Advertisement
Dublin's Jonny Cooper with Mayo's Andy Moran Donall Farmer/INPHO

Crazy own goals, Dublin's quiet attack, belief for Mayo and Jim Gavin's honesty

The42′s columnist Johnny Doyle reflects on yesterday’s battle.

YESTERDAY WAS THE strangest game I have ever been at in Croke Park.

Of all the scenarios people would have envisaged, no one in their wildest dreams would have considered a game with two own goals, where Dublin scored no points in the first half hour and where after all that, it was Mayo who finished the strongest with the last three points of the game to draw level

The football certainly was not top class. But there was no shortage of entertainment. It was a heart stopping finale. When the final whistle went, you were nearly gasping for breath yourself and that was just sitting in the stand.

It was so intense from start to finish. We’re constantly hearing this talk of how bad the game of Gaelic football is gone. You start to think maybe there is something to that argument but yesterday had everything you wanted.

Magnificent

In slippery conditions, the manliness and honesty of the set of players was magnificent. They tore lumps out of each other, shook hands after and went away to get ready for round two.

Mayo came and blitzed Dublin from the start but the own goals were just crazy. They came totally against the run of play. I haven’t seen own goals like that at any level of Gaelic football before. I felt before the game Mayo needed a clean sheet and to sneak a goal themselves to win.

They didn’t achieve either of those aims and yet they’re still in the championship. That’s due a lot to a really strange performance by Dublin. I kept on thinking that Dublin’s purple patch would come during the game but it never arrived.

They were still in a winning position when they went three points up in injury-time and it’s that reason why I’d really commend Mayo for battling all the way to the finish.

The Mayo fans that I was talking to coming out after the game were in good spirits. The performance should give Mayo huge belief. They have nothing to lose and have proven that physically they can match them all over the field.

Mayo had a couple of huge performers in defence. Patrick Durcan was brilliant, Brendan Harrison was immense. Half a chance is usually all Bernard Brogan needs but Harrison had him under control from the start.

Stood Up

At the other end Cillian O’Connor stood up when they really needed. He caught my eye when Andy Moran went off. It was a time where I wondered about the movement inside from Mayo but Cillian provided that.

He came looking for the ball, he wanted it, he sought to get his team going. That’s the sort of inspiration you want from your captain and your main scorer. Trust me to get a kick like that at the end of a huge game in Croke Park was just phenomenal.

Mayo’s old stagers, Andy Moran and Alan Dillon, certainly didn’t let their side down. Andy ran himself into the ground, over and back across the full-forward line time and time again. In a close game maybe it was a good idea taking him off. He nearly crawled to the line and was clearly exhausted.

Alan Dillon didn’t start but made his mark when he came on, even if it was such a brief spell on the pitch. It was unfortunate that he got injured when he ran into Cian O’Sullivan. Just beforehand he’d kicked a great point for Mayo.

When a game settles down, Alan is the type of player who is liable to kick two or three points. That could have been a game changer for Mayo.

Early on I thought Aidan O’Shea was a big player and was on a serious amount of ball. His influence then died a little though as the game wore on. I felt all week he had to have a big, big game for Mayo to win. He didn’t play badly but I felt he had to have a bigger impact. That will be a goal for the replay.

Below par

It was such an odd game for Dublin to analyse. So many of their marquee players, their proven game winners and guys we know can change the course of a game, they were simply below par.

I looked at Bernard Brogan, Kevin McManamon and Paul Flynn in open play, and they were very quiet. Dean Rock wasn’t his usual prolific self from frees.

Lee Keegan kept Diarmuid Connolly very quiet. Paddy Andrews kicked two massive scores but he was anonymous in the second-half. That’s a serious amount of attacking players to under-perform.

The flipside was the performance of three of Dublin’s younger players. John Small was simply excellent at wing-back. Brian Fenton lead the line around midfield really well.

Conductor

Ciaran Kilkenny was immense, he’s like the conductor of the orchestra. The closing stages epitomised his performance. The last sideline Connolly took, Kilkenny wanted the ball, to take the responsibility, to keep the possession.

Jim Gavin doesn’t say much after matches but he was quite interesting yesterday. I was working at the game for RTÉ Radio and on the station after the game, it was put to him that Dublin’s performance was six out of ten. Jim responded by saying, ‘you’re being very kind to us there’.

He was very straight and very honest. I’ve never heard him talking like that before, you don’t expect it. But I admired his honesty as well, he didn’t hide from a Dublin performance that was down from their high standards.

So many times in the past, we have seen that the underdog have one shot at it and they have got to take it on the day. I don’t buy into that here and still think that they have a huge chance.

At the same time, can we see Dublin under-performing to that level again? Those are the massive questions. Saturday week will reveal all.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

There’s big club football fixture problems ahead now in Dublin and Mayo after All-Ireland draw

David Clifford’s incredible solo goal illustrated why the future looks very bright for Kerry

Close
44 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute paul Bracken
    Favourite paul Bracken
    Sep 19th 2016, 6:24 PM

Connolly wanted his Maurice Fitzgerald moment there at the end. Should have left the ball with Kilkenny and Dublin would be all Ireland champs. Ego got the better of him as did Lee Keegan.

Mute David Carolan
    Favourite David Carolan
    Sep 19th 2016, 9:10 PM

All Keegan got was his jersey

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Sep 19th 2016, 9:43 PM

He has it in him to make that shot, he took a chance. Had he made it he would be an icon. Give it a rest lads we should encourage individuals with skill not negate them. He went for it, it backfired, unlucky.

See 8 more replies ▾
    Mute emily davison
    Favourite emily davison
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:04 PM

If the rest of the dubs had the same attitude as Connelly they would have won yesterday

Mute Howye Lads
    Favourite Howye Lads
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:09 PM

No it was the wrong decision! And he made the wrong decision in the semi against Kerry too! Kicked for a point in the last minute with his left foot!

It went over and was a great point but again the wrong decision as had it went wide or dropped short Kerry could have equalised too!

No doubt he’s talented but that was foolish yesterday!

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:30 PM

Craziest sh”t i ever read on here. By that rationale was Maurice Fitz wrong in 2001…..?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 19th 2016, 11:08 PM

If the rest of the dubs had the same attitude as Connolly the Gardai would have had to intervene.

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Sep 19th 2016, 11:32 PM

Ha ha….

Mute Robert James Behan
    Favourite Robert James Behan
    Sep 19th 2016, 11:57 PM

Rochelle, You still celebrating Munster scraping over the line at the weekend?

Mute Howye Lads
    Favourite Howye Lads
    Sep 20th 2016, 7:25 AM

@Liam Dunne: no he wasnt. i was at that game and it was a lovely summers day with a slight breeze on his back and no wet ground to slip on! Also take it into account you could come onto the pitch to kick a sideline back then and the angle Maurice had was more favourable. Case closed Liam no shut the door behind you. :)

Mute Ontheway1
    Favourite Ontheway1
    Sep 20th 2016, 7:48 AM

Everyone here lauding Connolly as a hero for taking on that shot. Complete rubbish. The fact is that had Kilkenny kept the ball Dublin would almost certainly have won. Can’t believe it wasn’t brought up on the Sunday Game. The most important play in the game. RTE too busy wetting themselves over Connolly but didn’t discuss the biggest mistake in the game.

Mute Kieran O Callaghan
    Favourite Kieran O Callaghan
    Sep 19th 2016, 5:54 PM

That’s a great photo of Cooper and Moran. Ready for battle!!

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 19th 2016, 8:21 PM

Ye its class!

Mute Kieran
    Favourite Kieran
    Sep 19th 2016, 9:09 PM

Mayo have a great defence and super fitness levels. The just need someone up front to help out Cillian O Connor. If Aidan O Shea or Andy Moran were even half as cute as some of the Kerry forwards Mayo would have an amazing team

Mute David Staed
    Favourite David Staed
    Sep 19th 2016, 6:54 PM

Both teams have alot to work on but in fairness the weather didn’t help. I was glad they found a few quid to put in the meter for the floodlights for the 2nd half

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Sep 19th 2016, 9:41 PM

Connolly had a fine game. Kicked a lovely score, gave a beauty of s ball to Rock for goal 2, dispossessed mayo lads in his own 45. Only time i noticed Keegan was as ever when he was acting the maggot again… Connolly won that duel. Scored, distributed, dispossessed and tackled. Keegan was only acting the maggot.

Mute Jesse Pinkman
    Favourite Jesse Pinkman
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:04 PM

The Connolly point was direct from a kick out and the ball in for the goal was a free. Keegan couldn’t do anything about those 2 things so he definitely won that duel.

Mute Seán Ó Connailláin
    Favourite Seán Ó Connailláin
    Sep 20th 2016, 3:39 AM

Your on smack

Mute David Carolan
    Favourite David Carolan
    Sep 19th 2016, 9:13 PM

Love it . It’s all Mayo now how great they were but it was Dublin who played as bad as I’ve seen them in years that nearly won again . Let’s the Mayo talk begin

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 19th 2016, 9:21 PM

Let Mayo talk. Let Mayo moan. let Mayo act the maggot before kick off. Dublin had a howler but that wont happen again!

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Sep 19th 2016, 9:45 PM

They had a howler because mayo kept them quiet and it will happen again.

See 8 more replies ▾
    Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:40 PM

Keep dreaming pal

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:59 PM

If that Dublin team were free to shoot on goal there wouldn’t have been a problem. Keeping Connolly quiet is half the battle…

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 19th 2016, 11:12 PM

It’s puzzling how Dubliners are reasoning “we won’t play that badly again therefore will win” as if they weren’t gifted two own goals. There was a gulf in the sides papered over by those freak goals, Dublin could play much better and still lose, they need to play significantly better and find their best performance of the year.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 19th 2016, 11:46 PM

Rochelle, Its puzzling how obsessed you are with Dublin!

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 19th 2016, 11:48 PM

Not often you see Dean Rock miss as many as he did and that had nothing to do with Mayo keeping him quiet!

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Sep 20th 2016, 12:35 AM

Dublin had 55% possession, kicked 12 wides, missed 4 kickable frees and still lead by 3 coming into the final minute. With 5 of their 6 forwards having shockers that was a good place to be and speaks volumes about Mayo’s inability to put teams away. In the end the ref, adding 7 minutes, saved Mayo. But Dublin will be much better next time out.

Mute Enda Loughney
    Favourite Enda Loughney
    Sep 20th 2016, 4:41 AM

Realist…. thank god, there are some people left that don’t bullshit and talk bollocks for the sake of it.

Mute Enda Loughney
    Favourite Enda Loughney
    Sep 20th 2016, 4:45 AM

But he did, get over it, not often ya see Aidan O’Shea slice a stupid ball into the full forward line…. then go back to last year we were the better side in the first game openly said by Jim Gavin, our defence showed heart grit and determination ye got the luck we go again and we shall see but get the god complex ego out of your head we are two great footballing teams.

Mute The metropolitans
    Favourite The metropolitans
    Sep 19th 2016, 7:41 PM

He makes me laugh that Andy Moran he thinks he’s 7 foot tall

Mute Spodo Comodo
    Favourite Spodo Comodo
    Sep 19th 2016, 7:49 PM

As opposed to Jonny Cooper?

Mute David Carolan
    Favourite David Carolan
    Sep 19th 2016, 9:10 PM

Yeah the best defender in the land . Maybe player of the year

See 6 more replies ▾
    Mute Jesse Pinkman
    Favourite Jesse Pinkman
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:01 PM

Andy Moran got 2 points off Cooper. Don’t understand the praise he’s getting.

Mute David Carolan
    Favourite David Carolan
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:58 PM

The “Great ” Mayo side as their being called now had their change yesterday and didn’t even look like beating Dublin . Now let the talking Mayo up begin and let’s see them fall again

Mute Jesse Pinkman
    Favourite Jesse Pinkman
    Sep 19th 2016, 11:24 PM

Who exactly is calling Mayo a great side, all I’m hearing Dublin were poor and will win the replay. I actually thought 4 or 5 of the Mayo players played below par.

Mute David Carolan
    Favourite David Carolan
    Sep 19th 2016, 11:42 PM

Well we can say the same for 12 Dublin players and we all know how Mayo will play in two weeks they have showed their hand now . Jim will find away to beat them . You don’t win All Irelands without knowing a thing or two .

Mute Shane Deasy
    Favourite Shane Deasy
    Sep 20th 2016, 12:36 AM

Have you forgotten that Rochford also has an all ireland medal under his belt? Not saying mayo will or wont win but wake up dublin it wont be as easy as yed all assumed it would!

Mute Jesse Pinkman
    Favourite Jesse Pinkman
    Sep 20th 2016, 1:20 AM

Yeah Mayo have shown their hand. Now everyone knows Keegan will be marking Connolly…

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:22 PM

Shocking standard of football for an All Ireland final.
    I’ve seen better games between Ballinabranna and the Fighting Cocks on a wet night in October.

Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Sep 20th 2016, 1:01 AM

The replay is anyone’s game to win. One thing for sure is that the Mayo supporters will back their team regardless of the result. Would hate to be a Dublin player if Dublin lose…

Mute BMJF
    Favourite BMJF
    Sep 20th 2016, 5:26 AM

Nonsense… This Dublin team owes us nothing! They’ll be cheered and clapped at the end regardless

Mute BMJF
    Favourite BMJF
    Sep 20th 2016, 5:32 AM

If the Mayo players start to believe that Dublin’s howler was solely down to them then a Dublin victory is a certainty. If Mayo don’t improve they won’t win and equally if Dublin don’t improve they’ll likely lose. Hard to see both of them not bring something more. , and Dubs would appear to have a lot more to bring. Gavin needs to make a few brave calls… Brogan hasn’t that snap in the first 2yards to make space for shots this season (age maybe) ..time to give Mannion a shot with Brogan on bench!! O’Gara might also be an option as brings something different and let a fuming McM come off the bench on 55mins…

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 20th 2016, 6:02 AM

They should play the all ireland final over two legs. Be great crack. Both matches on Saturdays also.

Mute Adrian Langton
    Favourite Adrian Langton
    Sep 24th 2016, 12:37 PM

think a professional break away championship and league could be on the cards within the next 10 years, its kinda heading that way.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.