Advertisement

Early Tipp goals power them past Cork to seal All-Ireland hurling glory

18,652 was the attendance at the Gaelic Grounds for today’s U20 decider.

Tipperary 5-17
Cork 1-18

IT WAS ALREADY a hurling week to savour for Tipperary, this evening in Limerick simply rounded it off in style for them.

More All-Ireland silverware for their trophy cabinet, a double to replicate the feat they achieved at the start of the decade and evidence that points to a bunch of bright prospects capable of stepping up in the future.

brian-turnbull-with-craig-morgan Cork's Brian Turnbull with Tipperary's Craig Morgan. Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

There was only a point separating Tipperary and Cork at the close of a thrilling Munster final last month, the gap had widened considerably when the teams renewed acquaintances here in the Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U20 decider.

The story of the game can be neatly packaged in the events of the opening eight minutes. Cork had four points on the board in that time frame. Tipperary matched that total in the number of goals they registered. That essentially settled this one.

It was a whirlwind opening, Tipperary rained deliveries down towards the Ennis Road side of the ground and overwhelmed the Cork rearguard. They set the tone after a mere 19 seconds, Conor Bowe popping a pass through for Billy Seymour to drill home the first goal.

Three more followed. Sparkling work by Jake Morris paved the way for Andrew Ormond to net in the 5th minute, Seymour raised another green flag moments later and Jerome Cahill completed the blitz by dashing through for a fine finish.

a-view-of-the-scoreboard-early-on Tipperary's early blast of goals powered them in front. Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

Cork goalkeeper Ger Collins had seen wave of attacks roll his way but he did superbly to deny Tipperary a fifth goal inside the opening quarter when repelling a snapshot from Bowe. The Ballinhassig man also did well to repel Cahill when he sought a second goal after the interval.

It was damage limitation stuff for Cork. Seymour notched 2-5 overall with Morris contributing 0-8, the pair were the chief architects all evening in cutting loose up front. Cork managed to stop the rot before the interval to cut the deficit but they still trailed 4-9 to 0-10.

Their task looked considerable entering the second half and the boost of an early goal never arrived as Tipperary’s rearguard spearheaded by captain Craig Morgan and Paddy Cadell held firm.

Cork did manage to eventually find a route to the net, Sean Twomey spraying in a pass for Tommy O’Connell in the 46th minute and he darted inside before unleashing a bullet to the far corner. Driven on by Robert Downey, Ger Millerick and Sean O’Leary-Hayes – a trio whose influence grew in the closing period – Cork did generate a sequence of attacks.

They got sight of goal on a couple more occasions but Tipperary goalkeeper Aaron Browne blocked a drive from Sheehan and Twomey drilled another inches wide. Pointed frees by Brian Turnbull were a primary source of scores for Cork and Tipperary had built up a sufficient buffer.

The champions added the finishing touches to their evening’s work. Seymour landing an exquisite sideline cut, substitute Cathal Bourke charging through for a fifth goal and Morris popping over a late free. Cork concluded with 14 men, a sombre evening for them completed by O’Connell being shown a second yellow.

Their large and vociferous support spilled onto the pitch at the finish. It’s been a week for them to relish.

Scorers for Tipperary: Billy Seymour 2-5 (0-1 sideline), Jake Morris 0-8 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65), Andrew Ormond 1-2, Jerome Cahill 1-1, Cathal Bourke 1-0, Conor Bowe 0-1.

Scorers for Cork: Brian Turnbull 0-8 (0-7f), Tommy O’Connell 1-2 (0-2 ’65), Ryan Walsh, Daire Connery (0-1f) 0-2 each, Conor O’Callaghan, Robert Downey, Shane O’Regan, Brian Roche 0-1 each. 

Tipperary

1. Aaron Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)

4. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs)(captain)
3. Eoghan Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs)
6. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens)

5. Niall Heffernan (Golden-Kilfeacle)
2. Conor McCarthy (Nenagh Éire Óg)
7. Bryan O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill)

8. Ciarán Connolly (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers)

10. Gearóid O’Connor (Moyne-Templetuohy)
9. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
11. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)

13. Andrew Ormond (JK Brackens)
14. Billy Seymour (Kiladanagn)
15. Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy)

Subs

23. Seán Hayes (Kiladangan) for O’Connor (36)
21. Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonaghs) for Ormond (48)
22. Joe Fogarty (Moneygall) for Bowe (52)
24. Cathal Bourke (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for Ryan (58)
17. Michael Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields) for Connolly (63)

Cork

1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

3. James Keating (Kildorrery)(captain)
4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)
6. Sean O’Leary Hayes (Midleton)

5. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills)
2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarrife)
7. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)

8. Ryan Walsh (Kanturk)
12. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)

22. Simon Kennefick (Glen Rovers)
9. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton)
11. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

13. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)
14. Shane O’Regan (Watergrasshill)
10. Sean Twomey (Courcey Rovers)

Subs

23. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh) for Kennefick (half-time)
18. Jamie Copps (Ballyhea) for Keating (40)
21. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for Connery (40)
15. Padraig Power (Blarney) for Walsh (53)

Referee: Liam Gordon (Galway)

Close
52 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Chicken George
    Favourite Chicken George
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:33 PM

Tipp Tipp Tipp Tipp

Mute Micheál Carew
    Favourite Micheál Carew
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:54 PM

@Chicken George: salt and vinegar??

Mute Wedger
    Favourite Wedger
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:49 PM

All the former KK hurlers at home trying to find a way of linking this U20 win to Richie and the red card

Mute Eugene Foley
    Favourite Eugene Foley
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:27 PM

@Kevin Shortall:

Mute John Purcell
    Favourite John Purcell
    Aug 25th 2019, 2:25 AM

@Kevin Shortall: oh kevin one of these lads that cant take banter are ya

Mute sly dog
    Favourite sly dog
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:59 PM

Some achievement, back to back U21/U20 All-Irelands. Some players and some manager. Couldn’t come at a better time either, with some of the best players ever to put on a Tipp jersey going to retire over the next few years. Up Tipp, Up Riding

Mute Philip McLoughlin
    Favourite Philip McLoughlin
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:19 PM

@sly dog: pity they didn’t keep the 21’s, no one would have touched us at that age this year, n we’d hav done the 3 n a row next year handy

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:41 PM

It’s like 2010 all over again. Fair play to Tipp, a great year, but don’t get too carried away thinking that you’re naturally going to dominate hurling for the next 10 years.

Mute Hon Tipp
    Favourite Hon Tipp
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:16 PM

@Aging Lothario: ah we wil

Mute Seanie Bourke
    Favourite Seanie Bourke
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:17 PM

@Aging Lothario: your d first person i heard say that and to be honest its an foolish comment from u. I presume your not from Tipperary and the green eyed lad has kicked in after today.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Pat Egan
    Favourite Pat Egan
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:09 PM

@Hon Tipp: shure we might as well

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:37 PM

All you have to do to beat a cork hurling team these days is be motivated and come out fired up, which is a huge problem. There seems to be an big attitude problem seeping through the county teams. The hurlers are definitely there but seeing heads go down in the first half of an all Ireland final is absolutely sickening

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:52 PM

@domas1507: how many times does it take to be beaten to prove that do you know what maybe the hurlers are not really there and that maybe there is a problem at source. All these hurlers whose names are put in lights by the cork faithfull Downey Turnbull et al have continually panned on the big day. If the hurlers were there they would be winning underage and their not. You convinced yerselves that Cork were robbed in the munster final when really you almost created the biggest act of grand larceny since the great train robbery. Had Billy Seymour taken his chances there there would have been 10pts or more in it at the end.

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:05 PM

@Michael McGrath: ya and if our fullback line were awake in the first 8 minutes then cork would have won. But guess what, they weren’t. If if if if means nothing. It’s a motivation problem pure and simple. Just watch managers on the line. Compare myler to sheedy/cody for showing passion. Compare the tipp manager tonight to Denis ring for showing passion. Just a couple of examples

See 7 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:13 PM

@domas1507: the cork footballers were down by 7/8 points against the dubs the other week and came back to win it handy enough. And u don’t get to an all Ireland final without fight.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:16 PM

@domas1507: if nothing Tipp won both games so there is no if by the way your talking that Tipps passion made up for a skill deficeit on their part. There was absolutely no skill deficeit whatsoever they were the better team by far

Mute Pat Noone
    Favourite Pat Noone
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:50 PM

@Martin Brennan: When you can match Denis Ring’s hurling pedigree then you can make personally insulting remarks like that.

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:52 PM

@Michael McGrath: I didn’t say there was a deficit, you did. What I was saying is that cork aren’t inferior hurling wise but are hugely inferior passion wise

Mute Walter Frazzel
    Favourite Walter Frazzel
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:09 PM

@Martin Brennan: Have some manners. Respect is a pillar of the GAA. Denis Ring is a volunteer. I volenteer for a Tipp club and appreciate his efforts.

Mute IrishOwl
    Favourite IrishOwl
    Aug 24th 2019, 11:24 PM

@Walter Frazzel: he wouldn’t know manners if it bit him in the ar*e.

Mute Tomas Lyons
    Favourite Tomas Lyons
    Aug 25th 2019, 10:34 AM

@Pat Noone: what pedigree would that be the guy is driving cork hurling into the ground??? Undoing all the good work by progressive coaches in the development squads…. stalling players progress at the exact crucial time before u hand them into senior… the man has to go

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:56 PM

Sucker punched early, but that’s a good Cork team, Tipp’s ability to goal unreal, the young Cork man sent off shaking the tipp man’s hand before he left the pitch, sportsmanship at its best.

Mute Kevin Holmes
    Favourite Kevin Holmes
    Aug 25th 2019, 11:26 PM

@DERRY1973: especially as I think he was the lad he tangled with in the incident that led to the card

Mute damien o brien
    Favourite damien o brien
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:35 PM

As a Cork man I congratulate Tipp on a tactical masterclass. Cork still in the traps. Goals win games

Mute barbarossa43
    Favourite barbarossa43
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:14 PM

45 years of Frank Murphy has left Cork GAA in terminal decline and massive debt , compare the stats of what Cork GAA have won when he was in charge compared to KK , Kerry Tipperary , Dublin , he dined out on the double for a long time while the county in both Hurling and football declined ,

Mute Treaty Bhoy
    Favourite Treaty Bhoy
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:54 PM

Hopefully Ring gets the Cork senior job.

Mute Decko49
    Favourite Decko49
    Aug 24th 2019, 7:56 PM

@Treaty Bhoy: Finally we agree on something

Mute realcork
    Favourite realcork
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:36 PM

@Treaty Bhoy: ye still celebrating the famous one in a row?

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute Decko49
    Favourite Decko49
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:56 PM

@realcork:Well let’s be honest here. Cork would love 1 in a row right now. And they way ye are going ye might just beat the 45 years limerick waited. Your arrogance is laughable. I’d keep my head low if I was you and wait til ye actually win something

Mute realcork
    Favourite realcork
    Aug 25th 2019, 11:54 AM

@Decko49: Ya,let’s be honest,ye have 1 all ireland in 45 years.id be shutting it if I was you,limerick weren’t even involved last night.

Mute Decko49
    Favourite Decko49
    Aug 25th 2019, 2:37 PM

@realcork: Haha. I’d prefer an all Ireland last year than 2005. Yeah we were not involved last night. But watching the match neither were cork to be honest. Game was over as a contest after 8 mins. But boast away about cork.

Mute realcork
    Favourite realcork
    Aug 27th 2019, 9:24 AM

@Decko49: ya,ye must be very proud of your players down there,they are a credit to the game,an example to all kids.well done kid,

Mute herp
    Favourite herp
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:51 PM

Glad to see tipp win,as a dub:)

Mute herp
    Favourite herp
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:52 PM

Glad to see tipp win ,as a dub fan ,:)

Mute barbarossa43
    Favourite barbarossa43
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:18 PM

@herp: Cork still are the most successful county in GAA , time is long and Cork aren’t going anywhere we will be back !!

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:15 PM

Leanann Án Gorta Mor I Corcaigh

Mute james baily
    Favourite james baily
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:19 PM

Always a good day when Cork are beat and beaten well at that

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:51 PM

@james baily: cheers for that Jim! Best of luck to ye on Sunday week now!

Mute Harry Corry
    Favourite Harry Corry
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:53 PM

@james baily: Will be saying the same re Kerry next week when the Dubs shove the 5 down yer throats!

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute realcork
    Favourite realcork
    Aug 24th 2019, 10:34 PM

@james baily: I say the same about Kerry to be fair.

Mute Brysonpieters
    Favourite Brysonpieters
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:29 PM

Cork are shocking

Mute Brian Burke
    Favourite Brian Burke
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:45 PM

Split Tipp in 2. That’s how things work now, right?

Mute James Doyle
    Favourite James Doyle
    Aug 24th 2019, 8:56 PM

@Brian Burke: Have Tipp a metropolitan population approaching 35% of the entire countries and far more funding than anyone else?

What absolute Nonsense.

Mute Peter O Donnell
    Favourite Peter O Donnell
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:41 PM

@James Doyle: you think tipps population of approx 150,000 is 35% of the countries population?? Oh dear!

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Michael McGrath
    Aug 25th 2019, 1:14 PM

@Peter O Donnell:oh dear.. i think you should read his comment again

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Aug 24th 2019, 9:40 PM

Where did Cork think they were going to this evening
    A BBQ

Mute Elaine Hogan
    Favourite Elaine Hogan
    Aug 24th 2019, 11:54 PM

@trebloc01: well they did get a fair roasting so I guess you could call it a BBQ

Mute John Purcell
    Favourite John Purcell
    Aug 25th 2019, 2:24 AM

Was only a fluke just like last year

Mute Gearoid Stakelum
    Favourite Gearoid Stakelum
    Aug 25th 2019, 11:39 PM

2011 is and was the start of the decade, 2001 to 2010 was the 1st decade of the new millennium,
    This is just a lesson in how to count from 1 to 10 like small children and primitive people can and could do.
    There was no year called 0 AD.
    You don’t count your chickens by beginning at nought, you start at one.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel