Skip to content
Europa League trophy. SIPA USA/PA Images

Man United paired with Real Sociedad in Europa League draw

Meanwhile, Arsenal will square off with Benfica while Spurs will face Wolfsberger in the last 32 of the tournament.

TOTTENHAM HAVE BEEN drawn against Wolfsberger in the last 32 of the Europa League.

Jose Mourinho’s side will head to Austria in February having won Group J.

Manchester United will head to Real Sociedad for the first leg of their last 32 tie having been paired together after United were knocked out of the Champions League last week.

Arsenal will play Benfica with Mikel Arteta’s side having topped Group B. Rangers will play Royal Antwerp, with Steven Gerrard’s side having won Group D ahead of Benfica.

Leicester have been drawn against Slavia Prague in the last 32 and will travel to the Czech Republic for the first leg. 

Uefa Europa League round of 32 fixtures

Wolfsberg (AUT) vs Tottenham (ENG)
Dynamo Kyiv (UKR)* vs Club Brugge (BEL)*
Real Sociedad (ESP) vs Manchester United (ENG)*
Benfica (POR) vs Arsenal (ENG)
Crvena zvezda (SRB) vs AC Milan (ITA)
Antwerp (BEL) vs Rangers (SCO)
Slavia Praha (CZE) vs Leicester (ENG)
Salzburg (AUT)* vs Villarreal (ESP)
Braga (POR) vs Roma (ITA)
Krasnodar (RUS)* vs Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)
Young Boys (SUI) vs Leverkusen (GER)
Molde (NOR) vs Hoffenheim (GER)
Granada (ESP) vs Napoli (ITA)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv (ISR) vs Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)*
LOSC Lille (FRA) vs Ajax (NED)*
Olympiacos (GRE)* vs PSV Eindhoven (NED)

*transferred from Uefa Champions League

Screenshot 2020-11-24 at 9.04.07 AM

View 11 comments
Close
11 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Leinster Fan
    Favourite Leinster Fan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:11 PM

So excited for this!

COYBIG

Mute Sarah Owen
    Favourite Sarah Owen
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:18 PM

Come on the boy’s x x x We know u can do it x x x

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:40 PM

Speaking of, the Defence Forces have a great pic up on Facebook of the other boys in green, about to watch the match with fellow English soldiers in Mali. The game has changed over the last century and so have our countries but moments like this still resonate.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute sean o reilly
    Favourite sean o reilly
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:03 PM

Greay try by Kearney. Go on lads

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Favourite Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:53 PM

fishing for green thumbs fergal with comments like that

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:16 PM

19-16 to Ireland would be apt :)

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Favourite Jean Paul Valley
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:30 PM

Why?

Mute Massimo Osti
    Favourite Massimo Osti
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:24 PM

I’m horribly nervous. Just hope we can produce the goods. It would be great to destroy these on their home turf :-)

Mute Kevin Manley
    Favourite Kevin Manley
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:26 PM

A one point victory will do me. I think it will be very close.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:50 PM

Not gonna happen. Think Ireland will be horribly exposed today! This English side are on the verge of something very special! I really fear for us today.

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:55 PM

Agree.

England are stronger in back row, locks & centre.

Care is a better scrum half than Murray.

Mute Wanaka
    Favourite Wanaka
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:27 PM

Very unpopular opinion but I too agree I feel they’ll total expose O’Driscoll and Ireland will crumble.

Mute Massimo Osti
    Favourite Massimo Osti
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:34 PM

From what I have seen in the first 30 odd minutes its only a matter of time before they cross our lines. Saying that we do have some pretty moves from the training ground. A 5 point game at the very most!

Mute Andrew S
    Favourite Andrew S
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:00 PM

We have to get rid of “Ireland’s Call” the lack of passion from our lads compared to the English tells you everything

Mute Alan Seag
    Favourite Alan Seag
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:26 PM

Should have been a yellow to Farrell.

Some unbelievably stupid play by ireland though. Kearney and Sexton kicking away possession when o the fringes of the english 22. Madness

Mute Massimo Osti
    Favourite Massimo Osti
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:42 PM

That wasn’t a yellow card. Looks worse the more you watch it. A penalty and no more.

Mute Alan Seag
    Favourite Alan Seag
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:54 PM

Rubbish.

Even Jeremy Guscott on the bbc said Farrell was lucky to not get a card.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute SlyLad
    Favourite SlyLad
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:48 PM

Lads let’s face it we blew ourselves up to be world beaters when we “nearly ” beat New Zealand and beat a poor enough Wales team even though we easily could have came out winners today maybe we just aren’t as good as we thought we were yet but still great chance to win it out still if we beat France due to score difference

Mute Kieran Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Kieran Fitzpatrick
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:04 PM

Ireland’s back line were out of ideas today, Sexton and O’Driscoll were poor and, apart from the Kearney try, in the second half we were very static.

Mute John Hogan
    Favourite John Hogan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:01 PM

To ask people to stand for the national anthems and then play irelands call is a disgrace

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:05 PM

What do you suggest ?

Mute Darren O'Brien
    Favourite Darren O'Brien
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:38 PM

Accidentally put me green jocks on inside out today. Leaving them that way now. Don’t want to tempt fate.

Mute The real Les Rock
    Favourite The real Les Rock
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:47 PM

You’re worse than me darren

Mute Joe Mahon
    Favourite Joe Mahon
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:03 PM

Sexton made another stupid mistake kicking out on the full. You get away with that kind of stuff for Leinster but not at this level in a tight game like that. Thought rob Kearney played well, but the best player on the field by a country mile was mike brown. One of the players of the championship so far.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Sean McCann
    Favourite Sean McCann
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:10 PM

True but it does help when Sexton kept kicking the ball to Brown

Mute jack boylan
    Favourite jack boylan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:43 PM

Sexton lost it for us

Mute Jordan Murphy
    Favourite Jordan Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:46 PM

Ireland’s kicking from opening play was aimless and England’s defence was brilliant. The six nations has been blown wide open.

Mute Gavin Ahern
    Favourite Gavin Ahern
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:48 PM

Disaster, that game was there to be won. Ireland hadn’t the ideas or pace in the backs. Sexton had a poor game. we needed a bowe or a Zebo to offer something different in attack

Mute Lord Scramoge
    Favourite Lord Scramoge

I presume as this is an away game that we will have to suffer a rendition of Ireland’s Call.
    It’s a disgrace that we do not sing our National Anthem against England at Twickenham.
    Yet another example of the majority losing out to keep the minority happy.
    Anyway do the business Ireland.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:25 PM

Leave it to political pages pal…

Mute Rab Catherwood
    Favourite Rab Catherwood
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:35 PM

words fail me..:(

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute The real Les Rock
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:36 PM

Ill discuss it with you when you use your real name

Mute Jaymie
    Favourite Jaymie
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:40 PM

This is rugby not soccer.doesnt matter what religion or where you come from.its the all of Ireland rugby team

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:55 PM

As we’re an all Ireland team we could theoretically replace it with God Save the Queen if you’d prefer….

Mute diarmuid mccarthy
    Favourite diarmuid mccarthy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:47 PM

Schmidt’s honeymoon period is well and truly over…….not because we lost to a mediocre English team in a mediocre six nations, but because we played with absolutely no plan. Again another irish team scared of the ball and no line breakers in the team….Gilroy and Zebo sitting at home makes even less sense now!

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:07 PM

England aren’t mediocre, not brilliant but definitely not mediocre

Mute diarmuid mccarthy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:16 PM

All rugby in the northern hemisphere is mediocre, only France ( if they get a new coach ) will compete at 2015 and although I thought we weren’t too far behind New Zealand, South Africa and even Australia I’m afraid after that it just proves we are miles behind….as ever world class individuals who can produce one off performances and that’s it.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:56 PM

Disappointed. No plan B. Nobody on bench to change things up.

Mute Ted O'Dalaigh
    Favourite Ted O'Dalaigh
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:09 PM

We lost the battle up front having left ryan and tod at home. Having said that toner and hendo were very good. Poc was poor. But this was always going to be one up front and they dominated us.

Poor tactical kicking throughout.

We were lucky to only be three down at half time. But the better team won.

Still we have a great chance of a championship.

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:45 PM

Typical did ye never think of a drop goal boys?

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:00 PM

No Rodge. Sexton is brain dead.

Mute Mr. Common Sense
    Favourite Mr. Common Sense
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:46 PM

Sexton 0. All Blacks 1; England 1

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:17 PM

Ffs sexton…

Mute Lashes
    Favourite Lashes
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:17 PM

Bring back ROG !!!

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:29 PM

True. Sexton is shocking.

Mute Eamon Murphy
    Favourite Eamon Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:42 PM

Zebo if only!!!!

Mute diarmuid mccarthy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:48 PM

I’m at a loss….what’s the tactics? kick it to the best counter attacking fullback in Europe??? Give the ball to static forwards around the fringes?? C’mon joe we need a drastic rethink at the break.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:11 PM

Ireland to win 15-12 no try’s in this game got 66/1 €20 on.

Mute Lashes
    Favourite Lashes
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:19 PM

No you didn’t !!! That bet isn’t possible and predicting the score in rugby matches should be at least 500/1+

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy

Bet is possible if you want. If you ring up Paddypower for a quote.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute james
    Favourite james

Mug Punter

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:16 PM

I have every confidence Ireland will win today …. And so do the English

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:51 PM

Still Confident !

Mute Kieran Harvey
    Favourite Kieran Harvey

Bottled it once again.

Mute diarmuid mccarthy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:21 PM

Give the opposition the ball and they will win..simples

Mute Sean McCann
    Favourite Sean McCann
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:57 PM

yep its very frustrating to watch can only imagine what the forwards must feel like

Mute Dave O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite Dave O'Shaughnessy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:25 PM

England 12 Ireland 29

Mute Paul Cullen
    Favourite Paul Cullen
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:54 PM

Absolutely gutted but two wins and we win the championship. Would have taken that at the beginning of the tournament

Mute Jordan Murphy
    Favourite Jordan Murphy

I seen the English players do their pre-planned short walk through the fans on the BBC, but I don’t think it had the desired effect it seemed pretty sedate to me.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:54 PM

They need something to encourage all those non-English players in their side!

Mute The real Les Rock
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:58 PM

George hook looks like a dodgy 70s cabaret singer…..george hook at the sands

Mute sean o reilly
    Favourite sean o reilly
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:56 PM

I know wtf. Are there no mirrors in rte.

Mute Jordan Murphy
    Favourite Jordan Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:44 PM

Wouldn’t like to be Billy Vunipola that looked at sore one.

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Favourite Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:53 PM

what happened to him ??

Mute Jordan Murphy
    Favourite Jordan Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:17 PM

He went over on his ankle and with a 19+ stone frame it really doesn’t help.

Mute Mark O Sullivan
    Favourite Mark O Sullivan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:41 PM

If only we had someone now who can make things happen, someone with that bit of a spark, the x-factor. But hey, Joe knows best.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:18 PM

The golden generation has blown it every single time bar one when the chips were on the table. They’re at it again now. Twenty minutes to schite or get off the pot.

Mute The real Les Rock
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:43 PM

How many times was there a boot or a hand on the ground from England and joubert did fk all

Mute Cian O'Connor
    Favourite Cian O'Connor
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:56 PM

I can’t stand losing to England…..

Mute ckr00
    Favourite ckr00
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:34 PM

I’m backing England to slay the potato men.

If your with me give me the red thumb :)

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:53 PM

Is your name an anagram for your profession?

Ireland to win.

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:14 PM

Let’s brake some faces…drunk

Mute Mark O Sullivan
    Favourite Mark O Sullivan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:23 PM

Whatever happens from here, surely Schmidt’s honeymoon period is well and truly over.

Mute Keith Fitzgerald
    Favourite Keith Fitzgerald
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:03 PM

Sexton’s pointless kicking lost us the game. Anytime we had a good position he tried to chip it over England

Mute Jack O Donovan
    Favourite Jack O Donovan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:28 PM

Devin Toner’s having a great match so far, sorry I ever doubted him!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:52 PM

Me nerves can’t take it!

Mute Patrick O'Loughlin
    Favourite Patrick O'Loughlin
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:39 PM

This is our year we are good enough

Mute Tony O Connor
    Favourite Tony O Connor
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:15 PM

There’re definitely be a few try’s.

Mute Tony O Connor
    Favourite Tony O Connor
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:01 PM

Try number 1.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:33 PM

Come on Ireland

Mute Pilib O Muiregan
    Favourite Pilib O Muiregan

Championship is still there to be won, run up a good score against Italy and beat France and it’s basically done. Too much emphasis on grand slams, to finish top of the 6 Nations is an achievement with or without grand slams

Mute Aidan Lennon
    Favourite Aidan Lennon
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:51 PM

The referee gave them everything. A bloody disgrace

Mute Robert Callaghan
    Favourite Robert Callaghan
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:54 PM

Best team won unfortunately

Mute Paul Cullen
    Favourite Paul Cullen

As much I don’t like Joubert thought he was fair enough today

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:14 PM

I don’t think he managed the mauls well. Ireland did not engage at the first lineout that england won so it wasn’t a maul. Joubert should have blown for obstruction.

They also came in from the side on numerous occasions without sanction

Mute Paul Cullen
    Favourite Paul Cullen
    Feb 22nd 2014, 6:22 PM

Yeh I’d agree with that assessment. How it wasn’t offside is beyond me!

Mute Caoimhe Fitzgerald
    Favourite Caoimhe Fitzgerald

Can’t wait to see o’mahony singing the national anthem

Mute The real Les Rock
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:47 PM

You won’t. They don’t do amhrain na fhiann when we’re playing away

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:59 PM

You will have to wait till the Italy game for that.

Mute Elbbit
    Favourite Elbbit
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:28 PM

That johnny may is shocking. Why are we targeting him

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:41 PM

The pessimist in me is predicting an England win.

Eng by 5 points

The English back row & centres to dominate Ireland in the middle.

Mute Sean McCann
    Favourite Sean McCann
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:52 PM

looks like you were right. We were very poor in attack

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:30 PM

Ireland will win by 3 points

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:08 PM

England are using Danny Care to clear out POM before the england pack gets there, that’s clever play.

Mute The real Les Rock
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:21 PM

Ireland by 8

Mute Suzanne O'Connor
    Favourite Suzanne O'Connor
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:53 PM

Come on Ireland. Excited now. Let’s have ya triple crown! :-)

Mute Anto Golden
    Favourite Anto Golden
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:05 PM

The egg chasing bandwagoners will be out in full force today

Mute Daniel Nevin
    Favourite Daniel Nevin
    Feb 23rd 2014, 2:00 AM

All Ireland anyone?

Mute Gavin Sexton
    Favourite Gavin Sexton

Red thumbs please

Mute Jordan Murphy
    Favourite Jordan Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:15 PM

48% of play in Ireland’s 22 in opening ten minutes that’s not good. However we did well to stop them from scoring early on.

Mute Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Favourite Siobhán Ní Fhuada

Very disappointing. A tough game as imagined before hand but lazy and devoid of ideas in places. Heaslip shows again that he is our weakest forward. Very lazy today in the end . could be tiredness but he’s a professional player in Twickenham and the games in the balance with 15 to go. Hopefully though we’ll pick ourselves for the next match

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:22 PM

YES! YES! YES!!!! FAB SCORE. WELL DONE Rob

Mute OC 95
    Favourite OC 95
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:29 PM

#inBODwetrust

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:59 PM

Alot of cauliflower ears on display here from England.

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery

It’s been a long two weeks! COME ON IRELAND!

Mute Patrick Buckley
    Favourite Patrick Buckley
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:22 PM

ENGLAND FTW!

Mute Patrick Buckley
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:43 PM

In the lead now!

Mute Patrick Buckley
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:57 PM

Boom baby!!!!

Mute Denis Casey
    Favourite Denis Casey
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:49 PM

Time in Toronto is 10:47a m.
    What time is kick off?

Mute Jordan Murphy
    Favourite Jordan Murphy
    Feb 22nd 2014, 3:56 PM

Starts at 16:00 GMT so that would be 11am in Toronto.

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    Feb 22nd 2014, 5:38 PM

Cmon Ireland

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne

Feeling nervous about this one folks I predicted last week it woukd be 35-5 to Ireland this one predicting 14-19 ireland.

Mute Conor O'Brien
    Favourite Conor O'Brien
    Feb 22nd 2014, 7:08 PM

Is it just me or are we far FAR too keen on cross field kicking/kicking through? Seriously, for every instance when these tactics work there’s ten times when they don’t, I think sometimes we’d be far better just keeping the f*cking ball in hand and going through the phases…

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:55 PM

Next score wins… :-/

Mute Shane O'Donnell
    Favourite Shane O'Donnell
    Feb 22nd 2014, 4:59 PM

Nail biter, could be 13-0 so 3-0 is not too bad.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman

I think we are going to own the breakdown the rest is history

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a comment

cancel reply