IRISH MODERN PENTATHLETES Natalya Coyle and Arthur Lanigan O’Keeffe defended their mixed relay title and took home gold from the World Cup final in Lithuania yesterday.
Having won the competition in the USA last year, the duo dominated once again in Vilnius. They set out on the final laser-run event in the lead, having built up a 23-second advantage.
Coyle, originally from Meath, ran the first two laps of 800m — both included firing at five targets — and kept Ireland’s lead over the chasing pack.
Lanigan O’Keeffe then held off stiff French competition during his efforts, and sprinted clear on his final lap.
Up until the laser-run, it had been a positive day for the two-time Olympians.
They started strong in the pool. Training under a new fencing coach, Walid Sayed from Egypt, Coyle and O’Keeffe then claimed 19 victories to top the pile and impress in that discipline, and they took hold of the competition in the riding.
“Pretty much a dream day from start to finish,” a delighted Lanigan O’Keeffe said afterwards. “We’re delighted with that to be honest. A brilliant day.”
“I’d say that was the hardest relay we’ve ever done, a stacked field from top to bottom. We were going into it going, wooh, this one could be tough, and it was, but we are delighted to beat that field today.”
Later this summer will see them compete in the European and World Championships, and Ireland will be favourites to impress considering yesterday, and other recent displays.
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!
Savage comeback,the commentary from the two boys,probably made the Video tho
Some craic bucko. Did one of the boys say he nearly fell over the balcony?
Go on the rebels!!
Thought it was the viper commentating for the first part of the video.
“…..as the stagger unwindsssssaaaaahhhh…..”
drugs
@ assel that’s the Olympics. Cheat to win
Outstanding, 4×400 rely always a great race.
Did anyone see your one on the second lap about a 100 meters out from the baton change. A screw this I’m tired there all passing me
Some face plant at the end!!
Victorious face plants are the sweetest.
What the story doesn’t tell u is that Finn had run a 3000metre stepplechase not long before this race in under 10mins!!!,so she was running on very tired legs
You can’t spell success without UCC
God, that’s cringe!
One of the best finishes I ever saw.Take a bow Phil Healy.
Did the one running last from dcu have an invisible wheelbarrow full of cement or what??twas only 1 lap!!
Unbelievable Jeff.
Glad for her that it was caught on film to explain the carpet burns on her face.
Never give up…never surrender. Commentators and UCC team take a bow!!
She won’t be wearing heels in the grand hotel Malahide later
Credit to all. Fantastic race.
That’s was a great win. Congrats to Healy! From the depths of hell!
get her on the plane to Rio
Unbelievable
haha, fooking amazing – was on the edge of my seat. Commentators are amazing!
Jesus h that was some race!
Wow, what a race and what a comeback from the depths of hell. Well done that girl.
What a relay! If you want to hear the same commentators in a more laconic pace, check out the 3000m walk at the same meet. It’s a bit long but dripping in sarcasm! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9j6U3eZGEk8&feature=youtu.be
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9j6U3eZGEk8&feature=youtu.be
@Michael o’Reilly Ha ha, that was class… “The chocolate Medal”
Thank you michael. That made my day
Peds
What?
Performance Enhancing Drugs
Reminds of the Brazil soccer commentator years ago brilliant!
Team in red a distant 5th at the final handover. Incredible. Was the yellow team’s slowest put out last?
That was absolutely incredible. Great effort from Finn who’s a steeplechaser if I’m not mistaken whereas Healy is a sprinter. Never give up is the moral there I think.
Can’t wait to hear from these boys for the Olympics, funny stuff. Make it happen lads.
Fair play to all the girls.. that was some battle..
Holy shit
LOL he’s the Gary neville of athletics!!!
it wasn’t an amazing comeback. the one in front was just slow. she finished last in the end.
Philamonster
The girl who way in front last lap, finished last !!
Phil Healy? I’m guessing Phil is a boy?
Short for Philomena
The day Conor mcgregor retired. A new hero born. Talent bursting at the seems.
Waisted last 5 mins of lunch watchin that
@tom doyle..what a waste, when you could have been watching something else..better luck next lunchtime.
What drama?
Nearly fell off the couch laughing.