LAST UPDATE | 16 Aug 2019
HOME FAVOURITE STEPHANIE Meadow holds a share of the lead at the ISPS Handa World Invitational in Northern Ireland, while Leona Maguire is just a shot adrift heading into the weekend.
Meadow followed yesterdayโs opening-round 70 with a one-under 71 on Friday to put herself in a strong position to challenge on home soil in Ballymena.
The 27-year-old, who plays on the Symetra Tour in America, is joined on four-under at the top of the leaderboard by Manon De Roey, while Maguire is part of a group on three-under.
This event is a first for European golf as the menโs and womenโs tournaments are brought together on the same courses, with the players battling it out for separate titles, but equal prize funds.
Meadow finished her second round with three birdies in the closing four holes to propel herself to the top of the leaderboard.
โโI canโt tell you how much it means for all of these people to come out and watch me,โ she said.
โThereโs just genuine joy from people to see me out here regardless if I win or not, so itโs very special and Iโm very touched.โ
In the menโs Challenge Tour event, Englandโs Todd Clements leads the way on seven-under, while Josh Hill is best of the Irish on three-under.
Who will be on the plane to Japan? Bernard Jackman joins Murray and Gavan to map out the Irish depth chart. We also rank the best national anthems, and Murray sits down with Peter OโMahony.
The42 Rugby Weekly / SoundCloud
Go on the dubs! Take that, "kingdom", or whatever ye call yerselvesโฆ
Well done Dublin great game.
Well done to the Tipperary minors and to the Dubs. Football just got interesting again!! :))
The jacks are back, well done Dublin fantastic team effort and thank fully we just edged a close game with Kerry.
Living as I do approx 3 miles from SAMs ancestral home I much prefer for the cup named after him to be temporarily resident in Dublin rather than Kerry. Well done the Dubs.
Well done to Dublin. They best team on the day & great comeback against us. To be the best, you got to beat the best
Bless the Dubs, O Lord we pray, keep them on their winning way. Bless the colours, worn with pride, from Ballybough to Stepaside. Bless the banners and the flags, not to mention all the gags. Bless Gilroy too, the uncrowned king, let his name around Croke Park sing. Bless Bernard Brogan in the square, kicking points from everywhere. Bless Cluxton too, that agile ace, who guards his goal with style and grace. Bless the man with all the go, the dashing, dauntless, Cullen yoo. Bless the fans, that faithful throng, keep their voices loud and strong. Bless next All-Ireland final day, be sure the Dubs will rule OK
Well done, damn ye!
McMenamin made some impact when he came on! Great performance by the Dubs, fully deserved to win! Coppers will be hopping tonight!
Gutted, but fair play to the dubs.They played to their potential, and we didnโt. Agus sin e.
Kerry will win Iโd say, Dublin will be fair disappointed to come away with nothing, not even the minor!
What the hell was wrong with Cluxton? running down the tunnel and not joining in the celebrations and generally looking miserable after the match and in the hotel on the Sunday gameโฆwhats up there??
As much as Iโd love a Dublin win, I think Kerry will be too clinical towards the end. Conditions have opened it up a bit though.
Gee Adrian!
Even from Kathmanduโฆ I reckon you photo caption needs adjustment!
COME ON THE DUBS GREAT WIN