THE NEW ENGLAND Patriots squeezed past the New York Jets to give Tom Brady his 200th win on Sunday, and Cairo Santosโ kicked a 34-yard field goal with no time left as Kansas City stunned Denver.
Brady threw an eight-yard touchdown pass to Malcolm Mitchell with 1:56 remaining as the Patriots rallied from an early 10-point deficit to edge the Jets 22-17.
Brady completed 30-of-40 passes for 286 yards, and became the fifth quarterback ever to surpass 60,000 passing yards with an 18-yard completion in the second quarter to Julian Edelman.
He also earned his 200th career win, which ties him with the retired all-star Peyton Manning for the record by a quarterback.
The Patriots improved to 9-2 on the season and clinched their 16th straight winning season, the longest such stretch in the NFL since the Dallas Cowboys had 20 straight from 1966 to 1985.
The Patriots all-pro tight end Rob Gronkowski left the game in the first quarter due to a back injury and did not return.
Mitchell and Brady also joined forces for a four-yard score in the second quarter, while kicker Stephen Gostkowski booted three field goals.
NFL kickers earned their keep on Sunday, and no one did it more dramatically than Kansas City, who beat the Broncos 30-27 in overtime on Santosโ field goal with no time remaining.
Two OT field goals
Santosโ second field goal of the overtime pinballed off the left upright and stayed in as the Chiefs gave their playoff hopes a huge boost.
Quarterback Alex Smith twice drove the Chiefs to within field-goal range in overtime and engineered the game-tying touchdown drive and two-point conversion in the final moments of regulation.
โNone of these are gimmes, especially in a situation like that. It has been windy all night. I am just thankful it went through,โ said Smith.
The Chiefs overcame a three-touchdown performance by Broncos quarterback Trevor Siemian, including two scores in the fourth quarter, the last coming with three minutes left in regulation.
The win gives the Chiefs an advantage on Denver in the race for a playoff spot. Kansas City took over sole possession of second place and remains one game behind the AFC West-leading Oakland Raiders with five games on the season.
Denver attempted a 62-yard field goal in overtime that was well short, giving the Chiefs a final chance.
Kansas City took over at the Denver 48 with just over minute remaining in the overtime. Smith quickly drove the Chiefs down to the 16-yard line, setting up Santosโ winner.
โThat kid has a big leg. They tried it. But it gave us an opportunity and we were able to capitalize,โ Smith said of the failed 62 yard attempt.
In Oakland, Sebastian Janikowski kicked a 23-yard field goal with 1:45 left to lift the Raiders to a 35-32 victory over the Carolina Panthers.
Raiders quarterback Derek Carr had to overcome an injured pinky finger as he marched the Raiders 82 yards in 12 plays for Janikowskiโs game-winner and Oaklandโs fifth straight win.
Carr left the game at one point after injuring his right pinky while fumbling a snap.
His 49-yard pass to wide receiver Michael Crabtree set up the decisive field goal.
In Atlanta, Taylor Gabriel ran 35 and 25 yards for touchdowns on screen passes from Matt Ryan, and the Atlanta Falcons toppled the Arizona Cardinals 38-19.
Ryan completed 26-of-34 passes for 269 yards, and the Falcons maintained their hold on first place in the NFC South.
O gara is building quite the coaching cv. There canโt be many coaches out there that have a super rugby and a top 14 trophy in their first few years of coaching.
@Jim Demps: agreed but never in a head coach or dir of rugby position โ we often see good coaches and good players fail as managers โ I do hope I am wrong. The OโGara/POC ticket hasnโt been mentioned at all bar supporters. Who will be head coach? Who will be assistant? Both have aspirations
@Niall: Thatโs a weird comment to make. The lad has succeeded at every stage of his career and your contribution is โyeah but he hasnโt done this other thingโ.
@Niall: the head coach role will come. My point is that to have won so much in such a short term as a coach is remarkable. Just because he isnโt the head coach doesnโt mean he didnโt contribute to the team.
@Jim Demps: heโs picked two high profile, ambitious clubs too though. What would he be like coaching under 12s on a rainy night in Drumshambo?
@Martin Quinn: us guys? Find a comment where I say he should be the Irish head coach. Heโs enjoying his time as an assistant. Heโs learning from top class coaches. Heโs winning trophies. And heโs still in his early 40s. Thereโs plenty of time to become a head coach. I donโt see the point in even mentioning it for now. Should we stop celebrating underage teams victories because they havenโt done anything at senior level? Should we stop referring to players as good leaders if they arenโt the captain? This is silly logic.
@Rudiger McMonihan: totally agree, Jesus give the guy a chance
@Jim Demps: he won nothing leading a team !! Judge him on that and not being a coach โ it that sense, how many French coaches are due in a manager role? How many English guys are due a managers gig?!! Kidney was loved then absolutely destroyed, Schmidtโs head was also called for on here 2 years ago!!
@Rudiger McMonihan: yes , he hasnโt done the main thing โ be the main coach !! Be the head coach!! Be the boss!!
@Niall: nobody has said that he is the head coach though! What are you smoking?! Take a company for example, say there is someone in charge of a particular department and his department do very well that for many years in a row. Youโre basically saying he doesnโt deserve any praise because he isnโt the CEO. Get a grip man.
@Rudiger McMonihan: itโs an Irish problem. People just canโt say well done. Weโre a country full of begrudgers and small minded parish hallers.
Give him another year and then itโs time to see if he can cut it as a head coach somewhere. Iโm not sure how he could ever motivate players with that monotone voice though.
@Davedental: You do realize he uses that monotone voice like all others do when giving interviews? I can bet you a dime heโs a lot more vocal when doing his coaching.
@Davedental: Iโm pretty sure he could! He had the gall to call Sexton a nobody. He doesnโt give a hoot who ye are in that dressing room
@Davedental: not enough โRoyshesโ for you perhaps?
I think ROG is being very calculated with his career progression which is very clever but he is still going to have to make the leap pretty soon to head coach. Time will tellโฆ.
Leo Cullen and ROG could make a good pairing for Ireland post Schmidt.
@Gary: imagine โ Cullen, ROG, POC, Lancaster and Farrell โ sorry lads , I need a sit down
@Niall: POC will have to prove himself first. A great player doesnโt mean a great coach. Martin Johnson springs to mind. (In saying that POC is a man thatโll probably do whatever it takes to succeed. I hope he takes his time to get experience the way ROG is doing it.)
@Gary: heโs being smart about it in fairness. Heโs with the u20s at the moment and does seminars and sessions with the provinces and academies as far as I know. I donโt think heโll jump into a high profile coaching role until he feels qualified I reckon. He should do well hopefully.
@Gary: Is Leo there to make the tea?
@Robbie: The same Leo that led Leinster to a champions cup and pro16. Heโs first on the list as a replacement for Schmidt. Fact and stats donโt lie.
@Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer: joined stade this week as forwards coach.
@Gary: So the same job he has at Leinster, I donโt think Lancaster or Rog need him.
@Robbie: Ah, I see your angle now, youโre just a troll. Carry on then.
@Robbie: โ โ โ โ
Crusaders play a very similar style of rugby. Both play off lineout strike plays through Ryan/Whitelock. Both have oppressive defence and insane ruck speed. Super Rugby teams play crowd pleasing rugby, but the Lionsโ skills went up in smoke when up against world class linespeed. I canโt wait for Ryan vs Whitelock and Leavy vs Reid in November!
@Conor Alexander Lynott: *Similar style to Leinster
@Conor Alexander Lynott: no they donโt. They are polar opposites in how they play especially in broken field. Leinster play a beet conservative style of rugby.
@Conor Alexander Lynott: they would hammer Leinster every day of the week โ donโt kid yourself
@Leo Erah: Conservative style of rugby? You obviously havenโt watched Leinster this season so. Have a look at Jack Conan and Larmourโs tries against the Scarlets in the pro14 final and McFaddenโs try in the European semi final and weโll talk then haha.
@Niall: I never said anything about who would beat who, I compared rugby styles. Weโll never know who would beat who cos the fixture isnโt going to happen. Off with ye, now, good boy.
@Conor Alexander Lynott: you can add rugby to the long list of sports you seem to know nothing about
@Mel Roberts: Enlighten us, then, how can Ireland beat the All Blacks in November? How do you maintain a balance in the defence when the speed of All Black ruck ball is so fast and the poachers are so brilliant that they donโt allow defences to reallign? Im sure Joe Schmidt craves your World Class imput.
@Fracko: Nah, this is way too much fun. Long live rugby.
If Leinster are so conservative then why did they have the highest number of tries scored in the pro14 for the last 2 seasons, while they conceded more tries than 4 teams this year and 3 teams the year before. Same thing in the Heineken Cup: most tries scored, yet a bunch of teams had tighter defences.
@Fracko: I never the exact same, I said similar haha
@Martin Quinn: In fairness, I think it was only Niall who suggested that Leinster couldnโt beat the Crusaders. Some others commented on their style being different/ more conservative. And it seems to me that Leinster prize ball retention while the Crusaders offload a lot more. Doesnโt mean Leinster wouldnโt win
@Kevin Ryan: I think European rugby in general is more conservative than super rugby. However, Leinster is definitely one of the most expansive teams in Europe. They are constantly trying to score tries. They also put a big focus on unstructured play like the kiwis do. Weโll never get to see the two teams face off unfortunately, but we will see Ireland vs the All Blacks, which I can not wait for
@Rudiger McMonihan: Basicaly my original point, but weโll let that pass
@Conor Alexander Lynott: ignorance is a dangerous thing
@Conor Alexander Lynott: yeah ive been agreeing with you and disagreeing with the people who say leinster are conservativeโฆ
@Rudiger McMonihan: Fair enough, Iโll take that back.
Ulster probably better off without Jantjies, although some of the fault can be blamed on those around him, he still didnโt impress.
@SilexFlint: Theyโre absolutely better off without him. Not only is he incredibly inconsistent, but heโll be missing for part of the season for Springboks duty. Ulster fans should be delighted but instead they used his non signing as some sort of evidence of IRFU bias towards Leinster.