ITโS A GOOD measure of how tough a game it was in Dublin on Saturday that only 10 of Irelandโs matchday 23 were able to head upstairs for commercial duties in the Aviva Stadium afterwards.
The other 13 were battered and bruised in the changing room below following a game against France that had a ball-in-play time of 46 minutes and 10 seconds. Thatโs an enormous amount of rugby, especially with the collisions so big and the pace so high. It was exhausting even just to watch.
โPeople say, โWhy is there a fallow week in Test rugby?โโ said Ireland head coach Andy Farrell after his sideโs 32-19 victory.
โYou can see the reason why after a contest like that.โ
The upcoming weekend off is timely for Ireland after two big bonus-point wins against Wales and France. Their injury list has mounted over the past fortnight, so the chance for a breather is welcome.
Not that Ireland will rest on their laurels. After a couple of days off, Farrell will have his key men back in camp on Wednesday โ others will play for their provinces in the URC this weekend โ and theyโll train against the Ireland U20s later this week as attention turns towards a trip to face Italy on 25 February.
With two wins from two and 10 match points from a possible 10, it has been the perfect start to the Six Nations for Ireland. Thereโs no doubt that this team is chasing a Grand Slam and itโs a realistic possibility.
The Italy fixture always brings with it calls for Ireland to throw lots of younger players into the mix, but Farrell warned that itโs a game they canโt take for granted. Having pushed France very close in Rome in the first round of this Six Nations, the Italians had a good second half yesterday in their defeat to England at Twickenham. Italy are more dangerous than ever.
Farrell also highlighted that many of his players will need to keep game rhythm given that they havenโt played a huge amount this season.
โItโs a tough one for us because every Test match is always a pressurised situation anyway but theyโre a good side, theyโre playing some unbelievable rugby as we know through the autumn and theyโve started like that again,โ said Farrell.
โThe headlines are going to be that somebody has โslipped up in Italyโ but theyโre earning the right to win those games.
โWhen you throw into the mix a lack of game time for some of our lads and thereโs a fallow week into that game and then into another fallow week [after it], continuity is pretty important as well.โ
Farrell confirmed that Robbie Henshaw rejoined the Ireland group last week as his recovery from wrist surgery last November continues. Henshaw is clearly nearing a return to action and it remains to be seen whether he makes his comeback with Leinster or Ireland.
Meanwhile, Dan Sheehan, Jamison Gibson-Park, and Cian Healy are sidelined with hamstring injuries, while Tadhg Furlong is still rehabbing his calf issue. Farrell said he may be able to count on a couple of them for the Italy game.
โOne or two of them might be a stretch, but one or two of them could make it as well,โ said the Ireland boss.
Unfortunately, second row Tadhg Beirne looks set for a spell on the sidelines after suffering an ankle injury against the French. He was pictured on crutches and in a moon boot after the game, while Farrell admitted that it wasnโt looking good for Beirne.
There will be concern over captain Johnny Sexton too after he was forced off 48 minutes into Irelandโs win. Sexton himself reported that it had been an impact injury when massive France prop Uini Atonio landed on him but he seemed upbeat about getting back on the pitch soon. Ireland are due to give an update on their entire squad this afternoon.
Having won 13 games in a row at the Aviva Stadium, Ireland are now focused on another win on the road as the Italian clash looms. Theyโre clearly the number-one team in the world and are heavily fancied for a Grand Slam.
Farrell invites the pressure that comes with Irelandโs status.
โWeโve not shied away from the fact that itโs just about us and improving our game, and embracing the fact that thereโs a bit of a bigger target on your back,โ he said.
โAnd that can only be good for us because the more different types of situations that we can put ourselves in, especially when the opposition is going to be a step above normality, itโs great for us to test ourselves and see whether we can deal with that type of pressure.โ
Get instant updates on your province on The42 app. With Laya Healthcare, official health and wellbeing partner to Leinster, Munster and Connacht Rugby.
Doubt theyโll risk too many changes for Italy who look like a threat this season.
Henderson in for Beirne, McCarthy on the bench, Baird possibly to start at 6, with Casey to come into the starting line up. Would also fancy Ali to start and Larmour to get a game as Hansen hasnโt been in the same level of form as last year.
@Aidan Prior: Agree with some of your comment. However, Hansen has had a good two outings. He was all over the pitch and just missed a few opportunities to score due to the landing of the ball and some pulling on his jersey. That doesnโt mean that AF wonโt change these around with Lamour.
I think we need to play Coombes so he has enough experience with the plays as possible. He can play 6 or 8, so could be useful if we have more injuries. Ditto for Crowley.
JS needs to take a break as the Scotland game will be a big one too. They will fancy themselves against Ireland, so it will be a tough game physical game.
@Aidan Prior: if Beirne is out I donโt think it would be any harm letting McCarthy have a shot. This Italy pack is weaker than usual. Also should love to see Combes get game time. If weโre after bench impact he could be invaluable down the line.
@Con Cussed: I donโt know if heโd risk putting in Coombes in the place of Dorris and Conan. I like Coombes but heโs not as dynamic in the loose as Dorris, but probably more powerful and that might get on the bench for a pack such as Italyโs.
Hansen has said it himself that he hasnโt been in the best of form. Heโs also a little light and can get shifted off the ball at the breakdown at times. Heโs done ok but hasnโt had the same impact as last year and a bit of rotation wouldnโt do anybody any harm.
I think your right that Sexton will be rested.
@Con Cussed: Tom Steward might also get called up to the bench which would be great for him
@Aidan Prior: Indeed. He seems to playing very well at the moment. Having written that, I was really impressed by Herring during the time he was on the pitch.
@Con Cussed: totally, heโs never let us down but with the HIA I donโt think heโll have enough time to get back for Rome.
Italy are no mugs. They have a very good back row and Cappuozzo is a wonderful running fullback. We will make some changes but I think the days of sending an โAโ selection to Rome are gone.
@Cian Nolan: in fact Farrell has never really done that, check the team from 2 years ago, it was full strength. Dorris and Murray were injured but Stander, Conners, Earls were first teamers then. BUT weโd lost the 2 previous games https://www.bbc.com/sport/rugby-union/56160887
Look at the French and English selections against Italy โ both selected their strongest available starting XV, and I would expect Farrell to do the same.
That already means at least two changes, I think. Beirne seems to already be ruled out, and they havenโt even mentioned Herring. I hope weโll hear today that his โbrain injuryโ isnโt as serious as that sounds.
Beyond that, if Sexton is not fully fit he should be rested, and there may be a case to swap Aki for McCloskey, and perhaps Larmour for Hansen, but I think thatโs the maximum of changes weโll see. If Aki starts and Sexton doesnโt, then it would be good to see Crowley and maybe Osborne or OโBrien on the bench, and perhaps Coombes to provide cover for the second and back rows?
@Lesidees: What is the case to swap Aki for McCloskey?
@Christiaan Theron: there isnโt one. McCloskey had a great game. Think of it this way though.. we could start Aki and Henshaw in order to rest our first choice combination. Iโm not saying Farrell should, but itโs a pretty impressive back up pairing.
@John Thomas: It would appear Henshaw is nowhere ready and AF knows standards of performance are not driven by rotation. There is a fine line driven between injury and driving performance. Is it a coincidence that both Sheehan and Beirne are injured and yet have done serious minutes for their provinces?
Porter
Kelleher
Bealham
Ryan
Henderson
OโMahony
VDF
Doris
Murray
Byrne
Lowe
McCloskey
Ringrose
Hansen
Keenan
Stewart
Kilcoyne
OโToole
McCarthy
Conan
Casey
Crowley
Aki
Great to see Henshaw back. Was too centre in the world going on lions tour. Need him at full tilt for WC.
Baird @ 6
Henderson for Beirne
McCarthy 19
Ross & Casey
Crowley 22
Larmour 23
Would love to see a team with a bit of variation
Porter Kelleher Bealham
J Ryan Henderson
Baird Coombes VdF
Casey (assuming JGP not fit)
Byrne (Crowley on the bench)
McCluskey
Ringrose (or Henshaw if fit)
Lowe
Hansen (or Baloucoune if fit)
Keenan
World Cup year โ would love to see management give a few competitive starts out. Itโs still a strong team
I think Sexton deserves the rest and Byrne deserves the start with Crowley on the Bench. And to be honest this is not showing any disrespect to the Italians. Iโm sure AF will make other changes where he feels the need. Ireland have so many choices from a serious pool of talented players to chose from. Not to mention the injured players belting to get back and be part of this pulsating run of form from the Irish squad. I bet any coach out there now would swap places with OUR ANDY. Yeah can FO.
โฆ.think actually thatโs AFspeak for donโt get ahead of yer selves out there and expect too many changes.
Can see Conan start at eight with Doris on the bench. Larmour fir Hansen. Byrne fir Sexton (the latter on the bench). Kelleher to start with whoever is next in line at hooker on the bench. Cant see Herring (or Sheehan) making it back in time. In a World Cup situation we will need to rotate players in and out. Not wholesale changes but a few each game. Need to keep the squad on their toes.
@Ro Molloy: not a bad idea to rest Doris โ heโs becoming important. Not like we havenโt got more than capable options like Conan or Coombes. Henderson might have started this game anyway instead of Beirne โ worry with TB is more long term. As we have seen before you can be out 3months, 12months or have career ending injuries!
Elsewhere we might start Byrne over Sexton, maybe start Casey too, and we do we leave centre well alone. If Furlong is 100% fit he starts as he needs game time. I donโt see back three changing