THE ARMBAND, FOR rugby captains, is a metaphorical one. Yet bandages have been a very real feature for Ireland U20 leaders in recent seasons.
From David Hawkshaw last term to Jack Kelly and then Cillian Gallagher in 2017, the superstitious could easily claim to feel a curse upon Ireland’s post-schoolboy skippers.
Ulster academy back row David McCann won’t strike you as the sort to get caught up in hokum. But as he extends an inflexible right hand to greet his interviewers with a loose grip, he will surely hope that his own obligatory captain’s knock is the one he is currently carrying.
Still five months shy of his 20th birthday, the imposing blindside is one of seven men in Noel McNamara’s squad carried over from last season for a second season.
McCann played an important role as replacement throughout the Grand Slam campaign and then returned to U19 duty as captain. At the U20 World Cup in Argentina, he graduated to the starting number six shirt and was among the most impressive performers in Ireland’s pool phase, not least when he contributed two tries in the 42-26 win over England.
Unfortunately, the Ireland pack was denied his power for a second clash with England in the knockout phase. The pool closer against Italy was his last involvement as he was forced off early with a concussion.
“It was disappointing, but it comes with rugby. There’s a lot of injuries, but it’s how you deal with that and how you bounce back,” says the Cooke RFC product.
“I was happy to get back in with Ulster. Train hard and get back fit.”
Right hand aside, McCann looks in rude health approaching next Friday’s Six Nations opener against Scotland in Cork. Standing 6’5″ he appears heavier than his listed weight of 104kg and there is little doubt he is a figure who will be easy to follow.
He is honoured to take on the U20 captaincy and has a decent track record in these roles having led RBAI to a Senior Cup success after claiming an earlier Medallion Shield.
Now, in year two with Ulster’s academy, he has been able to tap into a former senior national skipper for guidance.
“I only really captained my school in my last year,” says McCann, “sort of built into it, quite liked it.
“I thought it was a good thing, if you’re good at it, to keep going and try to build new skill-sets. I was lucky to have Willie Anderson (in Ulster academy) who has captained Ireland. He’s helped me in that sort of role with Ulster.”
“Growing up and watching the 20s captains, that’s something you desire to be as you go, as you play rugby. Something you’d love to be so, yeah. Great honour.”
Of course, the onus will not rest solely with McCann or even playmakers such as Jack Crowley in the back-line. The captain is one of a seven-strong leadership group which includes vice-captain Thomas Clarkson and four men chasing their U20 debut late this month.
”Noel gauged with me how I felt with it. I said I was happy enough because I knew, whatever happened, that leadership group and the group in general – everyone’s supportive and everyone knows how we’re building and how we want to get to where we want to get to.
I think there’s not much pressure on anyone individually. It’s just a group that works well and the leadership group knows their role within that and helping everyone out.”
“Within the leadership group… Noel expects (all of us) to drive the standards. He doesn’t put too much focus or pressure on the boys who are returning.”
McCann is currently attached to Banbridge and will be eagerly pushing tor senior caps with his province very soon. First, however, he is intent on driving a high work-rate in the squad so they can show off their best through the Six Nations and the summer’s World Rugby U20 Championship in Italy.
“It’s definitely a major thing for us.” he says of the ‘zero-talent’ traits mentioned by McNamara during the squad announcement at Fota Island.
“Once you add that to a talented group that we have, that’s when we really start playing.”
With almost an entirely new squad, there is no promise that this team will play the same brand of rugby as the 2019 champions, but they won’t want for effort when McCann sets out to defend the title.
“There are similarities in the way we train and the way we work. But at the same time there’s a lot of different dynamics. There’s definitely the same level of drive and ambition.
“Playing in Corsica last year with the U19s, it’s a similar group to what we have now and you can tell the bond is there. But it’s still building… it takes time, you can’t force these things.
“When it comes together, you know, and that’s when you start playing your best rugby on the pitch.”
Hopefully TV3 will show us the start of this one!
@Murph: Yeh that was shocking by tv3. They’re living up to their reputation. Enjoying watching Scotland get their arses handed to them. Really hope this scenario doesn’t happen to Ireland tho.
@Murph: watch on BBC FFS
@M.G Lochlain: was going to get a 2nd aerial to get tv3 ( im in the north) for £120. Sound like i its a waste of money? Still not looking forward to itv coverage….
@Murph: how many times did they have to mention Ireland Got Talent being on! And hat the hell was that awful mashup at the end of today’s highlights mixed with the Ireland got talent clips!
#notmycaptain
@Ísla Carabine: of course he isn’t you aren’t on the pitch playing
@Ísla Carabine: #innocentuntilprovenguilty. #youmoron.
@Ísla Carabine: I’d like to have a friend like him of i was ever on trial regardless of guilt (which is yet to be determined)
@Dave O Keeffe: that’s fair, it’s extremely difficult for the family and friends of an alleged perpetrator to get their heads around something like this. But, if he is standing by him, do it quietly, he is Ireland’s captain and should under no circumstances be making this worse for the alleged victim. Talking to Matt Cooper yesterday he said this whole thing has driven them on with anger. What kind of message does that give to people who have been raped or abused?!
@Ísla Carabine: but if he tells you hes innocent, and as the leader of ulster rugby, by not being there for support it, then it would come across as he did not believe/support him. If it was any (most) other crimes it would not be an issue. But still i understand the other point of view too, very difficult situation all round.
@Ísla Carabine: look they were stupid for going and should have known it would blow up like this. But it’s done now so let’s move on and actually enjoy the competition and not let this shite over shadow It!
@Sam Harms: some things are more important than a game of rugby and this is one of them. Saying let’s move on is diminishing what’s going on. Those texts alone showed a terrible attitude towards women not something that should be tolerated or endorsed. IRFU and UR are handling this very badly the no comment does them no favours makes it look like there is more to the 3 players going because them going personally is not a legal issue and could just state that if it were the case but now it looks like intimidation and trying to sway opinion. The girl said she was resistant to come forward because she was scared it would be her going up against UR and then they turn up the next day the day she testifies. Yes innocent until proven guilty but that doesn’t mean you can’t have an opinion on what RB, IH and CG did. Terrible decision was made here.
@Gaz o’keeffe: it’s a legal matter, they aren’t allowed to make a comment!
@Gaz o’keeffe: also i agree with you those texts were disgusting and even if they are innocent I hope they never play for Ireland or Ulster again. I don’t think Best and Henderson should have been there at all but it’s done now and it can’t be taken back. Personally I don’t think Best should be captain for other reason but this whole social media hashtagging stuff is ridiculous
@Sam Harms: them turning up to sit in the public gallery in a personal capacity is not a legal issue at all. They could have simply stated they were there in a personal capacity and leave it at that. They’re actions spoke loud and clear to a lot so it doesn’t look good to then try and hide behind no comment and saying its a legal issue when it’s not. It’s only a legal issue if there is more to then them simply going in a personal capacity.
@Sam Harms: you’re entitled to your opinion but the hashtag resonates hugely with people. The poor girl has huge backing.
@Ísla Carabine: but best and Henderson aren’t the ones accused of anything so there shouldn’t be a hashtag saying he shouldn’t be captain. If they were the ones accused of raping someone then it would be different but the fact is they didn’t actually do anything. And how do we know they didn’t just go to hear the girls side of things?
@Dave O Keeffe: spoken like a typical rugby male
@Patrick Corrigan: thats a dumb comment. He could give more support privately than in court. That was out of order.
@Ísla Carabine: Just so you know Best has actually clarified why he was there. He has said that he is down as a character witness and wanted to hear both sides of the story himself
Everyone watch on BBC just try and get RTÉ back
@Ollie Watson: that… not how it works. RTE are at fault.
@Pete Slattery ✊: I don’t think they are, apparent TV3 aren’t making money and are even making a loss. Do you think it would be acceptable for RTE to make a loss?
Can someone tell me the point of going for a drop goal when there’s a penalty advantage in front of the posts. The penalty is going to be scored so there’s no advantage in a drop goal. Why not just throw a wild pass instead?
@Thomas O’ Donnell: Because they probably wouldn’t have scored a try and advantage would be over
@Thomas O’ Donnell: Johnny likes drop goals it seems…
@Thomas O’ Donnell: because even with the advantage, given, it can be lost just as easily. Jonathan wanted to end the game on his terms and just go for it. If he felt that he wouldn’t be able to make that goal, he would have gone for a safer decision. also the game was in injury time
James Ryan looks the part and Keith Earls owns that 14 jersey. Earls seems to be getting faster with age.
As per usual Kearney runs the ball goes to ground and turns it over.
@Declan Byrne: But you’ll say nothing about the fact that he’s having a great game and the ball was robbed from us that lead to Kearney having to cover. Nah, that’s not the “popular” thing to say is it.
@Declan Byrne: Kearney’s having a stormer.
@Declan Byrne: I agree, he does run the ball back and “hold on” hence giving a penalty away alot of the time. Yeh playing well other than that
@Jonny Cantwell: What has Kearney done well enlighten me thanks. Playing well against a poor France team ?
@Declan Byrne: Covering his position brilliantly and stopped a certain French try, he’s showing great pace when he gets the ball and is running some great lines. He’s also linking well with the back line in general creating moves. So yeah, some would say he’s having a great game indeed. You’re welcome.
@Declan Byrne: if it was a poor France team we would be winning by a lot more than 6 points
@Sam Harms: Well Ireland not been allowed to playing well . Very tactical Joe wants to get out of Paris with a win at all costs not like last year screwing up on day one .
@Jonny Cantwell: Don’t forget the knock forward in his great game to day.
@Declan Byrne: Yeah you’re right there mate, a knock on…shameful stuff from him.
@Jonny Cantwell: I am been hard on Kearney because I expect more from him.
@Jonny Cantwell: Kearney was a liability as teddys try showed. He was turned over twice. Good in the air but that’s not enough at this level. Especially when there is so much competition for full back.
@Anthony Davoren: liability? Very solid in defence (and I’m not his biggest fan) not the only one to miss a tackle in that phase. Shocking we fell asleep so easily especially against France in France, there is a reason the stats are the way they are all¯\_(ツ)_/¯
for you naysayers of Kearney, he is excellent, having started his rugby career at a very young age, he does have his bad moments but he is an asset to the team. Also he’s a Cooley Boy so I am biased towards him..
Where is the gender equality in tv3 panel for the game?
@The Debater: will you ever rev up and fućk off
BBC just introduced Bill O’Connell as a panel expert.
Looks a lot like Paul O’Connell to me!
Although I’m a big fan of Nigel …. my god some shocking calls tonight
KIA, knee injury assessment
Come on Ireland !
Trying to watch the end of the Scotland on the three player and they keep showing a GUINNESS ad on repeat.
Anyone else having problems
Being back RTE
@matt doyle: In fairness the RTE player is not any better.
Good luck too the boy’s in Green, go out and win with Pride and Ireland.
That’s why sexton got picked while he was away. Pure class
Whether you think Best is a brave captain to go support his teammates in a time of need or whether you think he’s a r@pist-supporting gowl – he still shouldn’t have gone to the trial and made the focus of the six nations about his personal actions off the field.
It shows his head is focused on something other than leading his county. And that alone is unforgivable.
@Abbie Cranky: County????? Clown.
@Abbie Cranky: Iain Henderson shouldn’t have gone either. yet people seem to forget that he was there too…
Either way this trial goes, Paddy Jackson’s promising career for Ireland is over. personally i feel that he was completely and utterly moronically stupid, and hope he gets jail time for his actions.
Love ya Johnny
Ah keith wood hinted at it during the week, Nigel Owens has the plot lost ..
James Ryan is playing really well considering his experience. Looks like he’s gonna be a top class player.
Sexton you god
fair dues Sexton.
@Minom Pnnomm: genius kick to earls as were going nowehere. if it hadn’t come off he would be murdered. small margins. Ireland poor today in poor conditions. not 1 line-break for Ireland?
Nigel Owens is having a shocker some terrible decisions
@Kenneth O Brien: not he is not, Ireland are making mistake after mistake.
@Kenneth O Brien: apparently taking player out in air without ball is ok in his book. The fact it went to tmo showed others didnt agree but ultimately what he says goes. Officiated correctly its an Ireland penalty at least and should be no where near the French try. Also the French #5 was a penalty machine and he took no further sanction
Sweet jesus!!
Feel sorry for jvf, missed last year’s six nations due to injury
Ehh… Ireland have the players and the form; whats going on? Playing attritional rugby against France not working– France are terrible AND in a really bad spot atm. Questions needs to be asked of Schmidt tactics
As much as im happy to be ahead… It is a boring enough match… But then again if Ireland come through can’t complain. Result counts. Come on Ireland
@Maurice Mulcahy: A win is important but the truth of the matter is that this is an awful game.
They build proper men in Ireland. Spuds will beat baguettes any day :-)
Ireland win! Celebratory spitroasts all round!
@DaisyChainsaw: go back to your play dough.
Nigel oxens is having a shocker!
Kicking to much ball away and the kicking has been poor so far.
The bad side is that the French are well up for this game, the good side is that we’re managing everything brilliantly; defence, kicking, glimpses of magic in attack. So far so good.
#ismycaptain
Come on Ireland!!
We have really had little nothing past the French 22. All the possession in the world is useless if we look this toothless going forward. Same old story
Yes Sexton!!
Rob Kearney having the game of his life, super stuff
@Tony Yeboah TP: that changed
JOHNNY SPOTY
In no way a Kearney hater but jaysus will you run at space instead of contact all the time.. also Henshaw is having a mare his passing is terrible he’s not even drawing the man to release the winger outside he shouldn’t be near the 13 jersey…12 all day long.
We need to get away from this one out runner crap when we get to the opposing teams 22 it’s ffffing killing our attacking game the ball is so slow.
Henderson having a brilliant game
Christ almighty…. That was exciting but being honest very lucky to win that had one realistic chance to get a try got nowhere… France had three chances got one… Brian Moore was said on BBC based on second half Ireland have stolen this… sport is unfair… But that’s the way it goes…
Tbh I bloody Delighted its only third time in my lifetime I’ve seen them win in Paris… But lads ye need to.improve
@Maurice Mulcahy: no we havent. Look at the penalty count etc. Individual brilliance on both sides. No surprise a former English hooker is worried about Paddy’s Day
Healy first try 45/1.
Kearney useless. Teddy.
@Minom Pnnomm: always good for a crucial missed tackle.
I’m not well after that. Seriously though, Sexton more than made up for his earlier miss. What a score, what a man and to the whole team who kept going. Fantastic :)
Sexton you’re a god
Talking all week about how much they are going to win by in a place they hardly ever win???????
Ireland are brutal
No sign of the Irish anthem today?
@Enda Reynolds: they don’t play the anthem at away matches, they use Ireland’s Call.
Its a win but God was it awful. Its Martin O’Neill soccer on a rugby field
unefffing believable!!!!!
Onya CJ
Just goes to show what you can achieve with a real leader in charge. Sexton drove that last game drive – in Owens ear questioning his terrible late decision making too.
Rory Best is not, and never has been, a true leader. Everything changed when Sexton took the lead
@Karlavaro: i never rated best as captain and the handbags during the first half kinda cemented that feeling for me. The captain should be the last person getting involved in that kind of stuff
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES! Gwan ya good thing!
Brilliant by Murray
Whether you think Best is a brave captain to go support his teammates in a time of need or whether you think he’s a rapist-supporting shite – he still shouldn’t have gone to the trial and made the focus of the six nations about his personal actions off the field.
It shows his head is focused on something other than leading his county. And that alone is unforgivable.
@Abbie Cranky: Cranky Troll. Good bye
@Bluepoolroad: excellent contribution. Rush me to the burns unit.
@Bluepoolroad: well spoken Blue.
@Abbie Cranky: “burns unit”, Love it. Thanks.
C’mon Sexton you need to get those
@William Finnegan: just about made up for it! 6 nations would have been dead. thankfully the frog missed that easy enough kick also.
Jesus Christ what a finish !
No sign of a totally dominating Ireland so far. France dull but reasonably competent.
Feel sorry for jvf, missed last year’s six nations die to injury
Leinster are having a bad day against the French boys.
@Maid Marian: That’s odd because last time I checked Stander, Aki, stockdale, Earls, Murray, Henderson,POM, Best, and Ryan all play with other provinces.
Kearney unfortunately is no threat going forward constantly turned over. We’re far too reliant on kick chase. Switched off in defence for try very unprofessional they had taken quick throws earlier and players were far too slow trying to stop thar. Schmidt needs to show more adventure in his selections and tactics. That was a hard game to watch with such talented players. Got out of jail this time
Super kick but out of jail there.
What’s the point of tv3 not having HD coverage after spending all that money on six nations coverage what a bunch of idiots. Sport is one place you really notice it.
@ed w: TV3RD RATE
McFadden to the rescue! lol!
Bit nervous about this game. I have cribbed and I have cribbed that Joe Schmidt has not picked on form but bar Rob Kearney at fullback this is the first time Joe has actually picked on form. So I am nervous to see if form will provide a really good performance. Here’s hoping
@Brian Jones: Kearney is in fine form over the last few months
That Teddy bear is class, Ireland could do with someone like him.
The French are coming in from the side more times than a burglar.
terrible non-call by NO, but this loss will be totally Ireland’s fault. For such an experienced team, atrocious play in the 2nd half. More dignity if they stayed in the locker room.
@jindublin: all is forgiven!!!! BUT I hope they don’t keep playing like this for the next 4 matches or I will need blood pressure meds!
@jindublin: bad conditions but ireland playing by numbers which the French negated by line speed. Schmidt needs to vary things a bit.
brute force but brute force is whats needed
@Brian Jones: that’s the general idea of the game alright. Ireland lucky against a poor poor French outfit.
Painful to watch (on the BBC by the way) but thank god for small mercies, not a sight or sound of that odious George Hook.
@Joseph Dempsey: Then dont watch. Crucial 20’ ahead.
Sexton won’t sleep after that missed kicked
@Fred McHugh: Well he’ll sleep like a baby now!
@Fred McHugh: you sure
@William Finnegan: hell yeah he will
CTE Sexton does it again ! Colon you boys in green
The ad is just repeating for me too… it better be fixed before the game
Cricfree or stream to watch
Good start
Come on France
NEW… from ROB KEARNEY enterprises
Now you too can own a pair of Johnny Sexton stones now on special offer for only €13.15 order now before time runs out!
Ceiling in the pub well and truly destroyed!!!
What’s the story with furlongs bind?? Very odd the way his bind is behind Best not around his waist
30 second ad break. Cue people losing their shit !!
Hopefully the lads were watching the Welsh game. Arrogance will f**k us over here against the French. We are not suited to the favourite tag.