Advertisement
Henry Shefflin on The Sunday Game. RTÉ Sport.

Shefflin: 'Where is the common sense to this? I'm not saying it because it's Kilkenny'

The Cats great feels that the All-Ireland hurling final was ‘influenced majorly’ by Richie Hogan’s sending off.

KILKENNY GREAT HENRY Shefflin has strongly argued that the card issued to Richie Hogan for a high tackle on Cathal Barrett in today’s All-Ireland hurling final should not have been red.

Tipperary were 3-25 to 0-20 winners over the Cats at Croke Park this afternoon, and Hogan’s 33rd-minute dismissal comes as a huge talking point from the clash of the old rivals.

Referee James Owens flashed red at Hogan for the late, high challenge with the scoreline reading 1-8 to 0-10 at the time. From there, the momentum swung in Tipperary’s favour and the game escaped 14-man Kilkenny. 

At half-time on The Sunday Game panel, Shefflin noted that it was ‘a harsh call’ — ‘My initial reaction was that it wasn’t a red card,’ he said — and the Ballyhale man re-iterated his stance again afterwards. 

“For me again, in real-time this didn’t look a red card to me,” he told RTÉ Sport’s Joanne Cantwell.

JC: In real time… but is it a red card?

“Where is the common sense to this? I know they’re going out to me for saying this… I still don’t think he [Hogan] hit him [Barrett] with his elbow in the face. For me, it was a yellow card.”

But Cathal Barrett was hit in the face by Richie Hogan. Does it really matter what part of his body?

“Of course it does. If Cathal Barrett sticks his head down, he hits off Richie’s hand, he makes an impact. I just think it was a yellow card offence. I stand by that.

Not by the rules of the game which the highlighted early in the year?

Not by the rules of the game… I totally understand that. But, this game was influenced majorly by that decision. If there was a common sense decision, I think, for me, it would have been a yellow card and we would have had a serious game.

So do we get the referee to referee by common sense or what the rules say?

“I think it’s a bit of both.”

And in steps Anthony Daly:

“We would have had a better final, there’s no doubt. But for me, the fourth angle would make it a conclusive red. I’m sorry.

“Real time again, I thought yellow but we were sitting up here and looking down. But when I saw that fourth angle, I said there is an element of elbow to head and for me, it’s red, yeah.”

Back to Shefflin: 

I’m not saying it because it’s Kilkenny. The game was kind of over, the atmosphere was just sucked out and the life was gone out of it, and that’s the biggest disappointment for me. 

And the last word went to Donal Óg Cusack:

“Nobody wants to see a player getting sent off… I agree, it actually took the good out of the game. But you have to face it. In my mind that’s a red card no negotiable.

“Elbow to the head, he has to go for it. Anything above the neck; we know the referees from the start of the year are really clamping down on it. I think it’s a red all day to be honest, that’s my view on it.”

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Close
94 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute d
    Favourite d
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:39 PM

Embarrassing performance. We don’t deserve to be at a world cup. I know we aren’t the most technically gifted team but the lack of passion and ambition was shameful tonight.

Mute James O'Keeffe
    Favourite James O'Keeffe
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:35 PM

The interview was almost a bad as the performance. This is not a club side he is managing its the Irish football team and we deserve a proper explanation as how our team is being run. After watching that drivil that interview was pathetic.

Mute Peter Kiernan
    Favourite Peter Kiernan
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:05 PM

@James O’Keeffe: funnily enough I thought the interview was better than the Irish performance. How he avoided answering questions was childish and comedic.
    I half expected MoN to say “you mom goes to college”. It made me laugh anyway.

Mute Kobe
    Favourite Kobe
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:20 PM

A lot of abuse going towards management. For god sake look at the players we have, what do we expect. They outplayed us at the Aviva too.

Mute george holmes
    Favourite george holmes
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:44 PM

Disgraceful performance and fair play to O’Neill he gave a disgraceful interview as well.

Mute Pj Windgap
    Favourite Pj Windgap
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:09 PM

@george holmes: MON treats TOD like a dog in the majority of interviews. Cringe tv and I feel sorry for tony.

Mute Richard Prendiville
    Favourite Richard Prendiville
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:43 PM

Not too sure how Martin was tetchy…. Tony ended up giving his opinions on his very own questions. Then when Martin didn’t give the desired answer, Tony tried to lead him …. I’d hold my ground too with the journalist… Sensational headline on a non issue

Mute Paul Whittle
    Favourite Paul Whittle
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:13 PM

In fairness, most of his success was winning leagues with Celtic. A donkey could win the league with Celtic. Look at Brendan Rodgers sure.

Mute Peter Kiernan
    Favourite Peter Kiernan
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:25 PM

@Paul Whittle: Why would you do that, rag other, non related, people into the discussion and then insult them?
    MoN shit tactics tonight should stand alone in splendid isolation.

Mute Ciaran Rice
    Favourite Ciaran Rice
    Sep 2nd 2017, 11:48 PM

@Paul Whittle: could a donkey get to a European final or beat some of the best teams in Europe on a regular basis? Conveniently forgetting those things that O’Neill achieved with Celtic.

At Celtic he had Larsson, Sutton, Hartson, lambert. We don’t have anyone if that calibre.

Mute Marks Awarded
    Favourite Marks Awarded
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:38 PM

Tetchy old school man. That was cringe. Bereft of ideas?

Mute Mervyn Queally
    Favourite Mervyn Queally
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:44 PM

I said it before, O Neill is a fraud

Mute Brian Treacy
    Favourite Brian Treacy
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:37 PM

Martin, that was shite. Thanks!

Mute gavexile
    Favourite gavexile
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:45 PM

Wales have a manager willing to play a 17 year old in a WC Qualifier, we have a manager that won’t pick anyone outside of his safe “hoof it and run” group.,nevermind picking a young striker that can score goals,he’d rather leave him in Preston

Mute running man
    Favourite running man
    Sep 2nd 2017, 11:52 PM

@gavexile: Spot on.Maguire should be on the team never mind the squad.

Mute running man
    Favourite running man
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:56 PM

Good man Tony O Donoghue asking the questions we wanted to hear, glad you were’nt bullied into staying quiet like a lot of journalists, made O Neill look like an idiot with his childest answers.Got a footballing lesson from Georgia tonight, they are ranked 120? Houlahan has to be involved Tuesday, he is our only player who can pass the ball properly and retain possesion, and put Sean Maguire straight into team the only Irish forward who knows how to score. Think Meyler should be in as well.Know none above will happen though, ah well dream on….

Mute David A Roberts
    Favourite David A Roberts
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:46 PM

Some right experts on here.. imagine what way roy Keane would have reacted if he was asked the same question!

Mute DL_8_5
    Favourite DL_8_5
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:57 PM

Can’t blame Martin for going on the defensive. Those wa****s in the studio are gunning for him. I’d like to see Dunphy do better with the players at our disposal.

Mute Peter Kiernan
    Favourite Peter Kiernan
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:07 PM

@DL_8_5: Come on, he responded like a child.

Mute DL_8_5
    Favourite DL_8_5
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:16 PM

@Peter Kiernan: it’s hardly his fault the players can’t string two passes together.

See 9 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter Kiernan
    Favourite Peter Kiernan
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:20 PM

@DL_8_5: He did pick the team, didn’t he?
    He sends the out to play a certain way, doesn’t he?
    And they just hoofed the ball away every time they got, didn’t they?
    So what does that tell you?

Mute Pj
    Favourite Pj
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:25 PM

@Peter Kiernan: tells me
    You ask too many questions

Mute DL_8_5
    Favourite DL_8_5
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:28 PM

@Peter Kiernan: So you honestly think he tells each player to hoof it as soon as they get it? They are a bunch of average players, what do you expect from them? For example the man of the match James McClean, hard and all as he tries, is not an automatic starter for West Brom.

Mute Peter Kiernan
    Favourite Peter Kiernan
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:40 PM

@Pj: They are rhetorical!
    But don’t worry, I have the answers at the back of the book if you need them.

Mute Peter Kiernan
    Favourite Peter Kiernan
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:47 PM

@DL_8_5:
    Well, it must be one of two things.
    Either he told them to hoof it up the field and see what happens.
    Or he told them to pass to a man in a green shirt, but they didn’t listen to him and hoofed it up the field.
    The result was the same, the ball was hoofed up the field.
    Whatever, it is poor management.
    Ability doesn’t come into it. There is enough talent there to string a few passes together.

Mute Pj
    Favourite Pj
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:56 PM

@Peter Kiernan: I doubt you do
    Don’t worry. Your bear makes you supercilious to my bullets

Mute Daithí Ó Síocháin
    Favourite Daithí Ó Síocháin
    Sep 2nd 2017, 10:18 PM

@DL_8_5: Ridiculous argument that these players can’t string a few passes together. If you watch Dundalk in Europe, they pass it around, play along the ground. They make mistakes (*cough* Gartland) but they’re not afraid to get on the ball. I’d rather watch Gary Rogers mess up a simple backpass, then watch this pathetic national team get 26% possession against a team ranked 89 places below them.

Mute running man
    Favourite running man
    Sep 2nd 2017, 11:51 PM

@DL_8_5: So Brady and Hamann are wa****s(2 great players by the way) because they called it as we all saw it? It was a load of tripe and everyone saw it. Fair play to Tony O Donoghue for asking the questions we all wanted answering but ONeill came out looking a right clown with his replies. By the way, why would Hamann (a german) be gunning for O Neill?

Mute Peter Kiernan
    Favourite Peter Kiernan
    Sep 3rd 2017, 7:11 AM

@Pj: You should get new bullets.

Mute Jim Brennan
    Favourite Jim Brennan
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:14 PM

We will be embarrassed in the World Cup if we qualify, heart and commitment do not cover up the fact we can’t pass the ball or create chances from open play. Technically we are weak, the manager makes poor decisions. We play like a mid table championship side in England .

Mute David A Roberts
    Sep 2nd 2017, 7:53 PM

It’s Saturday people .. chill and have a pint! Bit early to be chopping off heads..
    where are we in the group at stage of any other qualifiers? Let’s keep Martins P45 in the bottom drawer for at least another two games

Mute David A Roberts
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:03 PM

@David A Roberts: *at this stage

Mute Conall Finn
    Favourite Conall Finn
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:32 PM

They’ll probably go an beat Serbia now

Mute Eoin Long
    Favourite Eoin Long
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:12 PM

Same old story. We got what we deserved for leaving Wessi on the bench.

Mute John Strahan
    Favourite John Strahan
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:22 PM

Sit back and look at the players that O’Neill has at his disposal. Not a huge amount of talent there, unfortunately most are, at best, journeymen players.

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    Sep 3rd 2017, 2:43 PM

@John Strahan: utter rubbish. Norn Iron are in a stronger group and in a far better positon with so called weaker players. Comes down to poor management

Mute Ryan Moore
    Favourite Ryan Moore
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:21 PM

It’s sad really most of you looking for MoN sacked are probably the same muppets that cried out for him to take over at the time

Mute gavexile
    Favourite gavexile
    Sep 2nd 2017, 9:18 PM

Bitter poisonous little dwarf..For a man that forces horrible archaic football style on us .,the arrogance he shows is incredible .A little jumped up bitter little Jack Charlton clone acting as though he’s Ancelotti or Paisley.Sooner we see the back of him the better ,we have the wrong MO’N in that dugout

Mute Garry Morrissey
    Favourite Garry Morrissey
    Sep 2nd 2017, 8:23 PM

Jaysus you’d think tree all sunday league players ….

Mute Alan Foley
    Favourite Alan Foley
    Sep 3rd 2017, 2:51 PM

Martin o neill tries to bully Tony into not asking the hard questions, ‘Why should i tell you’ … when tony asks him a question.. who does o’neill think he is, Tony is right o’neill is answerable to the soccer supporting irish public and the fans who pay his wages, and if you cant handle answering some tough questions about shitty performances ..maybe its time to jog on..

Mute running man
    Favourite running man
    Sep 3rd 2017, 9:09 PM

@Alan Foley: Agree 100%.

Mute Andrew Dunne
    Favourite Andrew Dunne
    Sep 3rd 2017, 2:16 AM

It was the same outrage when we won against them those few years ago. Bad performance but won, not so lucky this time but qualification is everything not a tiki take display in Tbilisi. I think we are so bad tonight we will sneak a win on Tuesday the MO’N is a genius!! Fickle fans

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel