute Vic Vinegar
    Favourite Vic Vinegar
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:56 PM

@Orla Smith: word on the street is correct

Mute judy burke
    Favourite judy burke
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:49 PM

Brilliant victory !!!! Well done Ireland

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Jun 4th 2019, 9:43 PM

#COYBIG!!

Mute Scott Mcsauce bby
    Favourite Scott Mcsauce bby

Hon the bois

Mute Colman Kelly
    Favourite Colman Kelly
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:41 PM

The 42 or RTÉ no latest scores or any mention of the game

Mute John Lillis
    Favourite John Lillis
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:42 PM

Why does the tab named “Today’s games” not even mention this game or tournament?

Mute Seàn Mc ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Favourite Seàn Mc ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:17 PM

What a win, brilliant stuff

Mute Eamonn Ó Maoldomhnaigh
    Favourite Eamonn Ó Maoldomhnaigh
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:55 PM

Great stuff by Ireland ! Well done boys!
    More of the same on Saturday against Australia please.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:47 PM

Well that was fun wasn’t it? Stocking up on 10′s for the future as well.

Mute Oisin Curry
    Favourite Oisin Curry
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:33 PM

Funny enough I didnt come across any article or news that U20s were playing tonight. A bit ridiculous not hearing about the future stars of Irish rugby!!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:43 PM

@Oisin Curry: there’s been about 1 a day here for the last week or so.

Mute Shaun Lawn Dryman
    Favourite Shaun Lawn Dryman
    Jun 4th 2019, 11:20 PM

Honestly I thought we would either be Hammered or just knicked it but thats a hell of a spread by any standards, time to push on…

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Jun 5th 2019, 10:06 AM

Barbeary’s foul was EXTREMELY dangerous. Absolutely NO excuses or mitigating circumstances. Anything less than a 6 month ban would be a complete joke.

Mute Dan Finlay
    Favourite Dan Finlay
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:11 AM

I didn’t get to watch the game, just watched the highlights. I read some match reports, and most of them are insinuating that England were the more skillful team and Ireland were smart and courageous. I’m surprised because we played some lovely rugby in the 6N’s so I was just wondering if the lads played some nice rugby tonight and then highlights do the overall game a disservice?.

Mute J. Reid
    Favourite J. Reid
    Jun 5th 2019, 1:40 AM

Great news.

Mute Mick O'Shea
    Favourite Mick O'Shea

Ha!

Mute Tommy Cunningham
    Favourite Tommy Cunningham
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:36 PM

Good stuff young Flannery from the little club on the hill

Mute Jim Stapleton
    Favourite Jim Stapleton
    Jun 4th 2019, 10:24 PM

Great result

Mute Garrett Mccolgan
    Favourite Garrett Mccolgan
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:34 PM

I was fearing the worst when I saw how many of the first choice players from the 6 nations weren’t available for this tournament but that was a cracking team performance

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel