“I’M NOT GOING to lie to you,” Lance Armstrong says in ESPN’s new documentary LANCE. “I’m going to tell you my truth.”
It will always take a leap of faith for anyone to believe a man guilty of perpetuating one of the biggest lies in sporting history for as long as he did.
Over the course of nearly three-and-a-half hours – screened in two parts with the first to be available via ESPN Player from May 25 – director Marina Zenovich seeks to tell a definitive version of the tale with the help of friends, family, former team-mates, officials and journalists – and the man himself.
Armstrong sat down for a series of interviews which took place between March 2018 and the summer of 2019, inviting the film crew into his home and along for the ride as some of the lingering legal cases resulting from his deception rumbled on.
Two decades on from the start of David Walsh’s work exposing Armstrong’s fraud and seven years after the Texan finally admitted to Oprah Winfrey that it was true, this is by now a well-told story: beating cancer, seven Tour ‘wins’ between 1999 and 2005, the huge foundation that Livestrong became, and the unrelenting lies and intimidation that accompanied it all before he was stripped of his titles.
Unsurprisingly major revelations are thin on the ground; those there are perhaps highlighted by the discovery that Armstrong has never in his life peeled a potato and, considering the evidence, probably should not try.
The inspiring rise and dramatic fall from grace.@30for30's 'LANCE' is coming May 25th on ESPN Player 📺 pic.twitter.com/iCF7AQmN3o
— ESPN Player (@espnplayer) May 14, 2020
But we learn most about Armstrong’s state of mind – both at the time and also now, all these years later. And that mindset has not shifted all that much.
He sticks to his guns. His defence – amounting to little more than ‘everyone else was doing it so why couldn’t we?’ – should attract little sympathy but his former team-mates paint the same picture of cycling’s darkest days.
Former USA Cycling chief executive Derek Bouchard-Hall says he was one of the “clean” riders who missed out due to his refusal to dope, yet later says of Armstrong’s seven Tour ‘wins’ that “all the praise we put upon him was well deserved”.
Armstrong does now accept he should be apologetic to a handful of individuals for his cruel abuse. Asked what was the worst thing he had ever done, he said it was calling former soigneur Emma O’Reilly – whose revelations put the first cracks in his story – “a whore”.
But the bully in Armstrong remains on show as others still get both barrels, none more so than Floyd Landis, the former team-mate who pointed the finger at Armstrong after being stripped of his own 2006 Tour win.
Ultimately, Armstrong remains obstinate about his actions. Empathy for those he made suffer is in short supply.
“I wouldn’t change a thing,” he says, repeating a line he has parroted before.
I needed a f****** nuclear meltdown, and I got it.”
Early in the film, viewers are warned by two of the journalists who followed the story most closely to be wary of Armstrong trying to use the film to make people feel sorry for him.
But by the end, he simply cuts a sorry figure.
It is a complicated story, and the work of Armstrong’s foundation in the fight against cancer cannot be dismissed, but his defiant stance 15 years on from his final Tour “victory” is ultimately just sad.
“All I can do is say I’m sorry and move on,” he says. “And hope that others do too.”
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!
Giroud celebrating a late equaliser to a minnow like they won the league again. Stop wasting time and take the ball out of the net and run back to the centre circle ya big eejit. Shows the arsenal state of mind and expectations these days.
@Brian: awaiting jordo to respond..
“f*ck off ur talkin Sh*t, Arsenil iz de best 2k17″ while calling you are barstooler, the Irony is lost on him.
@Jigz: anytime spurs drop points you are no where to be seen on this you gobshi*e
@Brian: he did the exact same thing last year when he equalised against Bournemouth in the 4-4. About 3 minutes left, Bournemouth rattled and he runs off to do his scorpion celebration. Rage enducing
Lacashit doing what he does best again today. Nothing.
@FPL Thommo: still better than flopkaku
@Jordo: How so?
@Dave Murray: same amount of league goals, and it’s Lacazette’s first season in the prem. Lacazette’s movement and all round play is better than lukakus in my opinion
@David Mc Nally: your talking absolute shi**
Lads no point cant argue with the resident 42,ie village idiot. More chance of getting a better debate from a wooden plank.
@Jordo: so are you !
@Jigz: stick to American football you cun*
@Jordo: bit salty pal?
@FPL Thommo: not salty at all. You’ve been proved wrong as per usual. Stick to the fantasy
@FPL Thommo: c’mon, you know by now, as long as you say nice pleasant things about Arsenal, you’ll be fine with him…
@FPL Thommo: 2 assists for flopkaku for city’s goals so far
Terrible result but st Mary’s has always been our bogey ground. How Wenger didn’t go 4-3-3 from the start with Wilshere in midfield is beyond me. Can’t believe Mertesacker started
I was reading recently that if you count accumalatively the goals/minutes ratio in Europe’s major leagues, Giroud runs away with it.
Like light years ahead of the even the Ronaldos, Lewandoskis, Suarezs, Messi, etc. Something like a goal an hour or something.
@Havid Dickey: I forgot to add it was accmalatively over the past 5 years.
There’s some big games today, why waste article space on this?
2-0 down after 10 minutes to united. 10 training sessions later and Arsenal go 1-0 down after 3 minutes. Defence terrible again. Bellerin terrible. Alexis terrible again, he’s now given the ball away SIXTY SIX times in the last 2 games and doesn’t want to be there but Wenger won’t drop him and blames time wasting for another poor performance. If city beat united today arsenal will be closer to the bottom of the table than the top. But hey careful what you wish for, there’s no manager in the world better than Wenger…
@Tom49: Alexis was poor again but no one is giving him credit for his cross to Giroud
@Jordo: with the talent Sanchez has, it’s what you expect to be honest.
@Jordo: doesn’t make up for his crap performances. Arsenal need to flog him in January and play someone who is interested. I don’t know what your stance is on the manager but I doubt we’ll even get Europe next season. I hope the changes behind the scenes are the start off the end for Wenger. Need new ideas and new blood badly
@Tom49: Wenger since last season. How Wilshere didn’t start today with 4–3-3 is beyond me
@Jordo: out*
Lookin forward to shearers view on this
Don’t know what all the talk is about vandyke thought he was very poor, especially for the goal.
@Martin McKenna: Van dijk*
@Jordo: sad
The Arsenal were robbed. Southampton with their anti football and kicking lumps out of Laca & Sanchez. Why are refs such bottle jobs against us Goons?? Frustrating.
@Whatshisname: stop going on about the refs. Wenger’s team selections is the problem
@Whatshisname: but we should’ve had a penalty