Updated at 14.55
DAVID BURNS HAD surely never felt happier or more relieved to see Cork.
Along with his fellow adventurer, Maghnus Collins, and with assistance from Phillip Hatton (Expedition Lead) and Leish McPartland (In-Water Support), Burns is attempting to swim the whole way around Ireland โ a challenge that has never been successfully undertaken by anyone ever.
The 1600km-long challenge has only been successfully undertaken in a relay format previously, and Burns โ a seasoned adventurer who has already ran 250km across the Sahara Desert, achieved the longest-ever distance kayaked on the Yangtse River, and completed 25 consecutive high-altitude marathons in 26 days across the Tibetan Plateau among other achievements โ aims to finish it in less than four months.
It hasnโt been easy by any means, but after one month, Burns, Collins and co remain on course to achieve this unprecedented feat.
โCork is our first big landmark โ itโs 300km or 160 nautical miles, so itโs the first time weโve really sat back and had a look at what weโve done rather than just keeping going and pushing every day.
โItโs been good, thereโs a huge amount weโve learned over time and had to correct as weโve gone and weโre pretty much still at that [level]. I suppose it gives you a bit of comfort just to know that itโs possible because weโve made it this far.โ
Moreover, this summer, Ireland enjoyed its driest June in 40 years, and while many might assume such conditions would be beneficial for Burnsโ challenge, it is not necessarily the case.
โItโs so different the weather weโre looking for,โ he explains. โPeople tell us that the weatherโs been brilliant โ for people at sea, itโs a lovely weekend, but we donโt look for dry conditions. Theyโre fairly irrelevant, sunshine doesnโt really make a difference, itโs really just the wind that youโre looking at and the wind direction.
โThe biggest thing for it is the wind against the tide. If weโre looking to go with the tide and the windโs coming against us, it only has to be gusting at about 20 knots, which isnโt particularly high, for it to be a really tricky day. Thatโs actually happened quite a lot, so itโs been quite a windy June, and it doesnโt need to be massive winds for it to create three-metre waves โ which you can imagine, are like a bus, coming at you.
โIt can really throw your stroke off although if theyโre not breaking on you, itโs not particularly dangerous, but it really slows you up. But weโve probably been quite lucky [overall].โ
And as someone who is well accustomed to taxing challenges, how does swimming around the country compare to cycling from Cape Town to Ireland (17,500 km) unsupported or running across the Sahara Desert?
(The team from left to right: Philip Hatton, David Burns, Maghnus Collins and Leisha McPartland)
โItโs completely different to anything Iโve done before,โ he says. โWhat was was really hard the first week is where youโre starting to just dread a day. I just wasnโt used to the mental side of it, having not done something in a long time.
โThe fact that your headโs down the whole time, youโre looking at the water, you donโt have any stimulus [to rely upon], you canโt really talk, you can see that people are with you, but for all intents and purposes, youโre by yourself.โ
โI think that just takes a bit of time to get used to, whereas running or cycling or kayacking, you pass by a few people, you can say hello, even if youโre struggling, you can see all this stuff that will stimulate you a bit. You donโt have any of that when youโre swimming.
โSo mentally, I found it very hard at the start and physically, it was very tough as well. But the fitness is starting to come and the mental side of it is starting to come as well.โ
With just one of the four months completed, Burns is aware that a further series of tough challenges await his team, and he cites Galway Bay and Donegal Bay, in particular, as potential pitfalls.
The weather, meanwhile, is another constant source of concern.
โWhatever it throws at you, youโre going to have to deal with, and it changes the day completely. Youโre going to have to have a really nice day in one place and even if youโre feeling very strong, if you have a bad day, itโs hard to get much progress done if youโre getting hits to the sides from waves and having a really bad day out there.
โWe may be a quarter of the way through, but because weโre so much at the mercy of the weather, itโs hard to put an accurate estimate on [when we'll finish].โ
In addition, the sheer exhaustion that this seismic task induces, coupled with the level of concentration thatโs consistently required, serves to highlight the scale of the teamโs ambition in even attempting the challenge in the first place.
โHaving four people in the right frame of mind [is important] โ a lot of our starts would be three in the morning, and everyone will be exhausted by the end of it. Weโd swim for up to four or five hours. Then you might have a double day, so youโd sleep during the day and be up again [at night].
โSo I think at the start, for everyone, the tiredness was a bit of a shock to the system. You get your morning session done and then sleep. Even on the boat, theyโd have an awful lot of jobs โ looking out for other boats, navigating to our direction, youโre [always] doing stuff.
โI donโt think we fully anticipated how much work thereโd be in the supporting role as well as our role, getting the boat in and out in bad conditions. Everythingโs kind of full-on for the five hours that youโd be there, so if you swim five hours, youโre probably getting out in your position for an hour, youโre probably getting changed for two hours of that and doing a bit of navigating, so it can be a 10-hour chunk to get five hours of swimming done โ itโs very tiring.
โItโs probably one of the biggest things โ how much preparation there is outside actual swimming.
โThereโs a big checklist of everything you have to do, and itโs not really an environment where you can afford to make mistakes. You have to tick every single box. Knowing that you have to be mentally on the ball every single day โ and the tiredness factor catching up with you [is tough].โ
Another challenge of a different sort is living in close proximity to a small group of people for such a lengthy period of time. Is this as intense and difficult as it sounds?
โEvery one of us has had a bad day so far where youโre not feeling your best, so a big part is staying together and not letting yourself get cranky and just being mindful [of others].
โWe talk about that a lot โ how we have to support each other. Although itโs only natural to feel inwardly a little bit annoyed โ all these things blow over.โ
When last speaking to The42 prior to setting off on the journey, Burns highlighted weight loss as another potential issue. And it is Collins, he says, who has suffered most in this regard.
โMaghnus has lost a lot of weight and would be lighter than me. We write down our weight every morning and evening, and he started at 77.4 and I started at 92.6 and heโs 2cm taller than me, so thereโs two stone difference โ heโs an awful lot lighter. He struggles to put on weight and thatโs been apparent from day one. He was getting much colder than I would get.
โI had a lot of fat on there at the start and I didnโt realise how important that is. Weโve both lost about three-quarters of a stone already, but itโs a much bigger deal for him than me. I havenโt had this weight in years โ since I used to play a lot of rugby. But Iโd have 10kg of fat, so Iโve lost half of that, but I still have a bit of protection, whereas Maghnus would be down to the bare minimum already, so itโs a lot tougher for him.
โHe has to really concentrate on getting food in every day and itโs a real struggle for him to be able to eat enough. Even though the temperature is coming up with the sea now, it still can be very cold for him.
โWeโd [sometimes] stop and just get food. Weโd get thrown in a light belt and youโd get a drink thrown out to you and a bit of chocolate or something thrown out to you as well, and you just take that in very quickly. Maghnus can only stop for less than a minute really, and heโll start to get very cold and have to keep going, so the fact that heโs losing weight is a problem for him, but for me itโs not [as big a problem].โ
Having been away from dry land for over a month now, Burns says itโs the simple pleasures that he misses the most.
โYou donโt really have weekends off or time off. Itโs always in the back of your mind. Youโre always in expedition mode when youโre away. When you see some people doing normal stuff for a weekend, having a couple of drinks in the evening โ you canโt really do that when youโre doing this.โ
However, the Derry native is keen to emphasise that the journey has had its fair share of positive moments, as well as difficult ones.
โThere have been some great days,โ he says. โOutside of our boats, there were five or six pods of dolphins coming at us and maybe 40 dolphins in total โ just off the coast of Rosslare.
โWe had the sun splitting in the sky that day. Suddenly the depth of water changes when you hit the Atlantic and you can see, the water seemed like 10 or 15 feet with quite a lot of wildlife. So those kind of days help to take away the monotony that you can have sometimes. So I suppose itโs nice that itโs not all grim.โ
The Swim 360 Team have begun their daunting expedition, swimming clockwise and south along the East coast of Ireland. Hyper weight loss and the constant threat of hypothermia are just two of the obstacles facing the team who aim to raise funds and awareness for their charity partners, the RNLI Lifeboats and Gorta Self Help Africa. The expedition is sponsored by Costcutter and you can find more info on it here.
Itโs always in those last 15 minutes that Kilkenny reaaaaally squeeze the life out of you
I like th ed reference to Squeeze there Mr Unknown. They even played โCool for Catsโ over the PA system at Croker !!!
A friend โtoldโ me this morning that Galway would win, โhowโ I replied, โthey are playing against a county whose players begin their hurling careers in the womb.โ
Frank how is that supposed to help Galway win?? ;)
I donโt get your point friend?
Oooh sorry, I thought your friend replied with the womb comment
I would only have given Galway a chance if they some managed to get 10 points up with 5 minutes to go. Even then it would be 50/50
Galway has womb for improvement.
โฆas do your jokes Diarmuid !!!
No matter your level of interest in hurling, and Iโve very little, you canโt help but have massive admiration for Brian Cody.
The greatest team GAA history.
galway blown away by kk physicality in second half had no answer to it , Joe canning went missing in second half when galway needed leaders
was holding his jaw at the end of the first half. i reckon he got a little dig . there was no good ball going into the forwards in the second half. not his fault. needed to be better prepared for the kk backlash at the start of the 2nd half.
I reckon he had a toothache
Jaysus, even the Kilkenny fans look bored of winning. The most lifeless all Ireland celebration ever, an awful shame Galway werenโt good enough
Galway completely collapsed in the second half. Very disappointing. Thatโs not Kilkennyโs problem though so well done to them. I suppose theyโre already odds on to win it again next year.
weโll see how lifeless it is in the marble city this evening. We never get tired of winning.
Hope you all have a marbleous time Kevin !!!
Kilkenny are like snakes and not cats. Specifically they are like boa constrictors. Struggling against them just allows them to tighten their gripโฆ
Yawnโฆ..itโd be nice if all those big men, at least played or tried another sport!
Are you by any chance from Cork?
All u thumbs down must be from Kilkenny. Rugby? Darts, boxing, rowing, footballโฆโฆanything anythingโฆ..does it get a little tediousโฆ.
YeahโฆโฆIโm from Corkโฆ.we need to focus in Cork, just like Kerry does on football and Kilkenny does on hurling. Of corse guys lets face itโฆ.Dublin are only good after they get an injection of culchie blood!
Sure all they know is hurling, no football, rugby, soccer. Is it the way the g a a wonโt allow those sports in that county???
This is Codyโs finest hour,he has rebuilt a team in twelve month having lost 38 all Ireland medal holders over the winter and still wins another title.Pure genius.We may be hated by the rest of the counties but Iโ proud to be from Kilkenny.Black and Amber forever.
Oh Galwayโฆ. It was yeres. Ye seemed to go to sleep at half time.
Itโs a boring championship now with kk winning over and over. Obviously I sound bitter (and I guess i am). But itโs all a bit dull how.
Well done kk.
Yes mary.. its boooooorrring to see kilkenny winning every year. But they are fantastic it has to be said. Maybe too fantastic
Kilkenny are supreme champions. All the other counties have to up their game. Kilkenny start at the grass roots, Its not one bit dull, only sour GRAPES. KIKENNY ABU SUPREME CATS.
Fair play ye deserve it. Coming form a cork men. Well done.
some contrast between first and second half
Kilkenny and Dublin/Kerry again. Yawn.
Dublin again?? Itโs not like they win with the same regularity as Kilkenny and Kerry in fairness.
Dublin? Dublin have been in 2 All Ireland Finals since 2000. Kilkenny have been in 12 and Kerry 10. Not sure how you can compare the 3.
Actually 2 weeks time will be Kerryโs 11th final since 2000.
Meow
Some celebration in Kilkenny tonight. What a class team they are. Congrats Kilkenny and unlucky Galway.
Celebration in Kilkenny I doubt it. As a Galway fan I left as the cup was being presented along with hundreds of Kilkenny fans. If Galway had won youโd have to drag me out of there at 9pm. At this stage itโs the norm for them and hence very little celebration.
Youโre obviously never in Kilkenny on an All-Ireland weekend
No Jamie Iโd be at the game
Gutted Galwayman here but you cant knock Kilkenny best team won.
As a Galway man Iโm disappointed but as a sports fan Iโm in awe of Cody and Kilkenny. Maith sibh. Beidh lรก eile ag Gaillimh. Nรก cรกilligรญ misneach.
You have to hand it them, but Iโm so sick of Kilkenny winning all the time. Their dominance is destroying this game.
This year was a little flat but it came on the back of 4 straight years of some of the most exciting championships in recent memory.
Yeah, youโre right in fairness. Probably overstated that. Just sick of KK, thatโs all
Problem solved try and beat Kilkenny, not Kilkennys fault they like to win All Irelands, Iโm sure the other teams like to win All Irelands too?,
Just turned off at the end far too used to kilkenny acceptance speeches
Youโve said,I said to those moaning about another Kilkenny win is,put fifteen guys on the pitch for seventy minutes and score more than we do and the cup yours.Simples.
So many wides by Galway when they had the momentum. Feck all of ye, I hope we go on and get 5 in a row. Cody is a hero. Kilkenny are making history and it will never be equalled again. Letโs just enjoy it!
If Galway had won there wouldnโt have been a single post on here lamenting the state of hurling, even though the health of the game is no different now than it was at 15:30 today
Same as always, Kilkenny dominate a second half after being outplayed in the first and do what Galway couldnโt when on top, take advantage. The best team have obviously won again but for the general overall interest in the championship nationwide, we need Kilkenny to be beaten for a while. Doesnโt look like itโs going to happen quite yet unfortunately.
Feckin Cats!! I mean Fair play!!
We are the bench mark, itโs yer job to rise to it!
God be with the day when it was great to see a team win an All Ireland. The best team won but itโs a pity for everyone else. They had to stage a celebration photo and then the team had to run around an empty stadium. Great to see you win another All Ireland, MY ARS and Iโm a Westmeston man.
Where in Westmeston are you from?!
East Westmeston.
Hi Barry
Is there any other Westmeston?
Kilkenny overpowering everyone with physicality. could have been a lot closerif Galway were less wasteful with wides. gaa should be ashamed of themselves, doubling ticket prices for a final. rip off
The money is well spent. Give it up
I looked to go to the Ireland wales rugby game. 60 quid was the cheapest for a challenge game ? try other sporting events pricing and its clear that 70 quid for an all Ireland ticket is not that bad
you canโt compare Brian cody to Alex ferguson I can understand when cody talks
Very poor second half
or the 2nd half didnโt go the way you wanted?
Iโm sure if Galway were winning by 12 points in the 2nd half it would be the greatest 2nd half of all time?
Kieran is right William, the second half was poor as a spectacle when compared with the first half, irrespective of who won. How many times did the ref have to throw the ball in following a ruckus? The game developed into a dog fight and there was only ever going to be one winner. KK not only superior hurling skills but weโre physically a lot stronger than Galway.
Iโm not sure what people were expecting most big hurling games these days are very physical encounters, Galway knew they had to match Kilkenny with intensity and more which they did in the first half, but once they started to wilt Kilkenny ruthlessly finished them off.
In stature Iโd say Galway pack much more physique than Kilkenny sloop?, a lot of this Kilkenny team are not giants.
Its been said before but hurling needs to be changed, get rid of the provincial championships.They have been pointless in Lenister for a long time and even in Munster it has lost its appeal small crowds etc.Go for open draw and then maybe if killkenny had to play a Clare in Thurles or Tipp in limerick in June maybe slowly things might change.
Well you Munster guys got a connaught team shoved into Leinster in your usual roundabout way to stop Kilkenny it hasnโt worked, what next .
Barry Kelly tried and done his level best but even the biased refereeing canโt stop Kilkenny which makes Kilkennys achievements all the more admiral because theyโve been playing 16 m3n for a long time now.
Red thumb away you Cork and Tipp men but its the truth
Well said
Nothing like a gracious victor. Should be off celebrating you sad man.
stupid comment.
Galway probably would have won if it had not been the clear second half bias towards Kilkenny>
Jasus some of the stuff Kilkenny got away in the 2nd half was ridiculious and that free that was given for tj reid falling in smith was a joke. and the tackle on collins when he was wrestled to the ground was another disgrace. Galway at the other end then had to be decapitated to win a free.
Love to see free count in 2nd half, clearly favoured kilkenny.
kilkenny dominated 2nd half cause ref allowed them away with murder.
I counted 6 frees galway should have got in the 2nd half and 3 frees kilkenny shouldnโt have got but the gaa love to see kilkenny win.
Really Dan ! , why wasnโt The Galway player red carded for pulling the helmet off of Colin Fennelly
The cat laughs festival is not till June 16 and this guy is practicing already :-)))
Lewis Hamilton has won the Grand Prix
Deadlyโฆ Iโm sure Rihanna is delighted.
My son won his under 15 soccer match this morningโฆ
To be fair a Tipp Kilkenny match would have been a better match, this was a little flat today, I also think Tipp would have taken it
Itโs always easy to beat Kilkenny when youโre not playing them,Tipp had their chance and also finished 2nd.There always the,what if? And might have,there is a easy way to beat Kilkenny,field fifteen guys who score more in seventy minutes than they do.Simples
Taken their beating yeah :-))
Egwene couldnโt find any fault with that Rand
Letโs face it if Kilkenny played the best of Ireland they would probably win. There are truly unique county when it comes to the game of hurling.
Why doesnโt anyone ask for Kilkenny to be slit like they ask Dublin to be split??
This is getting boring.