Advertisement

Farrell returns, hearts and minds to be won and more talking points from Ireland's XV to face Scotland

Ireland’s formidable strength in depth at centre means they are scarcely weakened despite injury to Ringrose and Henshaw.

AFTER THE DISAPPOINTING opening weekend loss to England, Joe Schmidt unveiled his team to take on Scotland in Saturday’s Six Nations clash in Murrayfield (kick-off, 14.15).

You can view the full matchday 23 selection here, with some of our immediate takeaways below.

Big Chris Farrell

While Robbie Henshaw was expected to again strike up the midfield partnership with Bundee Aki, a dead leg means Schmidt has instead selected the same 12-13 axis which forced a win over Wales during last year’s Six Nations.

That match also marked Chris Farrell’s last Test appearance before a serious knee injury which kept him sidelined until November.

Chris Farrell Farrell in training in Carton today. Ben Brady / INPHO Ben Brady / INPHO / INPHO

While Ireland’s strength in depth is being severely tested in the second row with Toner, Iain Henderson and Tadhg Beirne all sidelined the wealth of resources at centre remains astounding.

The recall to bring Farrell a fourth cap does not weaken Ireland at 13, it merely brings a different array of options, exciting ones too as his offloading game and power in contact is sure to help Ireland punch holes in the Scottish defence.

Return of the (back-field) king

Injuries to Ringrose and Henshaw also means there is no admission of selection error from Joe Schmidt after England’s expert exposure of the space in behind Ireland’s defensive line in round one.

There is a high probability that, despite a poor showing against Scarlets, Rob Kearney would have been recalled in any case this week to bring his inimitable quiet assurance while covering massive swathes of space. However, the knocks to the Leinster centres mean that experimenting with a new fullback can be taken off the back-burner for a test run again before the World Cup comes around.

Kearney’s return means the back three combination which served Schmidt so well in the Grand Slam year is back together and, 9-15, only Ringrose is missing from last year’s win over Gregor Townsend’s men.

Tullow Tank revved up and ready to go again

The omission of Josh van der Flier feels less like a reaction to his own performance amid an overall sub-par day for Ireland, and more like it was just time to get Sean O’Brien on the field.

Though he has endured a luckless run of injuries in recent years, O’Brien remains one of the most influential performers in Irish rugby and his presence – vocal and physical – brings a boost to team-mates on both sides of the ball.

Murrayfield on Saturday will mark his first start in a Six Nations game since Ireland toppled England at home in 2017, heady days, and O’Brien will leave no stone unturned in search of a similar outcome.

Sean O'Brien dejected after the game O'Brien walks off after defeat to England. Dan Sheridan / INPHO Dan Sheridan / INPHO / INPHO

In the carry, he is a ferocious weapon to have in the arsenal for Schmidt and his expertise over the ball at the breakdown should serve to correct a host of issues that went awry on week one.

His presence in a back row also featuring Jack Conan promises a serious dynamic running threat from Ireland against an opponent who enjoy an open game and tend to offer space for opponents to work in too.

Roux’s biggest chance to shine

Whether it be the fact that Quinn Roux has divided his near-seven-year stint in Ireland between provinces east and west, his South African accent or simply that he plays in a position that, by its nature, can be low on eye-catching highlight-reel moments. There is a certain underwhelmed feeling among Ireland’s rugby-watching public at the prospect of the second row earning his way into Schmidt’s starting line-up.

James Ryan and Quinn Roux Ryan and Roux in training. Billy Stickland / INPHO Billy Stickland / INPHO / INPHO

The Connacht stalwart was behind team-mate Ultan Dillane in the original squad selection for this Championship, but as the second row injury situation worsened with Devin Toner’s ankle, his power and set-piece strength have earned him a place in the engine room for a pivotal encounter with Scotland.

Winning his 10th cap on Saturday, this will be Roux’s biggest opportunity on the international stage since his 2016 debut against South Africa. He has added three further starts since, but the Six Nations stage carries much greater limelight and a big performance alongside James Ryan would go a long way in the hearts and minds.

Larmour retained

When Schmidt made sure to mention a second-half error made by Jordan Larmour in the wake of Saturday’s loss, there was a fear that the 21-year-old might pay for the error with his 23 jersey.

Jordan Larmour Jordan Larmour. Ben Brady / INPHO Ben Brady / INPHO / INPHO

With Will Addison and Tom Farrell among those waiting in the wings, Schmidt has kept faith with Larmour and signalled he remains the front-runner to act as the utility cover option on Ireland’s bench behind the first-choice back three of Stockdale, Kearney and Earls.

Larmour naturally offers cover in all three of those spaces and, in the event of an extra body dropping at centre after kick-off, he could be called upon in midfield too.

Originally published at 14.41

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

Close
66 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Succulent Goujons
    Favourite Succulent Goujons
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:07 PM

SEAN CRONIN IS BETTER THAN RORY BEST

Mute William Finnegan
    Favourite William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:08 PM

@Succulent Goujons: Just because you have it in caps doesn’t make it true

Mute Mark Smith
    Favourite Mark Smith
    Feb 7th 2019, 2:50 PM

I wonder if all,is as,we are being told.

Is he really injured, or saving face.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 2:58 PM

@Mark Smith: if I said that there’d be heads exploding up in Dublin

Mute Liam Flague
    Favourite Liam Flague
    Feb 7th 2019, 3:05 PM

@Mark Smith: schmidtler is the king of spouting $hite, I wouldn’t be one bit surprised. Bit harsh though if dropped, the game plan seems to have had him defending the back field on his own last weekend against one of the best kicking 10’s in the game….

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute grandslamkbo
    Favourite grandslamkbo
    Feb 7th 2019, 3:40 PM

@Mark Smith: Saving face for who? Henshaw is a big boy. If he’s dropped on form then he’ll live with it and get better.

Mute Mark Smith
    Favourite Mark Smith
    Feb 7th 2019, 4:10 PM

@grandslamkbo:

Really, you believe that.

Look around you at your family and friends and I bet there are some that need a stick and some that need a carrot.
    You don’t hang people out to dry in public if you don’t need to.

This is all supposition but I bet he didn’t want to show that he was dropping Henshaw, for what was basically his decision to play him at fullback, which proved to be a disaster.
    He may play there again, who knows but certainly last week it didn’t work.

Joe might just be taking the heat off himself as much as Henshaw

Mute Mark Smith
    Favourite Mark Smith
    Feb 7th 2019, 4:14 PM

@Jim Demps:
    I have made that target on your back a little smaller.

However that might not last too long, I fear.

Farrell is a good selection, as he plays there and I don’t see the need to open up Henshaw for more criticism if he played poorly in another position that he has not Ben used to playing for a while.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 4:33 PM

@Mark Smith: I’m disappointed that there is a target on my back.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Feb 7th 2019, 4:46 PM

@Mark Smith: do you remember the last time joe dropped a player pretending he was injured. They keep the charade up so well the player who pretended to be injured hasn’t played again.

Mute grandslamkbo
    Favourite grandslamkbo
    Feb 7th 2019, 4:59 PM

@Mark Smith: Yeah, if Schmidt says he’s injured, I believe that. I’m not mates with Henshaw, I can’t send him a message and ask him. I’m not a doctor and I haven’t seen any of the medical reports. There was a presser and they said he’s out. What more do you want? There’s nothing there for me to possibly question. Does Schmidt have a history of making up injuries to suit his own agenda?

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:07 PM

@Jim Demps: saving face isn’t the way of this team. I’m sure Farrell will do a fine job, but a choice between him and a fit henshaw is no choice at all.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:13 PM

@Mark Smith: Your scenario is much more likely, I`d say,especially since he trained yesterday

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:37 PM

@Shane McGettrick: era its easy to be definite when you’re talking in hypotheticals. People were saying last week that henshaw was definitely the second best fullback in the squad. Btw I don’t subscribe to marks trail of thought, I was just saying that if i had said it there’d be the usual lads hopping all over me.

Mute Barry Newell
    Favourite Barry Newell
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:51 PM

@Jim Demps: I believe now that henshaw wasn’t match fit…for any position and that led to him struggling.

Mute Artur Gurta
    Favourite Artur Gurta
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:15 PM

@grandslamkbo: Men against boys. Ireland rugby hang your head in shame as sweet chariots is sung and all the corporates head for the doors

Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:17 PM

@Artur Gurta: Jesus will you fu(k off. 1st time it was sort of funny, but now you just seem like a gobshi+e

Mute Gerry Maher
    Favourite Gerry Maher
    Feb 7th 2019, 8:08 PM

@samstheman: Surprised Earls kept his place. He solely cost us the game against England. Gave up a terribly soft try after 2 minutes that set the tone for the whole game. Not one person has called this all week long. If Erlsy hadn’t jumped up for a no chance intercept… it would’ve been a different result. And Smidth is backing him again this week! Beggers belief. Enough already …. time to put Carbery at full back, Larmour at right wing, Ruddock starting and Leavy in the team as soon as he’s fit. I have no doubt Ireland will win on Saturday. I’m delighted to see SOB back and have no doubt he’ll make the difference. I say he’ll win the motm award. Enjoy fellow rugby fans.

Mute Gerry Maher
    Favourite Gerry Maher
    Feb 7th 2019, 8:11 PM

@Gerry Maher:

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 8:32 PM

@Gerry Maher: do you even lift bro?

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:33 PM

Is it me or, when Johnny Sexton went to france, Joe Schmidt had no bother picking him, now that Simon Zebo is in France, Schmidt won’t pick him. Double Standards.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:38 PM

@Ossi Fritsche: Different times, different rules. He also picked Robin Copeland who was playing in Wales at the time but no ever mentions that.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:44 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: you’re normally right but not in this case. Copeland has one cap and he was with munster at the time. He got called up to the training squad for the 6 nations earlier in the year but he’d already committed to coming to munster and didn’t get capped until playing in Ireland.

See 11 more replies ▾
    Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui

@Jim Demps: He was still called up to the squad which didn’t happen to Beirne, Farrell or any of the other lads who returned home. And my main point still stands. It was a different time and different rules. People trying to backdate the current policy to make it seem like double standards are wrong.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:02 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: I agree with you, I just don’t think Copeland is the same as sexton, especially when he wasn’t capped while abroad. Mike McCarthy and james Downey would be better examples, especially Downey who Schmidt capped in 2013 while he was playing abroad.

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:09 PM

Jaysus lads, policies change and evolve over time. I mean, not so long ago women couldn’t work for the state after getting married. We don’t accuse married women working for the state today of benefitting from ‘double standards’ do we? Zebo is not good enough or pivotal enough to warrant a bending of the policy, like Sexton did. People need to stop martyring Zebo once and for all. It’s painful stuff.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:11 PM

@Jim Demps: Why McCarthy and Downey? They were both capped when they were in Ireland.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:12 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: both abroad as far as I know. Wasn’t Downey with the saints on his first cap?

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:14 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: in fact you’re right. I had his first cap down as before munster. Apologies.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:17 PM

@Jim Demps: McCarthy was definitely in Ireland too. He’d been playing for Connacht since 2007

Mute Gerry Maher
    Favourite Gerry Maher
    Feb 7th 2019, 8:34 PM

@Jim Demps: get over yourself … Munster did not invent the game. Leinster are on the beginning of a dynasty! 4 hcups to 2. Enough said pal. It will be 5 at the end of this year and probably will take that to finally shut you Munster fans up!!!! So on to Ireland. The sooner Smidth realises that Carbery is a fullback … the better for our chances in RWC 2019. Leo and Stu figured that out years ago.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 9:19 PM

@Gerry Maher: I can’t figure out if you’re a parody account or if you’re a real person. I hope you’re real.

Mute Luke walkee
    Favourite Luke walkee
    Feb 7th 2019, 9:30 PM

@Gerry Maher: You are embarrassing yourself.

Mute James Daly
    Favourite James Daly
    Feb 8th 2019, 12:31 AM

@Ossi Fritsche: the main difference was there was 2 options at out half in Ireland at the time. Jackson and keatley (I think, I’m probably wrong). There are about 300 back 3 options available to Schmidt. Very different time VERY different circumstances.

Mute Mick Barnier
    Favourite Mick Barnier
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:13 PM

Farrell to win the battle of the gain line. The new key point of contact in the game of the battering ram. We’d need 4 Farrells because each one will be carried off injured. This game is pale imitation of the old game and it’s getting worse. When will the authorities start to address the crazy slug fest and try to return to a game of skilful and elusive running. When it’s too late to save it, the amateurs and youngsters will have abandoned ship and the club game will be all but dead.

Mute Seamus Gallen
    Favourite Seamus Gallen
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:54 PM

@Mick Barnier: good comment.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:11 PM

Looking forward it’s a big day for Conan and Farrell. Two specialist looking to force their way into the WC squad as backups. I’d have though Murphy/Ruddock and Addison might be favoured due to their versatility but their non selections the last two weeks would suggest otherwise.

Mute Danger
    Favourite Danger
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:55 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: time for Conan to step up, injures aside, he hasn’t been in the same excellent form as of last year. Slightly worried about farrells defence but looking forward to seeing him and bundee breaking the Scottish defence. I think henshaw is a better player than Farrell but he plays at 12 more so Farrell’s inclusion give more balance.

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:07 PM

Not convinced Farrell and Bundi are the two to stop the fleet foot of the Scottish back line.

Mute jl
    Favourite jl
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:15 PM

@Darius Guppy: they’ll need to stick to the Irish game plan of the last few years and deny the Scots possession. Should be easier against their pack compared to England. Think Farrell is a more effective carrier a d off loader than Henshaw so that might be a blessing in disguise. I do still worry about the defensive performance against Wales last year though when he played 13

Mute PScald
    Favourite PScald
    Feb 8th 2019, 1:57 AM

@Martin Quinn: to be honest I think Farrell is a better distributor then Henshaw. And I think hes a better 13 but hasn’t had a lot of time to show it due to injuries

Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:33 PM

Any truth in the rumours that SOB is going to London irish next season. Wouldn’t be to happy to see him go

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:40 PM

@William Finnegan: I heard that as well. I’d say he’s definitely losing his central contract and it’s unlikely that Leinster will match his current wages plus with penny coming up it makes sense to cut him loose. I’d have expected France though but Irish are dropping big money. They’re signing Steve Mafi and rumoured on Naholo too.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:42 PM

@William Finnegan: Makes sense from an Irish/Leinster point of view. Has he done enough in the last year or two to earn a new central contract? Probably not. And would Leinster be willing to spend the massive wage it’d likely cost to keep him in Ireland when they’ve Leavy/VDF already on the books and some talented kids coming through.

I’d be brilliant to keep him in Ireland as he’s a quality player but the IRFU need to look at the bigger picture and paying an injury prone 32 year old when you’ve got ready made replacements doesn’t make a whole lot of sense.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:47 PM

@Jim Demps: plus paddy jackson is also rumoured to go there. That’s some serious money if they get all 4. Are they allowed to overspend because they are just coming up. Leinster should have no problem finding someone to help them out. I hope they do, because I don’t wanna see SOB playing for another team

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:49 PM

@William Finnegan: there’s a big cash windfall for the premiership clubs coming in and a lot of the clubs are spending it already. Retallick rumoured to be going to sale as well.
    Era I’m sure Denis o Brien could be persuaded to put his hands in his pockets again, sure what’s another player on the payroll.

Mute William Finnegan

@Jim Demps: exactly Jimbo

Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:56 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: I’d still keep him is we can. There was talk of Deegan being pressured to move. Plus the backrow is such an attritional area, that we are bound to get injuries

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:00 PM

@William Finnegan: Does it make sense for Leinster though? He’s average minutes over the last 6 seasons are less than 5 games a year.

Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:05 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: he’s had some freak injuries tho. Plus if he is not getting a central contract he won’t be playing for Ireland anymore, so no worries about getting injured on international duty. I hate to see him leave. Those numbers are grim reading tho

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:08 PM

@William Finnegan: I really can’t see how he would stay. It’d be mad by Leinster to pay the coin for him, especially when there’s talent coming through.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:15 PM

@William Finnegan: I’d love to keep him in Ireland too. On his day he’s up there with the best players in the World. Just doesn’t make much sense to me based on the last few years and what Leinster have coming through. With the amount of talent they’re producing the wage bill will keep going up and up. Rob Kearney and SOB will be interesting choke points as they’re both big earners who’ll likely be coming off the IRFU pay roll.

Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 6:16 PM

@Jim Demps: on form he is still the best backrower in Ireland. He showed that on the lions tour(I know how long ago that was, but he has been on and off injured since then). We are not talking about some average player here. We are talking about one of the greats, and without the added pressure of international rugby I hope he can stay injury free

Mute tse
    Favourite tse
    Feb 7th 2019, 7:21 PM

@William Finnegan: Past tense. On form he was the best backrower in Ireland 2 years ago. He showed that when he was on the Lions tours two years ago.

Mute Conor Sexton
    Favourite Conor Sexton
    Feb 7th 2019, 7:52 PM

@William Finnegan: would possibly free up budget to get another centre in, big loss though

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 9:16 PM

@William Finnegan: he has been one of the best and is definitely a huge part of Leinster but it’s hard to see how they can afford to keep him when he comes off an Irfu contract

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 9:30 PM

@Jim Demps: Rumours is, for what it’s worth, that he’ll earn £450K a year which is a serious chunk of change.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 9:52 PM

@Eddie Hekenui: that’s a lot of money. Or 90k a game if he keeps his averages up.

Mute Jim Demps
    Favourite Jim Demps
    Feb 7th 2019, 9:52 PM

@Martin Quinn: you don’t think so?

Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 10:08 PM

@tse: in his little cameo on Saturday he was the best of the backrowers as well. SOB will find his form soon and show once again why he is up there with the BOD and Sextons as irish greats

Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 10:09 PM

@Martin Quinn: in fairness to Jim Penny is a serious talent

Mute William Finnegan
    Feb 7th 2019, 10:12 PM

@Conor Sexton: I’d rather COB and ROL got the minutes that will be spare when Ringrose and Henshaw are away.

Mute Eddie Hekenui
    Favourite Eddie Hekenui
    Feb 7th 2019, 10:49 PM

@Martin Quinn: Since you like counting peoples posts here’s a count for you: 5 posts and added nothing to the conversation.

Mute PScald
    Favourite PScald
    Feb 8th 2019, 2:00 AM

@William Finnegan: SOB is definitely up there with the Irish greats but even on form I would pick leavy ahead of him these days. Leavy is a phenomenal 7

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Feb 7th 2019, 2:49 PM

Mind set has to be right this time round, no bullshit .

Mute grandslamkbo
    Favourite grandslamkbo
    Feb 7th 2019, 5:14 PM

@Martin: 6 of this team started that awful 27-22 loss there 2 years ago. We were 21-5 down after 30 mins and came back. So they’re fully aware of what to expect from Finn and friends

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel