Pic: INPHO/James Crombie
FOR THE WEEKEND that’s in it, we salute the fans of the Cork hurlers.
Here’s 19 signs to recognise the Rebel faithful…
YouTube: Bryansford Gael
Pic: INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan
Pic: INPHO
Pic: INPHO/Tom Honan
Pic: INPHO/Patrick Bolger
Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
YouTube: hurlingtime
Pic: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
Pic: INPHO/Donall Farmer
Pic: Reardens
YouTube: Caomhán O’Bolghuídhír
A version of this post was published last September
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
600px wide <iframe width="600" height="460" frameborder="0" style="border:0px;" src="https://www.the42.ie/https://www.the42.ie/cork-hurling-fans-1103427-Aug2013/?embedpost=1103427&width=600&height=460" ></iframe>
400px wide <iframe width="600" height="460" frameborder="0" style="border:0px;" src="https://www.the42.ie/https://www.the42.ie/cork-hurling-fans-1103427-Aug2013/?embedpost=1103427&width=400&height=460" ></iframe>
300px wide <iframe width="600" height="460" frameborder="0" style="border:0px;" src="https://www.the42.ie/https://www.the42.ie/cork-hurling-fans-1103427-Aug2013/?embedpost=1103427&width=300&height=460" ></iframe>
Create an email alert based on the current article
Oh to, oh to be'... 17 signs that you're a Cork hurling fan
FOR THE WEEKEND that’s in it, we salute the fans of the Cork hurlers.
Here’s 19 signs to recognise the Rebel faithful…
18. You know that Ringy set the bar for every hurler in the country to follow
YouTube: Bryansford Gael
17. The rest of the country knows him as a former Taoiseach but you know Jack Lynch was a former Cork hurler
16. Every year you feel hopeful when you remember Jim ‘Tough’ Barry’s wise words about Cork and mushrooms
15. You’ve heard tales of the legendary three-in-a-row team of 1976-1978
Pic: INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan
14. You regard Babs description of Cork as donkeys as the turning point in the 1990 season
Pic: INPHO
13. You’ve defended the legitimacy of Tomas Mul’s goal in 1992
12. There was a time in the 90′s when you felt you’d never defeat Clare
11. Mark Landers summed up how you felt standing in the rain in Croke Park in ’99
Pic: INPHO/Tom Honan
1o. You’ve brought unique flags with you over the years when supporting Cork
Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
9. You know the Rock’s point from 2001 will never be bettered
YouTube: hurlingtime
8. You shed a tear when Setanta went to Oz after 2003
7. But then you stopped Brian Corcoran in the street one day and had those few key words with him about coming back
6. You’ll leave the ice-cream to the American lads and defer on hurling matters to the Newtownshandrum lads
5. You regard this mans’ stop of Ken McGrath’s point in 2006 as the best save ever
Pic: INPHO/Donall Farmer
4. Being a Cork hurling fan in the winter of 2008-09 is a time you will not forget
3. You’ve celebrated or commiserated after Cork hurling games here
Pic: Reardens
2. You thought Liam was coming to Leeside when Hoggy hit over this point against Clare last year
YouTube: Caomhán O’Bolghuídhír
1. And you can’t wait to see JBM’s celebration if ye win on Sunday
A version of this post was published last September
In pics: Three decades of Jimmy Barry-Murphy
19 signs that you’re a Clare hurling fan
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
COMP:ALL-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Cork GAA Fans Final Hurling Rebels Cork