Advertisement
Ciarán Frawley. Nick Elliott/INPHO

'That's a decision he needs to make and coaches won't necessarily be happy at the time'

Should Ciáran Frawley pick a position or remain as a utility back?

SHOULD CIARÁN FRAWLEY seek to specialise in one position, or continue as a utility back for Leinster and Ireland? 

This was one of the questions put to James Tracy on Rugby Weekly Extra, the podcast for subscribers to The 42

The former Leinster and Ireland hooker said the answer would be different if he was advising Frawley as a mentor, or thinking as a supporter.  

As a mentor, he said: “I think he should take a position and become an expert at it and be a starter for Leinster and Ireland. 

“From the point of view of reaping the benefits of how versatile he is, as a supporter, and what he brings to both Leinster and Ireland with his versatility – keep doing what you’re doing. He just bails us out in every kind of injury woe, he comes in and fills the gap unbelievably well. 

“But for how talented a guy he is, I think it’s just a shame, long term, that that’s the role that he would fill. I feel like if he nailed himself down as a 10 or 15 I think, you know, his ability and everything he brings to the game, he could be a top, world class, starter for any side. 

“So that’s the hard part for him. That’s a decision that he needs to make and unfortunately coaches won’t be necessarily happy with at the time … until he becomes the player that I know, we all know, he can be.   

“From a supporter point of view that’s the last thing you want because it probably means he’ll be missing for a little bit, probably be in the wings for a little bit until he gets his full breakthrough.

“So it’s a tough, tough position to be in unfortunately, the kind of utility back – it will get you into a lot of squads, but for a very talented guy I think if he nailed a position down he’s no doubt got the ability to be a starter whether it’s at 10 or full-back.” 

If you are not already a subscriber then sign up here to listen to this podcast and enjoy unlimited access to The 42.

Author
View 21 comments
Close
21 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    May 11th 2024, 7:12 AM

I really thought he was going to be our x factor going into the 2019 World Cup. He could create something out of nothing like Habana or Robinson would have done. When he apologised for dropping the ball over the line against Leinster, I thought, Don’t do that man never apologise for a mistake and he’s never been right since. Biggest shame in Irish rugby I reckon.

Mute chris mcdonnell
    Favourite chris mcdonnell
    May 11th 2024, 11:53 AM

@James Murphy: ah look what he’s good at he’s the very best, it’s the weakness in his game he never fixed. There’s plenty of bigger shames in irish rugby Nevin Spence for one or on the pitch losing Dan leavy to injury was awful too.

Mute M.chase
    Favourite M.chase
    May 11th 2024, 7:35 AM

He definitely has all the tools to be a world class winger but probably needs to work on certain aspects of his game to put him in the elite bracket.hopefully he can push on from here and challenge for the Irish jersey

Mute Andrew Martin Farrell
    Favourite Andrew Martin Farrell
    May 11th 2024, 7:42 AM

@M.chase: He’s 28 and peaked in 2018. Despite exaggerated reports of a return to form, he is nowhere near his Grand Slam and November 2018 form. That wasn’t last season or the year before. He might have been World Class in 2018 but he isn’t now and never going to be again. Far too much time has passed. He might win the odd cap here and there but he’s absolutely done as a top level international winger.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    May 11th 2024, 8:24 AM

@Andrew Martin Farrell: Go on Andrew ya bollix

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute Philip Casserly
    Favourite Philip Casserly
    May 11th 2024, 9:25 AM

@Shane: He’s right I’m afraid

Mute Papa Kilo
    Favourite Papa Kilo
    May 11th 2024, 9:59 AM

@Shane: no wonder he gave up social media.

Mute Kingshu
    Favourite Kingshu
    May 11th 2024, 11:30 AM

@Philip Casserly: if a lie is repeated often enough it gets taken for the truth. No way is Stockdale finished, one of the top try scorers in the league esp when Ulster haven’t been playing through their backs last 2 seasons. Has been very good this season. Some people just prefer to regurgitate a lie than actally watch the player.

Mute chris mcdonnell
    Favourite chris mcdonnell
    May 11th 2024, 11:57 AM

@Kingshu: his biggest issue was always his defence. He seems to be caught between should he melt someone or stay out and cover the pass, really good players read this and punish him. Ball in hand he’s better than everyone else, he just needs to make decisions quicker and back the call.

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    May 12th 2024, 1:05 PM

Irelands attempt to move him to fullback and all the negative commentary that brought, really impacted him. Add in a few injuries and it stalled his career. Farrell remained interested in him with good reason. Hopefully with Murphy encouraging him to roam more. He will get back to the levels he reached previously abd beyond. His form in the last 18 months would suggest that is possible.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    May 11th 2024, 10:33 AM

he had one good season. which makes me belief that was an exception and not the norm.

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    May 11th 2024, 11:08 AM

@Niall English: that’s absolute rubbish. One good season??? You haven’t a clue if you really think that

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel

JournalTv
News in 60 seconds