Skip to content

8 ways I trick myself into going to the gym

No skipping that spinning class again.

I go to classes. If someone isn’t standing in front of me, barking out reps and making sure I do them, it’s not going to get done. That’s something I know about myself. As much as I admire those sneakered, self-motivated New Yorkers bounding through Manhattan at a brisk jog all hours of the day and night, I’m just never going to be one.

And I stand in the front. You try slacking off when you’re directly in the instructor’s line of sight.

I think of the money. The brilliant thing about belonging to a gym, as opposed to those €30 boutique spin classes so many of my friends adore, is that since you’ve already paid, it gets cheaper every time you go. That’s amazing! If I go to one class in a month, it’s a €90 class. Two, they’re each €45. Nine classes? At nine, which works out to fewer than three times a week, I’m paying only $10 per class.

I talk about going to the gym incessantly. If everyone in my office knows I plan to go, I have to keep my word. “It’s like peer pressure!” my coworker exclaimed in dismay after the third time that day I checked to see if she was coming with me to the gym. “It’s OK,” I reassured her. “I’m fine with that.”

I tell myself going to the gym is my reward. There’s no better choice I could be making at that moment for my health and well-being. It’s a breath of fresh superiority.

I leave my gym bag at the office. This is decidedly trickier if you’re the type to work out before and after work, but I haven’t yet reached that level of lunacy. As someone who exclusively exercises at night, I bring my gym bag home, empty it, refill it, and bring it to work the next day, whether I’m planning to go to the gym or not. On the weekend, I just bring it home and then back on Monday morning. This way, I’m never caught without runners and I get an arm workout during my commute.

I wrangle an escort. To make sure I’m shamed into actually arriving at the gym instead of being segued by an exit strategy, I do my best to press co-workers into escort service. “We don’t even have to work out together! Let’s just walk over together!” (Oh man, I’m the worst.)

I tell myself I can leave mid-class. I say it, but I never do it. Once I’m there, in my gym clothes, sneakers strapped on, in a prime front-row spot, you can bet I’m not leaving. It’s not like I’m doing a four-hour CrossFit workout or running a marathon; it’s a 45-minute class, and I can do pretty much anything for 45 minutes. By the time I think of leaving, it’s over.

How do you motivate yourself to get to the gym?

What training should you be doing less than one week out from Tough Mudder Ireland?

You’ve started training, now here’s how to keep building that momentum

Published with permission from
View 3 comments
Close
3 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan
    Jan 7th 2025, 7:58 PM

These two games against top English sides are great opportunities for Tom Ahern to propel himself into the Irish squad

Mute chris mcdonnell
    Favourite chris mcdonnell
    Jan 7th 2025, 10:26 PM

@Kevin Ryan: izzy, baird, conan, pendergast and timoney all ahead at this stage.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Jan 7th 2025, 10:33 PM

@chris mcdonnell: stopped reading at conan….

See 5 more replies ▾
    Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan
    Jan 7th 2025, 11:11 PM

@chris mcdonnell: I don’t want to knock anyone. They’re all good players of course; but I think we know by now that Prendergast and Timoney are pretty unlikely to ever establish themselves in the Ireland side. Ahern has the potential to do so.

Mute Eoin H
    Favourite Eoin H
    Jan 7th 2025, 11:14 PM

@Niall English: The 42 is an interesting selection to have your mid life crises on

Mute Sam Bingham
    Favourite Sam Bingham
    Jan 8th 2025, 2:08 AM

@Niall English: conan ahead of the lot of them. Not sure about the rest though.

Mute Michael Corkery
    Favourite Michael Corkery
    Jan 8th 2025, 12:10 PM

@chris mcdonnell: I think Baird has moved down the Irish pecking order. Not sure the reason why but it seems he has. I think Ahern will be more used in 2nd row by IRL going forward but also cover 6 ahead of Baird. I think Izzy will eventually take a starting hold on that 6 jersey. Conan is an 8 who can do a job at 6. lineout skilks wouldn’t be his strength though and that works against starting him. My feeling is POM will start v England at 6 or at least be on the bench. No doubt he’s behind many others in general play but our LO is critical to starting the 6n’s well and he’s still our best LO jumper.

Mute Justin Robinson
    Favourite Justin Robinson
    Jan 8th 2025, 3:51 PM

@Michael Corkery: He’s only started 9 times at 6. Munster have won a grand total of 1 of those games. Putting that to one side, it’s still manifestly obvious that he should be concentrating on second row, given both his height and the number of options at blindside.

Mute Liam23
    Favourite Liam23
    Jan 7th 2025, 8:13 PM

If Munster were talking about the good things they did against Leinster, it was a short talk. We need the injury list to clear up, it would be great to pick a 23 match day squad that isn’t influenced by injured players.

Mute Jimmy Bean
    Favourite Jimmy Bean
    Jan 7th 2025, 10:22 PM

Don’t know why Munster are always going on about O’Mahony these days. The guy is busted flush, worn out and too old. Not his fault now. Munster have to pick Ahern ahead of him and bench him. We lost to England last year because he wasn’t at the races with the young English back row so we lost another grand slam because he wasn’t up to it.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Jan 7th 2025, 10:34 PM

@Jimmy Bean: i do recall doris getting grossly outplayed by ben earl in that game also, not the first time hes gone AWOL when the chips are down.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Jan 7th 2025, 10:46 PM

@Niall English: Mr Bean only sees what he wants to see.

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Jimmy Bean
    Favourite Jimmy Bean
    Jan 8th 2025, 12:27 AM

@Niall English: He left VanDFl and Doris on their own to play by themselves against the English. He was benched for the South Africa tour so it’s just not me who thinks he’s past it.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 8th 2025, 9:25 AM

@Leonard Barry: Lotta beans on here

Mute Michael Corkery
    Favourite Michael Corkery
    Jan 8th 2025, 12:15 PM

@Jimmy Bean: you know the French saying « No scrum, no win ». I got a similar one for the upcoming England game, « No lineout, no win ». Certainly PO’M is not as good as others around the field, but if our lineout calling and throwing is going to continue to be as bad as it has recently, the 2nd best defensive LO in the world is going to have an absolute field day. We’ll need PO’M on the bench at the very least. He can win it at the front if all else fails.

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.