Advertisement
Bryan Keane/INPHO

Munster centre Sam Arnold itching for chance to get Irish opportunity

Arnold gave a superb display and scored two tries for the province last weekend.

MUNSTER CENTRE SAM Arnold believes the experience of being involved in Joe Schmidtโ€™s rigorous Ireland camp prior to the Six Nations is a stepping stone to international honours

Arnold gave a superb display and scored two tries for Munster in their 33-5 bonus point PRO14 victory over Zebre at Thomond Park last weekend.

The 21-year-old former Ulster back travelled with the Ireland squad to Spain for their warm-weather Six Nations training camp, and he was also involved in their preparations for the French game at Carton House.

โ€œIt was a really good experience. It was great to be up there and get a feel for the environment during a match week, the guys were unbelievable. They helped me out a lot up there,โ€ said Arnold.

โ€œIt was good to have the older heads around, like Murray and Earlsie there as well. If I had a question they would be the first lads I would go to and ask. It was awesome to have them and obviously Pete as well. There is no better man to ask than Pete as well.

โ€œI had a good chat with Andy Farrell when I was there. I have spoken to Joe. I think I know what Joe wants me to do going forward.

โ€œI sat down with Andy when I was there and we discussed what I need to do to try and take my game to the next level, so I would have that in the back of my mind when I am playing, 100 percent.โ€

Arnold, who also starred for Ireland at U-20 level, has scored five tries in seven appearances for Munster this season.

Munster travel to take on Cardiff Blues at Cardiff Arms Park on Saturday and he is determined to put in another noteworthy display to keep his place in the team.

โ€œIt is always nice to get a couple of tries. I was actually pretty disappointed that I turned the ball over a few too many times,โ€ said Arnold.

โ€œThe main thing for me is that we are winning and that we are getting bonus points. We are working with new combinations as well at the minute, so it is great to see guys getting chances.

โ€œThey are three international players Iโ€™m competing with, Jaco Taute, Chris Farrell and Rory Scannell, they are quality players, but we would be a very close knit teams as well.

โ€œGuys know if they slip up there is someone there to slot straight back in and I think it is important to have that kind of pressure environment within the squad.

โ€œYou like at the depth of the French teams and a team like Saracens for example would have, I think we are starting to get that now. It is important to have that competition, but I think it would be rare that five of us are fit at the same time.โ€

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Paddy Jackson denied that โ€˜threesomeโ€™ took place morning after alleged incident, court hears

Analysis: The most relevant Ireland try before Schmidtโ€™s men meet Wales

Close
13 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute d
    Favourite d
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:16 PM

I agree with Ryanโ€™s call to leave him off the panel. The manager sets out his rules at the start of the year and itโ€™s up to the players to follow them. Why should he get preferential treatment just because he is one of their stand out stars? Coady has had the same approach in kilkenny for years and thatโ€™s worked well. Missing the opportunity to win an all Ireland medal this year should hurt him enough to spur him on for next year, to fight for his place and stick to the rules.

Mute John
    Favourite John
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:28 PM

@d: or turn him off hurling altogether.

Mute d
    Favourite d
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:46 PM

@John: If it turns him off he doesnโ€™t have the passion and love for the sport that you need to give 100% so in that case the tipp panel are definitely better off without him.

See 4 more replies โ–พ
    Mute John
    Favourite John
    Jul 28th 2017, 1:25 PM

@d: i wouldnt have the passion if i knew another player on the panel who has done worse is left on it. Every1 should get the same treatment. But it seems there is some rules for some and none for others.

Mute d
    Favourite d
    Jul 28th 2017, 2:37 PM

@John: I agree with you there, should be the same rules for everyone. But only the manager and players know the true inโ€™s and outโ€™s of what actually happened so you have to trust the managers call in that situation in my opinion.

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Jul 28th 2017, 3:57 PM

@John: there is some cryptic stuff there?? Who done worse?? Doubt if I think what it is is actually worse tbh

Mute David Costello
    Favourite David Costello
    Jul 28th 2017, 5:18 PM

@John: we dont know whats going on behind closed doorsโ€ฆso u cant compare one with the otherโ€ฆ

Mute DB
    Favourite DB
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:43 PM

If a player has broken a team behaviour code that the rest of the panel has adhered to.There has to be a penalty or else you lose the dressing room. Why is the debate about pressure on the manager. The manager kept his end not the player in question. I admire Ryan for his stance (easier said then done)

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:41 AM

@DB: what did he do?
    More than drinking obviously????

Mute Noel Power
    Favourite Noel Power
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:51 AM

@Seamus McSpud: No on the beer with the man gave this article thatโ€™s the word on the street

Mute Ewan Scott
    Favourite Ewan Scott
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:17 PM

Couldnโ€™t disagree more. Speak for yourself James.

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:37 PM

@Ewan Scott: Exactly. Although the county board would probably want him back to get some value for the money heโ€™s after costing them.

Mute Joey Hackman
    Favourite Joey Hackman
    Jul 28th 2017, 2:47 PM

Michael Ryan deserves backing here especially from former players who should appreciate rules are rules. Very easy to take this populist approach from outside the bubble. But it has no value.

Mute David Costello
    Favourite David Costello
    Jul 28th 2017, 2:30 PM

Why would an ex player like woodlock come out and say thisโ€ฆ stirring crap in the publicโ€ฆ he as a recent player should know what goes on behind closed doorsโ€ฆ. michael ryan os doing what he feels bestโ€ฆ and fair play to him.. woodlock should not be speaking out in public like thisโ€ฆ hes bang out of orderโ€ฆ he should be getting behind the teamโ€ฆhes played with enough of them

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Jul 28th 2017, 3:58 PM

@David Costello: must be personal if he is stirring shite. Not right as you say from a former player unless he has an agenda

Mute d
    Favourite d
    Jul 28th 2017, 5:05 PM

@David Costello: heโ€™s getting paid for to write articles and give interviews. Heโ€™s Probably just trying to drum up a bit of controversy for the sake of his own pockets.

See 2 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Jul 29th 2017, 7:43 AM

@David Costello:
    That typical Tipp really.
    Think they have a divine right to all Irelands but better at talking about it and critiquing each other and everybody else

Mute David Costello
    Favourite David Costello
    Jul 29th 2017, 12:33 PM

@Seamus McSpud: i take exception at that commentโ€ฆ. as a tipp man i dont feel tipp have a divine right to an all irelandโ€ฆ.yes there can be inhouse criticism, over the top at timesโ€ฆ we aint kk or kerry who are or have been in all irelands on a regular basisโ€ฆ

Mute David Costello
    Favourite David Costello
    Jul 28th 2017, 5:00 PM

@Anne Moloney: one player doesnt make his teamโ€ฆmick ryan is in a no win situationโ€ฆ if we lose sun weekโ€ฆ.people will be on his back over itโ€ฆ. he has put the rumours to bed last nightโ€ฆtime to get on with supporting the teamโ€ฆ. dont need ex players stirring shite

Mute Anne Moloney
    Favourite Anne Moloney
    Jul 28th 2017, 4:57 PM

Are all the other players going by the rules if so fair enough if not then there could be a problem if Tipp win all is forgotten if they loose we will have very angry Tipp supporters

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:27 PM

@Anne Moloney: If those angry supporters canโ€™t accept why heโ€™s not on the panel then it says more about them.

Mute John Fitzpatrick
    Favourite John Fitzpatrick
    Jul 28th 2017, 11:33 PM

@Mick Power: Bang on โ€“ Theyโ€™re only sunshine supporters if thatโ€™s the case

See 2 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Noel Power
    Favourite Noel Power
    Jul 29th 2017, 8:48 AM

@John Fitzpatrick: It was woodlock and himself on the beer in the first place why he was showing the door.

Mute David Costello
    Favourite David Costello
    Jul 29th 2017, 12:35 PM

@Anne Moloney: your obviously referring to the gkโ€ฆ. his situation is totally differentโ€ฆ.barrett broke the teams code of conductโ€ฆ obviously on more than one occasionโ€ฆ. mick ryan is towing the line and sticking to his principlesโ€ฆ

Mute Paul Ryan
    Favourite Paul Ryan
    Jul 29th 2017, 9:09 AM

Itโ€™s only an armature sport the players should do want they want like everyone else we all have to go to work on Monday morning they train like professional other sporting players and get nothing for it only the gas getting richer

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel