Murray Kinsella reports from San Mamés, Bilbao
AT ONE STAGE during the press conference, as Racing 92 coach Laurent Travers lauds the Irish second row’s impact on the French club in gushing terms, Donnacha Ryan actually blushes.
The Tipperary man has never been comfortable with being the centre of attention but this season has brought him firmly into the limelight.
With Ryan playing against Munster, his former province, twice this season and now before the Champions Cup final against Leinster tomorrow [KO 4.45pm, BT Sport/Sky Sports], he has been an understandable focal point.
His shyness about the hype is endearing, with Ryan admitting that this season has been a bit odd.
“It’s been different, I wouldn’t like that level of scrutiny,” says the 34-year-old. “I just really try to focus on performance, that’s all I can do.
“It’s great that Irish people are following Irish players in France and it’s great for me living in France. I’m learning the language… slowly.”
Ryan’s first season with Racing has been a major success and his second row partnership with Fijian superstar Leone Nakarawa is one of the French club’s key strengths ahead of the clash with Leinster tomorrow.
Asked what he feels he has been able to bring to the party at Racing, Ryan jokes “definitely my footballing skills, my offloading skills” before pointing to the less glamorous parts of his job.
“No, predominantly it’s tackling, rucking and mauling, not very flash stuff. I love the analysis and I know this guy beside me [Travers] does as well.
“I love to get challenged every day so I’m coming into work, skipping going in every day. I leave Leone to do the offloading!”
Ryan has enjoyed seeing that “there’s always a different way to do things” with his move to France, particularly in the lineout where he has been working closely with forwards coach Travers and Racing’s array of set-piece specialists.
“Every day is a school day, and you understand that there are so many more cultures in the group than before, it’s so unique.”
That Ryan finds himself in a European final in his first season with Racing strongly justifies the switch from Munster, although he points out that he didn’t move solely for trophies.
Indeed, it was the change of scenery and an exciting new adventure that he craved most of all.
“I just came over to France for a different experience and a new challenge,” says Ryan. “When you get older in any career, a change gives you a big impetus. I just want to prove myself to the players and the coaches here; that’s given me an extra kick when needed.
“Every time I come to training, I work hard and try to make other players look better on pitch.
“The massive effort we put in was reflected in our wins over Clermont and Munster and I’m thrilled to bits to be in a final. Everyone’s looking forward to it and it’s going to be a great experience.”
The hope for Ryan is that it’s a winning experience too, but he understands the quality of the opposition that awaits tomorrow.
Leinster have been consistently impressive on their march to the final, with their blend of experienced heads and athletic young guns producing a string of superb performances.
Chief among those younger stars has been 21-year-old James Ryan, who will provide explosive competition for Racing from the second row.
“James has been incredible actually,” says Racing lock Ryan. “I had the opportunity to play against him in a development game two years ago. He’s had an incredible season.
“I was getting feedback from the Munster lads during the Six Nations and his GPS scores were incredible, he has such a high work-rate.
“He’s playing alongside the most successful Irish second row. Devin [Toner] has done everything and the Leinster lineout has done very well this year.
“I also played alongside Leo [Cullen] and I know he’s very diligent and it’s important how we react to those things on the pitch and how we can close them down the best we can.
“Knowing Leinster and way Stuart Lancaster likes to train them, they will play a high-tempo game and that’s the kind of game we play as well. It makes for an interesting clash, the lineout will be a game of chess and some days you’re able to pinch one or two, others you can’t.”
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!
The man is utterly deserving of this many articles, giant of the game for whom I have the utmost respect. But jaysus do I wish they’d stop coming, the comments section is going to be the same boring drivel. Can we just talk about the man, and how wonderful it is that he’s doing so great… for a change?
@Conor Paddington: mmmmmm I wonder who you support ?
@Alana: go back to trolling on Utd articles Alana.
@Conor Paddington: shut up you preaching know it all on every single article.
@Alana: seek help….
@blindside: haha, thanks for gifting me that one… cheeeeeers.
@Conor Paddington: Here here. No matter how many times he himself clarifies why he left it’s the same nonsense brought up again and again. He left because he wanted a new challenge and a new experience. Let’s celebrate the wonderful player he is and the big impact he’ll have on the game tomorrow
@Eddie Hekenui: yeah, not even getting into the nonsense side of it. I’ve listened to his interviews, and while I’d prefer if he’d stayed, I totally respect why he left. The meaningful fact is he’ll be massive tomorrow. Can’t wait to see James Ryan overcome him…
@Conor Paddington: 2nd row is a great matchup. 4 very talented and very different players. I’d love to see Jame Ryan end the day as the star performer from the 4. Leinster’s lineout has been huge strong point in the last few games and Donnacha Ryan will relish the chance to take them on.
Great player, one of the best locks ireland has produced. And on top of that a thoughtful, intelligent man and an absolute gent. While I hope Leinster win tomorrow, I wouldn’t begrudge Ryan a winners medal either. I hope he goes well and plays out of his skin tomorrow.
I don’t want to labour the point and I’m sick of reading about it but maybe this will get a few Munster supporters to shut up. “I know a fella in Shannon RFC who says he cried every night because he had to leave Munster to earn more money”. Delusional, little man syndrome by them. Always a chip on their shoulder.
In any instance at least he’s challenging for trophies now and getting paid more money. If he was offered this 12 months ago he’d take your hand off.
@Paddy Murphy: I don’t have a chip on my shoulder. I just hate b****xs like you. Go hop one off the wall with your little man syndrome. Absolute putz.
@Paddy Murphy: I think if Ryan was still with Munster there was a good chance he would still be contesting the final, as I feel Munster would have beaten Racing. But the Munster fans do need to stop the crying about the IRFU and Jamie Heaslip when there players want to leave. Anyway hope Ryan has a shocker tomorrow but wish him the best in every other game he plays this season, he is a very likable bloke
@Paddy Murphy: what a clown you are
@Paddy Murphy: don’t worry about labouring the point you have to actually make sense first.
Presumably you are referring to sour grapes about Donnacha, well im a Munster fan and after our recent grand slam its pretty obvious why Ryan wasnt offered a central contract.
Namely the beast lying in the wings 12 years younger called James who would have took his place in the Irish team anyway.
Pretty sure most level headed Munster fans would appreciate that by now too
I’m only crying over the loss of the man, player and impact he has. Playing great and would have loved to see the elder statesman Ryan and the young buck Ryan paired in Irish jerseys. Grafted in the shadow of Paulie and was more than OK with that. Watching him over the years, people who follow rugby respect him for his selfless grim determination and we saw that in spades in his performances against his former colleagues. Would love him back, but am grateful as a fan for what he contributed and wish him all the best tomorrow. But rooting for an Irish win nonetheless.
Hear! Hear!!!
FINALLY
No more crying pls
It will be some battle between the second rows tomorrow, four class acts. However I believe Leinster will eventually have the upper hand if James Ryan plays up to his form of recent games. He is now I believe the best SR in the NH and definitely better than the Racing duo and that is saying something. He,a bit like Tadhg Beirne,is redefining the role of second row. The amount of carries and tackles they make is truly impressive and it could be argued that both have been instrumental in their teams success this season.
He’s gone because he wasn’t offered a contract by the irfu. It was hard on him and his family to leave munster but munster couldn’t pay the wages. Of course he’s going to skirt around the facts of his leaving when the world cup is on next year and he’s only 1 injury from a call up. Maybe more but there’s always a possibility, but not if he causes any hassle for joe schitt.
@Kevin O’brien:
1. IRFU did offer him a contract. Racing just offered more money.
2. SR depth chart is Ryan, Toner, Beirne, Henderson, Dillane, Roux. He’s a lot more than one injury away (even though he is a better player than half then lads)
@Camroc: IRFU did not offer him a contract, Nucifora claimed he was too old despite giving Heaslip at the same age one. Munster offered him a contract on about half his central contract and understandably he didn’t want to accept a pay cut for his final contract.
@Rochelle: I’m sorry, provincial bias aside, please please please link me to Nucifora saying he’s too old. Please. When did he say that?
@Rochelle: you have been very quiet in recent months since you were found out to be trolling using multiple accounts.
Imagine that, you even troll Munster fans using your other accounts.
And that’s bs Ryan was offered a contract. You are full of crap.
“He was definitely offered a contract,” Schmidt said, “I don’t think it was far off his old one. I don’t know the numbers to be honest, but I think people definitely worked hard to keep him. I know the phone calls I made and also the discussions I had. “
@Kevin O’brien: It wasn’t a financial decision. He’s said himself the money on offer was basically the same and the way the taxes work in Ireland and France it’d have been more beneficial for him to stay in Ireland. He just wanted a new experience
@Rochelle: I’m waiting. Please, I’d live to see it. I’m dying to.
This reminds me of the life of Brian when Brian was claiming not to be the Messiah. It doesn’t matter if Ryan says he wanted to try out living in an amazing city, in a warmer climate, earning more money, during the last couple of years in his career: all the idiots will claim the IRFU offered him €10 an hour on a zero hour contract, cleaning toilets in the local pub. Sure wasnt he dragged out of the country against his will and didn’t his family threatened to dissown him!?
@Rudiger McMonihan: haha, very well said. Why would we listen to what he has to say himself when we csn invent an exaggerated story for him which substantiates our own invented bias?
@Rudiger McMonihan: all joking aside.
I think Ryan is a brilliant player and I would certainly wish him well but I’ve read some disgusting comments in relation to Heaslip when this was in the news.
It becomes so predictable.
Something, something, something…. Leinster and IRFU….. Something, something, something…. Leinster bias…… Something, something something…… Heaslip……. Something, something, something….. Kearney….. Something, something, something…… Yee can’t fill her stadium….. Something, something something….. everyone wants to burn down Thomond Park and disband Munster rugby…….
@Rudiger McMonihan: Great analogy.
1st pic. He looks like he trying a summon a Munster stone of destiny while whistling Frere Jacques.