Advertisement
France's William Gallas, center, runs after scoring for France during their World Cup qualifying playoff second leg soccer match at the Stade de France stadium in Saint Denis outside Paris. AP/Press Association Images

'Ireland have decided to forget about Thierry Henry handball incident'

Martin O’Neill also complained that France have a “disproportionate” amount of time to recover for the game.

Updated at 18.57

- Paul Fennessy reports from Versailles

MARTIN O’NEILL SAYS Ireland have decided to forget about the controversial Thierry Henry handball incident that ultimately proved pivotal in the team’s 2010 World Cup play-off defeat against France.

The infamous moment, in which a clear Thierry Henry handball went unpunished in the lead up to William Gallas’ extra-time goal, is bound to be a talking point as the two sides meet again for the first time in a competitive fixture since that unforgettable game in Saint Denis, as they prepare for a Euro 2016 second-round match on Sunday.

However, O’Neill downplayed the incident at today’s press conference at the team’s base in Versailles, and also seemed less than pleased that France will get an extra three days recovery, having last played in the 0-0 draw with Switzerland on Sunday, ahead of the big match.

It does seem a disproportionate amount of time that one team has to recover from another,” O’Neill said. “That might become very important.”

The 64-year-old coach continued: “I understand that, as the host nation, you should get some favours. If the competition was in Ireland, I would do exactly the same myself. Teams that play Ireland would play every single night and we wouldn’t have to play for a year.

The Thierry Henry (incident) is still probably causing some controversy, maybe more in France than it is in Ireland. I think we have decided to forget about it. That’s something coming from Ireland. It will be a talking point obviously, but I don’t think it will concern us when we play the game.”

The Ireland boss, meanwhile, was highly complimentary when asked about Didier Deschamps’ side.

“France have some individual talent that is mesmerising — very, very good players. The little lad (N’Golo) Kante in the midfield has had a sensational season for Leicester City. (Paul) Pogba is a really good player. I don’t know the ins and outs of what they’ll do with the team, but as the home nation, playing in front of the home crowd, they will have the vast majority of the tickets so it will be a tough afternoon but we’re ready for it.

We would have to play in the manner which we did last night. We would have to play with the same confidence, intensity, and if we can do that, we can cause them problems.”

As O’Neill alluded to, France will certainly be at an advantage in one respect, with the FAI today confirming that the vast majority of tickets for the game in Parc Olympique Lyonnais, Lyon would go to home supporters. Currently, a total of approximately 4,600 tickets have been allocated to Irish fans for Sunday’s game.

In addition, the Ireland boss said that both Stephen Ward and Jonathan Walters were hopeful of being available for this weekend’s crucial encounter.

Walters has not played since struggling through 64 minutes of Ireland’s opening Group E encounter against Sweden.

Ward, on the other hand, picked up a knock in last night’s historic win over Italy.

Of his thoughts regarding the starting XI to play France, O’Neill said: “Stephen Ward picked up an injury, his ankle has blown up. He’s desperate to play obviously. He played very well last night, continuing on. So we’ll have a look at him.

Jon Walters is trying to make an attempt to get fit as well. He’s been a major part of our campaign. It’d be nice to have him in contention if possible.

“We’ll see how they come out of it first and then take the energy levels into consideration again. They put an amazing amount of work in last night. Someone like James McClean could sleep for a week after the effort he put in.”

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

‘Shave your beard!’ Martin O’Neill on his discussion with Roy Keane at full-time>

RTÉ or TV3? Here’s where you can watch Ireland v France and the rest of the last 16 games>

Close
18 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Phil O' Meara
    Favourite Phil O' Meara
    Jun 23rd 2016, 7:05 PM

What really grinds my gears about the handball was that he handled it twice. That’s even a foul in volleyball!

Mute Jeffre Tomred
    Favourite Jeffre Tomred
    Jun 26th 2016, 3:12 AM

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS….It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about l 5days ago ..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I’m rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get $2,000 daily and now i have $10,000… Everyday I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (cindytedder767@yahoo.com) Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That’s the simple testimony of how my life changed for good…Love you all …the email address again is (cindytedder767@yahoo.com)

Mute Sean McMahon
    Favourite Sean McMahon
    Jun 23rd 2016, 6:10 PM

If the constant memes of “Thierry….we’re coming for ya…!” on Facebook are anything to go by, Irish people definitely haven’t forgotten….and why the hell do people still think he’s playing?!

Mute Riocard Ó Tiarnaigh
    Favourite Riocard Ó Tiarnaigh
    Jun 23rd 2016, 6:26 PM

They don’t. He’s just an icon, a symbol.

Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    Jun 23rd 2016, 7:35 PM

Isn’t Thierry Henry on BBC’s panel? Will be interesting to hear what he has to say for himself on Sunday.

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Jun 23rd 2016, 7:52 PM

for once…

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:16 PM

Most of the people putting these memes up haven’t a clue about football I notice

Mute Seán O Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O Sullivan
    Jun 23rd 2016, 7:00 PM

I forgive and forget. But I can’t forgive and forget that

Mute gus lennon
    Favourite gus lennon
    Jun 23rd 2016, 7:40 PM

This has actually little to do with this article but it is related. Being from the north it is difficult to get across the fact that I am as Irish as the next man whether he be from Cork or Kilkenny. During this match though if ever anyone needed persuading then it would have been interesting to say the least if a hidden camera had been trained on me. When the goal went in, well what can you say? The thing is though, I know of one famous sportsperson who has a similar background to myself and for the life of me I really cannot figure out how he could get the same sort of satisfaction from the success of the Norn Irn team as I did from this win last night. The same applies to the lads on the Norn Irn team once again with the same background as myself. It is just the way it is. Last night was just one of those moments.

Mute Stephen Lyons
    Favourite Stephen Lyons
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:15 PM

Well said!

Mute Andrew Adams
    Favourite Andrew Adams
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:31 PM

Gus, i see where you are coming from and i fully respect that. What i would say is that religion should not be politicised and used to define an individual’s identity. Mutual respect

Mute Talleyrand Frye
    Favourite Talleyrand Frye
    Jun 23rd 2016, 7:11 PM

A slight rewording of an old Irish ballad before Sunday’s game (and here is the original for those who don’t recognize it! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSjmHXzboxk)

Oh father dear, I oft times hear, of World Cup Twenty Ten
    Twas played down in Africa, during the Great Recession
    You had Spain and Japan, the Netherlands, North Korea were there as well
    But why did we not qualify, the reason to me tell

Oh son we had a decent team, a battle-hardened troop
    Our four wins and six draws gave us second in the group
    And against France, we had a chance, under Trapattoni
    We just had to stop their striker, some guy called Henry

We lost at home in Dublin, so off to Paris we all set
    But we came out with purpose & Robbie stuck it in the net
    We could’ve had four, we didn’t get any more, so extra time it would be
    But we didn’t know what awaited us, at the hands of cruel Henry

Oh well do I remember the hundred and seventh minute
    Their ball was going wide & I was sure we were gonna win it
    But someone didn’t play nice, he handled it twice & all France cheered with glee
    And we were out, without a doubt, coz of cheating Henry

There was uproar in the aftermath and talk of a replay
    We asked FIFA to get involved, in the name of fair play
    This they did, gave us a few quid, but said there would be no team thirty three
    And that meant no World Cup for us, thanks to Thierry Henry

Oh father dear, the time is near, for your anguish to be gone
    We’re playing the French on Sunday, in the city of Lyon
    And behind O’Neill & Keane, wearing green, in the stands we will proudly be
    And loud and high, we will raise the cry “revenge for Henry!”

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:07 PM

Jaysus thats not half bad, bit long though!

Mute Talleyrand Frye
    Favourite Talleyrand Frye
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:34 PM

6 verses to match the version of Skibberreen I learned!

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:26 PM

I will never forgive or forget how he carried the ball in his hand from the halfway line whilst holding back the Irish defence with an AK 47.

Mute Gene
    Favourite Gene
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:49 PM

It will be the media who will keep on about the handball
    It is seven years ago all of that happened and let’s get over it
    People seem to forget that game would have only gone to penalties if that goal had been disallowed and who knows what would’ve happened there
    So all of that should have no bearing to the buildup and a match for Sunday

Mute Donna Jane
    Favourite Donna Jane
    Jun 24th 2016, 7:12 PM

Hey Guys!!! I got mine from Cindy. My blank ATM card can withdraw €2,000 daily. I got it from her last week Wednesday and now I have €7,000 for free. The card withdraws money from any ATM machines and there is no name on it, it is not traceable and now i have money for bussiness and enough money for me and my 4 kids. I am really happy i met Cindy because i met two people before her and they took my money not knowing that they were scams. But am happy now. Cindy sent the card through DHL and i got it in two days. Get one from her now. she is giving it out to help people even if it is illegal but it helps a lot and no one ever gets caught. cindy’s email address is (cindytedder767@yahoo.com)

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.