Advertisement
Westmeath's Alan Cox and Darragh Clinton celebrate after tonight's victory over Kilkenny. Delvin GAA

Westmeath stun Kilkenny in the Leinster U21 hurling quarter-finals

There were also victories for Offaly and Carlow in tonight’s other games.

WESTMEATH HAVE CAUSED a huge upset tonight by knocking Kilkenny out of the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 Hurling Championship.

Warren Casserly’s goal early in the second half was the crucial score as the Lake County secured a famous 1-11 to 0-12 win against Eddie Brennan’s hotly-tipped Cats side at Cusack Park in Mullingar.

Westmeath led by 0-9 to 0-8 at half-time, with seven of their points coming from the stick of Darragh Clinton (who scored 0-8 of their 1-11 total in the end). The Cats drew level after the restart before Casserly struck for the only goal of the game.

Despite registering just two more points for the remainder of a tense second half, Westmeath remained in the ascendancy.

With just a couple of points between the teams entering additional time, Kilkenny were awarded a penalty but their attempt missed the target and Westmeath emerged victorious.

Scheduled for 15 June, Westmeath will now go on to a semi-final meeting with the winners of the fourth quarter-final between Dublin and Wexford, which takes place next Wednesday night.

In tonight’s other two quarter-finals, Offaly comfortably saw off the challenge of Kildare in Newbridge, while Carlow had a couple of points to spare over Laois at Newtwatch Cullen Park.

Offaly and Carlow are now scheduled to square off in the second semi-final on 22 June.

Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 Hurling Championship quarter-finals

Westmeath 1-11 Kilkenny 0-12
Offaly 5-22 Kildare 1-12
Carlow 1-17 Laois 1-15

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Richie Hogan set to miss Kilkenny’s Leinster opener due to injury

Dublin star Michael Darragh Macauley on fitness, basketball and ‘bench pressing houses’

Close
79 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Aideen Thornton
    Favourite Aideen Thornton
    May 25th 2016, 9:04 PM

Well done Westmeath!

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    May 25th 2016, 11:02 PM

Ahh this is just great stuff. Well done Westmeath from a Galway man.
    I’m worried now about next week as if I wasn’t already worried!!

Mute Fergal Nannery
    Favourite Fergal Nannery
    May 25th 2016, 9:04 PM

Fair play to Westmeath.

Mute John Carroll
    Favourite John Carroll
    May 25th 2016, 9:08 PM

I was at the game!! Unbelievable heart and determination shown by Westmeath…

Mute Darragh O'Grady
    Favourite Darragh O'Grady
    May 25th 2016, 9:31 PM

John, you were at Zumba with me tonight. Stop fishing for likes.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    May 25th 2016, 9:15 PM

Great win for them, the seniors are playing very well as well at the moment.

Mute gary sheehan
    Favourite gary sheehan
    May 25th 2016, 9:13 PM

There won’t be a cow milked in Westmeath tonight

Mute Sean Minogue
    Favourite Sean Minogue
    May 25th 2016, 9:50 PM

Yes there will we milked tonight.

Mute sean nihill
    Favourite sean nihill
    May 25th 2016, 9:19 PM

What a great result . Well done to all involved.

Mute David Gavigan
    Favourite David Gavigan
    May 25th 2016, 9:17 PM

The year of the underdog. If Connacht win on Saturday, I’m putting a tenner on Mayo and Waterford for the all-irelands.

Mute Paul P O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul P O'Sullivan
    May 25th 2016, 10:51 PM

That would be a nice 47/1 double. You have to do it now you have said it!

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    May 25th 2016, 11:09 PM

The only thing is Mayo and Waterford are hardly underdogs. Both are regulars at the semi stage and have had their chances of AIs recently.
    Cavan in football and Wexford in hurling would be underdogs

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute David Gavigan
    Favourite David Gavigan
    May 25th 2016, 11:50 PM

Agreed that their not necessarily underdogs but both have been waiting over 60 years for all Ireland glory,..hence why it’s a 47/1 shot.

Mute Bob Doran
    Favourite Bob Doran
    May 25th 2016, 9:07 PM

Analyze That – Eddie ..bet you’d see that coming…..As Media pundits say “waiting in de long-grass my Arse”

Mute The Big Paw
    Favourite The Big Paw
    May 25th 2016, 9:24 PM

Which media pundits say “waiting in de long-grass my Arse”?

Mute Deterlanger
    Favourite Deterlanger
    May 25th 2016, 9:28 PM

That happens when you believe well done westmeath great for hurling gives alot of hope to the so called weaker counties

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington
    May 26th 2016, 6:31 AM

More likely it happens from hard work and dedication to your cause! Belief is definitely a factor though, let’s hope we see a shredding of the rule book on who can beat who in the next few years!

Mute Buff Egan
    Favourite Buff Egan
    May 25th 2016, 9:51 PM

That has to Go Down as 1 of The Greatest Shocks of all time. Kilkenny Won the Minor All-Ireland 2 years ago with many of that team. What an incredible Result

Mute David o'neill
    Favourite David o'neill
    May 25th 2016, 10:15 PM

Congrats Westmeath from a kk man by the sounds of it well deserved !!!!

Mute Seán McCarthy
    Favourite Seán McCarthy
    May 25th 2016, 10:19 PM

Fair play daithi! Very sporting!

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    May 25th 2016, 9:25 PM

Good lads , keep her lit now, and win it out.

Mute Alan Ronayne
    Favourite Alan Ronayne
    May 25th 2016, 9:49 PM

Who kicked Eddie Brennan up the arse? Westmeath did

Mute Shane McDonnell
    Favourite Shane McDonnell
    May 25th 2016, 9:13 PM

Delighted for Eddie Brennan

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic
    May 25th 2016, 9:19 PM

Hardly a need for that.

Mute Cathal McDonald
    Favourite Cathal McDonald
    May 25th 2016, 9:20 PM

Stay classy Shane. Congrats Westmeath

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Irin Flynn
    Favourite Irin Flynn
    May 25th 2016, 9:56 PM

Comment tells us more about your own classless character than anything else! Brennans a nice and decent man,never remember him being rude or ignorant

Mute Shane McDonnell
    May 25th 2016, 10:11 PM

Deffo a need for it. The way he trys to interrogate when on Sunday game and his references to Barry kelly as a referee are disgraceful. What was it he once said. Barry kelly has refereed us 5 times and we have lost 5. That can’t be a coincidence. Also the chap hates tipp with a vengeance and can’t analyse a performance by them on the Sunday game by giving credit. I think alot has to do with tipp stopping the 5 in a row. He seems to still hold a grudge

Mute The Big Paw
    Favourite The Big Paw
    May 25th 2016, 10:18 PM

The whole of Kilkenny hates Tipp with a venegence (and so do most of your neighbours) and your an example of why, so you can’t really hold that against Eddie in fairness.

Mute Shane McDonnell
    May 25th 2016, 10:20 PM

When ur a analyst on the Sunday game that’s where the difference is. Also he’s comments on Twitter and Sunday game over time in relation to Barry kelly are scandalous.

Mute Shane McDonnell
    May 25th 2016, 10:28 PM

A very good analyst comes across as calm and composed and most importantly impartial when commenting on the days games

Mute Irin Flynn
    Favourite Irin Flynn
    May 25th 2016, 10:30 PM

Barry Kelly: is his own opinion and thats what he paid for.Hating Tipp…….he might,he might not.But considering he’s a sporting man I doubt it very much about “a vengence”.Everyone in Kilkenny applaudes Tipps brilliant win in 2010 even though they were on the loosing team.Shane,I dont think he is the one with a grudge or a chip on his shoulder to be honest

Mute Shane McDonnell
    May 25th 2016, 10:30 PM

Well done to Westmeath. Brilliant win

Mute Irin Flynn
    Favourite Irin Flynn
    May 25th 2016, 10:33 PM

Pat Spillane is great analyst……..so your theory there is blown out of the water!

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    May 25th 2016, 10:33 PM

Time to stop digging McDonnell. The likes of u are the reason that Cody and Kilkenny love to beat Tipp time and time again. Still going on about 2010? It’s no wonder ye have only won 1 All Ireland in 15 years.

Mute Shane McDonnell
    May 25th 2016, 10:35 PM

Lol I’m on about Eddie Brennan not 2010

Mute Shane McDonnell
    May 25th 2016, 10:37 PM

I have often heard pat Spillane criticise kerry play and kerry players

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    May 25th 2016, 11:00 PM

He can’t hate tipp that much he did marry one of them

Mute David Delahunty
    Favourite David Delahunty
    May 25th 2016, 11:01 PM

Explain to me so why all of KK as you put it hate Tipperary oh and most of their neighbours aswell?

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    May 25th 2016, 11:06 PM

If agree with the Barry Kelly comments. He had been very harsh.
    However I feel Cody has drilled that into them. Kelly now is cautious when Reffing KK games as he feels under pressure.
    Aside from that Brennan is a genuine lad. As I said he is brainwashed like the rest of KK by the gospel according to Brian.

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    May 25th 2016, 11:50 PM

You’re not called Spud for nothing. Not much between the ears with a comment like that.

Mute Declan O'meara
    Favourite Declan O'meara
    May 26th 2016, 1:19 AM

Iron Flynn, people in kk applauded tipp in 2010 ? They did in their bolliox and they trying to make history

Mute Declan O'meara
    Favourite Declan O'meara
    May 26th 2016, 1:39 AM

James Quinn, he never mentioned what you are spouting , but if you want to go back to 2010 what a day , what an amazing game to watch the living shit hammered out of ye with all yer bull shit of yer drive for 5 , ye sickened the whole country with all the cameras at training and the cocky attitude such shit was never seen before or since

Mute Mervyn Queally
    Favourite Mervyn Queally
    May 26th 2016, 5:18 AM

Hammered us in 2010, don’t know what match you were watching. Only couple of points in it near full time and pulled away in injury time. Think it was best thing ever to happen us really cause we have beaten living shit out of Ye ever since

Mute The Big Paw
    Favourite The Big Paw
    May 26th 2016, 7:29 AM

Tipperary people’s complex concerning Kilkenny training sessions always fascinates me, the media interest, the numbers that go to watch, it all seems to really irk Tipp people. Why should it matter?

Even for a ‘once-a-decade’ team like Tipp, resting on past laurels mainly from a time where hurling was a completely different game, this insecurity shouldn’t exist?

Surely if they are genuine rivals to Kilkenny little things like the attendance at Kilkenny trainings wouldn’t mean so much to them?

Mute anthony campion
    May 26th 2016, 7:50 AM

Ah the few beers down ya makes all that bo((ocks you spew true does it, pat shortt has no need to look for inspiration with clowns like yourself around

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    May 26th 2016, 8:18 AM

He never mentioned it O Meara? He said Eddie still holds a grudge with Tipp after they won in 2010? Ye are a funny lot, always go back to it. 2 All Irelands in 25 years shows Tipp are more fond of talking about it on a high stool than doing it on the pitch. Plenty of bottles on the shelf, no bottle on the pitch!

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    May 26th 2016, 10:43 AM

I’m a Kildare man but I have to admit any Tipp people I know that live in my locality all have a very bitter and aggressive streak in them, is it no wonder that the Michael Lowry and Alan Kelly hail from Tipp probably two of the most despised Irish politicians of modern times?.

Mute george holmes
    Favourite george holmes
    May 26th 2016, 10:45 AM

What are ya on about, sure it wasn’t Kilkenny people that braught the cameras to training, it was the media wanting to see the greatest hurling team off all time going for the drive for 5. Ye won and fair play to ye for it, but Yer not half bitter in tipp, ye won that all Ireland, nothing since mind you, and yer still not happy.

Mute anthony campion
    May 26th 2016, 11:42 AM

He hasn’t reffed many KK games in the last while,since he gave bubbles a shot at glory

Mute David Delahunty
    May 26th 2016, 1:07 PM

So every Tipp person is bitter & agressive William? Please don’t let a few idiots,that are plentiful in every county, tar us all with the one brush. KK have taken hurling to all new levels over the past 20 years. They are the team to beat & make every other team raise their game as a result. Without them hurling would be far less competitive. Also as role models they are beyond reproach. Humble men on & off the field.

Mute Declan O'meara
    Favourite Declan O'meara
    May 28th 2016, 1:04 AM

James at least I have the manners to address you by your first and last name , I see the ignorance and where it comes from and I am not surprised

Mute Kieran Fennelly
    Favourite Kieran Fennelly
    May 28th 2016, 9:10 PM

Eddie Brennan has a right to call things as he sees it with barry kelly’s refeering, Kelly has been under a fair few controversial decisions that past few years. As for Tipp, in 2014 Eddie had his young lad at the all ireland and the young lad was given some abuse by drunk Tipp supporters on the Luas before the match.

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    May 25th 2016, 9:34 PM

Kilkenny hammered by Wexford in U21 last year. Now beaten by Westmeath tonight. Do they just not care about this grade, or is it a sign of trouble starting to brew?

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    May 25th 2016, 11:11 PM

They really should have won minor last year so it’s business as usual. If it continued for 5 years id say maybe. It won’t

Mute Jack Fogarty
    Favourite Jack Fogarty
    May 25th 2016, 11:16 PM

There out of the minor this year sure already. Dublin beat them

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    May 25th 2016, 9:45 PM

Both Kilkenny minors and U21 teams finished for the year in May. The signs are not good for the seniors. Fair play to Westmeath tonight.

Mute Seán McCarthy
    Favourite Seán McCarthy
    May 25th 2016, 10:18 PM

Fingers crossed, hungry hoors have won enough!

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    May 25th 2016, 10:38 PM

Don’t get your hopes up. Beating the minors and u21 teams is one thing, beating Cody and the seniors is another.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Seán McCarthy
    Favourite Seán McCarthy
    May 25th 2016, 11:13 PM

In a few years James, hopefully Cody will pack it in soon, give someone else a shot.

Mute Aimoo
    Favourite Aimoo
    May 26th 2016, 2:22 AM

Hopefully they give Eddie Brennan a shot.

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    May 25th 2016, 9:34 PM

Delighted for Westmeath . This will be remembered for many a year in Westmeath ,hopefully this is the start of something big in hurling.

Mute Darragh Brennan
    Favourite Darragh Brennan
    May 25th 2016, 10:24 PM

Well done lads, savage result.

Mute Now or Never
    Favourite Now or Never
    May 25th 2016, 9:36 PM

Wow!! Savage surprise win, congrats Westmeath, Nice to see the underdog come out on top, certainly won’t fear anyone now! Kilkenny took it for granted??

Mute Gearoid Harrington
    Favourite Gearoid Harrington
    May 25th 2016, 10:40 PM

Anyone know what price Westmeath were?

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    May 25th 2016, 11:17 PM

Kk were 1/66 is all I remember.

Mute Jack Fogarty
    Favourite Jack Fogarty
    May 25th 2016, 11:18 PM

Westmeath were 11-1. Carlow were 4-1. Did Carlow myself, as for Westmeath I couldn’t see it happening. But fair play, delighted for them.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Shane O Reilly
    Favourite Shane O Reilly
    May 25th 2016, 11:31 PM

Had 30 on westmeath at 40/1. My cousin on the team gave me the shout a few days ago that they were worth a punt. I’ve decided to retire young. Thanks for the cheese.

Mute Aimoo
    Favourite Aimoo
    May 26th 2016, 2:21 AM

Link to that bet?

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    May 25th 2016, 9:35 PM

Winners of Wexford v Dublin in other quarter final next week have to be hot favourites for the title now

Mute Aimoo
    Favourite Aimoo
    May 26th 2016, 2:26 AM

See where hot favourites got the team tonight.

Mute CityJoggingIrishTour
    Favourite CityJoggingIrishTour
    May 25th 2016, 10:02 PM

Cork for da double lads, put a tenner via paddy power earlier.!!! I’m telling you…you heard it hear first. Ok I’ll get my coat:(

Mute Seán McCarthy
    Favourite Seán McCarthy
    May 25th 2016, 10:07 PM

That’s class!

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    May 26th 2016, 4:17 AM

Go on the Lake county. Well done lads.

Mute Sean O Neill
    Favourite Sean O Neill
    May 26th 2016, 3:54 PM

Westmeath county board will be all over the U21s like flys on shite! They couldn’t give the minors a set of jerseys last year but I’d say there won’t be lack of gear now! Some win fair play to the lads

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    May 25th 2016, 11:20 PM

Congratulations to Westmeath, what a result. Wish there were more results like these in the seniors.

Mute David Delahunty
    May 26th 2016, 10:36 AM

Awful pity the number of clowns on here from both Tipp & KK talking utter scutter about each others teams. Just enjoy the sport & be humble in victory or defeat. Those lads give their all to represent ye.

Mute John Carroll
    Favourite John Carroll
    May 25th 2016, 11:25 PM

Limerick will win the U21 All Ireland again this yr they have most of last years team again unfortunately no money to be made here.

Mute Tomás Fenton
    Favourite Tomás Fenton
    May 25th 2016, 11:47 PM

Waterford are strong too

Mute Liam Ryan
    Favourite Liam Ryan
    May 26th 2016, 1:53 AM

Science is fu…end!!

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.