Skip to content
Ger Aylward during last year's All-Ireland final. Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Injury rules Ger Aylward out of All-Ireland junior club final

There are fears the Kilkenny man may miss some of this year’s championship.

A SCAN ON 2015 Allstar forward Ger Aylward has revealed he picked up a cruciate knee ligament injury during his club’s All-Ireland Junior semi-final win over Dungourney of Cork at the weekend.

The news comes as a further blow to Brian Cody’s attacking options for the season after the retirement of Richie Power last week with some fearing the 23-year-old could miss Kilkenny’s entire 2016 campaign.

It’s also a big loss for Aylward’s club Glenmore as they get set to take on Eoghan Rua of Derry in the junior hurling decider on 7 February.

‘It’s football and that’s it for this year. The dual mandate can be difficult.’

Ex-Waterford stars Flynn and Kelly join county U21 hurling management

Close
4 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Feb 6th 2020, 5:39 PM

Really enjoyed watching the documentary with the ex Utd players becoming owners of Salford, at lot of work/investment involved behind the scenes,, especially from Gary Neville, never liked him as a player, found him very cold and he always seemed aloof, but with his work on the TV since I’ve become a fan, I find his opinions on the game are some of the best around. Best of luck to Salford, if they make it to the championship in the next few years it will be a magnificent achievement to all involved. IMO.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Feb 6th 2020, 5:54 PM

@devils avacado: he was an average player in a great team , a complete failure as a coach and now makes a living criticising better coaches along with the spitting idiot fromLiverpool

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Feb 6th 2020, 6:02 PM

@Martin: so,,,, not a big fan then Martin??? That’s ok, you do know how to use a remote control,, don’t you??? ;)

See 9 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Feb 6th 2020, 6:03 PM

@Martin: gary neville an average player? Lol!

Mute Now or Never
    Favourite Now or Never
    Feb 6th 2020, 6:23 PM

@Martin: take them lemons out of your mouth chap, it ain’t good for u!

Mute Derek Trotter
    Favourite Derek Trotter
    Feb 6th 2020, 8:31 PM

@Martin: I agree with ya about him as a player, I thought he was average too ability wise. He was strong mentally and worked hard to hit the levels he did. Always find it hard to understand when pundits are picking the greatest Premiership team he always gets in. Wouldn’t lace Denis irwins boots in my opinion. As for the punditry stuff you don’t have to take it too seriously. It’s interesting because himself and carragher are so invested in their clubs as fans so we can all relate.

Mute Derek Trotter
    Favourite Derek Trotter
    Feb 6th 2020, 8:32 PM

@devils avacado: cold and aloof? Interesting way to describe a player?

Mute Martin Glynn
    Favourite Martin Glynn
    Feb 6th 2020, 9:52 PM

@Martin: not a Utd fan but calling him an average player is just crazy. He was the best right back for about a decade and one of the best in the premier league era. Very Solid defender and not bad going forward. Wen he lost yard of pace his game suffered cos he was never the fastest to begin.

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Feb 6th 2020, 10:49 PM

@Derek Trotter: he’s also a person,, that did interviews when he played…….:)

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Feb 6th 2020, 11:41 PM

@Brian Dunne: Jesus I’m a chelsea fan and no love for Utd but Neville average player??? His brother Phil yes he was pants but Gary was a superb full back rarely gotten the better of, and have to say also my fav pundit, can’t listen to carragher his voice goes thru me.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Feb 7th 2020, 9:06 AM

@Dougal67: just to be clear i was laughing at the guy who said neville was average. Phil neville wasn’t “pants” either. Hundreds of games for man utd and captain of everton.

Mute Dougal67
    Favourite Dougal67
    Feb 7th 2020, 12:51 PM

@Brian Dunne: Apologies about Gary, but Phil was pants….

Mute simplysuperman69
    Favourite simplysuperman69
    Feb 6th 2020, 6:02 PM

What a waste of a career, was a solid premier league player but pissed it all away. If he wasn’t too fond of the drink and took care of himself he’d easily be in the Ireland squad if not first team and have another few years at a high level.

Mute Red wine and chocolate cake
    Favourite Red wine and chocolate cake
    Feb 6th 2020, 6:50 PM

@simplysuperman69: such a waste. No one ever say to these lads. You have a short career. You can make lots of money if you look after yourself and go on the lash afterward when the shillings are in the bank

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Feb 6th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Red wine and chocolate cake: I think it was Rafa Benitez that said, “I don’t want to see any of my players in the pubs or nightclubs,, when they are finished their careers they can buy one”. :)

Mute Ultimate FM
    Favourite Ultimate FM
    Feb 6th 2020, 10:02 PM

What an utter waste of a talent

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.